(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historical collections relating to Chiswick"


— * •- 

. W. PHILL1M0RE 



AND 



W. H. WHITEAR 



^cu/id ©• JMKay S£d>Aany 




USRB 




For Reference 



Not to be taken from this room 



CHISWICK. 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2013 



http://archive.org/details/historicalcollecOOphil 



' 







HISTORICAL COLLECTIONS 



RELATING TO 



CHISWICK 



EDITED BY 

W. P. W. PHILLIMORE 

AND 

W. H. WHITEAR. 



LONDON : 
Phillimore & Co , 36, Essex Street, Strand. 

1897. 



NOTE. 



THIS volume is an attempt to collect together in a handy 
form some historical information relating to the parish of 
Chiswick. It originated in some weekly contributions sent by the 
Editors to a local newspaper, the " Chiswick Times," during the 
years 1895 an ^ 1896. This serves to explain the fact that the 
book is more a collection of essays than a systematic parochial 
history, though all the same it may be hoped that it will hereafter 
prove a useful groundwork to some one able and willing to compile 
a history worthy of the parish. Incomplete as the present work is, 
it will serve to direct attention to the many points of interest in the 
past history of Chiswick. Much still remains to be done, for as 
yet the public records have been but little drawn upon, and 
the reader must not think that we have at all exhausted the 
field of research which lies open to us. Some of the chapters 
are merely reprints from other works ; some are by one or 
other of the Editors ; for the chapter on Sutton Court the reader 
is indebted to Mr. W. M. Chute, and for the account of the 
prebendal manor to Mr. Arnott, the Vicar of Turnham Green, 
while the Editors desire to express their obligations to Mr. Dale, the 
Vicar of Chiswick, for permission to use the parish records. 
Most of the illustrations are by Mr. B. C. Dexter, from 
photographs taken specially for this book by Mr. W. H. 
Whitear ; those of Cheswick and Grove House were kindly pre- 
sented by Mr. H. A. Armstrong, of Cheswick, U.S. A , and 
Lieut- Col. R. W. Shipway respectively. 

Chiswick, 

April, 1897. 




Bordall's Tower. 



CONTENTS. 



Page. 

Bowack's Account of the Parish 1 

Lysons' Account of the Pariah 15 

The Earl of Pembroke and the Chiswick Watch 57 

The Prebendal Manor and Mansion House 63 

The Battle of Turnham Green ....72 

The Vicars of Chiswick 78 

Roque's Map of Chiswick 95 

Visitations of Chiswick Church 98 

The High Road in 1675 115 

Middlesex Sessions Rolls .... 119 

The Doomsday of St. Paul's 124 

The Manor of Sutton in 1222 130 

The Parliamentarians at Chiswick 145 

Feet of Fines for London and Middlesex 146 

Chiswick Place Names 149 

Churchwardens' Accounts 160, 280 

Traders' Tokens of Chiswick and Turnham Green ...167 

The Notabilities of Chiswick 169 

Chiswick Parish Registers 181 

Chiswick Houses 244 

Chiswick Inns 277 

The Lammas Lands .• 289 

Early mention of Chiswick 291 

Cbeswick U.S.A 292 



CORRIGENDA ET ADDENDA, 
p. 90, line 10, for Charley read Chailey. 
p. 171, line 5, for 1827 read 1727. 
p. 85 and 172, Chaloner Chute was speaker under Richard 

Cromwell, 
p. 204, line 17, add Sept. 
p. 222. Delete entries from Norris to Newman ; they will 

be found on page 230 
p. 223, line 15, for Panth read Ruth 
p. 267. The gates of Chiswick House were removed to 

Devonshire House, Piccadilly, in April, 1897. 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Rocques' Map Frontispiece 

Page 
Tower, Chiswiek Churoh v 

Interior, Chiswiek Old Churoh... to face 2 

Manor House ,, 25 

Chiswiek House from Kip ,, 26 

Corney ,, ,, 29 

Grove House in 1792 ,. 30 

Inscription on Churchyard Wall ,, 35 

T. Morell, S.T.P., S.S.A 47 

College House 67 

Bord all's Brass 81 

Signatures of Vicars 83-92 

Rev. L. W. T. Dale 93 

High Road from " Ogilby's Survey, 1675 " 116 

Windmill Sundial 117 

Old Pound to face 148 

Chiswiek Tokens 166 

Map showing Situation of Old Houses 244 

Sutton Court to face 250 

Chiswiek House ,, 263 

,, ,, Enlarged from Kip ,, 264 

„ „ West Wing ,, 265 

., ,, Inigo Jones' Gateway ,, 266 

,, ,, Gates ,, 267 

Bohemia House ,, 270 

Walpole ,, ,, 271 

Grove House in 1896 , 272 

Burlington Arms 277 

Roebuck to face 277 

Whetstone 279 

Cheswick, U.S.A to face 292 

Hogarth's Tomb 306 



dthtstoick. 

BOWACK'S ACCOUNT OF THE PARISH. 



The earliest to write any reliable detailed 
account of Chiswick was John Bowack, for many 
years a writing master in Westminster School. 
The date of his death has not been ascertained, 
and little is known respecting him. In 1705-0, 
when living in Church-lane, Chelsea, he began 
to publish his Antiquities of Middlesex. Only 
two parts of this work, which was printed in 
folio size, appeared. The parishes described 
comprised Chelsea, Kensington, Fulham, Ham- 
mersmith, Chiswick, and Acton. A third part 
was promised, which was intended to include 
Ealing, Brentford, Isleworth, and Hanwell, but 
this, unfortunately, from want of encourage- 
ment, never appeared. His work is of great 
rarity, and consequently but little known. We 
therefore proceed to transcribe that part of his 
Antiquities of Middlesex which relates to 
Chiswick. 



Next we meet with upon the Thames [sic] is the 
pleasant village of Chiswick, situate about three 
miles by the Thames-aide from tulham a»d eight 



CHJSWICK. 



from London ; was anciently called Chesewiik, as 
appears in Doomsday Book and some very old 
deeds. 

The sweet air and situation of this place drew 
not only a great many considerable families to 
settle here formerly, but induced several illustrious 
persons to build seats, nor has it lost its reputation 
now, but is honoured with the preference of several 
noble persons. 

Although we find no mention of this place in 
history, yet several very ancient buildings now 
standing are an evidence of its antiquity, of which, 
according to our usual method, we shall first 
consider the church. 

THE CHURCH. 

This church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, we are 
well assured, is very aucient, though after all our 
pains we cannot discover its founder, or the time 
when 'twas built, therefore we mast venture to 
give our conjectures from the architecture of it, 
&c. , as we have done in other places. Upon a care- 
ful survey of the structure of this church, we find 
in it three or four distinct kinds of building, be- 
tween every one of which, by their different ap- 
pearances, there must have been a considerable 
interval. That which appears most ancient is the 
north wall, the lower parts of which we suppose to 
have continued ever since its first foundation. 

This is built with flint and chalk stones, and is 
of a great thickness, though without any care or 
order, and seems of a piece with the building of 
the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. We have 
further reason to believe it of such a standing, 
because there is a cup belonging to this church 
used in the communion service called St. Nicholas : 
Cup, of a very antique form, which probably was 
dedicated to the said saint with the church. But 
that which strengthens this conjee ure most is the 



z 

H 

n 

33 

o 

ZJ 

o 

X 

(/> 
o 

o 

r 
D 

o 

I 
c 

3 
O 

X 




BOWACK'S ACCOUNT. 



architecture of the tower at the east [sic, for west] 
end, which seems to be built at least two or three 
hundred years since the foundation of the church, 
and we are assured is of about three hundred 
years' standing, the founder dying in the year 
1425, as appears by thi3 inscription on a 
marble stone near the belfry — "Mr. William 
Bordale, principal vicar of this church of Ghiswick, 
was founder of the steeple of the same. He dyed 
in the year of our Lord mccccxxxv. [sic in Bowack], 
both of which appears in the brass of Tombstone 
in this Church. This monument of this worthy 
Benefactor,being by William Walker, his successor, 
happily preserved from being lost, is now in this 
stone commended to the lasting Memory of 
Posterity, by the Right Honourable and truly 
Noble Lord Francis Lord Russell, Earl of Bedford 
mdcxxx." The said plate referred to in this 
inscription is still in being and the inscription on 
it inserted in the collection following. In some 
other parts of this church, the walls seem to be 
rebuilt almost from the foundat : ons and consider- 
ably raised in several places, as also alterations in 
the windows, which seem to be done about 150 
years ago ; but that which is most modern is the 
south isle, a handsome brick building carried a 
considerable way from the body of the church 
towards the sooth, built from the ground by the 
parishioners in the years 1649-50 51 (the south 
side of the church being then in a shattered con- 
dition and the congregation much augmeutedj, 
and cost them, with some other repairs, two hun- 
dred and seventy-nine pounds. These are all the 
alterations and reparations we can discover in 
this church, except son e repairs of the chancel, 
by the Right Honourable Thomas Earl of Falcon- 
berg in the year 1694, by virtue of his lease from 
the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. It may not 



cnisvricK. 



be improper here to add (before we dismiss this 
subiect) that some years after the repairing of the 
church, the parishioners likewise liberally con- 
tributed towards the repairing the parsonage 
house, which was in a very shattered condition, 
and in the year 1G58 the old one was pull'd down 
and a new one erected, built of brick very hand- 
some and commodious ; the parish rate for this 
was two hundred and sixty pounds. 

Also in the year 1698, the house being out of 
repair and wanting several conveniences, it was 
repaired, beautified, and had some additional 
buildings added, which cost in all fifty-six pounds 
sixteen shillings. 

Several of the honourable and eminent inhabit- 
ants contributed very largely, particularly that 
worthy gentleman, Sir Stephen Fox, who also at 
his own charge has built a spacious barn of brick 
near adjoyning, for the use of the Vicar, which 
cost him forty pounds. 

THE INSCRIPTIONS. 

(In the chancel on the right hand.) 
"SibiVivena & Marias UxoriChariesime Optate 
Morture (ne quos vivas amor et felix concordia 
conjunxit mors ipse divideret tumulo hie uxoris 
cineres expectant viri quod vivere non licuit diu) 
qui unanimes fuissent semper una esse Possint in 
terra usque dum in ccelis Deus erit omnia in omni- 
bus ; Wills. YValkerus hujus Ecclesia? pastor 
indignus Quod nollet id volens posuit, quin sibi 
quodquce conjdgiaque sure Secuudaj Martha? Fili;v 
Clarissime Domini D. Johannis Allot Equitis 
Aurati & Prai'toris olim Londinensis Deo An- 
nuente Designat. " 

And on the same monument follows in Eng- 
lish :- 

" Mary Walker, daughter of that Venerable 

Divine Mr. Robert Kay, who honoured his profes- 



BOW ACE'S ACCOUNT, 



sion and profited the people of Ware, in Hertford- 
shire, with his fruitful preaching and the holy life 
for above 60 years, and the wife of William 
Walker, the pastor of the parish, was a samp'er of 
true piety, virtue, and goodness, endowed with much 
beauty of body, and more of mind. She left two 
sons, Francis and Theophilus, and four daughters, 
Mary, Faith, Anne, Elizabeth Walker. She lived 
beloved, and dyed desired of all, and living dayly 
dying 8he did dying come to live eternally. She 
finished the last year of her mortification on earth 
by death, and entered into true life in heaven 
February 21, Anno Domini 1G19, .Etatis sure 41." 
And underneath on the verge of the monument : — 
" Thy Law will I make my will and walk aright." 
The former part of the inscription in Eng'ish, 
thus: — 

" Livicg to himself and to his dearly beloved 
wife Mary, now dead (least death should divide 
them by the grave, whom when alive mutual love 
and reciprocal affection made one). Here the ashes 
of the wife wait for those of the husband, that as 
they were one in life (which they were not per- 
mitted to be long, so they might lie together as one 
in the grave till that time when the Almighty in the 
heavens shall be all in all). Will Walker, the (un- 
worthy) minister of this church willingly built this 
for himself and his second wife Martha, daughter 
of the famous Sir John Allot, Knight, formerly 
Lord Mayor of London. With God's leave he 
designs." 

On a plain monument : — 

M Here lyeth the body of Anne Barker, of Chis- 
wick, widow, daughter of Lawrenc3 Stoughton, of 
Stoughton, in Surrey, Enquire, first married to 
Richard Maxey, of Sallicge, in the county of Essex, 
Esquire, by whom she had six sons and five daugh- 
ters, and having lived his wife and widow — & 
fire years, departed this life the fourteenth of 



CH1SWICK. 



May in the three score and nineteenth year of her 

age, Anno Domini 1607." 

Non violenta rapit te mors sed tempore pleno 
Plena armis, meritis plenior Anna Cadis 
Utque annis absumpta cadis surgis in altura 
Et vivas meritis non moritnra tuis 
Hie igitur placide ftelix Anus ossa quiescant 
Laus inter vivos mens super astra volet 

In English thus — 

Untimely death hurries you not away 

But full of years of merit full you fall ; 

And as you fall you mount and soar on high, 

And live for ever on the wings of Fame ; 

Here rest your bones, then happy woman rest, 

But may your name soar up above the stars. 

Under the last, on an ancient monument of 
alabaster — 

" Here lyeth buried the body of Thomas Barker, 
of Chiswick, Esq., one of His Majesties Justices of 
the Peace for the county of Middlesex, bencher of 
the Honourable Society of the Middle Temple, 
London, and son of Wm. Barker, of Sunninge, in 
the county of Barks, Esq., and Anne, his wife, 
whose body also lyeth here buried. He married 
Mary, the daughter of Valentine Saunders, Esq., 
one of the six clarks of His Majesties High Court 
of Chancery, by whom he left three sons and five 
daughters. He lived a faithful member of God's 
Church, an honour to his house and family, a 
father to the poor, learned in his profession, 
beloved of his neigbours, and full of days and good 
works. He departed this life and changed his abode 
here for a perpetual mansion not made with hands 
but eternal in the heavens, upon the third day of 
April in the three-score and fifth year of his age, 
anno Domini 1630." 

On the left hand in the chancel, on a plain stone 
against the wall, a considerable distance from the 
ground, the following inscription : — 

"Here before lyeth buried the body of 
Chidioke Wardour, Esq., who served the State in 



BOWACK'S ACCOUNT. 



the time of Queen Elizabeth of famous memory, 
and the most renowned King James that now is, 
by the space of forty-two years in the office of 
Lord Treasurer's Clerk, Writer of the Records of the 
Pells of Indroitus and Exitus, who dyed the 14 
day of September, anno Domino 1611. 

" And of Mary Becker, wiffe of the said Edward 
Wardour, daughter unto that worthy gentleman 
Henry Becker, late an alderman of the famous city 
of London, who dyed the 19th day of September, 
16C0. Whych said Charles and Mary had issue 
one son, named Edward, and three daughters, 
whereof the eldest, named Joan, and the youngest, 
named Ursula, died young, but the second, named 
Elizabeth, after she had been married by the space 
of tenn years unto Sir Stephen Lesteur, Kt., now 
Embassadour from the KiDg's Majesty unto 
Matthias II., elected Emperor of the Romans, by 
whom she had issue two sons, Edward and Stephen, 
who both died infants. She also died the first day 
of April, 1606, and lyeth here buried. As also the 
body of Edward Warder, eldest son of Edward, 
the son of the said Charles and Mary, who dyed the 
11th day of March, 1605." 

" In happy memory of all which (viz.) his father, 
mother, sister, and son, Edward Warder, Esq., 
hath dedicated this monument the first day of 
November, 1612, not doubting but that all their 
souls do rest happily in the kingdom of heaven 
where he doth assuredly hope he shall see them 
face to face, and also be made an heir of the same 
kingdom through the only merits and mercies of 
our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ." 

In the chancel pavement, on a brass plate, the 
following inscription in the old English characters : 
— " Here lyeth interred the corpses of Mary 
Bitcott, daughter of John Bitcott, Esq., pensioner 
into our most gracious Queen Elizabeth, and wyffe 



CHISWICK. 



unto Richard Barker, of Sunning, Esq , and with 
her, Anne Barker, her vth child, of whom she 
died in childbed, and at her death leaving a sonne 
and a daughter living, she dyed the vnth day of 
November, whose soul assuredly resteth with the 
Lord, and her body upon that sudden occasion 
buried the ixth Day Anno Domini mdxcix. 

" Et regni Reginre Elizabethan quadregessimo 
primo." 

On a black marble stone near adjoining, these 
words : — 

" Marcus Antonius La Bastide de Crosat Obiifc 
Quarto Martii, Anno 1704." 

This gentleman was secretary to the Marquis 
Rovigny, ambasssador from the King of France to 
Oliver Cromwell. 

Part of the following inscription is hid by the 
chancel rails : — 

" Here lyeth interred the body of Mr. Tho. 
Elborour, late vicar of Chiswick. He departed 
this life the Seventh Day of April, aged 5-4." 

In the middle isle, on a very old brass plate 
now in the hands of the churchwarden, the impres- 
sions of vfhich is visible upon an old stone, to 
which it belonged, is the following inscriptions 
(sic) before-mentioned : — 

"Hie jacet YVillms Bordale Principalis Vicari, 
hugus ecc'ie & Fundator campanilis ejus'd' Qui 
obii. xvth die mess Octobri Anno Domini 
mccccxxxv. cujus aic propicietur Deus. Amen." 

In English thus — 

" Here lyes William Bordale, principal vicar of 
this church and founder of the steeple, who dyed 
15 day of October, 1435, to whose soul God be 
merciful. Amen. 

This inscription Mr. We ever takes notice of in 
his funeral monuments, and imperfectly tran- 
scribes [i e. j Weever gives the name as Boydale, 



BOWACKS ACCOUNT. 9 



and omits the last five words], he mentions 
another, which next follows, tho' now defaced, and 
must, no doubt on't, omit many more then in 
being : — 

" Orate pro anima Mathildis uxoris Riohardi 
Salueyne Militis Thesaurer eccl que Obiit 1432." 

In the south isle : — 

On a very beautiful monument of black and white 
marble — 

"Near this place lyeth interred the body of 
Richard Taylor, Esq., late inhabitant of this 
parish, in a vault built by him and appropriated to 
his own family, obiit 29 Augst., 1698, etat. 73. 

" Also Richard and Anne Taylor, children of 
their eldest son. R.T. Fil. na. max. posuit." 

A stately modern tablet of white marble, near 
10 foot in length, the architrave, &c, supported by 
two lonick black marble pillars. At the top stands 
an urn from whence hang festoons. This cost 
fifty pounds. 

"M. S. 

"Near this place lyes the body of James Howard, 
Esquire, only son of the Honourable Thomas 
Howard, brother to the Right Honourable James, 
Earl of Suffjlk, who was interred the 6th day of 
July, 1669, about the 20th year of his age." 

In the chancel, near the pulpit, an ancient 
monument of alabaster, having tbe effigies of Sir 
Thomas Chaloner and his lady kneeling, beautified 
by several neat antique performances. On a plate 
is this inscription : — 

" Here lieth the body of Sir Thomas Chaloner, 
who was knighted in the waires of Fiance by King 
Henry the IV, anno 1591, and afterwards 
Governor in the Minority and Chamberlayne to tne 
late prince of famous memory, Henry, Prince of 
Wales, Duke of Cornwall, and Earl of Chester, and 
he married to his first wife Elizabeth, daughter to 



10 ClIISti'JCR. 



William Fleetwood, sergeant-at law to Queen 
Elizabeth and Recorder of London, by whom he 
had issue, Thomas, deceased William, Edward, 
Thomas, Henry, deceased, Arthur, deceased, James, 
Elizabeth, deceased, Mary, wife to Sir Edward 
Fisher, Kt. , Elizabeth, and Dorothy, and dyed the 
22nd day of June, anno Domini 1603, aged 35 
years. And to his second wife he married Jude 
the daughter of William Blunt, of London, Esqr», 
by whom he had also issue, Henry, Charles, Frede 
ricke, and Arthur, Anne, Katherine, and Francis* 
and she deceased the 30th of June, anno Domini, 
1615, aged 36 years. And the aforesaid Sir 
Thomas Chaloner d} T ed the 18th day of November, 
1615, being of the age of 51 years." 

There is little occasion for the character of this 
great man, his being appointed preceptor to Prince 
Henry by that learned and judicious prince, King 
James I. ,is a sufficient evidence of his great abilities 
and exemplary virtues. He was as universally 
learned as he was esteemed, a compleat gentleman;, 
and an experienced soldier. He was a great 
naturalist, and very curious in his enquiries, a9 
appears by the discovery he made of the alum 
and coperas mines at Gisburgh in Yorkshire [Camden 
Brita pa. 753] , where the family at this day (if we 
are not misinformed) still flourish. 

CF THE ADVOWSON AND BfANNO&S. 

The right of the presentation to this living ie 
originally in the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's* 
and by them was lett with the great tythes and 
their mannor to the late Earl of Falconberg, and is 
now in the hands of his lady, the Countess Dowager 
of that place, 

This vicarage is valued in the Queen's Book at 
but seventeen pounds nineteen shillings and two- 
pence, but is thought worth about one hundred 
and fifty pounds per annum to the Reverend Mr. 



BOWACK'S ACCOUNT. 11 



James Ellesby, the present worthy vicar. This 
pirish contains two mannors, viz., one called the 
Dean's Mannor, having a fine house and gardens at 
Sutton Court, let as before to the Lord Falcon- 
berg, and is said to be worth above three hundred 
pounds per annum. The other called the Prebends' 
Mannor, belonging to the Prebends of Westminster, 
is let by them to Sir Stephen Fox, Kt. 

THE TOWN, 

Tho' but small, is so very pleasantly situated 
out of the road and free from noise, dust, and 
hurry, that it has for many years past boasted of 
more illustrious and noble persons than any of his 
neighbours, nor is it at present without a good 
number of persons of great quality and worth. 
The Thames taking an oblique course from Fulham 
and Hammersmith, but gently salutes this place, 
and the several little islands, or eights, so pleas- 
antly scattered in it, considerably weakens its 
force. The greatest number of houses are stretched 
along by the Waterside from the Lyme Kiln, near 
Hammersmith, to the church, in which dwell 
several small traders, but for the most part fisher- 
men and watermen, who make up a considerable 
part of the inhabitants of this town. There is also 
north of the church a large street with seme hand- 
some buildings and pleasant gardens belonging to 
them, and to the north-west several noble seats 
near the church. Upon the Thames-side is a very 
antient [Sp. Brit. pa. 17] house, which Norden 
calls a fair one and say3 it belonged to Dr. Good- 
man, Dean of Westminster, where the scholars cf 
that school in the time of any common Plague or 
Sickness, as also to take the air, us'd to retire. 
Dr. Busby with some of his school us'd frequently 
in summertime to spend gome time here, but the 
building is now so decayed with age, that it is 
unfit for such a use and is patched up into 



12 CBISWICK. 



small tenements for the poor labouring people of 
the town. We can't gather who was the founder 
of this structure or what 'twas designed for, but 
upon acaveful examination of it, by the dimensions 
and contrivance of it, it eeems to have been in- 
tended for a religious use. Here are also several 
other dwelling houses which appear very ancient, in 
which there are some ornaments in the wainscot 
and ceiliDg very curious, and of a considerable 
standing. 

THE FINE SEATS, TILLAGES, 
AND CONSIDERABLE INHABITANTS, &C. 

I. In a lane north-east [rorth-wesi] of the 
church is a noble seat built by Sir Edward Warden 
after tbeancient manner, very regularardstrcng. It 
has many veiyspaticus rooms in it and largegardens 
behind. In this seat formerly dwelt James Duke 
of Monmouth ; it afterwards was purchased by the 
Right Honourable the Earl of Burlington, where re 
lived and dyed ; his son the late Earl us'd com- 
monly to dwell there during the summer season. 

II. Near adjoyning is a very beautiful seat, 
built by Sir Stephen Fox after the modern manner, 
the model being altogether new. 

This house is large and extraordinarily well 
finished, nor dees it stoop forfine furniture, curious 
paintings, &c, to many in England. In the com- 
partment at the south door is good painting in 
fiesco, also adjoining are several handscme stately 
effices as kitchens, servants' lodgings, coach-housee, 
and stables, &c, which look like so many gentle- 
men's seats. 

The gardens are extraordinarily fine, and the 
collection very curious and costly. In fine there is 
nothing wanting to make it a compleat pleasant 
seat, and the hospitality within is equal to the 
magnificence without, and both worthy of the 



BOWACKS ACCOUNT, 13 

bounty of that much -esteemed gentleman, Sir 
Stephen Fox, who generally resides there the 
greater part of the year, who, after having been 
employed in several posts of greatest honour 
and trust, and in all of them acquitted himself 
honourably, at length, being considerably advanced 
in years, withdrew to this place to end his days in 
peace. 'Twas after the model of this house the 
Earl ot Ranelaghs at Chelsea was built. Near 
Sir Stephen's seat is an antient house in which 
dwells [sic in original]. 

III. Also at Sutton Court at the Manor House 
the Countess Dowager of Falconberg. The 
house is pleasantly situated and the gardens are 
very curious. 

IV. To the west of the town beyond the seat of 
the Earl of Burlington is a spacious regular modern 
building called Grove House, in which dwells Scory 
Barker, Esq., lately chosen knight of the shire for 
Middlesex, to serve in the ensuing Parliament. 
This eeat is pleasantly situated near the Thames 
side ; behind it are gardens, by some said to be the 
finest in England, and before a small park, enclosed 
with a large brick wall. This gentleman's ancestors 
has [sic] for a long tract of time dwelt at this place, 
and several of them lye buried in the chancel at 
Chiswick, as appears before. 

Here was formerly a seat belonging to the noble 
family of Russels, which was lately demolished, 
and upon the spot where the house stood are 
several tenements built. 

Here also formerly dwelt Sir John Denham, 
Knight of the Bath, a most celebrated English 
poet ; also the Right Honourable the Countess of 
Denbigh. 

V. At Turnham Green dwelt also Sir John 



14 CH1SWICK. 



Sharedin in a very good seat, with pleasant gar- 
dens. 

VI. Also the Lady Lort in another very hand- 
some seat. 

In Chiswick also lives Mr. Richard Carey, mer- 
chant, with some other worthy gentlemen whose 
names we can't readily remember. 

There is [sic] but two villages in this parish, 
namely, Turnham Green upon the road near Ham- 
mersmith, where there are several good brick 
houses, and so considerable a number of inhabit- 
ants that it seems as big as Chiswick itself, and 
Strand-inthe-Green, a straggling place by the 
Thames-side, stretching itself almost to Old Brent- 
ford, inhabited chiefly by fishermen. At Sutton 
Court there are a few poor houses, which indeed 
does not deserve the name of a village, and all over 
this parish are scattered farmhouses and pleasant 
seats, so that it is very populous and admirably 
well improved, and seems yet to be in a thriving 
condition. 

SUPPLEMENT : CHISWICK. 

In the churchyard on the vicar's soyl is lately 
built a vestry house at the joynt charge of the 
parishioners, the rate amounting to upwards of £40. 

Near the old building called the Colledge by the 
water-side is an antient seat belonging to the 
Master of Westminster School, where he sometimes 
retires for his diversion. 



^jjsons' Recount of (Ehistoick. 



A hundred years after John Bowack had 
published his Antiquities of Middlesex, the 
Rev. Daniel Lysons wrote his Environs of 
London, wherein at p. 118 is contained a history 
of Chiswick, which, like Bowack's account, we 
reprint without abridgment. Mr. Lysons was 
one of two brothers, both of whom were 
distinguished antiquaries. His younger 

brother, Samuel Lysons, was for many years 
director of the Society of Antiquaries and 
author of many archeological works, and with 
his brother wrote the well-known Magna 
Britannia. The Rev. Daniel Lysons, m.a., was 
Fellow both of the Royal Society and the 
Society of Antiquaries. He was baptised 28th 
April, 1762, and died 3rd January, 1834. He 
succeeded his father, the Rev. Samuel Lysons, as 
rector of Rodmarton, in Gloucestershire, in 1804, 
and held that living till the year before his 
death. The Lysons family had long been 
settled in the county of Gloucester, and for 
several generations were settled at Hempstead 
in that county. Daniel Lysons, of Hempstead, 
in 1672 bought the ancient medieval house of 
Wanswell Court, which is still standing, not far 
from Berkeley, which remained in the posses- 
sion of no less than five generations of Lysons, 
each named Daniel, until it was sold in 1818 by 
the Rev. Daniel Lysons. The armorial bear- 



16 CHISWICK. 



ings of the Lysons family were — Gules on a 
chief azure a bend nebule', from which issue the 
rays of the sun proper. Crest, the sun rising 
out of a bank of clouds. 

The second edition of the Environs of London 
was published in 1810, and from it we extract 
the following account of the parish of Chiswick. 



CHISWICK. 



This parish is not to be found in Domesday 
Book 1 ; it is mentioned in various records of the 
reign of Henry III. by the name of Chesewicke. 

The village of Chiswick is situated by the river- 
side, at the distance of about five miles from Hyde 
Park Corner ; the parish lies within the hundred 
of Ossulston, and is bounded on the east by 
Hammersmith, on the north by Acton, on the west 
by Eiling, and on the south by the Thames. It 
contains about twelve hundred acres, of which 
about three hundred are corn land ; about the same 
quantity occupied by market gardeners ; and about 
two hundred under grass, exclusively of parks and 
paddocks ; which, with private gardens, pleasure 
grounds, wastes, &c, make up the remaining 
number of acres. The soil varies from a light 
sand and gravel to a very rich loam ; but even in 
the best land gravel is to bs found near the sur- 
face. 

An uru filled with Roman silver coins was dug 
up at Turnham Green in the year 1731 2 . Stukeley 
says that the Roman road from Regnum, or Ring- 

1. — Though neither Chiswick or Sutton occur in that 
record among the possessions of the Church of St. Paul's, 
it seems probable that the manor in Fulham, said to belong 
to the canons of that cathedral, was no other than that 
of Chiswick ; which, together with Sutton, contained flye 
hides, exactly the quantity mentioned in the survey. 

2 — Stukeley's Itin. Curios, p. 205. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 17 

wood, went from Staines, through Brentford, 
(which was a manse between it and London) to 
Turnham Green, thence over Stanford bridge 1 , 
and into the Acton road, crossing the Watling-street 
at Tyburn. 

After the battle of Brentford, the Earl of Essex 
assembled his forces at Turnham Green, where he 
was joined by the City trained-bands. 4 A 
pamphlet 5 published in 1642 states that Prince 
Rupert having traversed the county of Middlesex, 
leaving Harrow on his right, came to Turnham 
Green, where he encamped his army ; that a battle 
ensued, (which is stated to have been on the 12th of 
November, the same day in which the battle of 
Erentford happened), that it continued with 
doubtful success till night, when Prince Rupert 
retreated towards the enclosed grounds on the 
right side of the Green ; and that the next morning 
800 of the cavaliers were f Dund slain on the Green. 
Sir William Waller mustered his forces there 
September 10th, 1643, when he was ordered to go 
to the relief of the Lord General's army after the 
action at Newbury 6 . 

MANORS. 

There are two manors in the parish of Chiswick, 
both belonging to the church of St. Paul's ; one of 
which is called the Dean's (being his peculiar), or 
the Manor of Sutton ; the other the Prebendal 
Manor. 

MANOR OF SUTTON. 

It does not appear when or by whom the Manor 
of Sutton was given to the Dean and Chapter of St. 
Paul's. Though it is not mentioned among the 

3.- So called (says Stukeley)from that circumstance— ibid. 

4.— Whitlock's Memorials, p. 65. 

5.— Amongst the collection of pamphlets in the British 
Museum entitled "A True and Perfect Relation of the Chief- 
Passages in Middlesex, &c. &c." 

6.— Perfect Diurnal, Sept. 18th— 25. 



18 CHISWICK. 



manors belonging to the canons of that church in 
the Domesday survey 7 , yet it is upon record that 
they were in possession of it in the reign of William 
the Conquerer. Among the archives in the chapter- 
house at St. Paul's, is a very curious and minute 
survey of all the manors belonging to the church, 
made, as it appears, in or about the time of Alardus 
de Burnham, who succeeded Ralph de Diceto in 
the deanery very early in the thirteenth century. 
As this is one of the most ancient surveys ex* 
tant, and very explicit and satisfactory in describ- 
ing the services of the tenants, I shall translate at 
large the account of the demesne lands, and some 
of the principal estates held under the lord by 
various rents and services. 

ANCIENT SURVEY. 

An Inquisition oj the Manor oj Suttune ; Philip 
de Saddam, lessee. 
"The jury return, that this manor is taxed or 
rated to the king at three hides, besides the farm 9 
of Cheswich, which by itself is two hides, rated 
with the hides of Sutton. The manor is free and 
quit from all suit either of county or hundred, and 
all other dues which belong either to the king 
himself, or to his bailiffs. In demesne are two 
hundred and ten acres of arable land, sixteen of 
meadow, and about forty of wood of a good 
growth 10 . The quantity of pasture is not knowD, 

7.— See note 1. It is enumerated among the manors be- 
longing to the Church of St. Paul s, when Wulman was dean, 
who was contemporary with William the Conqueror— Reg. 
Dec. and Cap. lib. L. f. 1. 

8.— The time of Ralph de Diceto's death is not certainly 
known. Newcourt supposes Alardus de Burnham to have 
succeeded before 1204. See Repertorium, vol. 1, p. 35. In 
the survey here quoted, some of the tenants then in pos- 
session are said to have received their grants from Ralph 
de Diceto, and others from Alardus de Burnham. 

9.—" Solandam." I have translated this woid farm, being 
guided by the sense. The word solanda does not occur in 
any glossary that I have seen. Solanum is a farm. 

10. — " In bosco bene vettito." 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 19 

but it suffices for twelve oxen, four horses, 11 ten 
cows, and one hundred and thirty sheep : wainage 12 
may be made with oxen and four horses, according 
to the custom of the township." 

TENANTS OF ASSIZE. 

" Gilbert, son of Nicholas, holds three virgates 
of land, to which his grandfather Gilbert was 
admitted by Theodoric, a former lessee, and for 
which he now pays thirty shillings per annum ; 
and is subject to the following services, viz., he 
must plough two acres of the demesne lands in 
winter, and two in Lent ; and sow the lord's seed, 
which he is to receive at the manor house, and to 
carry into the field ; he must harrow also the 
land above-mentioned ; he must find two mowers 1:j 
who are to have their provisions from the 
lord of the manor ; 14 and two men to carry hay, 
who must be fed at his own cost. Two men 
one day, and two other men a second day, to weed 
the corn — (these men to be provided with one 
meal a day by the lord). 15 He must find also 
two carts, or one waggon, to carrry hay ; 
and three men for each of the reap-days. 16 He 

11. — " Quatuor Stottis "— Stottus is defined in the glossaries 
to be equus admissarius— admissarius quia admittitur inter 
armenta. 

12.—" Wanniagium "—Wainage is sometimes used for the 
furniture of a wain, or cait, and sometimes for tillage. See 
Jacobs Law Dictionary. If either, it must mean the latter 
here. 

13.—" Homines cum falcibus." 

14.—" Ad cibum domini." 

15. — " Ad cibum domini semel in die." 

IQ.—Quaslibet precarias. Jacob translates precama, a 
reap day It was called also in ancient records, a 
bederyp, or bed repe. from the Saxon words, bedfn, rogare ; 
and rip, messis, being a term for certain assistance during 
the harvest due to the lord from his tenants, who, accordn g 
to the terrts of their agreement, sent either all their 
labourers, or a part of them, upon certain fixed days, called 
" dies precarice" ; i.e., bedryp or reap-days. Upon these 
occasions the lord of the manor always found the men pro- 
visions, and sometimes liquor. John de Lambourne, a 
tenant of the mannor of Sutton, was to send one man to 
the sicca vrecaria and two to the vrecaria cervisice. 



20 CHISWICK. 



must find two men for one day to thresh the rent- 
corn, 17 to be carried to London — (these men to 
have one meal a day at the lord's cost) ; ard pro- 
vide two sacks for each rent. He must carry dung 
from the manor house two days, each day with two 
carts — (the workmen to be allowed provisions by 
the lord). He must bring four cart loads of fuel 
from the wood, finding provisions for the men at his 
own cost. He must render moreover, annually, 
two hens and twenty eggs. 

William, son of Turstan, holds one virgate at the 
rent of 6s. 2d. He is to mow also one day for the 
lord of the manor, being allowed his provisions ; 
and to send all his labourers to the reap days ; 
the lord allowing them victuals and ale." 18 

Another tenant was to shear the lord's sheep and 
lambs, and to cut his pease. Some were to pay a 
certain rent called malt-silver, 19 being five-pence, 
three-pence, or some small sum ; others a rent 
called " wardpeni " ^° generally twopence; and 
others a small sum, called the gift. 21 

Another survey of the manors belonging to the 
church of St. Paul's, made about the year 1245, 22 
says that the manor of Suthton, in the time of 
King Henry, and William the Dean, (which muse 

17 .— " Firmam." Du Cange gives instances of "firma" being 
used in this sense ; he defines it " fructus ex conventhne 
reddendvs." 

18.— See note 16 

19. — A pa.\ nient to the lord for the privilege of making 
malt. It was sometimes called malt shot. 

20. —Ward penny was a payment made to the sheriffs f^r 
the defence of ca&tles. 

21 — De dona lOd. Donum is defined to have be^n a pay- 
ment made to the lord under the name of a free gift. GKs- 
sarium Media? Latinitatis 

22.— kewcourt calls this an inquisition of churches and 
manors, taken in 1181. The inquisition of the manors is ex- 
pressly s^.id to have been taken when Henry de Cornhill was 
dean, and Alexander treasurer. Henry de Cornhill was 
made dean in 1214 ; and Alexander Sweiford, the treasurer, 
died in 1246 ; the inquisition of the manors, therefore, must 
have taken place about 1245. The date of the year is 
annexed to the visitation cf each church, viz., 1249-1250, &c. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 21 

have been about the year 1111), was rated at three 
hides, and paid three shillings to the sheriff; which 
it still did at the taking of the inquisition. The 
canons received from it two full corn-rents, 23 and 
five hundred and forty shillings in money. The 
quantity of land is the same as in the survey above 
quoted, except that the wood is computed at only 
thirty acres and the pasture said to be sufficient 
only for five cows and sixty sheep. There were 
sixteen virgates of land which paid quit rent. 
Aluric held of the lord unam garram, 2 * by the 
annual render of two ploughshares. 25 The rents 
of assize amounted to £7 3s. 7d., beBides five shil 
lings, or every tenth fish from the fishery, and four- 
pence from the cultivated waste. 26 

In the year 1235, an agreement was made relating 
to the fish within the manor of Sutton, between the 
dean and chapter of St. Paul's, and the prior of 
Merton, who enjoyed a grant, from the King, of the 
fisheries of the river Thames, for a certain district, 
which included the shores of Chiswick. By this 
agreement, the men of Sutton and Chiswick were 
permitted to place forty wear*. 27 for catching of 
barbels and lamprons only ; for which permission 
they were to pay twenty-three shillings per annum 
to the prior of Merton ; and if the payment was 
neglecttd five days beyond the time appointed, the 
sum was to be doubled. 28 

In the ninth year of Edward IV. Baldwin Bray ; 
whose ancestors appear to have been settled there for 

23. — • Duas firmas » lenas." See note 17. 

24.— I cannot tina the word garra, in any glossary. Du 
<Jange has if in the plural, and mentions an instance wherein 
f/arra*atruocc»rs,but gives no satisfactory explai.ation of it 
If the MS. was not remarkably fair and legible, L should 
suspect that gracam a grove, was the word intended. 

25.— Soccos. See Kelham's Domesday Illustrated, p. 336. 

26.— De essaito- P war turn is defined to be waste latd 
grubbed up and cultivated. 

27.— Burrocha}. 

2^.— Reg. Dec. and Cap. lib. A. t 35. 



22 C HIS WICK. 



several generations, 29 conveyed the manor of Sutton, 
near Cheswy ke (that is, 1 suppose, assigned the lease 
of the manerial estate), to Thomas Coveton and 
others. 30 During the civil war, the manor was 
sequestered to the lord mayor and aldermen of 
London. 31 In the year 1676, the lease came into the 
hands of Thomas, Earl of Falconberg, 32 whose great 
nephew, Thomas Fowler, Viscount Falconberg, 
assigned it, about the year 1727, to Richard, 
Eiil of Burlington. 33 After Lord Burlington's 
death, the lease was renewed to the late Duke of 
Devonshire, who married his sole heir ; and it is 
now held by the present Duke. The manor house 
is now in the occupation of Radcliffe Sidebotham, 
Esq. The dean and chapter of St. Paul's had a 
grant of free warren in their manor of Sutton, 9 
Edward II. 34 

PREBENDAL MANOR. 

The prebendal manor is so called, as being the 
corps of one of the prebends of St. Paul's Cathedral. 
The ancient survey before mentioned, describes it 
as containing two hides of land. The reserved 
rent received by the prebendary is £39 2s. 6d. In 
the year 1570 (12 Eliz.), Gabriel Goodman, being 
then prebendary of Chiswick, granted a lease of 
this manor (with the demesne lands, consisting of 
about one hundred and forty acres) for ninety-nine 
years, to William Walter and George Burden, in 
trust, that they should within two years convey 
the same to the Church of Westminster, of which 
the Slid Goodman was dean. The dean and chapter 
still hold it of the prebendary of Chiswick, under 

29.- John Le Bray of Sutton is mentioned in a record, 
45 Edward III. See Harl, M8S. Brit. Mus. No. 4507, p. 121. 
30.— CI. 9 Edw. IV. m 18. 
31.— Court rolls of the manor. 

32.— Rent books and court rolls of the manor of Sutton. 
33. -Ibid. 
34.— Cart. 9 Edward II. No. 31. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 23 

a lease for three lives. In 1649 this manor, then 
valued at £177 Oa. 8d., exclusively of the reserved 
rent, was in the occupation of Arthur Duck, ll.d., 
as sub lessee, and was sold soon afterwards (as 
church property), being discharged of the reserved 
rent, for the sum of £1,551 5s. 3d. to William 
Angier and Edward Radden, on behalf of Richard 
Duck, of the county of Devon. 35 In 1691 Sir 
Stephen Fox was lessee of the manor under the 
church of Westminster. 36 The lease was assigned 
by his son Stephen, about the year 1727, 37 to 
Dr. Michael Hutchinson, and by some mesne 
assignments came to James Fry, Esq., 38 who 
sold it in 1770 to Mr. Alexander Weatherstone. 39 
Humphrey Welsted, Esq., is the present sub- 
lessee, and as such is called lord of the manor, 
and holds an annual court-baron. Lands within 
this manor descend to the youngest son. 

MANOR, OR COLLEGE HODSC 

In Gabriel Goodman's lease above-mentionea. it 
is stipulated that the lessee should erect additional 
buildings adjoining to the Manor House, sufficient 
for the accommodation of one of the prebendaries 
of Westminster, the master of the school, the 
usher, forty toys, and proper attendants, who 
should retire thither in time of sickness, or at other 
seasons when the dean and chapter should think 



35.— Parliam. Surveys Lamb MS. Library. 

36— His name first occurs that year as lord of the mano 
in the court rolls. 

37.— Stephen Fox was lord of the manor in 1726 and Dr 
Michael Hutchinson in 1727. 

::8.— Dr. Hutchinson appears to have held the manor till 
17-T7 ; irom that year till 1745, Mrs. Mary Daniel and Joseph 
Alstone, who probably were his heirs ; in 1745, Gauntlet 
Fry, Esq.; in 1748, Susanna Sharpe, spinster, who devised 
it to James Fry, above mentioned. 

99.— from the information of George Richards, Esq. 
steward of the manor in 1795. 



24 CHISWICK. 



proper. 40 To this day a piece of ground is re- 
served (in the lease to the sub-lessee) as a play-place 
for the scholars, though it is not known that the 
school was ever removed to Chiswick since Busby's 
time. Ic is on record, that Bagshaw, then under- 
master, resided there, with some of his scholars, in 
the year 1657. 41 A few years ago, when this 
house was in the tenure of Robert Berry, Esq. , the 
names of the celebrated Earl of Halifax, John 
Dryden, and many others of Busby ? s pupils were to 
be seen on the walls. Bowack, who wrote an account 
of Chiswick in 1706, savs that the house was then so 
decayed that it was wholly unfit for its intended 
use, and was patched up into small tenements for 
the labouring people of the town. 42 If his 
representation be accurate, it must have 
been rebuilt, or at least have undergone 
very considerable repairs, before the year 
1725, when the college house was inhabited 
by Dr. John Friend, master of Westminster School, 
and the prebendary's apartments by Dr. Broad- 
rick. 43 Dr. Nicholls was the last master who 



40.— Fuller is inaccurate when he says that Dean Good- 
man purchased a house, with land thereunto belonging, for 
the use of Westminster school. " If these lands," (says he), 
" at this day be n )t so profitably employed, as they were by 
the donor piously intended, it were safer to bemoan the 
sad effects, than to accuse the authors thereof ' He adds, 
that Goodman, with his own hands planted a fair row of 
elms, in his time grown up to great height and beauty. 
(Worthies, b. iv., p. 35.) Norden is more accurate than 
Fuller, when he says : " Cheswieke, belonging to a prebend 
of Paul's, now in the ha n ds of Dr. Goodman dean of West- 
minster, where he hath a faire house, whereunto he with? 
dreweth the schollers of the colledge of Westminster " 
(:Spec. Brit., p. 17). 

41.—" 1 was presently in all haste " (savs Bagshaw, in the 
narrative of his dispute with Busby), tn that hot and s.ckly 
se son of the year, to be removed unto Westminster from 
Chiswick, Wi.ere I had fixed my residence ; and wheiv, upon 
all removes of the college, the second master is by statute 
obliged to be," r>age 3. This was in the year 1657. There 
is mention of other removes of the co lege during the same- 
year, page 2, <fec. 

42. Antiquit'* s of Middlesex, page 48. 

43. — Survey of the manor, bearing date 1725. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 25 

occasionally resided at the Cillege House. Dr. 
Mat kham (the late Archbishop of York)when master 
of Westminster School, rented the prebendary's 
lodgings of the dean and chapter. The whole 
being in a ruinous state, was let on a repairing 
lease in the year 1788, for which purpose a special 
license was obtained from the dean and chapter of 
St. Paul's and the prebendary of Chiswick, pur- 
suant to Daan Goodman's injunctions, whereby the 
Church of Westminster is restrained from letting 
the mansion or manor house for more than one 
year, without such license. The present lessee of 
the College House is Mr. Douglas Thompson ; it is 
occupied by Mrs. Solieux as a ladies' boarding 
school. 

MANOR FARM HOUSE. 

The house, which is now an academy, in the 
occupation of the Rjv. Dr. Home, is called, in a 
survey dated 1725, the Minor Farm-house, and 
was then in the tenure of Lady Nevill. 

In Newcourt's R ^psrtorium 44 may be seen a 
list of the prebendaries of Chiswick, among whom 
are Nigellus, Bishop of Ely ; Richard Clifford, 
Bishop of London ; Cardinal Moreton ; Christopher 
CJrswick ; Bishop Bonner ; Bishop Barlow ; and 
Bishop Beveridge. The present prebendary is the 
Rev. Dr. Parkinson. 

The beautiful villa where the Duke of Devon- 
shire occasionally resides, stands near the site of 
an ancient houee, which Bowack says* was built 
by Sir Edward Warden ; 43 for this I find no other 
authority ; it was taken down in the year 1788, 
and by Kip's print seems to have been of the age 
of James I. Towards the latter end of his reign, 



44.— Vol. i., p. 138. 

45.— There is a monument in Chiswick Church to the 
family of Wardour, erected in the year 1612 by Edward 
W ardour, Esq. 

* See page 12 ante. 



26 CHISWICK. 



it was certainly the property and residence of 
Robert Carr, Earl of Somerset, 46 whose abandoned 
countess ended her days there in misery and dis- 
grace. 47 The Earl, who was partaker in her crimes, 
survived her many years, being never able to recover 
a broken fortune 48 or a tarnished name. Upon the 
marriage of his daughter, Lady Anne, with Lord 
Russel, he was obliged to mortgage his house at 
Chiswick, and to sell all his plate, jewels, and 
furniture, to make up the sum of £12,000, which 
the Earl of Bedford demanded as a portion. 49 
The mortgage having never been paid off, the 
premises became the property of the celebrated 
Phillip, Earl of Pembroke 50 (who was the mort- 
gagee) ; from him they passed to John, Lord 
Paw let, 51 an active royalist, and a commander 
of some eminence in the King's army. 
On the 27th May, 16+7, he was permitted to 
compound for his estate, though the interest of 
General Fairfax. 52 , who, in the months of August 
and September following, appears to have been 
more than once a visitor at his house at Chiswick. 5:: 
In 1669, this house being then the property of 
William Lord Crofts, and in the occupation of 
James Duke of Monmouth, was sold to Charles 
Lord Gerrard of Brandon, 54 who alienated it to 

46.— Court rolls and parish books. 

47.— Weldon's Court of James I., p. 113. Dugdale says she 
died in 1632. The Earl died in 1645. 

48.— Among the rec rds at the Bolls is a special warrant. 
" to give discharge to the creditors of the late Earl of 
Somerset " (so called, I suppose, as having forfeited his 
honours by his conviction) "and his ladie, on delivery of 
jewels and other things to them pawned by the said Earl 
and his ladie, Pat. 16 Jac. I. pt. 1., June 9. The Earl is 
recorded in the parish books as being in arrear for rates, 
anno 1625. 

49.— Letter from Mr. Ga»rard to Lord Strafford, Mar. 23, 
1636-7. Strafford letters, vol. ii. p. 58. 

50.— Court rolls. 

61.— Ibid. 

52.— Collins's Peerage, edit. 175^, vol. iii. page 228. 

53.— Perfect occurrences, Aug. 6-13 and Sept. 10-17, 1647. 

54.— Court rolls of the manor, whence the subsequent 
Alienations are taken. 



LYSONS' AOCOUWT. 27 

Richard Viscount RaDelagh. In 1682, it was the 
property of Edward Seymour, Esq., of Maiden- 
Bradley, who then sold it to Richard Earl of 
Burlington, from whom it descended to Richard, 
the last earl ; after his death it came to the late 
Duke of Devonshire, who married Lady Charlotte 
Boyle, his daughter and sole heir. The last Earl of 
Burlington, whose skill and taste as an architect 
have been frequently recorded, built near this old 
mansion a small but beautiful villa, the idea of 
which was partly borrowed from a design of 
Palladio. 55 The gardens at the same time were laid 
out by his lordship in the Italian style, and were 
far preferable to any that had then been seen in 
this kingdom ; they are adorned with various 
temples, obelisks, statues, &c, which have furnished 
many subjects for the engravers. 56 Some of the 
statues are antiques 57 ; the lions and other beasts 
are the works of Scheemaker : among other 
ornaments of these gardens should be noticed a 
gate erected by Inigo Jones, at Chelsea, in the 
year 1625, for the Lord Treasurer Middlesex, 
and removed to Chiswick in 1738 by 
Lord Burlington, to whom it was given 
by Sir Hans Sloane at the time that Beaufort 
Hous9 was pulled down. Lady Servey, speaking 
of Lord Burlington's Villa at Chiswick, said, that 
it was too small to live in, and too large to hang to 
a watch. The present noble owner has made it 
more habitable, without taking away from its 
beauty, by the addition of two winga, designed by 

55. --The villa of Marquis Capra, near Vicenza. 

56.— Various views of the gardens have baen engraved by 
ftocque, Du Bosc, &c. 

57.— "When the statues, which had been buried under the 
rubbish in Arundel-gardens, were dug up, about 1712, Mr. 
Theobald gave Lord Burlington the best of them, and his 
lordship removed them to Chiswick."— Letter from Mr. 
Theobald, dated 1757, and published in the Gentleman's Mag. 
for July, 1779. 



28 CHISWICK. 



Wyatt, which admirably correspond with the 
architecture of the original. The Duke of Devon- 
shire has a very valuable collection of pictures at 
Chiswick, collected by the Earl cf Burlirgtcn ; a 
catalogue of these pictures is printed in Dodsley's 
account cf London, and its environs 58 ; among 
those most worthy of note, are portraits of Lord 
Clifford and his family, by Van-Eyk, 1444 ; Mary 
Queen of Scots, which has been engraved by 
Vertue ; Clement IX., by Carlo Maratti ; 
Alexander Pope, by Kent ; the celebrated picture 
of Belisarius ; a landscape, with a man hawking, by 
lnigo Jones; a very fine Salvator Rosa ; cne of 
Velasquez, and a Madonna, by Dcminichmo, 
which Lord Burlington procured out cf a convent 
at Rome, giving them in exchange for it a complete 
set of marble colimns fcr their cturcr. That 
eminent political character, the late Bight Hon. 
Charles James Fox, breathed his last at Chiswick 
House (whither he was removed for change of air 
during his last illness) on the 13th of September, 
1806. 

The Russel family had an ancient seat in this 
parish, which belonged, in the reign of Queen 
Elizabeth, to Sir William Russel, afterwards Lord 
Russel, of Thornhegh, a distinguished military 
character. Stow, speaking cf his heroic achieve- 
ments at the Battle of Zutphcn, says : — " He 
charged so teiribly, that after he had broke his 
lance, he with his curtle-ax so plaid his part, that 
the er emy reported him to be a devil and not a 
man ; for where he saw six or seven of the enemies 
together, thither would he, and so behaved himself 
with his curtle-ax, that he wculd separate their 
friendship.' 59 On the 2nd cf October, 16G2, the 

58.— Vol. ii p. 116, &c. 

59.— Stowe's Annuals, edit. 1631, p. 737, anno 1586. 




o 

cs 
o 
O 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 29 

Queen honoured him with a visit at Chiswick.*' 
Sir William Russel's mansion descended to his only 
son Francis, the first Earl of Bedford, who died on 
the eve of the civil war. From the interest he 
took in the concerns of this parish, 61 it is pro- 
bable that he fiequeLtly resided here: after the 
death of his widow, Catherine, Countess of Bed- 
ford, which happened in 1654, the premises at 
Chiswick were inherited, according to the custom 
of the manor, by her youngest son Edward, 
who, in the year 1659. alienated a free- 
hold messuage, &c, to William Gomeldon. 62 
Since that time it hus pasted through various hands; 
and was in 1747 the property of the Hon. Pere- 
grine Widdrington ; who, by his will of that date, 
left it to his wife the Dutchess of Norfolk, for life, 
with remainder in succession to his nephew, the 
Hon. W. Tempest Widdrington, and John Town- 
ley, Esq., and their heirs. Of the latter it was 
purchased by Sir C. W. Boughton Rouse Boughton, 
Bart., of Rouse-Lench, in the county of Worcester, 
who in 1802 sold it to Viscountess Bateman. It 
is now by Lady Bateman's biquest the property of 
Lady Caroline Darner, subject to a lease for life to 
the Countess Dowager of Macartney, by whom it is 
now occupied. It was the residence, towardsthe close 
of his life, of the late Earl, viho died there in the 
month of April, 1806 This mansion is now called 
Corney House. Mr. Wkldringtcn, in 1745, pur- 
chased certain tenements, and a piece of land, 
called Corney Houses and Corney Close, adjoining 
to his own premises ; these, probably, were the 

60.— Queen Elizabeth's Progresses, 1601, &c, p. 21. It is 
probable that she had visited him the year before also. " 1 
send you (says Hr William Browne, writing to Sir Robert 
Sidney) all the Queen's entertainment at Chi' wick, and at 
mv lord-keeper'?." Sidney Papers, vol. ii. p. 231. 

61. --See Mote 70. 

62.— Title-deeds, obligingly communicated by Sir C. iV!. 
•Boughton Rouse Boughton, Bart. 



30 CH1SWICK. 



same houses and land which James Ruesel, 
youngest son of Edward, held in 1670, some time 
after the alienation of the mansion above- 
mentioned. The premises were much improved 
and enlarged by Mr. Townley, who surrounded the 
whole with a brick wall and built a handsome 
lodge. 

Grove House, near Sutton Court, belonged, in the 
reign of Henry IV., to Robert Warner, who sold it to 
Thomas Holgill, Esq. 63 It was afterwards, for 
several generations, the property of the Barker 
family. After the death of Henry Barker, Esq., 
which happened in 1745, it was purchased by the 
Earl of Grantham, and descended to his daughter, 
Lady Frances Elliot. Soon after her death it was 
purchased by the Right Hon. Humphry Morrice, 
who made considerable additions to the house, and 
built a large riding-house, with excellent stables 
for thirty horses. The fine collection of pictures 
which he had at this place, was sold after his death 
to the Earl of Ashburnham. This beautiful villa, 
which is situated in a very desirable and retired 
spot upon the banks of the Thames, is now the 
property of Mrs. Luther, relict of John Luther, 
Esq., m.p. for the county of Essex. The premises, 
containing about fourscore acres, are inclosed 
within a brick wall ; the pleasure grounds were 
laid out by the Earl of Grantham. The paddock 
abounds with a great number of old walnut trees 
and Spanish chestnuts, the fruit of which has been 
known to produce £80 per annum. 

In the year 1747, Lord Viscount Dunkerron 
became possessed of a capital messuage at Turnham 
Green, 64 which having passed through various 
hands, viz., the Earl of Kerry (1752), Matthew 
Hutton, Esq (1762), the Earl of Egmont (1765), 

63.- CI. 13, Hen. IV., m. 10, 11, 18. 

64. —Court Rolls of the Manor of Sutton. 




CM 
0) 



UJ 
W 

D 

o 

z 

UJ 

> 

o 
O 



LTSONS' ACCOUNT. 31 

Sir Brownlow Oust (1771), the Duchess of Devon- 
shire (1772), Lord John Cavendish (1777), was 
purchased in 1789 by Lord Heathfield, the cele- 
brated defender of Gibraltar, who made it his 
principal residence till his death, which hap- 
pened not long afterwards : it belonged 
lately to Dr. Alexander Meyersbach, and is now 
the property and residence of Mrs. Wildman. The 
gardens were laid out with much taste for Lord 
Heathfield, by Mr. Aiton, now His Majesty's 
gardener at Kew. 

Sir Henry Sidney, Lord President of Ireland 
in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, appears to 
have had a seat at Chiswick ; his wife, Lady 
Mary (daughter of John Duke of Northum- 
berland.) dates her letters thence in 1574 and 
1578. 65 Leonard Maw, Bishop of Bath and Wells, 
who had been chaplain to Prince Charles, and 
attended him when he went to pay his addresses to 
the Infanta, had a house at Chiswick, where he 
died September 2nd, 1629, and was buried in the 
church there. 66 It appears by the parish books, 
chat Sir Lewis Lewkner, Knt., 67 resided at Chis- 
wick in 1621 ; Sir William Jones, Chief Justice of 
the Common Pleas (1632); and the Duke of 
Leinster (1695). 68 Joseph Miller, of facetious 
memory, who was a comic actor of considerable 
merit, was many years an inhabitant of Strand-on- 
the-Green, 69 and died at his house there in the 
month of August, 1738. 

PARISH CHURCH. 

The church of this place, which is dedicated to 
St. Nicholas, stands near the waterside. The 

65.— Sidney Papers, vol. i. p. 66 and '271 

66.— Fun. Certif. Herald's Coll. i. xxiii. 30 and Harl. MSS. 
Brit. Mus., No. 7176, p. 151. 

67.— Master of the Ceremonies to James I. 

68.— Be was son of the celebrated Duke of Schomberg, and 
was created Duke of Leinster by King William in 1690. The 
■title became extinct in 1719. 

eg—Craftsman, Aug. 19. 



32 CHISWICK. 



present structure appears to have consisted 
originally ouly of a nave and chancel, and was 
built probably about the beginning of the fifteenth 
century, at which time the tower was erected, at 
the charge of William Bordall, vicar of Chiswick, 
who died in 1435. 70 It is built of stone and flint, 
as is the north wall of the church and the chancel ; 
the latter has been much repaired with brick : a 
transverse aisle, at the east end of the nave, was 
added on the south side in the middle of the 
seventeenth, and a corresponding aisle on the 
north side, towards the beginning of the last 
century ; the former was enlarged in the year 
1772, by subscription, and carried on to the west 
end of the nave : both the aisles are of brick. 

On the south wall of the chancel is the monument 
of Sir Thomas Chaloner, whose effigies, and that of 
his wife, are represented kneeling at a fald stool 
under a pavilion, tie curtains of which are supported 
by two armed soldiers. On a tablet beneath is the 
following inscription :—" Here lieth the bodey of 
Sir Thomas Chaloner, who was knighted in the 
warres of France, by Kinge Henry th^ Fourthe, 
anno 1591, and after Governor in the minority, and 
Chamberlayneto the late prince of famous memorey, 
Henrey Prince of Wales, Duke of Cornewall, and 
Earle of Chester. He married to his firste wife 



70. —In the church, against the west wall, is a tablet with 
the following inscription :—'• Mr. William Bordall. 
principal vicar of this church of Chiswicke, was founder of 
ye steeple of ye same. He died the lftth day of October, in 
ye yeare of our Lorde MCCCCXXV., both which appear iu the 
brass on his tombstone in this church; which monument of 
this worthy benefactor being, by William Walker r his suc- 
cessor, happily preserved from being lost, is now in this 
stone contended to the lasting mem >ry of posteritie, by ye 
right honorable and trulv noble Lord Francis Lorde Russel, 
Earl of Bedf >rd, anno Dnnini 1631." 1'h.e date of Bordall r d 
death here is 1425. Weever, who copied the insciiption 
from the brass plate, makes it 1435. I am inclined to think., 
that Weever is right ; because I rind, from the legisters of 
the dean and chapter, that the vicarage became vacant in, 
1434. 



LYSONS 1 ACCOUNT. 33 

Elizabeth, daughter to William Fleetwood, 

sergeant-at-lawe to Q. Eliz., and recorder 

of London, by whom he had yssue, 

Thomas, deceased ; Willm. ; Edward ; Thomas ; 

Henrey, deceased ; Arthure, deceased ; James ; 

Elizabeth, deceased ; Mary, wife to Sr. Edward 

Fisher, knight ; Elizabeth ; and Dorothey ; 

and died the 22d. of June, a.d. 1603, 

aged 35 yeares : and to his second wife he 

married Jude, the daughter to Will m . Blunt of 

London, Esquier, by whom he had also yssue 

Henrey ; Charles ; Fredericke ; and Arthure ; 

Anne ; Katherine ; and Frances ; and she deceased 

the 30 day of June, a.d. 1615, aged 36 

years : and the aforesayed Sir Thomas Chaloner 

died the 18th day of November, 1615, being of 

the adge of 51 years— An. Dom. 1721 ; in grateful 

remembrance of his honourable ancestor, this 

monument was repaired at the charge of Edward 

Chaloner of Gisbrough, in com. Ebor. Esq." 

This Sir Thomas was son of Sir Thomas Chaloner 

the elder, a very eminent person in the reign ot 

Queen Elizabeth, both as a soldier, a scholar, and 

a statesman ; 71 and he seems to have inherited a 

great portion of his father's accomplishments. He 

was particularly attached to the study of natural 

history, and was very active in researches relating 

to that science ; the first alum mines which had 

been known in this kingdom, were discovered by 

him, near Gisborough, in Yorkshire, 72 where he 

had an estate. The method of preparing 

the alum he is said to have brought from 

Italy. 73 These mines, with others that had 

been discovered upon some adjoining estates, 

were afterwards seized by the crown, and became 

so valuable, that Sir Paul Pindar rented them at 

71.— See Biograph. Brit. 

72.— Fuller's Worthies, Yorkshire, p. 186. 

73.— Gough's Camden, vol. Hi. p 80. 



34 CHISWICK. 



£14,740 per annum ; and, as Fuller says, did net 
complain of his bargain. The mines lay neglected 
for many years duriDg the last century, 74 but are 
now worked, and the produce sent both to the 
London market and to foreign parts. Sir Thomas 
Chaloner wrote a treatise on the virtues of nitre, 
and " other matters (says Wood) pertaining to 
virtuosity, and some things, as it seems, to 
pastoral, 75 but whether extant I cannot tell. 70 " 
Puttenham compares " Maister Challoner for 
eglogue and pastorall poesie to Sir P. Sydney, 
and the gentleman who wrote the Shepherd's 
Calender, all of whom, says he, deserve the highest 
price." 77 Several of Sir Thomas Chaloner's letters 
are printed in Birch's Memoirs of Queen Elizabeth, 
1596-1597. William, his eldest son, was created a 
Baronet by King James I., in 1620 ; Edward, who 
was born at Chiswick, entered into holy orders, and 
published some sermons and religious tracts ; 78 he 
died of the plague at Oxford ; Thomas and James, 
disgusted by the seizure of the alum mines, took a 
very active part against King Charles I. : they 
both sat as his judges, and Thomas signed the 
warrant for his execution, which occasioned him to 
be excepted out of the act of oblivion ; he retired 
to Holland before the return of King Chailes II., 
and died at Middleburgh. 79 

To return to the account of the church. On the 
east wall of the chancel is a monument in memory 
of the Barker family ; and that of Thomas Bentley, 
partner with Mr. Josiah Wedgwood in the celebrated 
Staffordshire manufacture, who being poesessed of 
an elegant taste, furnished many of the beautiful 

74.— Gough's Camden, vol. iii. p. 81. 

• 75. — Berkenhout says, that he published his father's 
poetical works. Biograph. I/terar., p. 529. The Biographia 
Britannica attributes that publication to "William Malin. 

76. — A then., Oxon., vol. 1. ' 

77.— Ait of Poetry, p. 51. 

78.— Wood's Athen.,Oxon., vol. i. 

79.— Biographia Britannica art., Chaloner, in the notes. 



*4$ r 



..J 



/ ft 

■ 



7/ * 
1/3 I 



1 ttfV /-' $ -r r/ : • 

II* H i • ,*J !/ - ■>. ft ' -• 
r p &r. \t) •<>• *^ y.-y. b 



T- D £ F 



.> 



V 



P, V. < ! 






G= 






r 1 



r > » 






<< > 




f 
r 

r 

rlr 

I 

.«- 




LTSONS' ACCOUNT. 35 



designs for that ware ; he died in 1780 ; 
over the monument is his bust in white 
marble. 

On the north wall of the chancel is the 
monument of Charles Holland, the comedian; 8 '' 
and that of Chidioke Wardour, E?q. forty-two 
years lord treasurer's clerk, who died in 1611 ; his 
daughter, Elizabeth, who died in 1606, married 
Sir Stephen Lesieur, Knt., employed in various 
embassies to the King of Denmark, the Emperor 
Matthias, &c. He resided at Chiswick, and 
married for his second wife, Catherine, daughter 
of Edward, Lord B^rgavenny. 81 In the chancel 
are the tombs also of Mark Anthony La Bastide 
de Crosat, 8 ' 2 who died in 1704, and of Charlotte, 
Duchees of Somerset, who died in 1773 ; at the 
east end of the south aisle is the monument of 
James Howard, Esq., only son of the Hon. Thomas 
Howard, (brother of James, Earl of Suffolk,) who 
died in 1669. James Howard married Charlotte 
Jemima Henrietta Maria Boyle, natural daughter 
of Charles II. by Lady Shannon. His only child, 
Stuarta VValburg Howard, alienated the house at 
Turnham Green, which had belonged to her father, 
to Sir John Chardin. 

On the wall of the churchyard ia the following 
singular inscription: — "This wall was made at 
the charges of the Right Honourable and trulie 
pious Lorde Francis Russell, Duke of Bedford, 8 " 
oute of true zeal and care for the keeping of this 
churchyard, and the wardrobe of Goddes Saintes, 
whose bodies lay therein buryed, from violatetng 



80.— See p. 43. 

81.— Collins's Peerage, edit. 1756, vol. v. p. 11. 

82.— Bowack says, he was secretary to the Marquis de 
Rovigny, Ambassador from the King of France to Oliver 
('romwell. Antiq. Middlesex, p. 42. 

83. — This is a mistake. There was no Duke of Bedford of 
this family till 1694. 



36 CHISWICK. 



by swine and other prophanation ; so witntsseth 
William Walker, v. a.d. 1625." 

In the churchyard are, among many others of 
less note, the monuments of William Hogarth, 
Esq. (1764) j 84 John Townley, Esq., of Townley, in 
the county of Lancaster (1782) ; William Rose, 
ll.d. (1786). 85 

The following epitaph, in memory of John 
Ayton Thomson, a youth of fifteen, was written by 
the late Arthur Murphy, E*q.: — 
" If in the morn of life each winning grace, 
" The converse sweet, the miud-illumin'd face, 
" The lively wit that charm'd with early art, 
" And mild affections streaming from the heart ; 
'• If these, lov'd youth, could check th haDd of fate, 
" Thy matchless worth had claim'd a longer date. 
" But thou art blest, while here we heave the sigh ; 
" Thy death is virtue wafted to the sky. 
" Yet still thy image fond affection keeps, 
" The sire remembers, and the mother weeps ; 
" Still the friend grieves, who saw thy vernal bloom, 
•* And here, sad task, inscribes it on thy tomb. 

" A. Murphy." 
In 1349 John de Bray had a licence to give half 
an acre of land to enlarge the churchyard. 86 

The church of Chiswick is a vicarage in the 
patronage of the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, 
who are ordinaries of the place, it being exempt 
from the bishop's jurisdiction. 

In the survey before mentioned, 87 of the 
churches and manors belonging to the Dean and 
Chapter of St. Paul's (taken about the year 1245), 
the inquisition relating to this parish says, that the 
church of Sutton (meaning, I suppose, Chiswick) 
was in the demesne of the canons, who received 
from it ten shillings per annum by the hands o 
the lessee : it paid also thirteen pence under the 

84.— See his epitaph, p. 46. 

85.— See his epitaph, p. 48. 

86.— Newcourt'sRepertorium, vol. i. p. 588. 

87.— Cte Note 22. 



LYSOXS' ACCOUNT. 



name of synodals. The lessee collected the 
Peter's pence, which he received to his own use : 
the glebe land belonging to the church was 
]6;j acres of arable, and one of meadow; all frf eland. 88 
The church had also a third part of the tithes, 
both great and small, of the demesnes, and of the 
treasurer's demesnes ; and all the tithes of both 
townships, except these of hay. 89 In the reign of 
Henry III. the Dean and Chapter, out of respect, it 
seems, to Gualo, the Pope's Legate, granted a 
lease of the rectory of Chiswick to Tholomeus 
Romanus for three marks per annum. 90 In 1327 it 
was rated at one hundred shillings ; 91 in 
Edward VI. 's time at £40. x It appears by the 
survey of 1649, that the parsonage of Chiswick was 
then on lease to John Edgar, at £4 10a. per annum, 
and that it was valued at £55 4s. per annum over 
and above the reserved rent. 93 Another survey, 
taken in 1650, values the rectory at £100; it was 
then in the occupation of Mr. Chaloner Chute. 94 
The rectory is now leased, with the manor of 
Sutton Court, the reserved rent of both together 
being £43 per annum. 

At a visitation of the church of Chiswick, in 
1252, it appeared that the vicar received all the 
altarage, 95 and had a glebe of twelve acres of 
arable, and one of meadow, besides which he was 
paid a mark of silver annually by the chamber- 
lain. 96 At the visitation in 1458, 97 the 
vicar's glebe was computed at twenty acres, 



38.— Terrce liberce, i.e., free from all taxes. 

89.— Keg. D. and Cap. Lib. L. f. 82. b. 

90. -Cart. Antiq St. Paul's, No. 787. 

9I.-Barl. MS -. Brit. Mas. No. 60. 

92.— Chantry Roll, Augmentation office. 

93.- Parliament Surveys. Lamb. MSS. Lib. 

94.- Ibid. 

9'.. — D« creed by the Cmrt of Exchequ r, 21 Eliz., to com- 
prehend all small tithes. 

90. — Reg. Dec and Cap. lib L. f. 13" b. 

97.— See a thin bo^k of Visitations of Churches, among 
the archives of t. I'au.'a Cathedral. 



38 C HIS WICK. 



which he enjoyed for the purpose of finding 
a boy (for the choir) to assist in divine service. 
In the King's books this vicarage is valued at 
£9 18s. 4d. per annum ; in the survey of 1649, at 
£53 18s. ; in that of 1650, at £58 ; in the latter 
survey is mentioned a glebe of twenty acres and a 
half. Patrick Seamer was then vicar, haviDg been 
presented by the Parliament after the sequestration 
of Mr. Packington. 98 

James Thompson, who was presented to the 
vicarage of Chiswick, November 4th, 1658, by 
William Steele and others," procured an allowance 
of sixty pounds per annum out of the impropriated 
tithes, April 27th, 1660. 10 ° Thomas Elborowe, who 
was collated to this vicarage in 1662, 1C1 published an 
exposition of the common prayer, in two books. 1 "- 
He was an intimate friend of John Barwick, who 
was made dean of St. Paul's by Charles II. for his 
active loyalty and sufferings during the Civil 
War. Dr. Barwick, in the latter part of his 
life, frequently retired to his friend's house at 
Chiswick. 103 

The present vicar is the Rev. John Prettyman, 
m.a., who was collated in 1809. 

The earliest parish register that is now extant 
begins in 1678. 

COMPARATIVE STATEMENT OF POPULATION*. 
Average of Average of 
Baptisms. Burials. 

16S0-16S9 53 4-10ths 62 3-10ths 

1730—1739 7t5 5-Sths 10S 8-10ths 

17S0-17S4 96 2-5ths 116 3-5ths 

1784— 17S9 104 2-oths 123 l-5th 

1793-1799 •. 97 99 2-Srds 

1800-180 7 96 1-Sth 93 5-St hs 

98.— Parliamentary Surveys. 

93.— Minutes of the Commissioners' proceedings, Lambeth 
Library, vol. xix. pp. 137-13S. Thompson was presented 
again, .November 19th, by the trustees for plundered 
ministers ; vol. xxxv. p. 144. 
1''0.— Ibid. vol. xxiii. p. 331. 
101.— Newcourt's Repertorium, vol. i. p. 5;9. 
102.— Life of Dr. Barwick, p. 333, in the notes. 
103.-Ibid. p. 333. 



LYSOyS' ACCOUNT. 39 

The population of this place appears to have in- 
creased in a proportion of almost two to one between 
1680 and 1780, but to have been stationary or rather 
declining since. The principal increase of buildings 
was at Turnham Green ; in 1793, the number of 
houses was 426, of which 163 were in Chiswick, 168 
at Turnham Green, 4 at Stanford Brook, 11 at 
Little Sutton, and 80 at Strand-on-the-Green. In 
the year 1801 there were 556 houses 104 in the 
parish of Chiswick, which, I am informed, very 
nearly corresponds with the present number. 

EXTRACTS FROM THE REGISTER. 

"Sir Stephen Fox, Kat., and Christian Hope, 
were married by licence, July 11th, 1703." Sir 
Stephen Fox laid the foundation of his future 
eminence by his loyal and active services to King 
Charles II. during his exile. 103 He was elected a 
member of the first Parliament which was called 
after the Restoration, and continued to sit in the 
House of Commons with very little intermission till 
the day of his death, having been twice one of the 
representatives for the City of We&tminster. 10G He 
was paymaster-general of the forces to Charles II., 
and sat as one of the lords of the treasury during 
the greater part of his reign, and that of King 
William III. He was also one of the commissioners 
appointed by James II., but became so obnoxious to 
that monarch by his opposition to his measures, that 
he was one of those excepted by name, when, at 
the time of a threatened invasion, a general pardon 
was promised to those who had acted against 

104.— In the abstract of the population of England, 
printed by order of the House of Commons, where the 
inhabited and the uninhabited houses are distinctly stated, 
they are set down as 556 inhabited houses and 33 
uninhabited ; but lam informed that the persons who made 
this return, meant 556 as the total number, of which 33 were 
uninhabited. 

105.— Collins' Peerage, edit. 1756, vol. v. pp. 390-391. 

106.-Ibid., pp. 391-395. 



40 C HIS WICK. 



him. 107 In the year 1685 Sir Stephen Fox pur- 
chased a copyhold estate at Chiswick, 108 and built 
a villa, which he made his principal residence after 
he had retired from public business. King 
William was so pleased with it that he is said to 
have exclaimed to the Eari of Portland, upon his 
first visi", "This place is perfectly fine; I could 
live here five days." This, it seems, was his usual 
expression when he was much pleased with a situa- 
tion, and he is said never to have paid the same 
compliment to any other place in England, except 
Lord Exeter's at Burleigh. 10 ** Sir Stephen Fox's 
house at Chiswick was inherited, according to the 
custom of the manor, by his youngest son Henry, 
who alienated it to Spencer Lord Wilmington, in 
1728 ; 110 from him it descended to James, Earl of 
Northampton, in 1744. Charlotte, Lady Ferrers, 
the Earl's youngest daughter, was admitted to it in 
1755. It was sold by her husband, the late 
Marquis Townshend, to the late Earl of Morton, 
and is now the property and residence of Lady 
Mary Coke. 

Christian Hope, whose marriage with Sir 
Stephen Fox is recorded in the entry here quoted, 
was his second wife, and daughter of the Rev. 
Charles Hope, of Nasely, in the county of Lincoln: 
there was a considerable disproportion in their 
ages, Sir Stephen being in his seventy-sixth year. 
He had issue by her, Stephen, (afterwards Earl 
of Ilchester), baptised at Chiswick, September 17, 
1704 ; Henry, afterwards Lord Holland (a dis- 
tinguished political character in the last reign, and 
father of the late Right Hon. Charles James Fox), 
baptized at Chiswick, October 15,1705; Christian, his 
twin sister (who died in her infancy by an acci- 

107.— Collins' Peerage, vol. v. p. 394. 
108.- Court Rolls of the manor of SuttoD. 
109.— Tour through England, 1738, vol. ii. p. 202. 
110.— Court Rolls of Sutton. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 41 

dental fall), baptized the same day ; and Charlotte 
(afterwards married to the Hon. Edward Digby), 
baptized at the same place, May 9, 1707. 

4< Sir Stephen Fox carried away to Farley, in 
Wiltshire, Nov. 5, 1716. " His father was of Farley, 
which was the f*mily burial place : Sir Stephen 
rebuilt the church there, and founded an hospital 
and a school. 

" Barbara Villiers, Duchess of Cleaveland, buried 
Oct. 13, 1709." The Duchess was buried in the 
church, her funeral being attended by the Dukes of 
Ormond and Hamilton, the Earls of Essex, Grant- 
ham, and Lifford, and Lord Berkeley, of Stratton. 111 
She was daughter of William Viscount Grandison, 
and wife of Roger Palmer, Earl of Castlemain, a 
well-known beauty in the Court of Charles II., and 
one of his most distinguished favourites. In the 
year 1670 he created her Duchess of Cleveland, 
with limitation to her son, Charles Fitzroy, and his 
heirs male : the title became extinct in 1773. The 
Duke of Cleveland's name appears among the 
inhabitants of Chuwick in 1723. 

"Sir John Chardin, buried December 29, 1712." 
Sir John Chardin was born at Paris in 1643, being 
the son of a jeweller. On the revocation of the 
edict of Nantz he lefc France, and with many other 
refugees sought an asylum in this, kingdom in the 
year 1685. 112 His travels, which have been trans- 
lated into English, Flemish, and German, are much 
esteemed as abounding with credible narratives 
and exhibiting a just picture of the manners and 
customs of Persia and other Oriental countries. 
The only inscription on his monument in West- 
minster Abbey is— Sir John Chardin— Nomen 
sibi fecit eundo : there is no memorial to him at 
Chiswick. He lived in a house at Turnham Green, 

111.— Tatler, new edition, vol. ii. p 171. 
112.— Northouck's Dictionary. 



42 CEISWICE. 



which belonged to James Howard, Esq., nephew of 
James, Earl of Suffolk ; it waB sold after Sir John 
Chardin's death to Thomas Lutwyche, Esq., and 
was, in 1762, the property of George Tuffnel, Esq. 11:! 
" Mary, Countess of Fauconberg, buried March 
24, 1713." This celebrated lady was third daughter 
of Oliver Cromwell ; she was married at Hampton 
Court, November 19th. 1657. m In person she is 
said to have been handsome, yet at the same time 
to have resembled her father : in the decline of life 
she is said to have been pale and sickly ; but this 
differs from the account given of her by J. Macky, 
author of A Journey through England, which, 
although the dedication bears date in 1724, must 
have been written, or at least made, before 1713. 
Speaking of Sutton Court, 113 the seat of the then 
late Earl of Falconberg, he says: "I saw here a 
great and curious piece of antiquity, the eldest " 
(this is a mistake, she was the third) " daughter of 
Oliver Cromwell, who was then fresh and gay, 
though of a great age." 116 After seeing all hopes of 
the sovereignty continuing in her own family cut 
off by the death of her father, Lady Falconberg 
is said to have exerted all her endeavours for the 
restoration of monarchy ; she bore the character of 

113.— Court rolls of Sutton. 

114. — Nov. 19. "Married at Hampton Court, the Lady 
Mary Cromwell to the most nob e Lord Faiconbridge, in the 
presence of their highnesses and many noble personages " 
Public Intelligencer, Nov. 16-23, 1657. 

115. — In 1708 the Countess of Falconberg was rated in the 
parish broks for Sutton Court. Sir Thomas Frankland 
appears to have lived at the same time at Little Sutton. 
After Lady Falconberg's death, Sir Thomas Frankland was 
admitted to a house and premises late her property. In 
1727, previously to Lord Burlington's purchase, Thomas 
Fowler, Lord Falconberg (nephew of the Viscount then 
lately deceased, and great nephew of Thomas Earl of 
Falconberg), Bowland Bellasys, and Oliver Cromwell 
(youngest son of Henry, only son of Henry Cromwell, who 
was younger brother of the late Countess, and her heir 
according to the custom of the manor), were all admitted to 
premises in Chiswick, and all surrendered to the Earl of 
Burlington. See Court rolls of Sutton. 

116.— Macky 's Journey Through England, vol. i., p. 86. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 43 

a pious, worthy woman, and constantly attended 
divine service at the Parish Church at Chiswick. 117 

"Aug. 31, 1716, Mrs. Anne Bathurst, an infant 
daughter of the Rt- HonWe. Lord Bathurst, buried.' 
It appears by this and other entries that the cele- 
brated Allen, Lord Bithurst, and his father, Sir 
Benjamin, resided occasionally at Chiswick. 

44 Adam Cardonnel, Esq., buried Mar. 3, 1718-9." 
He was secretary to the great Duke of Marl- 
borough ; several of Cardonnel's letters are printed 
in the Duke's Life. 

" Henry, son of Sir Henry Bedingfield, of 
Oxborough Hall, in the county of Norfolk, 
Bart., and the Rt- Hon. Lady Elizabeth, his wife, 
born Oct. 27, baptized Nov. 3, 1723." Lady 
Elizabeth was daughter of Charles Earl of Burling- 
ton. Sir Henry Bedingfield was engaged in an 
epistolary dispute with the celebrated Archibald 
Bower, 118 which discovered Bower's connection with 
the Jesuits, and led to a detection of his impostures 
by Dr. Douglas, the late Bishop of Salisbury. 

"Charles, son of John and Sarah Holland, 
baptized April 3, 1733." John Holland was 
a baker of Chiswick ; his son Charles was 
bound apprentice to a turpentine merchant, but 
having a strong inclination to the stage, and 
having met with much approbation for the display 
of his theatrical talents in some private circles, he 
applied to Garrick, who gave him good encourage- 
ment and good advice. By his persuasion he 
punctually fulfilled his engagement with his 
master, at the expiration of which, finding his 
passion for the theatre not abated, he made his 
first appearance at Drury-lane in the year 1754, in 
the character of Oroonoko, under the auspices of the 
manager, to whom he was much attached, and who 
continued his friendship towards him till his death. 

117.— Noble s Memoirs of the Cromwells, vol. i., p. 148. 
118.— See Gent. Mag., 1756. 



44 CH1SWICK 



Holland met with much applause, and continued to 
rise in reputation as an actor till his death : he 
was cut off by the small-pox in the 36th year of his 
age, December 7th, 1769. About three years 
before his death he became joint manager of the 
theatre at Bristol with Powell. He distinguished 
himself principally in the character of Richard III., 
Hamlet, Pierre, Timur in "Zingis," and Manley in 
" The Plain Dealer." He was buried in the church- 
yard at Chiswick, on the 15th of December, his 
funeral being attended by most of the performers 
belonging to the theatre : 119 the following inscrip- 
tion is placed on his tomb : — "In a vault under this 
tomb lieth the body of Mr. Charles Holland, late of 
Drury Lane Theatre, of whose character and 
abilities David Garrick, Esq., has given testi.noDy 
on a monument erected to his memory in the 
chancel of this church, by permission of His Grace 
the Duke of Devonshire." The monument here 
alluded to is on the north wall of the chancel ; a 
bust of Mr. Holland, in white marble, is placed 
over a tablet inscribed with the following 
epitaph : — 

" If talents to make entertainment instruction, 
to support the credit of the stage by just and rnanly 
action ; if to adorn society by virtues which would 
honour any rank and profession, deserve remem- 
brance, let him with whom these talents were long 
exerted, to whom these virtues were well known, 
and by whom the loss of them will be long 
lamented, bear testimony to the worth and 
abilities of his departed friend, Charles Holland, 
who was born March 12, 1733 ; died December 7, 
1769, and was buried near this place. 

"D. Garrick." 

119. — The above facts relating to Holland are taken from 
an account of him, which is esteemed very accurate, and 
was published in the Gentleman's Magazine soon after his 
death. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 45 

"William Kent, Esq., from London, buried in a 
vault in the chancel, Ap. 17, 1748." Kent was 
both a painter and an architect ; in the former 
capacity he acquired but little credit ; as an archi- 
tect he was more successful, and he is well known 
also as the inventor of the modern improvements in 
gardening : he died at the age of 64, in the house of 
his patron, Lord Burlington, in Piccadilly. 120 

"James Ralph. Esq., buried Jan. 31, 1762." 
Mr. Ralph, who is well known as a political and his- 
torical writer, was first settled in America ; he came 
over to England in the beginning of George II. 'a 
reign, in company with Doctor Franklin, with 
whom he lived in habits of great intimacy. Hi3 
first attempt to establish a literary reputation was 
by writing for the stage, in which he seems to 
have mistaken the bent of his genius, for he 
produced a tragedy, comedy, opera, and farce, 
with very little success ; he published some poems 
also, which were much ridiculed in the Dunciad, 
particularly one entitled Night, which is alluded to 
in the following lines : — 

" Silence, ye wolves, while Ralph to Cynthia howls, 
" Making Night hideous ; answer him, ye owls. " 

However destitute of merit Ralph's poetry might 
be, Pope seems to have been unjustly severe when 
he treats him as an illiterate scribbler ; his political 
tracts were in their day in great request, and his 
History of England, commencing at the Restoration, 
is still held in considerable esteem. He was much 
in the confidence of Frederick Prince of Wales, by 
whose death he lost all his expectation of prefer- 
ment. Mr. Ralph resided in the prebendal part of 
the College of Chiswick, which he rented of the 
Dean and Chapter of Westminster : he died of the 
gout on the 24th of January, 1762, and his only 

120.— Anecdotes of Painting, vol. iv 



46 cms WICK. 



daughter soon afterwards fell a victim to the same 
disorder. 121 

"William Hogarth, Esq., buried Nov. 2, 1764." 
This celebrated painter, whose works and life are 
too well known to be enlarged on here, about the 
year 1750 purchased a house at Chiswick, where, 
during the remainder of his life, he generally spent 
the greater part of the summer. He was buried in 
the churchyard ; on his monument is the following 
inscription :—" Here lies the body of William 
Hogarth, Esq., who died Oct. 26, 1764, aged 67 
years." 

" Farewell, great painter of mankind ! 

" Who reach'd the noblest point of art ; 
" Whose pictur'd morals charm the mind, 
"And through the eye correct the heart. 
" If genius fire thee, reader, stay ; 

"If Natxtre touch thee, drop a tear ; 
" If neither move thee, turn away, 
" For Hogarth's honoured dust lies here. 

"D. Garrick." 
The following epitaph, written upon Hogarth by 
Dr. Johnson, is printed in Mrs. Piozzi's Anec- 
dotes : — 

" The hand of him here torpid lies, 

That drew th' essential form of grace ; 
Here clos'd in death th' attentive eyes, 
" That saw the manners in the face. ' 

" Sir Thomas Robinson, Lord Grantham, buried 
in a vault in the chancel, Oct. 6, 1770." Sir Thomas 
Robinson was ambassador to Vienna, and in the 
year 1754 was appointed secretary of state. He 
was created Lord Grantham by his present Majesty 
in 1761. 

"The Rt. Honble. Thomas Robinson, Lord 
Grantham, buried July 27, 1786." The late Lord 
Grantham was born at Vienna while his father was 
ambassador there ; he himself was appointed 
ambassador extraordinary and plenipotentiary to 

121.— Biograph. Dramatica, whence most of the facts, 
above-mentioned are collected. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 



the Court of Spain in 1771, where he continued till 
the breaking out of the war in 1779. In 1781 he 
was appointed firat lord of the board of trade 
and plantations ; and in 1782, secretary of state 
for the foreign department. He died at his seat 
on Putney Common, in the 48th year of his age. 




T.MORELL.S.T.P 



"The Rev. Thomas Morel, d.d., buried Feb. 27, 
1784." Dr. Morell was educated at Eton, and at 
King's College, Cambridge. He was Secretary of 
the Society of Antiquaries, and is known as the 
editor of several Greek plays, and of the later 
editions of Ainsworth's Dictionary, and of Hederic's 



48 CUISWICK. 



Lexicon ; he published also some translations from 
Greek plays, composed the words of several 
oratorios, and was one of the earliest writers in 
the Gentleman's Magazine. 122 Dr. Morell lived 
at Turnham Green ; and was in habits of great 
intimacy with Hogarth, whom he is said to have 
assisted in writing his Analysis of Beauty ; there 
is a portrait of him, by his friend, which is 
engraved. The manner of accenting Morell's name 
being undecided, it was pronounced sometimes 
M6rell, and sometimes Morell, which caused one 
of his friends to address him with the following 
extempore jeu a" esprit : — 
"Sive tu mavis MorSlus vocari sive Morellus." 
Dr. Morell married a daughter of Henry 
Barker, Esq., of Chiswick. He published, besides 
the works in this page, an edition of Spencer's 
works ; Theophanes and Philalethes, or a sum- 
mary of the controversy occasioned by a book 
called the Medical Philospher's Poems on Divine 
Subjects, partly translated from Vida and 
partly original ; Thesaurus <-trwcce Poeseos ; a Life 
of Dr. Littleton prefixed to his works ; an edition 
of Locke on the Understanding, with notes, and 
several sermons, besides other works not enumerated 
in Har wood's Alumni Etonenses. whence these 
notices are taken. Dr. Morell preached the 
Botanical Lecture for several years at Shoreiitch 
Church.* 

"William Rose, buried July 11, 1786." Dr. 
Rose, a man of amiable niinners, and much 
esteemed in the literary world, had been for 
about 30 years an inhabitant of this parish, 
where he kept an academy. He was author of a 
well-known translation of Sallust, and editor of 
several useful compilations in Latin, French, and 

122.— Biograph. Dramatica, 

*This paragraph is from the Supplement to Lysons. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 49 

English : his able criticisms greatly contributed 
towards establishing the credit of the Monthly 
Review, in which he was one of the earliest writers. 
Dr. Rose was born in the county of Aberdeen ; he 
died the 4th of July, 1786, aged,67. The following 
lines to his memory, written by Arthur Murphy, 
Esq., are inscribed upon his tomb : — 

" Whoe'er thou art, with silent footsteps tread 

"The hallow'd mould where Rose reclines his head ; 

" Ah ! let not folly one kind tear deny, 

" But pensive pause where truth and honour lie. 

" His, the gay wit that fond affection drew ; 

" Oft heard, and oft admired, yet ever new ; 

"The he<*rt that melted at another's grief ; 

"The hand in secret that bestow'd relief ; 

"Science untinctured with the pride of schools, 

" And native goodness free frnm formal rules ; 

" With zeal through life he toil'd in learning's cause, 

" But more, fair Virtue, to promote thy laws ; 

" His every action sought the noblest end ; 

" The tender husband, father, brother, friend. 

" Perhaps, e'en now, from yonder realms of day, 

" To his lov'd relatives he sends a ray ; 

" Pleas'd to behold affections like his own, 

" With filial duty raise this votive stone." 

"Ralph Griffiths, Esq., aged 83 years, buried 
Oct. 5, 1803." Ralph Griffiths, ll.d., was the 
original editor of the Monthly Review, which he 
conducted with merited success (latterly with the 
assistance of his son) during a period of 54 years. 

" The noble George, Earl of Macartney, aged 69 
years, buried April 9th, 1806." This noble peer, 12 * 
who during a space of nearly thirty years had filled 
various diplomatic situations, was appointed in 
1792 ambassador extraordinary to the Emperor of 
China : an account of the embassy was published 
in 1797 by Sir George Staunton. The Earl of 
Macartney died at Corney House, in this parish, on 

123.— He was created a Baron of Ireland in 1776, 
advanced to an Earldom in 1792, and created an English 
peer in 1796 ; his titles became extinct at his death. 



50 C BIS WICK. 



the 31st of March, 1806 ; and was buried in the 
churchyard at Chiswick, where is the following 
inscription to his memory: — "Sacred to the 
memory of the R. H. George, Earl of 
Macartney, Privy Counsellor, Knight of the 
honourable order of the Bath, &c, a noble- 
man endowed by nature with most extra- 
ordinary talents, which he cultivated with a degree 
of assiduity and perseverance hardly ever equalled. 
The greatest part of his life was devoted to public 
service : he filled a variety of high and important 
situations in different parts of the world, with the 
most unsullied honour, the strictest integrity, good 
credit and advantage to his King and country. His 
private virtues were such as to demand universal 
esteem and admiration. His liberality and 
generosity were unbounded. His superior know- 
ledge, sweetness of temper, amenity of disposition, 
and lively entertaining conversation, rendered him 
the delight of his friends aDd ornament of society. 
He was born on the 4th of June, 1737, and died on 
the 31st of March, 1806." 

The following inscription for a cenotaph bo be 
erected to the memory of the Earl of Macartney, 
in Lissanoure Church, in the county of Antrim by 
his niece and sole heir, Mrs. Elizabeth Hume, was 
written by the late Rev. George Henry Glasse, 
rector of Hanwell : — " P. M.S. Georgii Comitis de 
Macartney, Vice-Comitis de Dervock ; Baronis de 
Lissanoure et Parkhurst ; a rege Sarmatise (ipse 
dum regno stabat incolumis) Equestri Ordine 
Aquilse Argentese ; necnon apud suos, Ordine 
Balnei honoratissimo donati, Britanniarum Regie 
e consiliis, &e. Ilium ad Ladoga? paludem, illurr 
ad occidentales Cycladas, ilium in sacrati Gangif- 
Peninsula, ilium in Imperii Jovis Ammonia finibus. 
Quid plura ? ilium inter eztremas seras, ceteris 
mortalibus jam turn non divisos, pro Rege, pro 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 51 

patria, pro totius orbis emolumento, strenue, pie, 
graviter, se gerentem, sua ipsius admirata est setas, 
mirantes commemorabunt poateri. Tali tantoque 
viro post indefesaos labores, urbe Londini mortuo, 
suburbanis sepulto, Elizabetha Hume coneanguini 
tate neptis, amore et adoptione filia, hoc ceno- 
taphium P.C. ! vixib ann. lxix. decessit, &c."* 

11 The Hod. Thos. Walpole, aged 75 years, second 
son of Horatio, first Lord Walpole of Wolterton, 
buried March 29, 1803. "t 

The following instances of longevity occur in the 
pariah register : — " Eliz. West, buried in her 100th 
year, Jan. 1, 1758." " Richd. Gordon, poor, 
aged 100 years, buried May 19, 1780." Dorothy 
Linton, who was buried August 19th, 1728, was 
said to have been 105 years of age. 134 "John 
Huntsley, aged 99, buried Mar. 19th, 1802.' 
Christopher Stricland, Esq., is said to have died 
at Chiswick, April 10th, 1782, aged 102. 125 

Dr. Arthur Duck, buried at Chiswick in May, 1649 
(which was before the parish register commences), 
was a native of Devonshire, and a fellow of All 
Souls' College. He sat in the Parliament of 1640, 
and adhered to the Royal party ; was esteemed an 
excellent civilian, and was sent for by Charles I. 
to Newport in the Isle of Wight, to assist him in 
the treaty with the Parliamentary Commissioners. 
Dr. Duck wrote the Life of Archbishop Chichele, 
and a Treatise on the Civil Law. 126 

ANCIENT INVENTORIES OF THE GOODS AND ORNA- 
MENTS OF THE CHURCH. 

Among the archives of the Dean and Chapter of 
St. Paul's, are two inventories of the goods and 

*Supplement to Lyson's Environs. 

tlbid. 

124.— Historical Register. 

125. -Gent. Mag. 

126 —Wood's Atben. Oxon., vol. ii. 



52 CHISWICK. 



ornaments belonging to the church of Chiswick ; 
the first bearing date 1252, may be thus trans- 
lated : — 

"A good and sufficient missal sent from the 
treasury at St. Paul's. It. two sufficient 
gradales ; 127 — a tropery 128 in good condition 
except that it wants binding ; an old legend, 129 
with masses inserted in various places, for the use 
of the monks ; an antiphoner 130 in good condition, 
with the notes properly marked ; a good and 
sufficient psalter. Item, there is no manual. It. a 
silver chalice, small, and of little value; a chesible 131 
of red velvet, 132 with a handsome orfray; 183 
a cope, 134 entire anfl well ornamented ; another cope 
with a white chesible, thin and torn; two maniples, 135 
and a stole ; 136 three corporasses ; 137 five coDse- 

127.— Gradaha ; so called from the gradales which were 
sung after the epistle. See in Gutchs Collectan. Curios, 
vol. ii., p. 168, an .Account of BooVs, Vestments, and 
Utensils used in Ohuiches before the Eeformation, by the 
Rev. John Lewis. 

128. — Ti opium— & tropery was a book of sequences. Ibid, 
p. 169. Du Cange defines tropus— versus qui prcecipue 
testis cantatur ante introitum. 

129.— Lecconarium— Mr. Lewis calls the Book of Lessons 
read at Matins— the legend ; these lessons were sometimes 
taken out rf the scriptures, and sometimes out of the 
sermons and homilies of the fathers, or the lives of the 
Saints. 

130. — Jntiphonarium—A book containing antiphones, or 
anthems. 

131.— Casula— Mr. Lewis calls this a chesible ; it differed 
from the principal vestment or cope by being shorter, and 
open on each side ; on the fore and hind part of it was a 
large cross. 

132. — Sametum. 

133.— A rich border or fringe to a garment, worked for the 
most part with gold and silver, called an orfray, r>r orfroy ; 
in Latin, sometimes orfrea, and sometimes aurifriqium. 

134.— Or principal vestment, made close on both sides, 
and open only at top and bottom, generally of very rich 
materials. See Lewis's account as above. 

135.— The maniple was a strip of linen or silk, embroidered 
with crosses, and fringed at one end, which the priest wore 
round his left arm. See Lewis's account as above. 

136.— A broad piece of white linen, or of silk, fringed at 
both ends, and sometimes embroidered with crosses, worn 
by the priest about his neck, and hanging down sometimes 
below his knees. J bid. 

137.— Corporalia— So called because they covered the 
wafer, i.e., according to the Roman Catholic tenets, the body 
of our Saviour. 



LYSOJfS' ACCOUNT. 53 

crated altar cloths 138 in good condition, one of them 
ornamented with silk ; a silk cloth of arest, 139 in 
good condition, given to the church by one of the 
parishioners ; an old chrismatory ; 14() a good and 
sufficient banner. Item, there is no pix wherein to 
place the consecrated host. It. two brass candle- 
sticks, and two of tin, and four tin vials. — The font 
much out of repair, and without a lock. 141 The 
chancel out of repair, and the roof decaying. It. 
there is no collection for lights except a halfpenny 
from each house for the paechall-taper ; it is ordered 
that a like collection be made for the rood-light. 142 It. 
John Belemeis (then Prebend of Chiswiok) has half 
a mark towards the repairs of the chancel, left by 
Alexander t^e late treasurer. It. the church has 
not been dedicated." 143 

In the other inquisition of the state of 
Chiswick Church, dated 1458, there is men- 
tioned amongst the ornaments, a tablet of 
alabaster 144 over the great altar, representing the 
death of our Saviour ; in the nave, two paintings 
representing the Last Judgment, and the Five Joys 

]38. — Palle altarii benedicte. 

139.— Du Cange gives some instances of cloth of arest 
occurring in records, but does not define it ; perhaps the 
same as arras, so called from a town in Artois. 

140. — A vessel for the consecrated oil. 

111.— The fonts had generally a lock and key to prevent 
the water from being stolen by the common people, who 
imagined it to have a mystic virtue for curing diseases. 

142.— Rotella.— The only definition of this word in the 
Glossaries, is a little wheel, as a diminutive from rota. But 
as Du Cange defines rodella idem quod rotella, we may 
suppose that the latter was used also for the former, in 
which case it may be derived from roda, a word made from 
the Saxon rode — the rood, or holy cross. Indeed the sense 
here, and in the surveys of the other churches, in most of 
which it occurs, will allow of no other definition, it is well 
known that collections for the paschall and rood-light were 
made in almost every parish before the Reformation. 

143.— Before the ensuing inquisition was taken, it had been 
dedicated to St. .Nicholas. 

Hi.— Tabula de alabastro —Tabula is said to mean some- 
times a solid tablet, adorned with sculpture, and fastened 
to the altar. Qiossarium Mediae Latinitatis. 



54 CH1SWICK. 



of the Virgin Mary ; a vest of green silk with 
flowers of gold, and white birds ; another vest of 
red silk with golden lions ; a third vest of red 
bawdekyn, 145 with flowers of gold, being the gift of 
William Dolman ; a vest of black sattin, having 
orf rays of green silk with white lilies ; a green vest 
of " brod alysaunder" 146 , with white roses; and two 
frontals. 147 The chancel was represented as in very 
bad oondition, and the charges of repairing it 
estimated at twenty marks. Complaint was made 
of " 22 elmys loppid and pollyd " near the road of 
the procession. 

It appears by the following entries in the church- 
warden's books at Chiswiok, that the rates were 
formerly collected in the same manner as at Brent- 
ford. 

WHIT8DN GAMES. 

£ S. d. 

" 1622.— Cleared at Whitsuntide .. ..500 

<c Paid for making a new payre of 

pigeing holes 2 6" 

A charity school was established in this parish 
by subscription in the year 1707. Lady Capel, by 
her will, bearing date 1719, endowed it with a 
share of an estate, which share then produced £8 
per annum, and is now increased to £37 10s. 
Various benefactions 148 have formed a stock, which 
now amounts to £750 in the three per cents ; 
with the interest of this, aided by an annual sub- 
scription and a charity sermon, twenty-five boys, 
and the same number of girls, are educated, and the 

145 —The richest kind of silk, wrought with tissue of gold, 
called sometimes baldakin, or baldachin, because (as 
Dn Cange says) brought from Baldaco or Babylon. 
Minsheus says, BawdtJcin quia a meretricibus inventut. 
Glossarium Mediae Latinitatis. 

146.— Probably a species of cloth brought from Alexandria. 

147 .—Frontella, a cloth to hang under the tapers. Lewis. 

148.— The sum of £200 was bequeathed, in 1768, by the 
relict of Robert Elwes, Esq., who left £100 also to be 
distributed among the poor. 



LYSONS' ACCOUNT. 55 

greater part of them clothed. The boys are taught 
in a vestry room in the churchyard; and the girls 
in a schoolroom erected for that purpose by a sub- 
scription set on foot in 1792, by Mr. Trebeck, who 
was then vicar. 

Some almshouses were built by the parish 
at Strand-on-the-Green in the year 1725, and 
a workhouse at Turnham Green the same year. 



A picture of David, playing on the harp, by 
Zoffanii, who resides in this parish at Strand-on- 
the-Green, has been put up in the church. The 
artist has introduced a boy pointing to the Seventh 
Commandment.* 

* Supplement to Lyaons' Environs. 



NOTE ON THE WHITSUN GAMES. 



With regard to Lysons' remark on the pre- 
ceding page relative to the mode of collecting 
the rates, the following passage, taken from his 
aocount of the parish of Brentford, will be of 
interest, as explanatory of the " Whiteun Games." 
It is evident that formerly parish administration 
was supported by voluntary contributions, instead 
of having resort to the forcible levying of rates, 
in accordance with our modern practice. 

"It appears that the pariah rates at this period 
were chiefly raised by profits aocruing from the 
celebration of public sports and diversions, at 



56 C HIS WICK. 



stated times of the year, particularly at Whitsun- 
tide. At a vestry, held at Brentford, in 1621, 
several articles were agreed upon with regard to 
the management of the parish stock by the chapel 
wardens. The preamble states ' that the in- 
habitants had for many years been accustomed to 
have meetings at Whitsontide, in their church 
house and other places there, in friendly manner, 
to eat and drink together, and liberally to spend 
their monies, to the end neighbourly society 
might be maintained ; and also a common stock 
raised for the repairs of the church, maintaining 
of orphans, placing poor children in service, and 
defraying other charges'; which stock, not 
having been properly applied, it was ordered 
that a particular account should be given from 
year to year of their gains at those times, and the 
manner of the expenditure." 






Ihe Sari of Pembroke attb the 
ffihtstoick Match. 



The following account from a news letter, dated 
1680, of a disturbance upon Turnham Green more 
than two hundred years ago, is a curious illustra- 
tion of the state of society at that period, and of 
the method of circulating news. How inadequate 
were the police arrangements in the time of 
King Charles II. is only too evident by the ease 
with which the chief offender escaped from custody 
immediately after the commission of the offence 
merely by the interference of another nobleman. It 
does not appear that any steps were taken to punish 
the earl, or any one else for this murder, 
Phillip, seventh Earl of Pembroke, was the eldest 
son of Phillip, the fifth earl, by his second wife, 
Catherine, daughter of Sir William Villiers, Bart., 
of Brocksby, in Leicestershire, who was eldest 
brother of George Villiers, Duke of Buckingham, 
the favourite of King James I., who was, as our 
readers will remember, assassinated by Felton. 
Phillip Herbert succeeded his elder and half- 
brother in 1674, on the latter's death unmarried. 
He himself was baptised, in 1652, so that at the time 
of the incident he was about twenty-eight. He mar- 
ried, 20th of May, 1675, Henrietta de Querouaille, 
youngest sister to the notorious Louise de 
Querouaille, Duchess of Portsmouth, one of the 
mistresses of Charles II. He died 29th August, 
1683, at the early age of thirty-one, and was 



58 C HIS WICK. 



succeeded by his distinguished brother Thomas, 
the eighth earl, who was Ambassador to the States 
General and Lord High Admiral of England. 

We reprint this curious news letter verbatim : — 
"GREAT AND BLOODY NEWS 

" FROM 

" TURNHAM GREEN, 

" OR A 

" Relation of a Sharp Encounter, 
" Between the Earl of Pembrook and his Company, 
with the Constable and Watch belonging to 
the Parish of Chiswick, on the 18th instant. 
[August, 1680] 
" In which conflict one Mr. Smeeth, a gentleman, 
and one Mr. Halfpenny, a constable of the said 
Parish, were Mortally Wounded, of which wounds 
the former within a short time after died, and the 
latter's recovery dispaired of ; as also of his lord- 
ship's being knocked down, and tak°n prisoner by 
Mr. Smeeti aforesaid, after he had received his 
Death's Wound ; with several other remarkable 
Circumstances that happened in and after the 
Dispute. 

" So much does Barbarous Inhumanity abound in 
this most wicked Age, that Outrages grows fre- 
quent, that no man is assured of his safety, 
Cruelties being acted for Diversioa, and Alurthers 
made sport of, to please the Fancies of such 
Desperadoes, as in their high-flown Bravery, would 
make, or at least show themselves, dreadful to the 
World by being dy'd in Blood of Innocents and 
bedewing of the Earth with Widdows' and Orphans' 
tears ; but sure it is Heaven's Indignation will not 
silent ever, but wrath Divine break forth in fearful 
Ruine on the Guilty Heads of such who take delight 
to injure and destroy their fellow Creatures, whom 
God has stamped with the same image, and indued 



EARL OF PEMBROKE. 59 

with Souls Rational, and perhaps superiourin worth, 
unto those whose envy their goodness provoked to 
destroy them ; how many Murthers have of late 
Allarrumed this affrighted Land and Bloodsheds, 
as well in this great Metropolis, as in the Suburbs, 
and divers other places. How many have fell by 
wicked impious hands, when they least suspected 
Death, without giving the least provocation ; and 
not only so, bat dayly Affronts are thrown in the 
face of Authority by such whom naught but bailful 
mischiefs please ; whom steaming slaughter only 
can delight, whilst Violences are their dayly exer- 
cises ; for such Iniquities the Land Mourns, 
against such it was that the Souls under the Altar 
cried aloud to their Eternal Maker, How long, 
Lord God, Holy, Jusc, and Righteous, 
will it be ere Thou avenge us on those 
that dwell upon the earth, and as the Prophet 
again complaineth, their hands are full of Violence, 
for certain it is no Crime cries louder than before 
the Throne of the just God of all the Eaith for 
Vengeance, then causelessly shedding Man's Blood 
and defacing the Image of himself that he has 
created to serve him, but that persons nobly Born, 
and of high extract should disgrace and disparage 
the Name of true Nobility by such degenerate Bar- 
barities, is much more to be admired since all 
Heroick Souls (and suoh should especially lodge in 
noble Breasts) naturally have an antipathy against 
unmanly Actions, detesting horrid Murthers and 
Assaults most foul, still giving Respect to such whose 
Offices and places by the institution of the Laws 
demand no less, but much more against Night 
Revelling, and grand Debaucheries, the which too 
many of this age are prone unto as may more par- 
ticularly be observed in this last exploit, which 
must now be the subject of our Narration, the 
which is related in its horrid circumstances as 
followeth : — Phillip Earl of Pembrook and Mouit- 



60 CHISWICE. 



gomery, with Several other of his Retinue, having 
been abroad to Dinner at a person of Qualities on 
Wednesday, being the 18th of this instant August, 
1680, where drinking till it was late, and then it is 
said being somewhat High-flown with Wine, they 
returned homewards in a Hackney Coach, till at 
last crossing over Turnham Green they were 
stopped by the Watch, belonging to the Parish of 
Chisivick, the Constable of the said Watch beiDg 
then with one Mr. Smeeth a gentleman belonging to 
the Court, and one Mr. Halfpenny another con- 
stable of the said Parish, who just came from Lon- 
don with the former Constable, and went to drink 
at the Cock and Half Moon, who upon notice 
of a coach being stopped, came out of the 
House, and coming close up to the side 
of it, demanded who the persons were, 
and whether [sic for whither] they were designed, 
not knowing it to be my Lord of Pembrook, nor 
that they had such dangtrous persons to deal 
withal ; but being sharply answered, tbey made 
the like Return, whereupon as it ?s creditably re- 
lated hisLordsbipopeningtheother sidecftfceCoach, 
came out, and whilett the Parties before mentioned 
were talking to the rest, nor dreaming of such a 
fate, he came upon them unawares and with his 
sword run Smeeth first into the belly quite through, 
the weapon passing out, and then wheeling about, 
made at Halfpenny, and with a pass run hfm quite 
through the Body, in on one side and cut of the other; 
and afterwards through the Rist, so furious was 
he to Destruction bent ; and had done greater 
Mischief had not Mr. Smeeth feeling himself 
wounded, cried out I will not be thus killed like 
a Dog, and thereupon caught a Staff out of one 
of the Watchmen's hands, he having none before, 
and with the same knocked his Lordship dowB, 
who then began to cry for Quarter, upon which 



EARL OF PEMBROKE. 61 

his servants came arid fell upon him to save him 
from Rlows, which Smeeth seeing, said, ' My 
lord, you have given me my Death's Wound, and 
I could kill you now, haviDg you thus at my mercy, 
if I pleased, but that I scorn so foul and base 
a Deed,' and thereupon seized him as his Prisoner, 
whilst the rest of his Retinue, which were about 
six in number, were obliged to submit ; several of 
the Watchmen having broke their staves in 
defending themselves, and makiDg a stout resist- 
ence, after his Lordship was takeD, he was by 
the order of the Constable of the Watch conveyed 
to the Cock and Half Moon, strongly guarded, 
for upon the Brunt of the Skirmish all the people 
in the Green were Allarumed, where they after 
he was disarmed put him into a chamber, and the 
Constable went in and discoursed with his Lord- 
ship of the heinousness of the Affront and Violence 
he had done to the King's Watch, at which 
he seemed little concerned. 

" During the Uproar and Tumult, a person of 
Quality, as it is said, came by, who understanding 
what was the cause of it was, and how his Lordship 
was taken, went to visit him, and after a long 
conference witn the Constable of the Watch, his 
Lordship was suffered to depart unknown to most 
of the Company ; they being given to understand 
he was asleep, and that none must disturb him, 
&c. This exploit was done about twelve of the 
clock in the evening, and after his Lordship was let 
go, which was about One, it is said he made all 
speed for London, he being gon [sic] the Wounded 
men were looked after, and Chirurgions immedi- 
ately sent for, who no sooner came, but found the 
WoundB to be Mcrtal, one, viz., Halfpenny, having 
bled so excessively that he fainted away ; and the 
other, viz., Smeeth, in a short time after died, he 
being a Man of considerable Estate, and so stout 



62 CH1SWICK. 



that it is believed, had he not been surprised at 
unawares, and unarmed as he was, none could 
have wronged him either with sword or staff; and 
a person so far from offeriDg an abuse to any, that 
he abhor'd the company of such, as he knew to be 
Guilty of the Same. Mr. Halfpenny beiDg carried 
home, the Chirurgions upon sight of his wound 
durst not Venture to search the Wound to any 
deepness, for fear that his lungs should be pierced 
or some other of his Vital parts ; bo that they 
despair of his evei Recovering, and look every day 
that he will die ; there was likewise a third person 
hurt, viz., a poor Fellow who was lately discharged 
from a Farmer's Service of that place, but his 
Wounds were but slight. On Fryday the Crowner 
and his Jary Sate upon the deceased ; but could not 
agree in giving in their Verdict. 
" Finis. 
" Printed by D. M., 1680." 



^he ffrebenbal tflanoranb iftitnston 
Ijause itt dLhistoicfc. 



The following account of the Prebendal Manor 
House, which appeared in the London and 
Middlesex Notebook, p. 149, forms the substance 
of a paper which was read before the Middlesex 
Archaeological Society by the Rev. S. Arnott, 
vicar of Christ Church, Turnham Green, at the 
time when the Chiswick Press was removed to 
London, and the buildings erected on the ground 
where the Manor House had stood were finally 
cleared away and the sita covered by modern 
villas. 



The Prebendal Manor of Chiswick is, or rather 
was, the corpus of the Proband of Chiswick in St. 
Paul's Cathedral, the manor and estate from which 
the Prebendary of Chiswick drew his revenue, or, 
at all events, a part of it. From very early times, 
probably before the Conquest, certain lands were 
attached to each of the thirty prebends at St. 
Paul's, for the maintenance of the person filling 
the stall. These lands seem to have been under 
the separate control of the prebendaries, and the 
rents always separately enjoyed by them. 
Originally the thirty canons resided in the 
cathedral precinct, and took part in singing the 
services or carrying on other duties belonging to 
the cathedral body ; but as years passed on it was 
thought more agreeable or advantageous to reside 
elsewhere, and the prebendal estate, especially if 
there was a manor house on it, would naturally 



64 CH1SW/CK. 



suggest itself as a residence. Accordingly the 
Prebendary of Chiswick may probably have re- 
sided in his manor house, — it was called the Manor 
and Mansion House — and may have managed 
the estate in person, as he had power to do. At 
all events it can be clearly shown that there 
existed in early times a manorial residence on the 
prebendal estate at Chiswick. 

This "mansion" stood on the prebendal 
ground, a little to the east of Chiswick Church, 
near the river, some seventy feet or more from the 
eastern corner of a lane leading to the Thames, now 
called Friesland-row. For reasons which will be 
shortly given, the place was known in after years 
in Chiswick as the College House, and as such is 
referred to in local history. The College House 
(or the house belonging to the college at West- 
minster) was, in fact, an adjunct to the Manor and 
Mansion House of Chiswick, and was built on 
ground immediately adjoining on the west side, so 
that the whole formed a block of buildings fronting 
the river, the Manor and Mansion House lying to 
the east, and between them the kitchen and offices 
r.o serve for both that and the College House. 

Now the records at Westminster Abbey, giving, 
as they do, a distinct record of the erection of the 
College House, together with a clear and particular 
account of the various alterations in these build- 
ings, disclose what we are principally concerned to 
show, viz., the form and appearance of the ancient 
Manor and Mansion House. Before, however, we 
can state further what is known of this latter, it 
seems both necessary and desirable to describe the 
College House and give its history, even at the risk 
of repeating what already appears in Faulkner, 
L>st>B8, or elsewhere. 

In the reign, then, of Queen Elizabeth, Mr., 
afterwards Dr., Gabriel Goodman was Prebendary 



THE PREBEND A L MANOR. C5 

of Chiswick in the Cathedral Church of St. Paul, 
and, as such, had the control of the Manor and 
Mansion House, then still standing on the estate. 
The same person having become Dean of West- 
minster, and still retaining the Prebend of Chis- 
wick, conceived the design of utilising the house, 
which, perhaps, be did not require as a permanent 
residence, for the benefit of Westminster School.* 
Accordingly the estate and manor were leased by 
Goodman, as Prebendary of Chiswick, to William 
Walter, of Wimbledon, and George Bourden, or 
Burden, gent., chat they might convey them to the 
Dean and Chapter of Westminster, to be used for 
the above-named purpose. This was at the end 
of the year 1571. The late Dean Stanley kindly 
gave me permission, in 1875, to inspect the chapter 
book of the Abbey, and I found, entered under 
xiij. December, 1571, et Ao. Eliz. Rae. xiiijo., that 
Walter and Bourden might " Grant and sett over 
unto the Dean and Chapter of this Collegiate Church 
a lease made unto them by Mr. Gabriell Goodman, 
Prebendary of the Prebend of Cheswicke, of the 
manor and mansion house belonging to the same 
p'bende in Cheswick in the Countieof Middx., with 
all their interest in and to the same, and that the 
said Dean and Chapter shall accept the same 
graunt and assignment to be made by the same 
William and George." 

It further appears from the chapter book 
that the Dean and Chapter of Westminster 
having obtained possession by means of the 
above-named lease of the Manor and Mansion 
House, proceeded to pull down the kitchen and 
other parts of the ancient house, and to erect, 
adjoining thereto, a building suitable for the accom- 

*Mr. Loftie, in Westminster Abbey, chapter III., speaks of 
"the great Dean Goodman, a Welshman by birth, whom his 
successor, Dean Stanley, well describes as ' the real founder 
of the present establishment.' " 



66 CHJSWICK. 



modation of the scholars of Westminster School, 
whom it was thought desirable to remove fr^m 
time to time into the country, on account of plague 
or sickness, or for other reasons. They provided, 
it is recorded, that the stone or timber of such 
parts of the ancient house as were pulled down 
should be used in constructing the new building, 
which was to be erected westward of the 
Mansion House, and to be 64 feet 2 iDches 
from east to west, and in breadth from 
north to south, 20 feet within the walls.* 
This building was erected accordingly, and con- 
tained next to the Mansion Houpe a new kitchen 
with offices, next to these a dinirg room for fifty 
persoDS, and next to that a schoolroom ; over the 
dining room a large room for the second master, 
with a door opening into the scholars' chamber 
over the schoolroom. These buildiDgs were used 
for a number of years — we are unable to say exactly 
how many — for school purposes ; at length, being 
no longer required for the scholars, the college 
building appears to have been let on lease or other- 
wise disposed of for business purposes, and at 
length we find it converted into a printing house :+ 
as such it was used by Mr. Whit ting ham, and 
adopted as the business premises of the well known 
Chiswick Press, until the year 1851, when the 
presses were removed to London. Subsequently 
in its decay it became the fate of Dean Goodman's 
scholastic edifice, to be transformed successively 
into a lecture hall and a temperance hall, and 
finally it was, as I said, pulled down in 1875, and 
decently buried beneath some modern villas. Con- 

*When the ground was cleared in 1875, I took the 
dimensions of the schoolhouse, and found them roughly 65 
feet by 19 feet. 

"[For the engraving of the College House, afterwards used 
as the Chiswick Press, we are indebted to the courtesy of 
Messrs. ^hittingham, of tne present Chiswick Press in 
Took's Court, Chancery Lane. 






^ 



-— c- s^^^5~ ^-- ~ " c^g^* 




The College House, Chlswick. 



THE PREBENDAL MAKOR. 6£> 

siderable foundations and lower walls, however, 
must yet remain, and a small portion of the stone- 
work was left by the contractor uncovered in the 
wall that abuts upon the corner of the lane, 
but this has since been plastered over. 

To return to the Manor and Mansion House, 
which, with the exception of the western part, still 
remained standing as before. We find then, that, 
in accordance with the direction given by the 
chapter, the old materials, from such part of the 
Manor House as was pulled down at that time, 
were used for Dean Goodman's new walls ; and 
when the schoolhouse was demolished, in 1875, 
many fragments of the old building came to light 
in the walls <f Goodman's schoolhouse, and were 
preserved by the contractor, who showed much 
respect for the remains of older date, and, so far as 
I know, they are still in his possession. Some of 
the specimens he gave to me, and I have them in 
my keeping at the present time. They consist of 
fragments, not only of the original kitchen and 
offices, but also of the Manor House itseif, for 
when that was finally removed the old materials 
were still utilised in the new buildings or in the 
repairs. 

Now these fragments and remains show clearly 
the character of the Manor House, as having stood 
there from at all events Norman times. They 
exhibit Norman mouldings, as well as those belong- 
ing to the Edwardian and other periods, and clearly 
prove that the Manor and Mansion House was a 
building dating from the time of Henry L, or 
earlier ; that it was perhaps originally somewhat 
similar to the ancient houses to be seen in the 
streets of Lincoln ; it was added to and altered in 
subsequent times, probably down to a late period. 
It appears also from the records of the Abbey that 
it preserved its original character in the time of 



70 CHKWICK. 



Cromwell. The chapter book* informs us that after 
the western portion wos pulled down it sill pre- 
s°nted a frontage of 72ft. or thereabouts. I was 
allowed, io 1875, to inspect a document preserved 
at Westminster, indorsed, " Release of the Ancient 
Manor House of Thiswicke," an indenture dHt a d io 
1649, and witnessing tbafc Sir John Wollas- 
ton, Robert Tichborne, Mark Hildesley, and 
others were concerned to sell. ard did 
sell, the Manor and lnnds for £1,551 5s 3i., 
"all that capital Messuage or Mansion House 
[with] the appurtenances commonly called and known 
by the name of the ancient house of Chiswicke." 
This sale took place under the authority of the 
Act of Parliament abolishing deans, prebeDd*, &c. 

Notwithstanding this sa'e the mansion was not 
pulled down, but con*inue1 in much the same state, 
except that from age and decay it fell into dis- 
repair. 

At length, in 1710, it is described in a petition to 
Henry, Bishop of London, da'ed June 14th in that 
year, as " the old Mancon or Manror House which 
is now become very ruinous and necessary to be 
pulled down." The petition recites the history of 
the buildings put up on the ground, ihe objects for 
which they were erected, and their then state and 
condition, and asks leave to remove the ancient 
structure, extending, as stated above, about 72 feet 
along the front. 

A " substantial brick " dwelling house (the sime 
that was afterwards occupied by the father of the 
Miss Berryp) was then erected on the site, 46 
feet in length, and so the Manor and Mansion 
House finally disappeared and Ins only re- 
cently been called to remembrance by the 
fragments of its carved stone work which 
were found in the walls of the buildings that 



♦Chapter book, June 14, 1710. 



THE PREBENDAL MANOR. 71 

took its place, or were erected adjoining to it. I 
could wish we knew more of this, which must have 
been an interesting house. A pictorial lepresenta- 
tion of it may possibly exist, and perhaps some day 
come to light. The local historians do not seem 
(so far, at least, as I have learned) to have 
been acquainted with its existence or history. t 
Nor do they show with any amount of clearness 
the buildings that were erected alongside or took 
it9 place; viz., first, Goodman's School House 
(date 1572) ; secondly, the brick house adjoining it 
at the east end, intended for one of the Preben- 
daries of Westminster and a master of the school 
(this is the house occupied for awhile by Dr. 
Markham, some time Archbishop of York) ; and, 
finally, the brick dwelling house tenanted by the 
Berrys, which took the place of the Not man house 
about the year 1711. Although we are thus at 
present ignorant of the exact form and appearance 
of this ancient house, it is not useless or unim- 
portant to record what we have learned about it. 

It is something to know that the short list of 
early domestic buildings which we possess at 
present may have added to it this dwelling house, 
exhibiting clear proof of having been built or 
repaired while Norman was still the prevailing 
architectural style. Of this house we know also 
that it was repaired or added to while other pre- 
Reformation styles prevailed, and in the time of 
Cromwell it was described as ancient, and that it 
remained standing as late as the early part of the 
eighteenth century. 

■Hee Mr. T ome's Havdb' ok, 1&76, Pait I " I read a paper 
■on this house before the Middlesex A ichteo logical Society in 
1875, which was reported in the City tress, and I have a 
recollection of making a communication on the subject to a 
writer on Cbiswick at that time.'' 



^he §Mk of ^Eitnthitm (Srcen. 



This episode of the great civil war, in which 
Prince Rupert was defeated while fighting on 
behalf of King Charles I., took place on the 12th 
November, 1642. It was a sequel to the battle of 
Brentford, and may be considered one of the 
decisive encounters of this war, since it prevented 
the advance upon, and possible capture of, London 
by the Royalists. The folio wing contemporary 
account, already referred to in Lyson's Account, 
page 17, and in note 5, appears in Faulkner's 
History of Chiswick, but with many inaccuracies ; 
the present reprint has been collated with a copy 
of the oiiginal pamphlet in the British Museum. 
The spelling only has been modernized in this 
transcript. It is noticeable that throughout the 
pamphlet " Rupeit " is written " Robert." 



A true and perfect relation of the chief passages 
in Middlesex : Between the forces of the 
Malignants and those assembled for the 
defence of che Kingdome. 

London, 1642. 
Prince Rupert, with his desperate route of bloudy 
cavaliers, the vant curryers, or as it were the 
forlorn hope of these malignant forces, having- in 
vain attempted Windsor Castle, came harassing 
along these countries, performing all acts of 
hostility upon the good and faithful subjects of 
Middlesex, aud leaving Harrow-on-the-Hill on his 
right hand, he came sweeping like a torrent that 
bears down all before him, to Acton Ward, and 
from thence sat down with his forces on a plain 
called Turneham Green, some five or six miles 



THE BATTLE OF TURN HAM GREEN. 73 

distant from this honourable city, where part of 
the Parliamett's forces were billeted in the hamlets 
thereabouts, with the trained bands, having 
not'ces of his approach, resolved there 
to stop his passage and give him a bloudy 
welcome, as he well deserved, into these parts ; 
drawing therefore into one body, under their 
several leaders, on Saturday, the twelfth of this 
present November, they faced him upon the said 
Turnham Green. The Prince espying these forces 
coming marching towards him, with their colours 
flying and drums courageously beating, had no 
great mind to have meddled with them, not 
looking to have been fought wilh so soon, at least 
not intending it till more of the Malignant forces 
were come up to him ; but our men, having in view 
those deadly enemies to God and their country, 
would not expect any longer, but gallantly gave 
them the charge in the front ; the ordnance 
thundering their deathfull shot upon them. The 
Prince, as he is cunning enough to save himself, 
opening his ranks wide, the artillery did not so 
much execution upon them as was desired. The 
Prince also discharging his ordnance upon us, his 
being tha higher side of the plain, they flew up in 
the ay re over our quarters, giving, by that means, 
licence to our soldiers, ere they could again charge 
them, to come within distance to discharge their 
muskets, which they did with good aim and expe- 
dition, tumbling good store of malignants' horsemen 
on the ground, that strived to force into the 
squadrons ; and keeping their ground with good 
discretion and valour, they charged and discharged 
like excellent Fire-men upon the enemy, who 
finding himself so terribly galled with this first 
salutation, had no great mind to be acquainted with 
any more such greetings, and rather were willing 
to defend themselves than offend us till Prince 



74 CHISWICK. 



Rupert, remonstrating to them the disgrace it was 
for men of valour arid performance to be afraid of 
boys and roundheads, as he termed our soldiers, he 
with his own troop, and some others that he knew 
best experienced, charged them with a broad front, 
into our Front of Foot ; then might you have seen 
the horses, gored to the heart with our stiff sharp- 
pointed pikes, fall with their riders under them, 
yet nevertheless Prince Rupert, charging like a 
devil rather than a man into our foot-men, made 
them lustily bestir themselves, when two or three 
troops of our horse came in on the spur to the relief 
of the foot, and made the Prince's troops stagger, 
instead of striving to force through our great body 
any further they shocked up clcse together, fighting 
as it were in a ling, their other troops and foot 
companies coming up to their rescues, the medley 
grew very hot and bloody, so that it was reported 
in the neighbouring villages, as Branford and Acton, 
that the day was like to go against us, and that 
the Prince had taken our ordnance, when indeed 
there was no such matter, it being but a rumour 
raised by lying malignants to discourage our party, 
we standing to it like men, resolved to sacrifice 
our lives rather than by cowardly non-performance 
of our duties to betray our country ; knowing that 
ere long we should have succour from our brethren 
in London, which upon the notice of this business 
came with all speed to us, and joining themselves 
with our forces, which were well wearied with this 
two or three hours' skirmish, they took upon them 
the dealing with Prince Rupert, who in this conflict 
w T ith us had received double our loss, the red regi- 
ments, or red-coats, on our part charging 
them with all fury possible ; there did those 
courageous and valiant London prentices show 
themselves to be no boys (as the others in contempt 
termed them), but resolute and able soldiers, falling 



THE BATTLE OF TURN HAM GREEN. 75 

on with excellent discretion and agility, being 
mindful of the ancient honour, as well as present 
safety, of that noble and renowned city of which 
they were members. Traversing their ground and 
discharging their muskets into the thickest of their 
adversaries, their pikemen at push with those of 
the enemy, runuing those instruments of destruction 
clean through their bodies, and with their sharp 
swords making those malignants feel that the 
London prentices were every whit equal to them- 
selves in courage and the exercise of their arms. 
The Prince, who without doubt is rather to be held 
desperate than truly valiant, nothing moved with 
the loss of his men, which dropped down in heaps, 
did lay about him like a fury, and though he was 
shot at a thousand times by our men, not any of 
them was to purpose, encouraging his horsemen, 
who were the flower of his garland, not to leave 
him nor the quarrel, so that with his persuasion 
they stood to him, though to little purpose, loss 
upon loss seconding their attempts. Yet they 
made good the field without appearance of rout 
or flight, even until the darkness of the evening 
friendly approached to save them from further 
destruction ; so that fair and softly they retreated 
from us towards the enclosed grounds on the right 
side of the Green, where they intended that night 
to fix their rendezvous, we following them, and 
giving fire among them, till they were scantly 
discernable ; and so as absolute masters of the 
field we sat down on the Green, resolving, in the 
morning as soon as it was light, to give them a 
breakfast of the same viands that they had been 
so plentifully feasted with at supper, watching 
them all the night, lest they should give 
us the slip ere the morning ; all the night 
there was nothing but drinking, damning, 
and roaring in their quarters, cursing their destiny, 



76 CHISWICK. 



and the horsemen laying all the blame upon their 
footmen, calling them cowards, for that they came 
up no faster, but said that they were afraid of boys 
and Roundheads ; we in the meantime, after care- 
ful eetting our sentinels, and laying out our 
perdues, fell to our prayers, giving God hearty 
thanks for our deliverance from those cannibals. 
Tu the night, the Prince gave three or four alarms 
to our quarters, as if he wou'd have instantly 
fallen upon us, but they had no such intentions ; 
however we stood upon our guard, intending if they 
came to gi v e them their welcomes with fire and 
bullets, but they were better advised, aui stood 
all night as well a9 we upon their defence, thinking 
we would charge them, wh ; ch we never intended ; 
so the night being consumed with much expecta- 
tion and vigilance, in the morning we took a 
survey of our last day's business, finding of their 
men slain on the Green eight hundred and odd 
persons, most of which appeared to be of good 
quality by their habits, likely to be so, the loss 
falling most amongst their horsemen, who were most 
gentlemen, their footmen scarce ever advancing at 
all towards us ; we got some four field-pieces also, 
which they were inforced to leave behind them for 
haste ; of our side some hundred and twenty fell 
their country's martyrs, whom burying as well as 
the season would permit, we stood in arms expect- 
ing Prince Rupert's sallying out of the closes upon 
us. About eight of the clock some of his horse- 
men began to run along the sides of the hedges, 
discharging their carbines at our men, who 
answered them with our musquets. Little stomach 
it should seem they had this morniLg to their 
breakfast, they were so clogged over night with 
their plentiful supper ; however, about nine 
o'clock came up some horsemen towards us, 
but in no just number, for an army 



THE BATTLE CF TURN HAM GREEN. 77 

being scarcely good, sufficient parties, with 
these some of our horsemen encountered, there 
falling but a few in that ikirmifh on any 
si^e ; but the Prince advancing out with some 
other of hie forces, we saluted him with the 
bonjour from our ordnance, \* hich he took in such bad 
part he had no more mind to pass on any further ; 
but hoveling up and down the green, without the 
reach of our muskets, our red coats, being divers 
of them London prentices, could scarcely be 
restrained from falling on those cavaliers ; after 
some snot spent on both sides, but to little damage 
on our part ; the Prince seeing he had taken a 
wroDg matter in hand to deal with us, retired again 
into his quarters, ever and anon some of his horse- 
men flurting out to try if they could kill or surprise 
any of our perdues or sentinels. So the horsemen 
being as a wall between us and their footmen, kept 
us from falling on them ; indeed the ground bring 
very disadvantageous for us to assault them by 
reason of the hedges, their footmen retiring by little 
and little without any n )ise of drums beating, or 
their colours furled up, ©scaped through the country 
which they coasted over the river into Surrey, 
whither their horsemen all followed in the night, 
so tbet by Monday daylight there was no news at 
all of them; they are certainly in Surrey, whence 
it is corjectured they intend for Kent, to join the 
malignants which Sir Edward Deering is raising 
there, but we hope we shall still be blessed with 
victory against these bloodsuckers. The valour of 
the London prentices being terrible to the cavaliers, 
whom we hope shortly to root out with all their 
associates. 

Finis. 
London : Printed for John Johnson [of Barbican], 



^hc Hiatus of (thistoick. 



Owing to the fact that the advowson of Chis- 
wick was impropriated by the Dean and Chapter 
of St. Paul's, London, at a very early date, the 
incumbent of the living occupies the position 
of vicar, while the rectory has passed into lay 
hands, the present rector being the Duke of 
Devonshire. 

From a visitation of the church of Chiswick, 
which is to be printed hereafter with a trans- 
lation, we know that there was a vicar here in 
1256, but his name is not recorded, and tne 
actual catalogue of the vicars does not commence 
till nearly a century and a half later. A list of 
the vicars of Chiswick has been compiled by 
the Rev. George Hennessey, of St. Peter's, 
Muswell Hill, and forms part of a work which 
will contain lists of all the beneficed clergy 
throughout the diocese of London, from the 
earliest date at which it is possible to recover 
their names from the records which are extant, to 
the present time. The registers of the Bishop 
of London begin in 1306 ; that is somewhat 
later than the majority of the other ancient 
English dioceses, but Mr. Hennessey has not 
been able to trace any vicar earlier than 1380, 
though from that time to the present, upwards 
of five hundred years, the roll of Chiswick 
clergy may be regarded as fairly complete. 
The list of Chiswick vicars now printed is that 
already referred to as compiled by Mr. 



THE VICARS OF CHJSWICK. 



Hennessey. Some few further details have 
been added to the account of the later vicars. 
Throughout it must be noted that the Dean and 
Chapter of St. Paul's have been patrons of the 
living. 

John, whose surname is unknown, was here in 
1380. 

Robert de Neuton exchanged the vicarage with his 
successor, R. Etton, for the chaplaincy of the 
chantry for the soul of Ralph le Fever in St. 
Benet's, Sherehog, Church, London. 

Robert Etton, late chaplain of le Fever's chantry, 
was instituted to Chiswick, 28 October, 1386, 
but we have no further information about him. 

Roger fioburgh, perhaps the immediate successor 

of Etton, exchanged in 1406 with 
William Tonlcere cr Tuker, who was instituted 
2 April, 1406 [Pat. roll. 7 Hen. IV . p. 2, m. 41] ; 
his successor, 

John Taylour, the date of whose institution is 
unknown, resigned 9 October, 1416, and was 
followed by 

William Bordall, whose name is variously spelt as 
Burdale, Bfrdale, or Brydale, was a priest 
originally from the diocese of Lincoln, though 
as the jurisdiction of that bishop in early times 
extended far south it must not be inferred that 
he was connected with Lincolnshire. He 
was iustitutt d 11 October, 1416, and died 15 
October, 1435, having held the living just 19 
years. It was during his vicariate that the 
present tower was built, as was recorded by 
his successor, William Walker, who became 
vicar 161 years later, and doubtless had good 
authority for his statement, and by whom 
Bcrdall is styled " principal vicar " and 
the " worthy benefactor." A brass to 



80 C HIS WICK. 



the memory of William Bordall formerly 
existed in this church, but has now dis- 
appeared. Every search was made for it in 
the old chu'ch by the preset t vicar, Mr. Dale, 
but without result, aod the only memorial of 
it is to be found in Faulkner's History of 
Chiswick. For the illuetntion of this lost brass 
we have to acknowledge our indebtedness to 
Miss Dale, wno has kindly supplied an 
enlarged drawing which she prepared from the 
engraviDg referred to, that being unfoitunately 
unsuitable for reproduction. Whether it 
was actually in existence in Faulkner's time 
is not quite clear. The inscription on this 
brass was: — "lijic jacet frgltU'm's gjorball, 
principalis ^tcaiti hujus ccdesiir&fuiibaror 
Campsnilis fjusbcm, Qui obittxbo toe mntsis 
(Dctobris, ^.nno ^pomtnt mccccxxxb., cujus 
animc propicictur ^peus. ^mnt." Bordall's 
successor, 
John James, was instituted 18 October, 1435 only 
three days after his predecessor's death, and 
held the living eleven years, and dying in 1446, 
was followed by 

William Husse, instituted 29 December, 1446 ; was 
followed — whethe- directly or not is not 
known — by 

John Haute, whose date of appointment is un- 
known ; he exchanged in 1463 with 

Stephen Wycombe, clerk, who was instituted 2 May, 
1463. It is unknown when he ceased to be 
vicar, but 

Hugh Walker occurs as vicar in 1510 and 1516. He 
became rector of St. Catherine Coleman, 
London, and died in 1523. From the last 
mention of Hugh Walker to the institution of 
William Walker, in 1597, is a period of 81 



THE VICARS OF CEISWICK. 83 

years, and that is Dot adequately accounted 
for by the occurrence of the name of 

William Wharton who was vioar in 1548, so we must 
conclude that the names of one or more vicars 
are lost to us, unless during part of the six- 
teenth century the services at Chiswick were 
carried on by priests sent from St. Paul's. 




William Walker, who was instituted vicar 3 Sep- 
tember, 1597, died in 1642, thus having held 
the living for the long period of 45 years. With 
this vicar we commence a complete series of the 
vicars' signatures in faoaimile slightly reduced 
from the originals in the churchwarden's 
books and parish registers. He married 26 
April, 1604, at Ware, in Hertfordshire, Marie, 
daughter of Robert Kaye, more than 60 
years vicar of that place, and in whose will in 
1626 William Walker is named. She died 
21 Feb., 1619, in iier 41st year, leaving two 
sons and four daughters. He married secondly 
Martha, second daughter of Sir John Allott, 
Knight, Lord Mayor of London in 1590-91. 
Their family ia shown in the followiag table i — 

1. Mary = William =r 2 Martha. 
Kaye. Walker. Allott. 



II I I I I 

Francis Mary 

Theophilus Faith 

Anne 

Elizabeth 



>4 CHISWICK. 



It was this vicar, indignus, as he styles himself on 
his wife's monument, though in truth not 
the least worthy of the Chiswick vicars, who 
preserved, as we have already noted, the 
ancient braes of Mr. William Bordall, and 
erected a fresh monument to his memory, 
and placed upon the churchyard wall that 
still extant quaint inscription which records 
how the Earl of Bedford preserved the 
''wardrobe of goddes saints from prohpana- 
tion." This inscription is given on page 35, 
and the monument to his wives on page 5. 
During his long vicariate of 45 years the 
church was at least once enlarged. Possibly 
his great age and the respect in which he 
must have been held, saved Mr. Walker in 1640 
from that " purging of scandalous and 
malignant ministers " which, under the Long 
Parliament, Baxter tells us drove out about 
half the clergy. After his death no lawfully 
ordained vicar seems to have been appointed 
until 1662. The iuterim period was filled by 
"godly ministers," who do not appear to 
have been ordained, and of whom we have 
mention of three, viz. : — 

Beriah Packington, who signed parish books from 
1642 to 1644, when he was ejected and followed 
by 

M«t? fymmtr' jTUwrf+r 

Patrick Symmer, who seems to have continued as 
minister until the appointment of James 
Thompson. According to the " Survey of 



THE VICARS OF CHISWICK. 85 

Church Lands " preserved at Lambeth, and 
made in 1649, Mr. Patricke Seamer is an able 
and honest preaching minister, presented by 
the Parliament after the sequestration and 
putrirg forth of Mr. Packington. Mr. 
Chalooer Chute, the Speaker of the House of 
Commons in the earlier part of the reign of 
Charles I., who lived in Chiswick after his 
retirement, seems to have taken some part in 
the administration of ecclesiastical affairs in 
Chiswick for the " committee of plundered 
ministers " in 1645, directed £40 a year to be 
paid Mr. Chute for increase of the mainten- 
ance of the vicarage. It has been suggested 
that Mr. Chute should be included as a 
" de facto" vicar, but for this there does 
not appear to be any evidence. From the 
11 Survey of Church Lands " just referred 
to, it appears that he occupied the position 
of lay rector. *' The parsonage is in the 
occupacyon of Mr. Chaloner Chute. The value 
of the chiefe tithe is, as we are informed, one 
hundred pounds per annum, for what tearme 
he, the said Mr. Chute, hath it in we cannot 
know." 



m.'Hw, 



James Thompson, instituted 4th November, 1658, 
was also a puritan intruder. 

James Thompson, admitted the 19th day of 
November, 1658, to the vicarage of Chiswick, in 
the county of Middlesex, upon a presentation 
exhibited the 17th day of the game month from the 
trustees for maintenance of ministers. The patrons 
and certificates from Richard Mayo, of Kingston- 




86 CHTSWICK. 



upon-Thames ; Thomas Willis, of Twickenham ; 
Ri. Hobhouse, of Walton. 

Several particulars about this vicar have been 
preserved. Amongst the proceedings of the Com- 
missioners " for approbacon of publique preachers 
and all others whom it may concern " in the Lam- 
beth Library is the following : — 

"Wa, William Steele, etc., thetrueand undoubted 
patrons of the vicarage of the psh. church of Chis- 
wick, become void by the death of the late incum- 
bent, or by any otoer wayes whatsoever, have 
nominated and presented James Thompson, 
minister of the word, to the said vicarage, and 
desire that the said James Thompson may be 
admitted to and reside in the said vicarage, and 
vested with all the rights, members, and appur- 
tenances thereof which we doe hereby upon your 
admission graunt unto him, and that you would 
doe aud fulflll all the other t lings requisite and 
necessary by you in this behalf to be done. Given 
under our hands and seales the 4th day of 
November, 1658." 

Mr. Thompson procured the allowance of sixty 
pounds per annum, out of the impropriated tithes, 
in April, 1653, in consequence of the f jllowing 
mandate — 

*' Whereas the vicarage of the parish of Chis- 
wick in the countie of Middlesex, doth not exceede 
the yearly value of £40 and the lease of the impro- 
priated tythes of Chiswick aforesaid, parcel of the 
possessions of the late deane and chapter of Paula 
as lately appeared. It is ordered that the yearley 
summe of three score pounds bee graunted out of the 
rents and profitts of the said tithes, to aud for 
encrease of such godly and painful preachers of 
the gospell, as shall from time to time be the 
settled ministers ot ye said parish church, and 
duly to be paid to Mr. James Thompson, present 



TEE VICARS OF CEISWICK. 87 

minister whereof, of whose godly conversation, 
abilities, and fitDess for ye said place, the said 
trustees have good testimonie to hold for such 
times as he shall continue faithfully to discharge ye 
duty of the minister of the said place till farther 
ordered. Acd that Mr. Francis, churchwarden, 
doe pay the same unto him as annexed to his 
vicarage according to Act of Parliament in yt 
behalf." 

Titos. Thorowgood, Jo. Pocock, 
W. Skinner, Ri. Yonge. 

He appears to have been permitted at the restora- 
tion to remain, but on the passing of the Act of 
Uniformity, in 1662, he resigned and was succeeded 
by 

v / rl<)w<tz} £%orocu i Viatic 

Thimas Elboroice, clerk, instituted as Thomas 
Elborough, 26 September, 3662, who held 
the vicarage thirteen ytars. He died, as the 
inscription on his gravestone in the chancel 
recorded, 7 April, 1675, aged 54 years, and 
was succeeded by 

Samuel Turner, M.A., who was instituted 15th 
April, 1675. He had been previously vicar of 
Sandon, in Hertfordshire, from 20 October, 
1668, until 12 April, 1675. Administration 
of his effects was granted by the Prerogative 
Court, 6 February, 1678-79, to his relict, 
Elizabeth. Mr. Turner was of St. John's 
College, Oxford, where he matriculated as 
"til. pleb.," i.e., son of a commoner, 9 
December, 1653, and was a scholar of that 



88 CHISWICK. 



society. He graduated B.A., 30 January, 
1656-57, and took hisM.A. degree, 3 May, 1660. 
His successor was 




James Ellesby, M.A., who was instituted, 20 
February, 1678-9, probably a Cambridge 
graduate. He previously was perpetual 
curate of Teddington, and resigned the 
vicarage of Chiswick, in March, 1715 -16. His 
will, dated 1718-19, was proved in the Preroga- 
tive Court, 1719. [Browning 27], 

Thomas Wood, A.M., was his successor, being 
instituted 26 March, 1716. He was probably 
son of Thomas Wood, of Littleton, Middle- 
sex, gent, and matriculated at Wadham 
College, Oxford, 7 April, 1698, being aged 17, 
though his degree does not appear to be 
recorded by Foster. Two brothers also were 
Oxford men. Robert Wood, who matriculated 
in 1691, became d.c.l., and was an advocate in 
Doctors' Commons, being also Official of 
Colchester. He was also director of the 
South Sea Company, and died .8 September, 
1738. The older brother Edward matriculated 
in 1688, aged 17, but of him we have no 
record. The Rev. Thomas Wood died in 1732, 
and was succeeded by 

Thomas Spateman, M.A., was instituted 5 
December, 1732, and died 19 January, 1760-61. 
A Thomas Spateman graduated at Emmanuel 



THE VICARS OF C HIS WICK. 



College, Cambridge, b.a., 1717, and m.a., 
1721. Lysons, in his MS. notes, Brit. 
Museum, has the following: — "Thos. Spate- 
man, I think it probable, was the same person 
who had been Rector of Wilton, in North- 
amptonshire, and published in 1740 the 
Schoolboy's Mask. His successor, 

Arthur Coham, M.A., instituted 26 January, 
1760-61, was son of John Coham, of Bradford, 
Devon, gent., and matriculated at Exeter 
College, Oxford, 11 April, 1739, aged 18 ; he 
beoame b.a. in 1742. He seems to have been 
a pluralist, and to have held, besides Chis wick, 
the Rectory of Pottern and the Archdeaconry 
of Wilts. His son, Arthur John Coham, was 
of Queen's College, Oxford, entering there 
11 March, 1784, aged 15, becoming b.a. in 
1787, and m.a. in 1790. Mr. Coham ceded the 
Vicarage of Chiswick in 1781, and was suc- 
ceeded by 

James Trebeck, M.A., instituted 30 March, 1781. 
He was son of Andrew Trebeck, of St. George, 
Hanover Square, doctor, and matriculated at 
Christ Church, Oxford, 6 June, 1746, aged 18, 
b.a., 1750; m.a., 1753; rector of Shelley, 
Essex ; vicar of Hulton, Sussex, 7 December, 
1762, to 31 March, 1781 ; rector of St. Michael, 
Queenhithe,and Holy Trinity the Less,London, 
in 1768. He died July 1808, aged 80. The 
following outline of the Trebeck family will be 
of interest as showing that no less than four 
generations have been clergymen and have 



90 CH1SWICK. 



received their education at Christ Church, 

Oxford : — 

Dr. Andrew Trebeck, 

St. George's, Hanover Square. 

I 
James Trebeck, M.A., 

Christ Church, 

Vicar of Chiswick, 17S1-1S0S. 

I 
Thomas Trebeck, m.a., 

Christ Church, 

Rector of Charley, 

Sussex, 1822 d 1851. 

I 
Jonathan Trebeck, m.a., 

Christ Church, 

Vicar of Melbourne, Camb. 

d. 1846. 

James John Trebeck, m.a., 

Christ Church, 
Rector of Southwell, Notts. 
The Rev. James Trebeck was succeeded in the 
vicarage of Chiswick by 

Thomas Hughes, D.D., instituted 1 December, 
1S0S, but held the living only eight months, 
for he resigned 5 August, 1S09. We have 
not traced his university. He does not appear 
to have graduated at either Oxford or Cam- 
bridge. He was a pluralist, being at the same 
time he held Chiswick also Rector of Kilken, 
Flintshire, which last living he held from 1S06 
to 1S33 : he was vicar of Uffington, Berks, 
from 1816 to 1833, also Cauon Residentiary in 
St. Paul's Cathedral, obtaining the stall known 
as "eonsumpta per mare," 6 Feb., 1S07. He 




THE VICARS OF CH1SWICK. 91 

was tutor to two of George III. 'a sons, viz., 
the Duke of Cumberland, King of Hanover, 
1837, and the Duke of Sussex, and died 6 
January, 1833, at the Canon's House, Amen- 
corner. Chiswick profited little by him, and 
the ordinary duties of the vicarage seem to 
have been discharged by a curate, save when 
his services were needod on such occasions as 
the marriage of any noble parishioner. For 
the common folk the services of a cathedral 
dignitary were not. Dr. Hughes was suc- 
ceeded by 



lt<?y+ 



John Preti/man, B.A., who was instituted 1(> 
August, 1809, was vicar for a little over 18 
months only, and gave way in 1811 to his 
successor. Mr. Pretyman may probably be 
identified with the John Pretyman, who 
graduated at St John's College, Cambridge, 
b.a. 1807, ma. 1811, and was appointed pre- 
bendary of Aylesbury, in Lincoln Diocese, 
16 July, 1810, on the resignation of his father. 
He was also appointed Master of the Spital 
Hospital, near Lincoln, November, 1810. He 
died 10 November, 1842, aged 57. His 
successor, 



Thomas Frere Bowerbank, M.A., instituted 26 
March, 1811, held the vicarage for the long 
period of 45 years. In his time Turnham 



92 C HIS WICK. 

Green Church was built. He died 24 Decem- 
ber, 1856, and he was succeeded by 

A.a. 

Lawford William Torriano Dale, M.A., Trinity 
College, Cambridge, the present vicar, who 
was inetituted on 31 March, 1857, and who 
in hia term of office, extending over 38 
years, has certainly seen more alteration in 
the church and parish than any one of his pre- 
decessors. The editors have here gratefully to 
acknowledge the assistance he has rendered 
them in the compilation of this list of his pre- 
decessors. 

The signatures of the various vicars are com- 
plete for practically 300 years, that is, from the 
institution of Mr. William Walker in 1597. 

It w ill be seen that several vicars have held the 
benefice for long peiiods. Mr. William Walker 
and the Rev. T. F. Bowerbank were here for 45 
years. Next in length of service is Mr. Dale, 
who succeeded the latter, and has already 
occupied the vicarage nearly 39 years. Seldom 
it is that a living as at Chiswick during the 
continuous period of the last 84 years has 
known only two vicars. Mr. James EHesby was 
vicar 35 years. Mr. Spateman, Mr. Coham, and 
Trebeck remained successively 29, 20, and 27 year?. 
Perhaps the incumbencies of Mr. William Bordale, 
Mr. William Walker, and the Rev. L. W. T. Dale 
have been most remarkable in the history of the 
Church. By the first-named was built the tower, 
the second improved the churchyard and erected 
the memorial to his predecessor, and in the time of 
Mr. Dale the church has been wholely re-edified, 
save only Bordall's tower. 




Rev. L. W. T. Dale, M.A. 



lotqm's rtfTitp of (EhtBtoicfe. 

About 1745, John Kocque published his great 
survey of the city of London and the suburbs, which 
was comprised in sixteen large sheets, each 
being 24in. by 20in. The parish of Chiswick was 
included in this survey, and occupies portions of 
four of the sheets. Of these portions, by the 
courtesy of Messrs. Stanford, of Charing Cross, who 
have reproduced the whole in fac-simile, we are 
enabled to give a copy, reduced to somewhat less 
than half the original scale. 

The first thing we will consider is the boundary 
of the parish. Chiswick is singularly compact, and 
its boundary lines are simple — a loop of the river 
supplies a natural boundary to the whole southern 
portion, a nearly straight line bounds it on the 
north ; another nearly as straight on the east. It 
is natural to seek for the meaning of ancient parish 
outlines. Apparently the reason for the line of 
the northern boundary is not difficult to find, as it 
coincides with that of the Roman way* and it is not 
unreasonable to suppose that its eastern boundary 
is merely a line drawn between the point where 
the Roman Way crossed the Stamford Brook to 
Chiswick Eyot. 

Kew Bridge, the first, of wood, only built a few 
years before this map was made, appears here, the. 
outlines of the sterlings being given. The bridge was 
much of the style of that of old Putney, which many 
will remember. There is not much to remark in the 
Brentford road. Tmnham Green lane, now Welles- 
ley-road, appears below with the house and 
_,roundsof Arlington House, now Aldington Park 

* See ante page 17. 



96 CB TS WICK. 



Estate, at the corner next Turnham Green. At the 
north-western corner of the Green the Old Pack- 
horse and the old forge adjoining are clearly traced, 
just behind which we see the lane make a cirouit 
round some cultivated ground, the site of Fairlawn 
House, now Fairlawn Park. Straight across Acton 
Common we see a wide lane whereon is written 
Stanford Brook, which marks part of the old 
Roman way, and is now Bath-road and Stamford 
Brook-road. Stamford Brook-lane does not appear 
to have altered, except that the southern portion 
has been absorbed into the present Gol4hawk-road, 
and as to the way it is spelt. Passing down the 
lane, now British-grove, which continues the line, 
we come to Chiswick Mall, and at the south-east 
corner of the next lane, now C his wick-lane, note 
particularly a right-angled block of building — the 
prebendal Manor and College House — and up the 
lane, on the left, Sir Stephen Fox's Manor House, 
so long occupied by Dr. Tuke, with its grounds 
and bowling alley. The mass of buildings now 
Messrs. Fuller's Brewery, once Mawson's, is shown, 
and the present Mawsou-row. Along the Mall we 
Dote the block of Bedford House with its grounds, and 
rouod the corner the vicarage, then the church 
with a row of houses between it and the river — 
Fisherman's row. The ground plan of the town 
seems much as it is now. Passing Hogarth House 
we come upon the footpath which once led across 
to Turnham Green, and crossed the Common Field, 
which has now disappeared, but may be identified 
with the Glebe Estate, Chiswick New Town, and 
the Barrowgate-road. The act for extinguishing 
the rights of Common over the Lammas Lands was 
passed in 1806. We shall refer to this later. The 
extensive grounds of the Earl of Burlington, (Chis- 
wick House,) are shown with great detail as being 
the principal object of interest in the parish, and 



ROCQUE'S MAP OF CH1SWICK. 97 

we may note that Rocque published, in 1736, a 
separate survey of the grounds, surrounded by 
views of the house and temples, &c. The grounds 
of Sutton Court are displayed in like manner. 
Strand-on-the-Green appears in its present form, 
and we may notice that the rows of trees, which to 
this day lend so picturesque a character to the 
village, are marked distinctly. The Conservancy 
Eyot is free from buildings, and there is no 
hideous railway bridge to mar the beauty of the 
scene. 



Visitations cf (Uliistoick QTlturdt, 



Amongst the records of the Dean and Chapter of 
St. Paul's have been preserved some of the official 
visitations of churches in the diocese of London, 
which set out the state and condition of each 
church inspected, and further give lists of the 
furniture and vestments belonging thereto. Three 
of these visitations have been issued in the publi- 
cations of the Camden Society, and we now reprint 
those which relate to Chiswick Church. They are, 
of course, in Latin, as was customary at that date, 
and in fact till a comparatively late period, with all 
legal and ecclesiastical documents. A translation, 
however, will follow. The first of these documents 
is of the unusually early date of 1252, and it is 
of no small interest to us to learn what was the 
state of the parish church in the reign of 
Henry III., now more than six hundred years ago. 
The subsequent visitations were made in the years 
1297 and 1458. We shall also print the inventories 
of church goods taken in the reign of King 
Edward VI., so that the reader will be able to 
gather from these various accounts a good idea of 
the state of the parish church in pre-Reformation 
days : — 

Ornamenta inventa apud Chesewith die 

Sanctorum Johannis et Pauli Anno Domini 

M°. CC<\ L v . secundo 1 . 

Missale bonum et sufficiens missum ibidem de 

Thesaurario Sancti Pauli. Item : Duo gradualia 

l.—i.e., 26 June, 1252. 



VISITATIONS OF CHISWICK CHURCH. 99 

sufficiencia. Unum troparium sufficiens sed male 
ligatum. Item : Vetua liber lectionarius cum missis 
intersertis per loca de usu monachali. Item : Anti- 
phonarium bonum et sufficiens bene nottaum. Item : 
Psalterium bonum et sufficiens. Desit manuale. 

Item : Calix argenteus parvus et parvi pretii- 
titubans. Item : Una casula de sameto rubeo bene 
ornata aurifrigio. Item : Vestimentum integrum 
instratum paraturis bonis. Item : Aliud vesti- 
mentum cum alba casula debili et rupta interius, 
cum dupplicibus manipulis et stolis. Item : Tria 
corporalia benedicta. Item : Vque palle altaria 
benedicte et integre, quarum una habet paruram de 
serico. Item : Pannus sericus de areata, quam qui- 
dem parochianus deditecclesie integre. Item : Cris- 
matorium vetus. Item : Unum vexillum bonum 
et sufficiens. Item : Nulla pixis ad reponendum 
Corpus Domini. Item : Duo candelabra enea et 
duo candelabra stagnea. Item : iij. or (sic) 
phiale stagnee. Item : Fons debilis et ruptus sine 
sera. 

Item : Caucellum debile et ooopertum male. 
Item : Ad luminare nichil certum, nisi collecta ad 
cereum paschalem, scilicet de qualibet domoobolus. 
Item : Injunctum est parochianis similem collectam 
ad rotellam. Item : Johannes Belemenis 2 habet 
dimidiam marcam ad cancellum emendum de 
testamento quondam A. Thesaurarii 3 . Item : 
Ecclesia non est dedicata. Item : Vic&rius habet 
totum alteragium cum xij acris terre arabilis, et 
unam acram prati et unam marcam argenti per 
manum camerarii*. 

2.— John Belemeus, or Belemeyus, was prebendary of 
Chiswick in 1225 and in 1252. 

3.— That is, probably, Alexander Swerford. treasurer of 
H. Paul's, from January 1231-32. He died in 1240, and was 
buried in the cathedral. He appears to have resigned his 
office some few years before his death. 

4.— Camerarius : The Chamberlain of St. Paul's. 



100 C HIS WICK. 



[Translation]. 

Ornaments found at Chiswick on the day of Sts. 
John and Paul, a.d. 1252 (i.e., 26 June, 1252) : — 

A good and sufficient missal sent there from the 
treasury of St. Paul's. Item : Two sufficient 
graduals ; one tropary sufficient but badly bound. 
Item : An old lectionary with the masses inserted 
in places according to the monastic use. Item : An 
anthem book, good and sufficient and well noted. 
Item : A good and sufficient psalter. The manual 
is missing. 

Item : A little silver chalice, sbaky and of small 
value. Item : One chasuble of red velvet, well 
ornamented with a gold orfrey. Item : A vestment, 
perfect, embroidered with handsome ornaments. 
Another vestment with a white chasuble, thin and 
lining ragged, with double maniples and stoles. 
Item : Three corporals, blessed. Item : Five 
altar cloths, blessed and complete, one of 
which has an ornamentation of silk. Item : 
A cloth of arras, which a certain parishioner 
gave wholely to the church. Item : An old 
chrismatory. Item : One good and sufficient 
banner. Item : No pix for placing the Lord's 
Body in [i.e., the consecrated wafer]. Item : Two 
brass candlesitcks and two tin candlesticks. Item : 
Three [? four] tin vases. Item : A font in dis- 
repair, also broken without a lock. Item : The 
chancel is in disrepair and badly roofed. Item : 
For the lights there is nothirjg certain except what 
is collected for the paschal taper ; i.e., from each 
house a halfpenny. Item : Order made that the 
parishioners make a similar collection lor the 
rotella. 1 

Item : John Belemeus holds half a mark [6s S>.] 

1. It will be remembered that Lyson's considers that 
this signifies the rood and not a wheel or hoop for affixing 
candhs for lighting. Tbe editor of the Camden Societ\'s 
volume translates it however as the " rowell light 



VISITATIONS OF CH1SWICK CHURCH. 101 

for repairing the chancel under the will of the late 
A., the treasurer. 

Item : The church is not dedicated. Item : 
The vicar has all the altar collections, with twelve 
acres of arable land and an acre of meadow, and 
one mark of silver [13s. 4d.] by the hand of the 
Chamberlain [of St. Paul's 



The next visitation of the church took place in 
1297. It is not mentioned by Lysonp, but has been 
printed in the Camden Society's publications. It 
is as follows : — 

Ecclesia de Chesewich visitata die Jovis 
proxima post festum Sancti Luce Evangiliste 
Anno Domini Millesimo CC mo nonagesimo 
septimo. 2 
Cimiterium sufficienter clausum. Navis ecclesie 
male cooperta. Item: Campaaarium cum duabus 
•campanis non bene cordatis. Item : ij. vasa 
stagnea ad aquam benedictam cum aspersoriis. 
[tern : Baptisterium marmoreum intus plumbatum 
cum serura. Item : j. Scala. Item : j. feretrum 
debile. Item : deficit tapetum pro pauperibus 
mortuis. Item : ij. campanule manuales pro mor- 
tuis. Item : j. crux processionalis undique operta 
laminis argenteis, cum parva iconia lapidea. Item : 
Pomello cupreo deaurato. Item : Alia crux lignea 
portatilis. J tern : Deficiunt iij. vexilla. Item : ij. 
altaria de calce et lapide fabricata, cum ij. fron- 
talibus de panno litieo stragulatis de viridiet albo. 
Item : ij candelabra stagnea. Item : j. super- 
altare. Item : Ymagines Sante Crucis, Sancte 
Marie et Sancti Johannis ex utroque latere. 
Item : Altare beate Katerine, beate Marie Magda- 
lene et ad altare beate Marie et Margarete 
virginis. 

Item: Cancellum bene opertum cum fenestris bene 

2. That is on Thursday, 24 October, 1297 



102 C HIS WICK. 



vitreatis etbarratis. j descha. ij. lectrina. j. ordinate 
de usu Sarum cum kalendario et historiis beati 
Thome Martiri. Item : j. psalterium bonum cum 
kalendario et ympnario, Placebo et Dirige. Item : 
j. Antiphonarium notatum plenarium cum kalen- 
dario, capitulario, collectario, ympnario. Placebo, 
Dirige, commendacione. Item : Deficit secun- 
dum antiphonarium. Item : Legenda Tempor- 
alis et Sanctorum plenariurr. Item : Deficit 
martilogium. Item : ij. Gradualia cum pro- 
cessional!. Item : j. Troparium. Item : Deficit 
secundum troparium. Item : Missale moniale non 
notatum. Item : Aliud missale antiquum debile. 
Item : Unum manuale bonum de usu Sancti Pauli. 
Item : Dsficiunt Statuta Sinodalia, et Statuta J. de 
Pecham, articuli conciliorum, et Capitula OctoboDi. 
Item : Deficit pannus lectrinus. Item : j. velum 
quadragesimalecompetens. Item : j. superpellicias 
bonum et ij. debilia. item : j. rochetum. item : 
ij. manutergia ablata per fenestram navia eccleeie. 
Item : ij. Abstersoria. Item : Unum frontale de 
siclatun. Item : Aliud de panno lineo inciso. 
Item : ij. pallee benedicte, quarum una cum 
paruris de pallo, et ij. pallee non benedicte. Item : 
Unum vestimentum festivale cum paruris albe de 
viridi pallo, cum stola manipula de opere 
saraceno, et casula de rubeo samitto, parura 
amicti broidata. Item : Vestimentum domiuicale 
cum apparatu et casula de pallo. Item : Vesti- 
mentum feriale debile, cum casula rubea debili de 
fusteyn. Item : Parura per se ad j albam de pallo 
debili. Item : j alba debilis sine parura. Item : 
Una cappa chori de pallo. Item : ij. paria cor- 
poralium cum ij. tecie de pallo. Item : Deficiunt 
tunica dalmatica, pannus offertorius, et pannus 
sponsalicius. Item : Altare consecratum. Item r 
Oalix argenteu8 intus deauratus ponderis x. 
solidorum, deficit calx stagneus. Item : iiij. phiale r 



VISITATIONS OF CHISWICK CHURCH. 103 

j. pelvis stagnea. Item: ij. pixides lignee ad 
oblatas. Item : Unum turribulum. Item : Deficit 
navieula ad inceDSum. Item : j. crux lignea 
portatilis. Item : ij. ceroferoria stagnea. Item : 
ij. ceroferoria decupro cum leonibus supportantibus. 
Item : ij. osculatoria. Item : Deficit vas carbonumin 
yeme. Item: ij. sconse. Item: Candelabrum paschale 
ad depictum. Item : j. lucerna. j. hercia. Item : 
j. ferrum sculpium bonum. Item : Pixis lignea 
depicta ad eukaristiam ultra* in qua alia pixis 
consuta de serico cum lapidibus annexis. Item : 
Deficit pixis secunda ad deferendum Eukaristiam ad 
infirmos. Item : Crismatorium ligneum cum 
serura. 

Item : Edificia vicarie correcta et spectant 
vicario ad xiiij. acras terre et j. acram prati tt j. 
marcam per annum de camera Sancti Panli. Rogerus 
de Camera habet ex legato Matilde matris sue viij. 
oves precii capitis xijd. ad sustentacioDem unius 
cerei imperpetuum coram altari beate Virginia in 
navi ecclesie. 

[Translation.] 
The Church of Cheswick visited on Thursday next 

after the feaBt of St. Luke the Evangelist 

[24 Oct.], 1297. 

The churchyard is properly enclosed. The nave 
of the church is badly roofed. Item : A belfry 
with two bells not well roped. Item : Two tin 
stoups for holy water with sprinklers. Item : A 
marble font lined with lead with a lock. Item : One 
ladder. Item : One bier in bad condition. Item : 
A pall for the deceased poor is lackirjg. Item : 
Two handbells for the dead. Item : One proces- 
sional cross worked on either side with silver plates 
with a small stone image. Item : The pommell 
[? of the cross] of copper gilt. Item : Another 
portal word cross. Item : Three banners are 

*. Ultra [sic] but probably ultra altare is intended. 



104 CI11S WICK. 



missing. Item : Two altars carved with alabaster 
[calx] and stone, with two frontals of linen cloth 
covered with green and white. Item : Two tin 
candlesticks. Item : One super altar. Item : 
Statues of the Holy Rood, St. Mary and St. John 
on either side. Item : Altars of the blessed 
Kacherine, blessed Mary Magdalene, and the altar 
of the blessed Mary and Margaret the virgin. 
Item : The chancel is well built with 
windows well glazed and barred, one desk, two 
lecterns, one ordinal of the use of Sarum, with a 
calendar and histories of the blessed Thomas the 
Martyr. Item : One good psalter with a calendar 
and hymnal, Placeto et Dirige. Item : One anthem 
book fully noted witha calendar,CApitulary, collects, 
hymnal, Placebo and Dirige, and commendation. 
Item : The second anthem book is missing. Item : 
Temporal legend and Plenary of Saints. Item : 
The Martyrology is missing. Item : Two graduals 
with a Processional. Item : One tropary. Item : 
The second tropary is missing. Item : The monastic 
missal not noted. Item : Another old missal in 
bad condition. Item : One good manual of the use 
of St. Paul. Item : The Synodal Statutes are miss- 
ing and the Statutes of J. de Pecham, the articles 
of the Councils, and the chapters of Octobonus. 

Item : The lectern cloth is wanting. Item : A 
proper lectern veil, Item : One good surplice and 
two in poor condition. Item : One rochet. Item : 
Two altar towels [manutergia] taken away through 
a window of the nave of the church. Item : Two 
altar towels [abatersoria]. Item : One frontal of 
cloth of gold. Item : Another of linen cloth cut. 
Item : Two blessed altar palls, of which one is 
with ornaments on the pall, and two palls not 
blessed. Item : A festival vestment with orna 
ment, alb of white and green cloth [pallo], with 
stole, maniple of aaracen work, and chasuble of red 



VISITATIONS OF CH1SWICK CHURCH. 105 

samec, 1 the border of the Amice embroidered. 
Item : A vestment for Sunday use, with 
apparel and chasuble of cloth [palloj. Item : 
A festival vestment in bad state, with a red 
chasuble of fustian in bad state. Item : 
An altar ornament [parura] by itself, and one 
alb of cloth [pallo] iu bad state. Item : One alb 
in bad condition without the altar ornament. 
Item : One choir-cap of cloth [pallo]. Item : Two 
paii8 of corporal cloths, with twocases of cloth [pallo] 
Item : There are missing, tunics, dalmatics, offer- 
tory veil, and cloth for weddings. Item : A con- 
secrated altar. Item : A silver chalice, gilt within 
of the weight of ten solidi ; the tin chalice is 
missing. Item : Four vials, one latten bason. 
Item : Two wood pixes for wafers. Item : One 
thurible. 2 Item : The incense-boac is missing. 
Item : A wood moveable cross. Item : Two tin 
candlesticks [cereferoria]. Item : Two candle- 
sticks of copper with HonB supporting them. 
Item : Two paxes. Item : The charcoal burner for 
winter is mi=siug. Item: Two sconces. Item: One 
lantern, one hearse. Item : One good iron stamp. 3 
Item : A wooden pix, painted, for the eucharist, in 
which, moreover, is another pix covered with jewels 
worked in. Item : The second pix, for carrying the 
eucharist to sick people, is missing. Item : A 
wooden chrismatory, with a lock. Item : The 
buildings of the vicarage, are in order, and there 
belong to the vicar, fourteen acres of land and one 
acre of meadow, and one mark a year for the 
chamber of St. Paul's. Roger de Chamber has, 
from a bequest of Matilda, his mcther, eight sheep, 
worth a shilling each, for the maintenance of one 
wax light for ever before the altar of the Blessed 
Virgin, in the nave of the church. 

1. According to Skeat, a rich and glossy silk materia 

2. A censer for burning incense. 

3. This was a stamp for impressing on the wafer the 
sacred monogram or other emblem. 



106 CEISW1CK. 



The next extant visi'ation of Chiswick Chu'ch 
is dated 1458 and is as follows : — 

Visitacio ecclesie parochialis saucti Nicholai 
de Chesewyk xviii. die mensis Octobris 
Anno Domini predicto [i.e. 1458]. 



Thomas Pathe 



Johannes 

Gebon, junior 
Willelmus 

Gardynere J 



Thomas Thorr.as 
Ricardus Halle 



Henricus Play- 
ford 

Johann°s 
Wheler 

Johannes 
Grenne 



Rioardus Lang- 
ton j 
Sunt ibidem una tabula de alabastro cum passione 
Christi super magnum altare. In ecclesia ij 
tabule de alabaatro, una de Judicio Dei, et alia de 
quinque gaudeis beate Marie. Unum MUsale ijdo. 
fo. ad te levavi, aliud Missale ijdo. f . ta sit., aliud 
Missale ijdo. f . dommi, aliud Missale ijdo. f 0f 
fructum, unum Antiphonarium ijdo. fo. domino, 
unum Portiphorium ijdo. f . Ecchsw, aliud Porti- 
phorium ijdo. fo. marinas, unum Giadale ijdo. fo. 
tercia dominorum, aliud Gradale ijdo. fo. domine, 
unum collectare ijdo. fo. pacem, unum Psalterium 
ijdo. fo. et erit, unum Manuale ijdo. fo. divine, unum 
Processionale ijdo. f . domini. Una crux de- 
argento cum reliquis ad infra, alia crux de cupro de 
aurato, alia crux de cupro deaurato, duo candelabra 
de laton, ije. viole de argento, iiijor. viole de tyn. 
Una Legenda ijdo. fo. naventa, unum ordinale ijdo- 
fo. cum. unum antiquum Gradale ijdo, ti sitis, 
aliud antiquum Gradale ijdo. f . am innotam. 
Unum vestimentum de blodio seirico cum leonibus 
et nodis aureis et orferis de rubeo velvet cum solis 
aureis, albis, amictu, stoiis, phanone. Aliud vesti- 
mentum viridi coloris de serico cum floribus aureis 
et volucribus albis. Aliud vestimentum de virido 
saton cum losengis de argento. Aliud vestimentum 
de rubeo bawdekyn cum floribus aureis ex dono 
Walteri Dolman. Aliud vestimentum de rubeo 



VISITATIONS OF C BIS WICK CHURCH. 107 

serfco cum leonibus aureis cum corporalibiia .... 
eisdem ali. . . . [ba]wdekyn cum signia albis. 
Aliud ve9timentum nigram cum orferin .... 
aureie. Unum ve8timentum nigrum satyn cum 
orfrei8 de virico serico cum liiiis albis. Unum 
ve8timentum viridi coloris de brodalyaaunder cum 
rosis albis. Duo tuniculi de brode aliaaunder cum 
casula eiuadem secte et una stola. Sex cape diver- 
8orum colorum, vj. pallee, ij a . frontella albi. 

Prebenda de Chesewyk cum omnibus domibua 
auis atat in bono atatu, coopertura tegularum et 
atraminum dumtaxat excepta : Presentibua 
Thoma Patho, Willelmo Gardynere, Henrico 
Ingram, Johanne Burton, Jobanne Wheler, eb 
Roberto BroLlympe. 

Dicunt Inquieitorea quod cancellum patitur 
defectiuum in coopertura plumbi eo quod pluvia 
stillit infra cancellum, et quod seipsum removet 
cadendum, et quod vitree fenestrarum eiuadem 
multum franguntur. Item : Quod mure lapidee 
patuntur defectum tarn in fundo quam alibi, et 
in pavimento ejusdem ad eatimacionem xxti. 
marcarum. Item : Navia eccleaie patitur defectum 
in le boteraa et fenestris vitreis ad estimacionem 
xl 9 . et habet ad rep*raodum citra festum Phillippi 
et Jacobi ; et habeut ad certificandum de male- 
factoribus pirochie citra festrum 8ancti Martini 
proximo* futurum. 

Icem : dicunt inquisitorea quod Vicariua habat 
Clericum pjn-ochialem deservendum Deo, tarn in 
feati8 quam profestis et ferialibns.+ 

Item : Quod flrmariua prebende de Cheaewyk 
non aolvet decimaa auaa de lacte, oaaio, et Columbia, 
ac aliia rebu8 de novo annuatimcreacentibua. 

Item : Quod decirna pars garbarum de terris 

* Ht. Martin ; bishop and confessor, November 11. 
! In the Ordinannm filiasal of the Sarum Breviary, two 
rubrics occur ; &64poo8io clerici privatim "and Responsio 
i ;i oantaudo.'— 'Cam'iridge repri-.t, Fascic II., Col. 485" 



108 CHISWICK. 



vicarie fuit ultimo anno preterito abstracta, contra 
consuetudinem ab antiquo usitatam, cujua contrarii 
memoria hominum non existat. 

Item : Decima par*- pissium per Willelmum 
Justyce, Ricardum Janyn, Willelmum Bowrer 
et Johannem Fylmyn firmario aque, ibidem est 
abstracta. 

Item : Querelatur de xxij. elmys loppid et 
pollyd extra viam processionis et unam infra, precii 
iiij. s. ; quos gardiani Vicario reclamantes abdux- 
erunt contra juris exigenciam per Vicarium. 

Item : (Jompertum est quod Vicarius dimisib 
vicariam suam ad firmam ; et quod dominus 
de Sutton habet decimas garbarum, contra 
antiquam consuetudinam, cujus memoria hominum 
non existat. 

Item : Compertum est firmarius Firmi de Sutton 
detinet decimas pissium apud molendinum juxta 
Suttor, par Justice, Janyn, Bowrer et Fylmyn. 

Item : Compertum est quod Vicarius habet 
xxti. acras terre arrabiles ad inveniendum 
puerum ad juvandum ipsum cotidie celebrari. 

Item : Compertum est quod Vicarius scandolavit 
domum Willelmi Gardynere, dicendo quod ipse 
recipit presbiteros ac alios viros et mulieres sus- 
piciose. 

[Translation]. 

Visitation of the Parish Church of St. Nicholas, at 

Chiswick, on the 18th of October, a.d. 1458. 



Thomas Pathe. 
John Gebon, 



Thomas Thomas. 
Richard Halle. 
Richard Lang- 
ton. 



Henry Play- 
ford. 
John Wheler. 
John Greene. 



junior. 
William Gar- 
dynere. 

There are there ; a picture of alabaster with 
Christ's passion over the high altar. In the 
church two pictures of alabaster, one with the 



VISITATIONS OF CI1ISWICK CHURCH. 109 

Judgment of God atid the other v\ ith the Five Jo) s 
of the Blessed Mary. 

One missal [beginning] on the second leaf,* ad te 
levavi ; another missal, on the second leaf, ta sit ; 
another missal, on the second leaf, domini ; another 
rniesal, on the second leaf, fructam ; one anthem 
book, on the second leaf, domino ; one porti- 
phorium, on the second leaf, ecclesie ; another 
portiphotium, on the second leaf, matutinas ; 
one gradual, on the second leaf, tercia dominorum ; 
another gradual, on the second leaf, domine ; one 
collect book, on the second leaf, pacem ; a psalter, 
on the second leaf, et erit ; a manual, on the 
second leaf, divine ; one processional, on the second 
leaf, domini. 

One cross of silver with relics within, another 
cross of copper gilt, another cross of copper gilt, 
two candlesticks of latton, two vials of silver, four 
vials of tin. 

One legend book, on the second leaf, naventa ; 
one ordinal, on the second leaf, cum ; one old 
gradual, on the second leaf, ti sitis; another old 
gradual, on the second leaf, am innotam. 

One vestment of blood-red silk, and with lions and 
golden knots and orphreys of red velvet, with 
golden suns, with albs, amice, stoles, " phanone" ; 
another vestment of green colour, made of silk 
with golden flowers and white birds; another 
vestment of green satin with silver lozenges ; 
another vestment of re<i bawdekyn with golden 
flowers given by Walterf Dolman ; another vest- 
ment of red silk with golden lions with corporals 

* It must not be thonght that the statement u second leaf " 
indicates that the first was missing. As in those days the 
missals were mainly in manuscript, the pages of the various 
copies would commence with different words, a fact which 
afforded a ready means of identifying volumes which in the 
days before printing were necessarily of considerable 
value. 

t In Lysons this name is erroneously given as William 
Dolman, 



110 OR IS WICK. 



; another [vestment ?] of bawdekyn with 
white bells ; another black vestment with orphreys 
. . . golden. One black vestment, satin, with 
orphreys of green silk with white lilies. One 
vestment of green colour of Broad Alexander, 
with white roses. Two Tunicle9 of Broad 
Alexander, with a chasuble of the same set, and one 
stole. Six capea of different colours, six palls, 
two f rontals of white. 

The Prebendal estate of Chiswick, with all the 
houses, stands in good condition, the roofing of tiles 
and thatch only excepted. 

Present :— Thomas Pathe, William Gardynere, 
Henry Ingram, John Burton, John Wheler, and 
Robert Broklympe. 

The Inquisitors say that the chancel suffers a 
defect in the lead roofing, so that the rain drops 
within the chancel, aud that it is likely to fall, and 
that the g'azing of the windo vs is much broken. 
Item : That the walls of the same are defective, 
both in the foundation and elsewhera, and in the 
pavement thereof, to the value of 20 marks 
[£12 13s. 43.]. Item : The nave of the church 
suffers defect in the buttresses and glazed windows 
to the value of 40 shillings, and it has to be re- 
paired before the feast of St. Philip and St. 
James. And they have to be certified concerning 
evil-doera in the parish before the feast of St. 
Martin next [i.e., the bishop and confessor, 11th 
November]. 

The Inquisitors say that the vicar has a parish 
clerk, both on feast days as well as in the eves of 
feast and in holidays. t 

Item : That the farmer of the Prebend of 
Chiswick dops not pay his tithes of milk, cheese, 

Jin the " Ordinarium misse " of the Sarum Breviary, two 
rubrics cccur, " Responsio clerici privatim " and " Responsio 
clerici c nit uido." Ga'ii bridge reprint. Fascie II. col. 435. 



VISITATIONS OF CITJSWICK CHURCH. Ill 

and pigeons, and other things annually arising 
afresh. 

I em : That the tenth part of the sheaves from 
the lands of the vicarage was taken away in the 
year last past aeainwt the usage accustomed from 
ancient time, of the which the memory of man is 
not. 

Item : The tenth part of the fish was taken away 
by William Justice, Richard Janyn, William 
Fowrer, and John Filmin, farmers of the water 
there. 

Item : Complaint is made of twenty two elms 
lopped and polled outside the way of the pro- 
cession and one within, of the value of four 
shillings, which the wardens, claiming for the 
vicar, have taken away contrary to the require- 
ment of law by the vicar. 

Item : It is found that the vicar has let his 
vicarage on lease, and that the Lord of Sutton has 
the tithes of sheaves contrary to ancient usage, of 
which the memory of man is not. 

Item : It is found that the farmer of the farm of 
Sutton withholds the tithes of fish at the mill next 
Sutton — equal by [also] Justice, Janyn, Bowrer, 
and Fylmyn. 

Item : It is found that the vicar has twenty 
acres of arable land for finding a boy for assisting 
him to celebrate daily. 

Item : It found that the vicar has scandalized 
the house of William Gardener by saying that he 
takes in priests and other men and women in a 
suspicious manner. 

The three visitations of Chiswick Church 
which we have already printed, as will have been 
noticed, were undertaken by the authorities of the 
cathedral church of the diocese with the object -of 



112 C HIS WICK. 



preserving the church and its belongings in due 
order. 

We now come to a visit ition of a very different 
class ; one that was undertaken by the secular 
authority, and mainly with the purpose of appro- 
priating to the king's use any obj a cts in the church 
that might be of value. In other words it was a 
policy of pillage ^nd not of piety. 

We now print this Edwardian visitation which, 
unlike the former, it will be observed, was written 
in English. 

The P'rysshe of Cheswek. 
We the jury doo present and testyfy the goods, 
plate, ornaments, Jewells and bells, belongynge and 
apertayngoge to the Church of Cheswek in the 
Comptye of Myddlesex as well as wh in the Inven- 
tory tikyn by the Kyngs Commessyoners as well 
as also the goods belongyug to the same Churches 
as aperath heraafter moat playnly testyfyed by ua 
the same jury, the fyfth daye of Awgoost in the 
yere of our Lord God a thousande fy ve hundredthe 
fifty and two, and in the sexth yere of the Reygne 
of our Soveregn Lord Kynge Edwarde the sexte by 
the grace of God of Ingland and Ieilande the 
supreme head emedyately under God ; — 

This Inventory made the tenth daye of Marche 
in the thyrde yere of the Regne of our moost 
dreade Sovereigne Kynge Edward the Sexte 
by the Grace of God of Inglande Fraunce and 
Ierlande Kynge Defender of the faithe, and 
of England and Ierlande the supreme hede 
emedyately under God of all such goods as 
ar in the Parysshe Churche of Cheswek in 
the Comptye of Myddlesex. 
Inventorye takyn of the King's Maiestie's Com- 
missioners in the thurd yere of his moost gracyous 
reigne. 

Imp'mis two chalices of sylver parcel gylt 
weynge xxv ti ounces di. 



VISITATIONS OF CHISW1CK CHURCH. 113 

Itm : A pyx of latten. 

Itm : Two latten caudelstyckes on the high 
aulter. 

Itm : A bason and ewer of latten for crystenying 

Itm : A crosse of copper and gylte. 

Itm : Three corporas cases. 

Itm : One vestment of blew satten of brydges. 

Itm : One vestment of blew damask wt- a redd 
cross on ye same. 

Itm: One vestment of darke blew sattyn of 
brydges w^ a cross of redd velvetfc. 

Itm : Two vestments of blew satten of brydges 
wt. blew crosses. 

Itm : One vestment of damask of popingey 1 
color wythe women's heds on the crosse thereof. 

Itm : One vestment of yelow flowers. 

Itm : One vestment of sylke full of whyte 
byrds. 

Itm : One vestment of murrey chamblet* 2 with 
starres. 

Itm : One vestment of Whytt iustyon wt. redd 
spots. 

Itm : One vestment of yelowe sylke. 

Itm : One yelowe cope wyth lyons. 

Itm : One other yelowe cope wt. pecokes feders. 

Itm : One cope of redd caffa 3 wt. yelowe Lyons. 
Stowln. 

Itm : One cope of grene wt. flowers of redd. 

Itm : One cope of redd saye. 

Itm : A cacopy cloth of redd sylke. 

Itm : A herse cloth of redd sylke. "Stowln. 

1. Popingey : blue, a kind of coloured cloth. — Halliwell. 
ButNares aays green. 

2. Murrey Chamblett. Murrey : A dark red color. — 
Halliwell. Chamblett : camlet, French camelot ; probably 
a stuff made of mohair, the hair of the Angora goat. 
Chamelet appears in a statute of 12 and 13, Edward IV.— 
Drapers' Dictionary. 

3. Caffa : a rich medieval stuff, probably of silk. It is 
mentioned in the wardrobe accounts of flenry VIII., in 
1531.— Drapers' Dictionary. 



114 CHISW1CK. 



Itm : A hangying of yelowe sylke for the high 
aulter. 

Itm : In the steple, fy ve greate bells, one of them 
beynge a clock. 

Itm : A saunce bell. 

Itm : A hand bell. 

Goods Belongying and Remanynge in the 
p'roche : — 

Itm : Two brase potts wayiDge lx. pounds- 
Brase and pewter. 

Itm : A spitt. 

Itm: iiij. pewter dyshes and a lyttyll bason 
weynge xj. pounds. 

Stowln. Itm : All the lynnynge of the Churche, 
as albes, sorplesses, aulter clothes, and all other 
lynnynge, stowln out of the Church and the 
Churche brokyn. 

Goods sowld. Certeyn latten candelstycks thac 
were in the rood lofte by Thomas Bronne, thelder, 
wt. the consent of ye p'ishe, Deseesed. xviii's. 

Faulkner adds to this visitation the following 
receipts by the churchwarden : — 

Depts and Rerages dew to the same churche. 

Item : In the hands of John Thomas, one of the 
churchwardens : — 

li. s. d. 

Delyvered in to his hand xi. 

William Baldock, beyinge warden, dyd 

lend of the churche money to one "Wil- 
liam Sutton, and unpayd vi. viij. 

John Good xl. 

And remayns in the boxe in the costody 

of the sayde wardens, Willim Gyells 

and John Tursel) x. vij. 

Goods sowld. 
Some of these depts and rerages v. xi. iiij. 

»o>*:o<- — 



®ie Sigh ^Elcmb in 1675. 

The engraving on the next page is a facsimile 
of that portion of John Ogilby's survey, which 
refers to the section of the Great Western-road 
between Hammersmith at one extremity 
and Brentford at the other, and therefore 
comprises the portion which passes through 
the parish of Chiswick. Ogilby, cosmographer 
to Charles II., published his Britannia, 
or the Kingdom of England and Dominion of 
Wales, Actually Surveyed, in 1675, being an 
itinerary or roa 1 book, or, as part of the title page 
tells us, "a geographical and historical description 
of th^ principal roads." Other editions followed ; 
the one from which our illustration is copied is 
dated 1698. 

On a careful examination we see th it the dis- 
tances are marked in miles, and each mile divided 
into furloDgs by dots. It may be well here to 
remind the reader that the apparent discrepancy 
in the distances from London to Chiswick, as given 
by the old writers, is explained by the fact that 
the measurements were then taken from a different 
datum. Where the distance is given as eight 
miles, as in Bowack and in this print, it is reckoned 
from the standard in Cornhill, whence places west- 
ward were measured, as those northward were from 
Hicks' Hall, &c. The road, after passing through 
Hammersmith, crosses a small stream (over part of 
which the compass is drawn) ; this is the Stamford 
Brook, which joined the creek at this spot. We 
then note Chiswick Church, and after passing 
between two buildings, that on the right being 
probably the old "King of Bohemia," the 
beginning of Ohiswick-lane is indicated, and soon 
come upon the open country of Turnham Green, 



THE HIGH ROAD IN 1675. 



117 



upon which is the representation of a windmill, the 
situation of which we can easily identify, as 
it has given a name to Windmill-road and lane, 
and to an ion, called The Old Windmill, which 
must have been in existence when tne windmill 
still stood, as it has upon its south wall a large 
suodial bearing the date 1717. The figure of the 




windmill appears in another road book — Britannia 
Depicta, or Ogilby Improved, by Emanuel Bowen, 
which was published in 1720. The house itself 
scarcely looks its age, but douboless frequent 
alterations have modernized its appearance. 
Next, on the opposite side of the road, we see the 
residence of tne famous Marquis of Worcester, 
celebrated for his scientific studies, and supposed to 
have been the first inventor of the steam engine. 
It seems that he actually constructed a maohine, 
but uofortuuately for the cause of science was 
unable to excite the attention of the public, who 
looked upon him as a visionary speculator. He 
died in 1667 at the age of seventy. 1 

Then we see the name of Lord Crofts, to which, 
howevtr, no house is attached ; the small building 
drawn on a line with the name has no reference to 
it, for as we have already seen, 2 Lords Crofts was 

1. Collins' Peerage. 

2. See page 26. 



118 CH1SWICE. 



in possession of Chiswick House at this period. 
Just beyond the Marquis of Worcester's house, 
a branch road is shown leading towards Sutton 
Court, then in possession of Thomas, Earl of 
Fauconberg. The house is plainly marked. Sir 
John Maynard's house also appaars north of the 
road ; this is where Gunnersbury House now 
stands ; the road to it being indicated. The 
old house which had been built for 
Sir John Maynard by Webbs, a pupil of 
of Iuigo Jones, and which had been for many 
years the summer residence of the Princess Amelial 
was pulled down some time about the year 1800. 
Sir John Maynard, Kt., was a member of the Long 
Parliament, and was actively engaged in the prose- 
cution of the Earl of Strafford and Archbishop 
Laud. He attained the rank of serjeant-at-law, 
and at the Restoration was knighted. He was 
appointed one of the Lords Commissioners of the 
Great Seal in 1689. Ha died in 1690, aged 87, and 
was buried at Ealing. 3 

No bridge spans the river. Kew, which 
appears here in the unfamiliar form of Cue, 
had no bridge until more than fifty years later, 
for the first bridge of wood was built about 
1739. We may note that in the edition of 1675, 
the name of Sir John Chaple is spelt Capell, which 
probably is the more correct form, and 
that a house is marked near the windmill which 
might possibly refer to the present public house 
known by that sign. Otherwise the plates are 
identical with those of the earlier edition. 



3. Biograph. Brit. 



JRibMcsex §£S£irms polls. 



[The following extracts, relating to the parish of 
Chiswick, are taken from a volume issued by the 
Middlesex Record Society, under the editorship of 
Mr. J. Cordy Jeaffreson.l 



11 Novr., oth Elizabeth. — True bill lhat at 
Cheswjke, co. Middx., tlat on said day 
Edward Diconson, gentleman, Thomas 
Howard, yoman, late of Westminster, 
Thomas Pinchetter, late of Ches^yke, ycman, 
and Joan Sheefe, late of London, widow, 
broke into the dwelling house of William 
Typsell, gentleman, and stole therefrom two 
fyne paires of sheets, worth forty shillings, 
and two woollen coates lined with lambs and 
conyes skins, worth five pcurds. — All the 
persons so indicted were at large. 

G.D.R., 15 Deer., 5 Elizth. 

13 Deer., 11th James I.— True bill that at Ches- 
wicke, co. Middx., in the night of the said 
day, Thomas Poole, late cf Cheswicke, yoman, 
broke burglariously into the house of Sir 
Horace Veere, Knight, and stole a silver dish 
worth £10, &c, &c — He put himself not 
guilty and was acquitted. 

16 July, 12th J&mes I. — Memorandum respect- 
ing the misdemeanours of John Noye, gent., of 
Chiswicke, gentleman, brought in by warrant 
for abusing Sir William Smith when he was 
brought in before him for committing a verye 
greate outrage yesterday, being Sondaye, in 
the afternoone, att Hammersmy the, and beating 
Richard Bushe verye scare upon the head and 



120 CH1SW1CK. 



other partes of his bodye. — Jur' in cur' doth 
affirme itt, and Sir William Smith askinge 
sureties of for the peace or else to be comitted 
the said Noye in a peremptory manner asked 
him, " Are you a Justice," holding his sword 
in his hand. With order for said John Noye 
to "put in sureties " for his good behaviour 
and his appearance at next Sessions o the 
Peace. 
21 October, 12th James I. — Ordered at Sessions 
of the Peace held on the same day at Hicke's 
H*ll : — " That a rate and taxacion for the 
levyinge and raisinge of the somme of 2,000 li. 
shold be ymposed and rated and taxed upon 
the whole countye of Middlesex (for the buying 
building and finishing of a House of Correction 
for the sayde Countye): — 

Chiswicke £16 

Acton £16 

Eelinge £25 

Hammersrrythe £20 

<fec. , &c. , <fec, &c. 
27 May, 13th James 1. —True Bill that at Ches 
wick, Co. Middlesex on said day, Friswell 
Hamond, wife of Richard Hamond, late of 
Chiswicke, yomau, stole " unam orbem argen- 
team," anglice, a trencher plate worth five 
shillings of the goods and chattels of the most 
noble Francis Lord Russell. Friswell Hamond 
was at large. 
25 November, 22rd James I. — P*ecognizance taken 
before Francis Williamson, Esq., j.p.,of Peter 
Hitchens, of St. Giles in the Fields, yoman, 
in the sum of ten pounds, for the appearance 
of the said Peter Hitchens at the next sessions 
for Middlesex to give evidence against Richard 
Barken for suspicion of taking 4 Mellag- 
stone trees [probably quince], 4 Apricook trees, 



MIDDLESEX SESSIONS ROLLS. 121 

4 plumm trees, 3 nectarine trees, and 2 May 
cherrie trees, forth of the garden of one Mr. 
Whitakers, of Cheswicke. 
3 October, 12th Charles 1. — Weekly assessment 
made at General Sessions of the Peace, held 
at Turnham Greene, Co. Middlesex, for 
necessary relief of such persons as are and 
shal be infected with plague in severall 
parishes of St. Giles in the Fields, St. Giles, 
Cripplegate, and St. Sepulcher's, Co. Middx., 
Clarkenwell, Islington, St. Katherine's, East 
Smithfield, Whitechappell, Stepney, Shor- 
ditch, and Isleworth, for that the inhabitants 
of the said parishes having been already 
assessed towards the relief of the poore people 
affected with plague within the said 
parishes are not no* thought able to relieve 
them9elve3 any longer : — 

Cheswicke 10 shillings weeklie 

Hammersmythe 20 ,, 

Wilsdon 30 

Acton 20 ,, 

Eling and Oldbraineford. 30 ,, 

Newbraineford 10 ,, 

&c, &c, &c, &c. 
1st March, 3 Charles 1.— True bill for not going to 
church, &c, for one whole month, beginning 
on the said day against(inter alios)— SirWilliam 
Foster, Knt.— Leighe, widow, Edward Leighe, 
yoman, William Saunders, and hia wife, all 
five of Cheswicke. G. D. R. 25 Apl. 4 Chas. I. 
True bills for recusancy are very numerous 
about this time, the names of William 
Saunders and Bridget, his wife, of Ches- 
wicke, appearing frequently. 
1 Deer., 8th Charles I. — Inquisition for the cause 
of death taken at Heston, Middx., on view of 
the bodye of John Redworth, there lying dead 



122 CE IS WICK. 



and slaine ; with verdict that on the 27th 
ult. the said John Iledworth and one John 
Webb, of Cheswicke, co. Middx., after drink- 
ing in friendly fashion at Cheswicke in a tavern 
called "The Signe of Bohemia," were on the 
point of leaving the same tav< rn, when John 
Webb, seeing John Redworth's pikestaff 
standing at the door, took up the same weapon 
in the middle thereof, and holding the point 
thereof towards John Redworth, then leaning 
against the wall, said jocosely, "John, thou 
hast here a very sufficient staffe," to which 
John Redworth replied in jest, " Tushe, John, 
why dost thou take a staffe into thy hands 
and knowest not how to use it ? I can take it 
from thee with my hatt." And forthwith 
putting his hatt suddenly before John Webb's 
face, so that he could not see, ran and leaped 
upon him, and in so doing ran and leaped on 
the piked end of the staffe, receiving there- 
from, by mischance, and not with John Webb's 
intention, in his left eye a mortal wound, of 
which he died at Heston on the 30th day of 
the same November. 
11 Septr., 16th Charles I. — Recognizances taken 
before Lawrence Whitaker, Esqre., J. P., of 
George Buckwell, of Kingstone, co. Surrey, 
and John Kinge, of Richmond, co. Surrey, 
carpenter, in the sum of £20 each, fcr the 
appearance of one John Buckwell at the next 
General Sessions of the Peace for Middlesex, 
to answer, &c, for that in an humour of dis- 
traction (whiche he maketh showe of) he hath 
misdemeaned himself in the house of the 
Queene, her Majestie's mother, at Cheswicke, 
both in uttering of divers distracted and offen- 
sive speeches, and in assaulting some of her 
Majestie's servants, and committing other 



MIDDLESEX SESSIONS ROLLS. 123 

outrages in the houses of some of the adjoin- 
ing neighbours. 
August, 19th Charles I. — Recognizances taken 
before Thomas Willys and Chaloner Chute, 
Justices of the Peace, of Thomas Parr, of 
Cheesewyk, co. Middx., cerviciarius [ = brewer] 
in the sum of £100 : For the appearance of the 
said Thomas Parr and his wife, Ellen, at the 
next General Sessions of the Peace for Middx., 
to prefer an indictment, &c, " against Edward 
Messenger, of Cheesewyke, afsd. Waterman, 
for certain words by him spoken in derogacion 
of his Majesty." 



^Ekc gomnsimjj of §t. Janl's. 

Amongst the records of the Dean and Chapter of 
St. Paul's Cathedral are preserved some very 
ancient inquisitions relative to the manors and 
churches belonging to St. Paul's. These are of the 
date of 1181, that is to eay in the 28th year of King 
Henry II. Amongst them are recorded particu- 
lars of the Manor of Suthtona, or Sutton as we now 
call it, and also of the Church of Sutton, which 
doubtless must be the predecessor of Chiswick, 
though we have no direct evidence when the latter 
name supplanted Sutton as the designation of the 
church and parish. As this inquisition refers to 
the liabilities of Sutton in the time of King Henry, 
that is Henry the First, 1100 to 1135, we have the 
history of the parish carried back upwards of half- 
a-century to a period not long subsequent to the 
Normau Conquest, and though neither Sutton nor 
Chiswick are specifically referred to in Doomsday 
Book there is no doubt that both places were in 
existence in the time of William the Conqueror, 
and most probably long before. 

As these records are of special interest from the 
fact that they carry us back upwards of seven 
hundred and fifty years, it seem* desirable to 
reprint them here, merely extending the abbrevia- 
tions which are found in the original. They 
originally appeared io vol. 69 of the publications 
of the Camden Society. 

Iniquisitio Maneeiorum Ecclesiae 

Sancti Pauli. 

Hec est inquisicio de Sutthona. 

Manerium de Suthtona defendebat se tempore 

Regis Henrici et Willelmi Decani pro iii. hydis et 

reddebat vicecomiti iii. solidos et adhuc ita est, et 

reddit modo Canonicis ii. rirmas plenas cum 



TEE DOOMSDAY OF ST. PAUL'S. 125 

quinquagenia solid is, et preterea xl. solidos. In 
dominio sunt circiter sexciesxx. acre et x. de terra 
arabili. In prato xvi. acre. In bcsco vestito 
circiter xxx. acre, et de piecaria habent Canonici v. 
solidos vel decimum piscem. Eet ibi paetura ad Ix. 
oves, et ad v. vaccas. Sunt ibi due caruce. 
Dominium quietum est ab omniservicio. Sexdecim 
virgate sunt assise, Aluricus tenet unam garam 
de dominio pro duobus soccis. Summa denariorum 
vij. lib. et iij. sol. et vii.d., de piscaria v.s. De 
essarto iiij.d. 

Status Ecclesiae de Suttona. 
Ecclesia de Suttona est in dominio canonicorum 
et reddit eis x sol. per manum firmarii, et solvit 
nomine sinodalium xiij.d. Firmarius colligit 
denarium beati Petri et sibi retinet. JETabet hec 
ecclesia in dominio suo xvi. acras et dimid' de terra 
arabili, in prato i acram liberas, et habet de dominio 
terciam par. tern decimarum, tam in majoribus quam 
in minoiibus. Similiter de dominio Scotlande 
thesaurarii terciam partem decimarum, et duabus 
villatis tota9 decimas preter fenum. 



Status ecclesia de Willesdona. 
Ecclesia de Wilksdona est in dominio canonico- 
rum, et reddit eis viij. marc' per manum Germani 
clerici, et solvit nomine sinodalium xiij.d. Et habet 
hec ecclesia omnes decimas tam de dominicis quam 
de aliis tenementis, et majores et minores exceptis 
de dominio magistri Nicholai et de dominio magis- 
tri David et viij. acrarum de a Gnolle de tenemeno 
de Chesewic, et aliarum viij. acrarum de la Cnollt de 
tenemento de Suttuna, et de tenemento xl. acrarum 
quas coluerunt moniales de Keleburne. 



In tempore Wulmanni decani reddiderunt 
predicta maneria firrram istam Canonicis Sancti 
Pauli. 



126 



CHISWICK. 



Suttona [reddit] duas septimanas et duos dies 
cum tertia parte diei. 

Memorandum quod tresdecem maneria Sincti 
Pauli solvunt quadragiuta et quinque firmaa 
Braciuo sancti Pauli. 

Et eadem tresdecim maneria et duo alia, 
videlicet quindecim maneria, solvunt quinquaginta 
et duas dizenas ad Cameram Sancti Pauli. 

Memorandum quod qualibet firaia de frumento 
continet per mensuram regis xvi. quarter', scilicet 
vijj. bussell', computative pro quarterio si bene 
mensuratur vel parum plus. 

Item : De avena tantum. 

Item : De ordeo iij. quarteria. 

Item : Cumqualibet tirma debit solvi ad boscum 
vi.s. et viii.d. 

Etad liberationem famulorum iij. 8. x.d. Et sic 
solvitur cum qualibet firma x.s. vi.d. 



/ 



Ad bracinum 
ij. firmas 



Suttona' 

\ 



Ad Cameram 



xxxij. 
quar- 
quar. 



De frumento 

quarteria. 
De avenis xxii 

teria. 
De ordeo vj. 

teria. 

De decariis x.s. vi.d. 
De ecclesia vj. li. 

xiij.s. iiij.d. 
De manerio pro anti- 
quo incremento 

xl.s. 
De eodem pro novis 

incrementia liij.s. 

iiij.d. 
Item de eodem ad 

iiii. diz3nas et 

ElemoBinar x.li. 

ii.s. iiii.d. 



THE DOOMSDAY OF ST. PAUL'S 127 

Redditus Firmarium et Compotus Bracini. 
Hffic sunt tredecim maneiia Sancti Pauli, qua 
reddunt xlv. firmas* integras in frumento, ordeo, 
et avena, ad panem et cervisiam statutis anni 
terminis. 

Suttona [reddit] duas firmaa contineDtes xxx. 
quarteria frumenti ad panem ; ad grudum vii. 
quarteria frumenti et ordei totidem ad idem ; et 
xxij. quarteria avenae, et ad liberaciones 
servientium, vij.e. viij.d. 

Translation. 

This is the Inquisition of Sutton : — 

The manor of Sutton used to account in the time 
of King Henry and William the Dean for three 
hides, and paid to the sheriff three shillings, and it 
still is so, and it pays now to the Canons [of St. 
Paul's] two full farmbt with fifty shillings and 
foity shillings besides. In the Lordship are about 
sixteen times twenty [i.e., 320] acres and 10 of 
arable land. In the meadow are 16 acres. In the 
grown wood about 30 acres, and from the fishery 
the Canona have 5 shillings or the tenth fish. 
There is pasture there for 60 sheep and 5 cows. 
There are two ploughs there. The lordship is quit 
from all service. Aluric holds one garat from the 
lord for two socca.tf The sum of the money ia 
£8 3s. 7d. From the fishery 5a. From the assart- 
land 4d. 

State of the Church of Sutton. 
The church of Sutton is in the demesne of the 
canons, and renders to them 10a. by the hand of 
the farmer, and pays n the name of sinodals 13d. 

*Firma, a measure containing 15 quarters. 
tA " farm " here signifies a measure of grain. 
XGara is a measure of laud. 

USocca is perhaps a form of sacca, i.e., a sack containing 
grain. 



128 C HIS WICK. 



The farmer collects Peter's penny and keeps it for 
himself. 

This church has in its demesne 16 acres and a-half 
of arable land ; in the meadow 1 acre free, and it 
has from the Lordship the third part of the tithes 
both great and small. In like manner it has from 
the demesne of Scotland the third part of the 
tithes, and from the two villages all the tithes 
except the hay. 

State of the Church of Willesdon. 
The church of Willesdon is in the demesne of the 
canons and renders to them 8 marks a year by the 
hand of German the Clerk, and pays in the name 
of sinodals 13 pence. 

And this church has all the tithes from the 
demesne as well as from the other holdings, both 
the great and small, excepting from the demesne of 
Mr. Nicholas, and from the demesne of Mr. David, 
and of the 8 acres of the Cnolle of the holding of 
Chesewic, and of other 8 acres of the Cnolie of the 
holding of Sutton, and from the holding of 40 
acres which the nuns of Kilburn cultivated. 

In the time of Wulman the Dean the aforesaid 
manors rendered the following farm to the Canons 
of Saint Paul. 

Sutton renders two weeks and two days [work] 
and the third part of a day. 

Memorandum that the thirteen manors of St 
Paul's pay 45 farms to the Brewhouse of St. Paul's 

And the thirteen manors and two others, viz., 
fifteen manors, pay 52 dizenas* to the Chamber of 
St. Paul's. 

Memorandum that each farm o wheat contains, 
according to the king's measure, 16 quarters, i.e., 

*Dizena is a quantity of money, but the amount is uncertain. 



THE DOOMSDAY OF ST. PAUL'S. 



129 



8 bushels is computed for the quarter, if it be fairly 
measured, or a little more. 

Item : Of oats only. 

Item : Of grain three quarters. 

Item : With each farm it ought to pay for fire- 
wood 6s. 8d. 

And for servants' wages, 3s. lOd. 

And so there is paid with each farm 10s. 6d. 

[Summary.] 



I 



To the Brew- 
house two 
farms. 



BUTTON. 



To the Chamber. 



Of wheat 32 quarters. 
Of oats 22 quarters. 
Of grain 6 quarters. 
In money 10s. lOd. 
From the church 

£6 13s. 4d. 
From the manor for 

the old increases 

40s. 
From the same for the 

new increases 

53s. 4d. 
Item : From the same 

to 3 dizena and 

alms £10 2s. 4d. 

Return of the Farmers and Account of the Brew- 
house. 

These are the twelve manors of St. Paul's which 
return 45 full farms in wheat, grain, and oats for 
bread and ale in the appointed terms of the year. 



Sutton renders two farms containing 30 quirters 
of wheat for bread ; for grist, 8 quarters of wheat 
and as many of barley for the same, and 22 quarters 
of oats, and for servants' wages, 7s. 8d. 



130 CHISWICK. 



THE MANOR OF SUTTON IN 1222. 

In 1222 an inquisition or inquiry was held 
concerning the manor of Sutton, its tenants, and 
the services which they respectively rendered to St. 
Paul's. This inquiry, it will be seen, was of a 
very minute and exhaustive character ; all the 
tenants were set down, but it must not be assumed 
that we have a record hereof all the inhabitants, as it 
is quite certain that the ordinary labouring popula- 
tion are not named any more than they would be in 
a terrier or survey of Chiswick at the present day. 
It will be seen that the rentals paid by the tenants 
were of three sorts. We have first the ordinary 
money rent, then there was payment in kind such 
as fowls, eggs, corn, and the like, and, lastly, work 
which the tenant was obliged to do for the lord, 
either himself or by labourers whom the terms of 
his holding bound him to provide. 

The lord, of course, was the Chapter of St. 
Paul's, but being a corporate body they let their 
estate of Sutton to a farmer or lessee, who at this 
time was a certain Mr. Philip de Haddam. 

Although this inquisition was known to Lysons, 
he gave but a few extracts from it, and it seems to 
have remained in manuscript until printed by the 
Camden Society in vol. 69 of their publications. 
Being there given in the very contracted Latin 
of the original, it is scarcely intelligible, acd in 
reproducing it in these pages it seems best to 
extend the Latin text and to supplement it by a 
translation. 

Ixquisitio facta in Maxerio de Suttuxe Magis- 
tro Ph. de Haddam existexte firmario 
Nomina Juratorum. 
Johannes de Sutton, prepositus. 
Johannes Alius Pagani 



SUTTON MANOR IN 1222 131 

Wa'ter Cheles 

Gilibertus filius Elwardi 
Adam filius Giliber 

Wlnodus filius Eiwini 

Gilibertus de Scalari 

Everardus filius Turbe f ti 

Gilibertus filius Nicholai 
Juratores dicunt quod manerium istud defendit 
se versus regem pro tribua hidis prseter solandam 
de Cheswich que per ne habet duas hidas et sunt 
geldabiles cum hidis de Sutton, et est liberum et 
quieturn ab omni secta comitatus hundredi et 
aliorum que spectant ad dominum Regem in capite 
vel auos ballivos. 

In dominico sunt decies viginti acre et x. de 
terra arabili ; et in prato xvj. acre et in boeco satis 
bene vestito circiter quadraginta acre. Et numerus 
acrarum de pastura ignoratur sed sufficit ad xij. 
boves et quatuor stottos et x vaccaa et ad sexcies 
viginti et x ovea. Potest wanniagium fieri cum xii. 
bobus et quatuor stottis cum consuetudinibus 
villate. 

Isti tenent de dominico. 

Robertu8 filiua Theobaldi tenet ii. acras pro . . . 
cum filia Giliberti filii Salvi qui fuit feodatus per 
Theodoricum Armarium ; respondet infra de censu 
cum aliis terris. 

Adam filiusGiliberti iii. acras liberatasGoldhauck 
avo suo per eundem. 

Liecia relicta Willelmi junioris ij. acraa liberatas 
per eundem Wlgaro Telt. 

Gilibertus filiua Alurioi unam garam pro ij. 
soccia ; et dimidiam acram pro ii. denariia. 

Johannes Faber j. mesuagium in bruera pro ij. 
denariis, per Radulphum de diceto decanum. 

Radulphus de Twiverda ij. acras pro viii. denariis 
pro omni servicio. 

Willelmus de Pulteshanger j. acram pro xij. 



132 CIIISWICK. 



denarii8 et. Sequitur precarias, et semel earclat et 
semel levat et spargit id pratum. 

Isti tenent de terra assisa. 

Gilibertua filius Nicholai tenet tree virgatas in 

quas Gilibertua avus auus habuit ingreasum per 

Theodoricum firmarius, et modo reddit pro illia 

xxx. solidoa et debet ij. acraa in hieme arare et duaa 

in xl et seminare de aemine domioi quod recipie t 

de curia domini et pcrtabit in campum, et herciabit 

ea8dem et inveniet ij. homines cum falcibus ad 

cibum domini et ij. homines ed levencum f«cum 

sine cibo, et duo homines uno die et alios duoa alio 

die ad eerclandum ad cibum domini semel in die, 

et inveniet duas carectaa vel unum plauatrum ad 

fenum ducecdum ad cibum domini, et inveniet trea 

homines ad quaslibet precarias, et UDa die flagellare 

cum ducbus hcminitus poitandem lend' ad unum 

paatum demini, et invenit duos eaccos ad utramque 

firmam, et ducet fimum de curia duobua diebua 

quolibet die cum duabus carectis ad cibum domini 

et quatuor carectas adducet de bosco ad curiam 

tine cibo, tt dat ij. galliraa et viginti ova. 

Rogerua filius Herrici j. virgatam cum insula* 
prati pro xij. eolidia et invenit iij. homines ad quas- 
libet precaiies, et quicquid avene metent colligent 
et ligabunt sine cibo. 

Willelmus filius Turatani j. virgatam pro vj. 
solidis et ij. d., et debet UDa die falcare ad cibum 
domini, et mittere ad precariaa cervisie crimes 
operarioa et tenentea suos ad cibum domini. 

Una virgata quondam Baldewini eat in dominico 
superius cemputata. De eadem tenet Adam filius 
Gilibeiti j. acram prati pro x. denariis et invenit 
ucam falcem et unam carectam ad fenum ad 
cibum domini. 

Johannes de Lamburna tenet xi. acras et dimi- 

*It may be that the word insula refers to C his wick eyot 
opposite the Church. 



SUTTON MANOR IN 122'*. 133 

diam acram prati pro v solidis & iiii. denariis 
per cartam capituli. 

Idem tenet dimidiam virgatam quam emit de 
heredibus prefati Baldewini & reddit xxx. denarios 
et x. deDarios de dono et invenit ad quamlibet siccam 
precariam unuin homiDem & ad precarias cervisie 
duos. 

Idem unam acram in sanfeld & dimidiam acram 
prate pro viii. denariis. 

Una virgata terre de qua contentio est inter 
Gervasium et Willelmum et Armarium suum 
de dominico tempore Theodorici firmarii numquam 
antea divisa ab aliodominicoquam idem Theodoricus 
dedit Agneti matri Gervasii de BreiDfort tenendam 
pro v. solidis ad vitam auam. Requisiti juratores 
si unquam audierint aliquem de predecessoribus 
Willelmi forestarii jus habuisse in predicta virgata 
vel ipsum Willelmum peteDtem terram quo aliquo 
jure usque nunc ultimo quum implacitavit Gervasium 
dicuDt quod non. Dicunt etiam quod Godefridus 
Alius Mabilie filiae Agnetis qui aliquando clamavit 
terram illam super Gervasium aliud jus non habuit; 
sed pax facta fuit inter eos tarn ab terra ista quam 
de ilia quam tenet de episcopo ; ita quod Gervasius 
teneret tota vita sua ; et ipse Godefridus Buccederet 
ei eo mortuo. 

De xv. acris quas quondam tenuit Edwin»s de 
Fonte xiij. sunt dominico. 

Rogerus del Gord tenet acram et dimidiam et 
parvarn pasturam pro ij. solidis per Alexandrum 
Armarium de eadem. 

Beatrix relicta Sagrim Pinke acram et j. rodam 
pro iij. solidis per eundem et invenit ad quamlibet 
precariam j. hominem et dat j. gallinam. 

Saledus unam acram et j. mesuagium pro xxviij. 
denariis et una falce ad pratum et invenit ad 
quamlibet precariam j hominem de eadem. 

Johannes de Lamburna acram et dimidiam prati 
de eadem pro xviij. denariis. 



134 C HIS WICK. 



LiecU filia Gileberti tenet xv. aoras pro iiij. soli lis 
et viij. denariis et v. denariis de maltselver et 
xv. denariis de dono ; et invenit unum hominem 
ad falcandim et unam ad fenum levandum et 
eariandum et unum hominem ad singulas precarias ; 
et cariare Malum et ducere fimum ; e5 dat unam 
gallinam et xv. ova. 

Godmanus nepos Lefwardi dimidiam virgatam 
pro xxx. denariis et v. denariia de maltselver ; et 
x. denariia de dono et debet arara ij. acras et 
ssminare et herciare ut alii ; unam falcem ad 
pratum et i. hominem ad levanduin fenum et 
portandum et unum hominem ad siccas precarias ; 
et ij. ad precarias cervisie et alias operaciones. 
Idem tres acras pro xij. denariis pro omni 
servicio. 

Wlnothus filius Edwini dimidiam virgatam 
pro xxx. denariis et iij. denariis de maltselver ; 
et x. denariis de dono et operatur cum ceteris. 

Johannes Faber dimidiam vigatam pro xxx. 
denariis quondam Alurici cui hod attinet per Alex° 
andrum tirmarium et iij. denarios de maltselver 
et viij. denarijs de dono et alias opericiones quas 
Godmannus. 

Gilibertus filius Algot dimidiam virgatam pro 
xxx. denariis et v. denariis de maltselver et x. 
denariis de dono et alias operaciones ut Godmann as. 

Edwardus filius Turbarni dimidiam virgatam 
pro xxx. denariis et v. denariis de maltselver et x, 
denariis de dono et ij. denariis de Wardpeni. 

Johannes filius Pagani dimidiam virgatam pro- 
xxx. denariis et v. denariis de maltstlver et x. 
denariis de dono et ij. denariis de Wardpeni et 
omnes operaciones praeter aruram et propter hoc 
tondet oves et agnos et metit pisa dominici. Idem 
Johannes habet dimidUm virgatam cum filia 
Ricardi fili i Wluridi peridem servicium. Adjecto- 



SUTTON MANOR IN 1222. 135 

quod arat ij. acras et eeminat et herciat set non 
toodet oves propter iBta. 

Wigod cum filia Ricardi dimidiam virgatam pro 
xxx. denariis et v. denanis de maltselver, et viij. 
denariis de dono et ij. denariis de Wardpeni et 
alias operaciones ut Godmannus. 

Gurjuilda relicta Roberti filii Selidi dimidiam 
virgatam pro xxx. denariis et v. denariis de malt- 
selver et x. denariis de dono et alias operaciorjes 
praeter aruram set tondet oves, et metit pisa. 
Eadem habet unam viam pro uno denario. 

Adam nepos Goldhauck viij. acras de quibua tres 
sunt de dominico supra pro xxxij. denariis et xij. 
denariis de dono ; de maltselver ij. denariis et 
obolo ; et iovenire unum hominem ad pratum et ad 
omties precarias et tondet oves et metit pisa et 
unam carectam bosci et alias operacionee. 

Gilibertus filius Edwardi viij. acras per idem 
servicium. 

Gunilda relicta Edgar v. acras pro xx. denariis 
et ij. denariis et obolo de maltselver et v. denariis 
de dono et unum hominem ad pratum et ad omnes 
precarias. 

Robertus filius Theobaldi cum filia Giliberti v. 
acras quarum due sunt de dominico supra pro 
xxix. denariis et i. denario de maltselver et ij. 
denariis et obolo de dono. 

Walteru? filius Johnannis Hog unum messuagium 
et ij. acras pro ij. solidis et vj. denariis pro oppra- 
tionibus vel operatur. 

Gilibertus filius Aldithe et Alanus cum filius 

Godman v. acras pro xx. denariis de dono viij. 

denariis de maltselver ij. denariis et obolo ; et 
operaciones ut terra Edgar i. 

John de Lamburna tenet vj. acras quondam 
Wluiici et quinque acras quondam Baldewini per 
cartani capituli nominatas supra. 



136 CHISWICK. 



Walterus Chelea ij. acras pro iij. solidis et veiiire 
ad precarias. 

Gilibertus Arnulfua et Leffilda iij. acraa et 
dimidiam pro xviij. denariis et uno den^rio de dono 
et iij. denariis qua de maltsslver. 

[loserted in the margin : 

Robertua filiua Godefridi v. acras pro xv. 
denariis et v. denariis de dono et ij. denariis o' 
[obolua ?] de maltselver et operaciones.] 

Brichtnothus filiua Godman v. acras pro xv. 
denariis et per aervicium Godefridi. Iati Gilibertua 
et Brichtnothua ad precarias aiccas quihbet scilicet 
invenit j. hominem et ad precarias cervisie quilibet 
duos homines et toodent ovea et metunt pisa et 
ducunt boscum et illi duo faciunt carrum ad fimum 
et ad fenum et ad bladum carriandum et quilibet 
dat quinque ova et quilibet unam gallinam. 

Henricu8 de Hathe et Gunilda relicta Sagrim 
dimidiam virgatam pro xxi. denariis et de dono v. 
denariia et de maltselver ij. denariia et obolo et 
operatur sicut pro tanto terre. 

Gilibertus et Ed tardus tenuerunt iiii. acras pro 
iij. solidis pro omni aervicio [modo Gervasius de 
Brainford oum virgata que est in conteotione et 
reddit cinonicis ij. solidos et recipit ultra illaa 
recuperavit dum m^rerptur Nicolaus Arch' 
firmariua.]* 

lata sunt operarii. 

[Alicia relicta ETenrici Piscatoria qui earn recepit 
relictam propter paupertatem].* 

Magister Pftilippus de Hadham tenet v. acraa et 
debit operacionem unam omni septimana per 
annum et invenire i. homiaem ad omnea precariaa 
et v. denariia de dono et ij. denariis et obolo de 
maltselver et aliaa operaciones secundum v. acraa. 

Lieveva filia God tvini v. acraa per idem aervicium. 

•In the manuscript this sentence within square 
brackets [ } is marked " vacat," i.e., cancelled. 



SUTTON MANOR IN 1222. 137 

Agnes relicta Godmanni v. acras per idem 
servicium. 

Edmundua filiua Vitalis v. acras per idem servi- 
cium. 

Gilibertus filius Rogeri v. acras per idem 
servicium. 

Robertus filius Theodbaldi v. acras per idem 
servicium. 

Wilelmus filius Turstani v. acras pro custodia 
bosci in qua non habet jus heredidarium nee pro eo 
aliquid ostendit aliquo tempore ; tempore autem 
decani Radulphi psrdidet Turstanas dictas quinque 
aoras neo eas tempore suo recuperavit ; set fores- 
teria dimissa fuit ei et habuit pro stipendiis per 
annum xxviij. denarios et dicte quinque acre assise 
fuerunt Johanni Fabro pro xxviij. denariis post- 
modum tempore Alardi Decani preposita questione. 
Willelmo filio Turstani utrum vellet eas hereditarie 
vel ex gratia rehabere, recepit illas ex gratia et 
petito waranto nullum exhibuit vel noluit exhibere. 
Item : Idem tenet unam acram de essarto pro ij 
denariis. 

Galfridus filius Ailwini viii. acras de essarto 
pro xvi. denariis. 

[ Translation. ] 

Inquisition made in the Manor of Sutton, Mr. 
Ph. de Haddam being the farmer. 

NAMES OF THE JURORS. 

John de Sutton, bailiff. 
John, son of Pagan. 
Walter Cheles. 
Gilbert the son of Edward. 
Ulnod the son of Edwin. 
Gilbert de Scalari. 
Everard the son of Turberl). 
Gilbert the son of Nicholas. 
The jurors say that that manor answers itself to 



138 CHISWIOK. 



the kiDg for three hides, excepting the estate of 
Cheswick, which by itself has two hides, and they 
are taxable with the hides of Sutton, and it (the 
Manor) is free and quit from all suit of county and 
hundred and of other which concern the lord, the 
King in chief, or his bailiffs. 

In demesne are ten score acres and 10 acres of 
arable land, and in the meadow 16 acres, and in 
wood, sufficiently well covered, about 40 acres. 
And the number of acres of pasture is not known, 
but it suffices for 12 oxen, and 4 horses, and 10 
cows, and six score sheep. Wainnage can be 
made for 12 oxen and 4 horses by the customs of 
the village. 

These hold of the demense. 

Robert, the son of Theobald, holds 2 acres 

with the daughter of Gilbert, the 

Eon of Salvi, who was unfeoffed by Theodoric the 
farmer : he answers below concerning his assess- 
ment with other lands. 

Adam the son of Gilbert holds 3 acres delivered 
to Goldhauk, his grandfather, by the same [Theo- 
doric]. 

Liecia, the widow of William the younger 
[holds] 2 acres delivered by the same [Theodoric] 
to Ulgar Telt. 

Gilbert the son of Aluric [holds] one gara for 
2 [sacks ?] and £ an acre for 2d. 

John the smith [holds] one messuage in . . . 
for 2d. by Ralph de Diceto his Dean. 

Ralph de Twiford [holds] 2 acres for 8d. for all 
service. 

William de Pulteehanger holds 1 acre for 10d., 
and he attends the boon days ; and once he hoes 
and once he carries and scatters on the field. 
These are the tenants of the Assize lands. 

Gilbert the son of Nicholas holds 3 acres to which 
Gilbert his grandfather had entry by Theodoric the 
f aimer and now he renders for them 30 shillings 



SUTTON MANOR IN im. 139 

and he ought to plough 2 acres in winter and 
two in Lent ; and he ought to sow with the 
lord's seed which he shall receive from the lord's 
court house and he shall carry to the field and shall 
harrow the same ; and he shall provide two men 
with sickles at the lord's expense for food and two 
men for picking up the hay without their 
food ; and two men on one day and two 
men on another day for hoeing at the lord's 
expense once a day ; and he shall find 
two carts or one wagon for carrying hay at 
the lord's coat for food, and he shall find three men 
at every boon day and on one day to thresh with 
two men for carrying to London for one meal at 
the lord's expense and he shall find two sacks for 
each farm and he shall lead the manure from the 
court house on two days, on each day with two carts 
at the lord's expense for food, and four carts he 
shall lead from the woodto the court hou3e without 
any food allowance, and he gives two hens and 20 
eggs. 

Roger the son of Henry [holds] one virgate with 
the island* of meadow for 12 shillings and he shall 
find 3 meu at all the boon days and whatever barley 
they mow they shall gather and bind without auy 
food allowance. 

William the son of Thurstan [holds] one virgate 
for 63. 2d., and he ought on one day to reap at his 
lord's expense for food and to send to the boon 
days of ale all his workmen and tenants at the 
lord's expense for food. 

One virgate, late Baldwin's is in the demesne 
accounted for above. Of the same virgate Adam 
the son of Gilbert [holds] one acre of meadow for 
lOd. and he provides one sickle and one hay cart 
at the lord's expense for food. 

John de Lamburn holds 11 acres and a half of 
meadow for 5a. 3d. by charter of the Chapter. 
* See note, page 132. 



140 CH1SWICK 



The same John holds half a virgate which he 
bought from the heirs of the aforesaid Baldwin, 
and he renders 30 pence and lOd. as a gift and 
provides for each dry boon day* one man and for 
the ale boon days two men. 

Thesame John holds ore acre in Senfield and 
half an acre of meadow for 8d. 

One virgate of land, concerning which is a dis- 
pute between Gervase and William and his farmer 
concerning the demesne in the time of Theodoric 
the farmer, never before divided from the other 
lordship which the same Theodoric gave to Agnes, 
the mother of Gervase of Bienlftrd, to be held 
for 5s. for her life. The jurors questioned if ever 
they had heard that anyone of the predecessors of 
William the Forester had light in the aforesaid 
virgate or that William himself was claimant of 
the land in any right until now at last [when ?] he 
has brought action against Gervase, say that they 
have never heard it. They say also that Godfrey, 
the son of Mabel, the daughter of Agnes, who once 
claimed that land, had not any right thereto ; but 
peace was made between them both as to the land 
which he holds from her as well as from the land 
which he holds from the Bishop ; so that the said 
Gervase should hold it for his life and that Godfrey 
should succeed to it on bis death. 

Of the 15 acres which formerly Edwin de Wells 
held, 13 are in the demesne. 

Roger de Gord hold an acre and a half and a 
Email pasture by grant of Alexander, farmer of the 
same. 

Beatrice, the widow of Sagrim Pinke, holds an 
acre and a rood for 3s., granted by the same 

*A dry boon day waa a day when the lord was not bound 
to find ale for the men who worked for him. As we see 
Immediately, other boon days were known as the ale boon 
days. 



SUTTON MANOR IN 1222. 141 

Alexander, and she provides for each boon day one 
iran and gives one fowl. 

Saled holds cne acre and a mesuage for 28d. and 
one scythe for [movting] the meadow, and he pro- 
vides at each boon day one man for the same. 

John de Lamburn hold one acre and a half of 
meadow of the same for 18d. 

Liecia daughter of Gilbert holds 15 acres for 
48. 8d. and 5d. for maltsilver and 15d. as a gift. 
And she provides one man for mowing and ,cne man 
for picking up the bey and one man for carrying it 
at every boon day and she ought to carry the corn 
and to take manure, and she gives a hen and 15 
eggs- 

Goodman the gr8ndscn of Lefward holds half an 
acre for 30d. and 5d. for maltsilver, and lOd. as a 
gift ; acd he ought to plough two acres and to sow 
and hairow like the rest; cne scythe for the 
meadow and one man for pickicg up the hay and 
carrying it and one man fcr the dry boon days aid 
two at theale boon daysand other works. The same 
Goodman holds 3 acres for 12d. for all service due. 

Woolnoth the son of Edwin holds half a virgate 
for 30d. and 3d. of maltsilver and 12d. gift and 
he works with the rest. 

John Smith holds half a virgate for 30d. for- 
merly of Aluric to whom it does not belong, 
granted by Alexander the farmer and he pays 3d. 
maltsilver and 8d. as a gift; and he does other 
works like Goodman. 

Gilbert the son of Algot holds half a virgate for 
30d. and 5d. maltsilver and lOd. as a gift and 
other works as Goodman. 

Edward the son of Turbern holds half a virgate 
for 30d. and 5d. maltsilver and lOd. for a gift and 
2d. for Wardpenny. 



142 CHISWICK. 



John the son of Pain holds half a virgate for 30d. 
and 5d. for maltsilver and lOd. for a gift and 2d. 
for Wardpenny and he does all the other works 
except ploughing and on account of this he shears 
the sheep and lambs and measures the lord's 
weighings. The same John has half a virgate 
together with the daughter of Richard the son of 
Woolred by the same service, added to which he 
ploughs 2 acres and sows and harrows, but he does 
not shear the sheep on account of these services. 

Wigod with the daughter of Richard holds half 
a virgate for 30d. and od. for maltsilver and 8d. as 
a gift and 2d. for Wardpenny and does other works 
like Godman. 

Gunnilda the widow of Robert son of Selidus 
holds half a virgate for 30d. and od. for maltsilver 
and lOd. as a gift and other works except ploughing 
but he shears the sheep and measures the 
weights. She has one way for a penny. 

Adam the grandson of Goldhawk has 8 acres (3 
of which are of the demesne above mentioned) for 
32d. and 12d. as a gift ; for maltsilver 2|d. ; and he 
is bound to find one man for the meadow and at 
all the boon days, and he shears the sheep, and 
measures the weights, and to find a wood cart and 
to perform the other works. 

Gilbert the son of Edward holds 8 acres by the 
same service. 

Gunnilda the widow of Edgar holds 5 acres for 
20d. and 2^d. for maltsilver and 53. for a gift and 
one man for the meadow and all the boon days. 

Robert sou of Theobald with the daughter of 
Gilbert holds 5 acres (2 of which are of the demesne 
above mentioned) for 29d. and Id. for maltsilver 
and 2|d. as a gift. 

Walter the son of John Hog holds one messuage 



SUTTON MANOR IN 1222. 143 

and 2 acres for 2s. 6d. instead of works or else he 
does the works. 

Gilbert the son of Alditha and Allen with his 
son Godman holds 5 acres for 20d., for the gift 
8d. , for maltsilver 2|d M and he is liable for works 
like the land of Edgar. 

John de Lambourn holds 6 acres formerly belong- 
ing to Ulric and 5 acres formerly Baldwin's by 
charter of the chapter [which acres are] named 
above. 

Walter Cheles holds 2 acres and he is bound to 
come to the reap days. 

Gilbert Arnulf and Leffillda hold 3| acres for 
18d. and a Id. for a gift and 3d. as for maltsilver. 
[Inserted in the margin of the MSS. is the follow- 
ing : — 

Robert the son of Godfrey holds 5 acres for 25d. 
and 5d. for a gift and 2^d. for maltsilver and he 
does works.] 

Brightnoth son of Godman holds 5 acres for 15d. 
and by the same service as Godfrey. These men 
Gilbert and Brightnoth find for each dry reap day 
one man and to the reap days with ale they 
send two men and they shear the sheep and 
measure the weighings and they carry the wood 
and these two find a cart to carry the manure and 
the hay and the corn and each gives five eggs and 
one hen. 

Henry de Hathe and Gunnilda the relict of 
Sagrim holds half a virgate for 21d., and for a gift 
of 5d., and for maltsilver 2^d., and they do works 
as for that quantity of land. 

Gilbert and Edward held 4 acres for 3s. for all 
service [then inserted in the manuscript is the fol- 
lowing]— "Now Gervase, of Brentford, [holds the 
same] with the virgate which is in dispute, and he 
receives further what he recovered when Nicholas 
ttha Archd-eaoon was farmer of the manor." 



1-14 CBISW1CE. 



These are liable for ivorks. 

Alice, the widow of Henry the Fisher, who took 
her as a widow through poverty." 

Master Philip de Hadham holds 5 acres, and 
owes one day's work every week in the year, and 
he is bound to find one man at all the boon days, 
and he renders 5d. as a gift, and 2^d. as malt- 
silver, and other work according to his 5 acres. 

Lieveva, the daughter of Godwin, holds 5 acres 
by the same service. 

Alice, the widow of Godman, holds 5 acres by the 
same service. 

Edmund, the son of Veal, holds 5 acres by the 
same service. 

Gilbert, the son of Roger, holds 5 acres by the 
same service. 

Robert, the son of Theobald, holds 5 acres by 
the same service. 

William, the son of Thurston, holds 5 acres as 
keeper of the wood in which appointment he has 
no hereditary right nor has he put forward any 
such claim at any time, but in the time of Dean 
Ralph he lost the said 5 acres, nor did he recover 
them in his time, but the post of woodward was 
granted to him and he had for wages yearly 2Sd., 
and the said 5 acres were let to John the Smitb for 
28i. Afterwards in the time of Dean Alard when 
tie question was put to William, Thurston's son 
whether he desired to hold them as an inheritance 
or at will and when authority was asked for he 
showed none or else was unwilling to show it. Item : 
The same William holds one acre of the assart 
land at the rent of 2d. 

Geoffrey, the son of Ailwin, holds 8 acres of the 
assart land at the rent of 16d. 



%lhc $adiamcntarhtns at (Ehtstotck. 



How Chiswick suffered under the great rebellion 
is illustrated by the following extract from a letter 
dated 16 August, 1642, and written by Nehemiah 
Warton, officer in the Parliamentary army : — 

" On Monday, August 8th, we marched to 
Acton, but being the sixth Company, we were be- 
lated, and many of our soldiers were constrained 
to lodge in beds whose feathers were above a yard 
long. Tuesday, early in the morning, several of 
our soldiers inhabiting the out parts of the towne 
sallied out into the house of one Penruddocke, a 
Papist, and being basely affronted by him and his 
dogge, entered his house and pillaged him to the 
purpose. 

" This day the souldiers got into the church, de- 
faced the auntient and sacred glased pictures, and 
burned the holy railes. Wensday. Mr. Love gave 
us a famous sermon this day; also the souldiers 
brought the holy railes from Chissick and burned 
them in our towne. At Chissick they also intended 
to pillage the Lord of Portland's house and also 
Mr. Duck's,* but by our commanders they were 
prevented " 

Note. — Penruddocke's residence was not at 
Acton, though very near. It was the manor 
house of Ealing. Lysons says at the time of the 
Parliamentary Survey, in 1650, it was in the 
possession of John Penruddocke. It is described 
in the survey as "ruinated and lying open since 
the first plundering thereof in the beginning of the 
la9t troubles." Lysons, in his account of Chiswick, 
makes no mention of any residence here of the 
Earl of Portland. Arthur Duck, LL. D., was at 
this time sub-lessee of the prebendal manor of 
Chiswick.* He sat in the Parliament of 1640, and 
was a well-known adherent to the royal cause. 
1 liia was the Colleg-, House. See pages 23 and 51 



Jcct of Jjmcs for IConbott anb 
itttbMesex. 



A calendar of the records known as the Feet of 
Fines, as far as relates to London and Middlesex, 
has recently been eompiled and published by Mr. 
W. J. Hardy, F.S.A. Two volumes so far have 
appeared, extending from the reign of Elizabeth, 
from which we extract the following entries : — 

Edward i., anno 30. Richard de la Wodetune of 

Acton and John de Wodetune of Acton. 

Premises in Acton and Chesewyk. 
Edward ii., anno 17. John de Bray and James de 

Sancto Albino and Alice his wift. Premises in 

Cheswyk. 
Edward Hi., anno 4. John de Bray and Joan his 

wife and John Syward and Christiana his 

wife. Premises at Cheswyk. 
Edward iii., anno 11. John de Bray and Joan his 

wife and Ralph de Berdene and Agnes his 

wife. Premises in Cheswyk. 
Edward iii., anno 26. Thomas Blundel, clerk, and 

Robert atte Grove and Juliana his wife. 

Premises in Cheswyk, Stronde and Sutton. 
Edward iii., anno 26. Robert atte Grove, Juliana 

his wife and Thomas Blundel, clerk. Premises 

at Cheswyk, Stronde and Sutton. Remainders 

to the Lovel family. 
Edward iii., anno 38. John Creuker and Matilda 

his wife and John Sty ward, mason, and Juliana 

his wife. Premises in Chesewyk. 
Edward iii., anno 40. Walter de Aldbury, clerk, 

and John Creuker and Matilda his wife. 

Premises in Sutton Chesewyk. 



FEET OF FINES. 147 



Edward Hi., anno 41. Walter de Aldbury, clerk, 
and William Knot, of Fulham, and Joan his 
wife. Premises at Sutton Chesewyk. 

Edward iii., anno 51. John Huberd and Joan his 
wife and John Gyle and Margery his wife. 
Premises in Chesewyk. 

Henry iv., anno 2. John Hardyng, of Fulham, 
and Alice his wife, and Henry Bamme, citizen 
of London, and Alice his wife. Premises at 
Fulham and Chesewyk. 

Henry vi., anno 7. Matilda,* widow of Sir Roger 
Salueyn, knight, and John Rasyn and Margaret 
his wife. A messuage dovecot and garden in 
Chesewyk. 

Edward iv., anno 9 . Thomas Covton f clerk, and 
Robert Newbald clerk and Thomas Langton 
clerk and Baldwin Bray and Isabella his wife. 
The manor of Sutton juxta Chesewyk and 
premises in Sutton and Chesewyk. 

Henry vii», Trinity, anno 5. Joan Luyt widow 
and Thomas Grafton and Agnes his wife. The 
manor of Osterley and premises in Istelworth, 
West Braynford, Chesewyk, Heston, and Nor- 
wode. 

Henry viii., Easter, anno 28. William Barker, 
Ambrose Barker, and John Barker, and 
Edward Fox. Premises % and free fishery in 
the Thames at Chesewyk. 

Elisabeth, Easter, anno 8. Dionisius Bellard and 
William Graves. Premises in Hammersmythe 
and Chesewyk. 

* A monument to this lady, who died in 1432, was once in 
Chiswick Church, and the inscription is recorded by Wt ever 
in his Funeral Monuments, and is copied by Eowack. 3ee 
page 9. 

t See page 22. The premises are, of course, Sutton 
Court. 

{ Grove House, 



148 CH1SWICK. 



Elizabeth, Easter, anno 10. Christopher Rythe 
gentleman and Thomas Shirley esquire and 
Anne his wife. The third part of premises in 
Acton, Wileden, Chesewyk, and Elinge. 
Warranty- against the heirs of Sir Thomas 
Frowicke,§ knt., deceased. 

§ Sir Thomas Frowick, Alderman of LondoD. -He died in 
1455. This probably refers to the manor of Guonersbury. 
The manor house stood where Gunnersbnry House now is. 




- c 

o 

— © 



— 
c 



eg 
- 



3 

c 



x 



Qthisbmk Pare Jlames, 



The ancient parish of Chiswick consisted of a 
tongue of alluvial land formed by a loop of the river 
Thames, having for its northern limit the old 
Roman road leading from London to Bath, and 
westerly a lane connecting that road with the 
river. In recent years an insulated portion of 
Ealing, lying immediately north of the Bath road, 
has been detached from its own parish and annexed 
to Chiswick. This is part of the Chiswick portion 
of Bedford Park. Dealing with this newest part 
of the parish it may ba observed that Bedford Park 
derives its name indirectly from the family of 
Russell, earls of Bedford, who were ancestors of 
the present ducal family bearing that title, and 
who resided in the parish in the seventeenth 
century. Park this place never was in any 
but the villa builder's sense. The roads in the 
Chiswick portion are — the Bath^road appro- 
priately so called because it forms part of the 
Roman road which actually leads to Bath. Roynan 
road, which must be named on the lux a non 
lucendo principle^ for it never was a Roman-road 
until it was laid out by the villa builders, 
Flanders-road, Woodstock-road, along which runs 
the parish boundary, Addison-road, and Gains- 
borough-road are so named by way of compliment 
to the days of Queen Anne, the artistic virtues of 
which period are presumed by a pleasing literary 
fiction to be resuscitated in this little suburb in 
which inhabit artists, authors, actors, aesthetes, 
and other kindred spirits. Rupert-road recalls 
the memory of the Cavalier Prince, who, 
it said, resided at the old mansion hard 



150 CUJSW1CK. 

by, which now goes by his name. What con- 
nection Fairfax had with Bedford Park is not easy 
to see, but no doubt it was necessary to provide in 
Fairfax-road a Republican antidote to the Royalist 
Rupert-road. Priory road&nd. Priory -gardens ax e 
not easy to explain, seeing that there is no priory 
in the neighbourhood. Probably the suburban 
builder selected the name as beiDg "pretty," 
regardless of the inconvenience that there are at 
least two or three other Priory-roads in the neigh- 
bourhood. For some short time Priory-rcad was 
designated Hogarth-road, but within a year or two 
of its completion it was altered to its present 
name, to prevent confusion with Hogarth-lane 
in old Chiswick. Stamford Brook-road, which con- 
nects Bath-road and Goldhawk-road, derives its 
name from a neighbouring brook, which after 
becomiDg a mere open sewer has within the last few 
years disappeared. When this road, which within 
the last twenty years was a veritable quagmire in wet 
weather, was " made up," it was curved slightly to 
the north and bo no longer occupies the ancient 
eite. 

The origin of the name of the pariah is far 
from certain. Much nonsense has been wiitten 
aid talked about its derivation from a cheese fair 
held in the parish. There is not the slightest 
proof that the parish ever possessed a fair of any 
sort or description, much less one devoted to the 
sale of cheese. Were it not that errors of this 
nature are so difficult to eradicate it would not be 
worth while to refer to this derivation. Going 
back to the earliest forms of the word we find it 
spelt in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries as 
Cheawick, or Chesewick, but that practically leaves 
us as much as ever in the dark as to the significance 
of the name. It has been suggested that it may be 
an abbreviation of Cheail, a word descriptive of 



CBISW1CK PLACE NAMES. 151 

the character of the river beach upon which the 
litt'e wick or hamlet was situated. It is a mere 
guees, ani, moreover, there is no marked natural 
feature of the riverside at this spot which would 
suggest a name to the early settlers here. Our 
Cliftons and our Radcliffis seem to us as appropri- 
ately named as doubtless they would to the men who 
first found a dwelling in those places. Nothing 
distinctive is associated with Chiswick, and there- 
fore we shall do well to hesitate about any 
derivation of Chiswick referring to the features of 
the locality. There are several other places with 
the prefix Chesil, such as Chisleborough, Somerset, 
Chieledon, Wilts, ChesiMen, Surrey, Chesselborne 
Dorset, so that we might reasonably expect that 
our parish would have retained trace of the double 
syllable of the prefix, if not to the present time, at 
any rate in early records, but nothing of the 
3ort appears, and we are forced to conclude that a 
more probable explanation would associate it with 
the personal name of the first or some principal 
early settler of the hamlet. Here again we may 
with advantage compare it with similar place names 
in other parts of England. In Bucks we have 
CVies-ham, in Surrey Chessing-ton, CAes-wardine in 
Salop, Ches-wiok in Yorkshire, Chis-grove in Wilts, 
C/us-lel in Kent, and Chis-worth in Eerbyshire. 
We have also iTes-grave and Kessing-]a.nd in 
Suffolk, Kes-ton in Kent, besides three iTes-wicks, 
one in Cumberland, another in Yorkshire, and a 
third in Norfolk. We therefore conclude that our 
Chiswick belongs to this group of place names, and 
that in all probability the prefix Chis is an early 
Teutonic personal name now doubtless represented 
amongst our modern patronymics by the somewhat 
uncommon surname of Cheese. Chiswick, it is 
pretty certain, was anciently a place of very 
little note, a wick or outlying hamlet of the 



152 CHISWICK. 



much more important manor and village of Sutton, 
though for some centuries it has superseded the 
latter in giving a name to the whole par'sh. 
Chis, Ches, or Cheese, as we should now call him, 
was likely enough one of the farmers or tenants of 
Sc. Paul's who cultivated the solanda or farm 
appertaining to Sutton manor at the little wick or 
hamlet by the riverside, though of course it does 
not follow that he was the first settler there. That 
Chisis a personal name seems in some way confirmed 
by the occurrence of Chessmg-ton and Kessing-l&nd, 
the town and land of the Chessingas or Kessingas, 
the descendants of Chess or Kess, for we need hardly 
remind the reader that Ch and K are interchange- 
able as in the well-known example of church, 
which in the North takes the hardened form of 
kirk. Of course, in tracing back the prefix Chis 
in this way to a personal source we have not solved 
the meaning of the syllable, but we may note that 
Ferguson suggests that the surname Cheese may 
take its origin from the Anglo-Saxon personal name 
of Cissa and the Frisian Tsjisse. What this name 
means we cannot even guess ; all we may 
safely assert is that neither Cissa, Chis, Ches, Kes, 
nor Chiswick have anything whatever to do with 
the food cheese. 

The meaning of the name of the principal manor 
in the parish, that of Sutton, anciently Suthtun, is 
pretty obvious ; it is the ton or town south of some 
other older settlement ; it may have been Acton, or 
perhaps Willesden, with which the early St. Paul's 
Doomsday shows Sutton had some sort of con 
nec.ion in the twelfth century. It is very remark 
able how this name has been superseded. Although 
it was certainly the principal and most populous 
manor, it has yielded to the once insignificant ham- 
let of Chiswick the distinction of naming the 
parish, and now practically survives only in Sutton 
Court and Little Sutton. The intruded name of 



CHISWICK PLACE NAMES. 153 

Gunnersbury seems only too likely to supersede it 
as the distinctive appellation of this part of tht 
parish. 

After Chiswick and Sutton the names of the 
hamlets of Strand-on- the-Green and Turnham Green 
claim oar notice. The first is of obvious meaning 
and of course is analogous to the better known 
Strand in London. The addition of " on-the-Green " 
clearly points to a time long gone by and of which 
we at present have no means of fixing the date, 
when the great common, of which Turnham Green 
is the sole relic left us, extended down to the 
water's edge. Back-lane, Strand-on-tne-Green, is of 
obvious significance and the names of Waldeck- 
road and Pyrmont-road indicate that they were laid 
out about the time of the late Duke of Albany's 
marriage. 

Of Turnham Green the origin is as obscure, per- 
haps even more so, than is the name of the parish. 
To begin with, it is not mentioned in early records, 
and indeed it does not appear to have been ever 
any more than a hamlet or district, perhaps a sort 
of no man's land between Acton and Chiswick. 
No one has ever ventured to define where it be- 
gins or ends, and it is singular that the two words 
are always used together. We speak of the Back 
Common and the Front Common and of Turnham 
Green, but never of Turnham alone, although it is 
a little curious that the surname of Turnham is 
to be found in and about London ; indeed, we be- 
lieve that people of that name are now resident 
no further off than Acton. It has been suggested 
that Turnham may be a corruption of turn or 
tourn, the tarnum of mediaeval Latin, the 
court of the hundred or sheriff. Open air 
manorial or hundred courts were of course 
common enough, and it is quite possible that 
such a court may have been held on Turnham Green 



154 cms WICK. 



and thus have given its name to the district. 
Another explanation may associate it with one of 
the tenants of the manor in 1222. Three of these 
held their tenements by the duty, amongst other 
services, of paying wardpenny, a tax which it is 
said has reference to the duty of guarding the high- 
way. These were— Edward, the son of Turbern, 
John, the son of Pagan or Pain, and one Wigod, 
with the daughter of Richard, who each held half a 
virgate of land. They all paid the same amount 
for wardpenDy, namely, 2d. It is not too much to 
suggest that the holdings of these three, or rather 
four, people were aloag the High-road, and 
that the name of Edwardus filius Turberni, or 
as he was likely enough called by his 
contemporaries, Edward Turbern, may have given 
his name to the district which it was his duty 
in common with his fellow tenants to defend against 
the lawless characters, who almost to our own day 
infested the great Western road. Turbern and 
Turnham are not so different in form as to render 
the suggestion an improbable one.* 

For the name Goldhawk Road, known at one 
time as Goldeis-road, we have a pretty clear ex- 
planation. The present Goldhawk-road starts from 
Shepherd's Bush and follows the track of the 
Roman highway as far as the Queen of England 
public house, when it curves suddenly to the south 
and joins the Chiswick highway at what is now 
called Youog's-corner.f The latter portion was 

* The Rev. R. C. Jenkins, in his History of Turnham 
Green, suggests another derivation— that it was so called 
from Thomas Thornham, Prebendary of Consumpta per 
Mare. in whose name a certain stipend was charged upon the 
Dean's manor of Sutton at the time of their annexation to 
the deanery. 

t Though not actually in Chiswick, it may he here noticed 
that Yeung's-corner, so well known to tramway travellers, 
has acquired that name from a grocer who lived in the corner 
house. He had formed a good collection of prints, and when 
he retired from business he took to exhibiting them in what 
had be«n his shop windows for the benefit of passers-by. He 



CHISW1CK PLACE NAMES. 155 



till a few years ago called the New-road, having 
been designed to provide a more convenient outlet 
from Goldhawk-road than the circuitous route 
round by Stamford Brook -lane. Thua the present 
Goldhawk-road is really composed of three dif- 
ferently named sections, viz., Goldhawk-road from 
Shepherd's Bush to the Queen of England, the New- 
road from the Queen of England to its junction 
with Stamford Brook-lane, and the southern portion 
of the latter which forms part of the western border 
of the parish. Now we have in the inquisition of 
1222 distinct evidence of an individual named 
Goldhawk who was living in the twelfth century. 
Adam, the son of Gilbert, held three acres which 
had been leased to his grandfather Goldhauck. 
Elsewhere he was described as Adam the grandson 
of Goldhawk, and as holding five more acres at 
certain rents and agricultural services. The stress 
laid upon Goldhawk in the record indicates that 
he was of some local note, and it seems likely that 
from thisChiswick farmer of seven hundred years 
ago we get the familiar name of Goldhawk-road. 

Gunnersbury, which we have already referred to 
as a name unjustifiably intruded into the parish, 
is really the designation of a manor in the neigh- 
bouring parish of Ealing. Its introduction into 
Chiawick shows the casual way in which our local 
nomenclature arises. The railway station now 
called by that name was formerly styled Brentford- 
road, a name which the local residents did not 
consider grand enough, and the railway company 
was induced to alter it, with the result we 
have seen. Guunersbury has been said to derive 
its appellation from some Saxon dame of the name 
of Gunnilda, for whom a noble if not a royal origin 

has been gathered to his fathers, and his house and shop 
have yielded to a more pretentious building, but YouDg's- 
corner is likely to long perpetuate the memory of the good- 
natured artistic grocer. 



156 C BIS WICK. 



has been claimed. For this we are not aware that 
there is a tittle of evidence. Likely enough it is 
taken from some lady called Gunnilda, which once 
was not an uncommon female name, as indeed is 
shown by our own inquisition of 1222, in which we 
find mentioned no less than three widows of this 
Christian name, viz.: — Gunnilda, the widow of 
Robert ; Gunnilda, the widow of Edgar ; and 
Gunnilda, the widow of Sagrim. The inhabitants 
of '* Gunnersbury " have here ample choice which 
of the three widows they will select as the source 
of the name, and whether they decide that they 
owe "Gunnersbury" to one of these three or to 
some other lady of the same name is a matter 
which may be left to them to settle as they best 
fancy. 

Grove Park takes its name from Grove House 
and Chiswick-grove, of which, alas, only a few 
trees still remain to indicate what once must have 
been a very tine avenue. The park is, however, 
no more a reality than is that of Bedford Park. The 
name of the Grove is of some considerable antiquity, 
as a mansion house has existed here for several 
centuries. The names here given to the roads 
formed when the bulk of the estate was laid out 
for building do not call for special notice, being all 
derived, with the exception of Grove Park-road, 
Grove Park-terrace, and Grove Park-gardens, from 
the ducal family of Devonshire. They are — Devon- 
shire-gardens, Hartington-road, Cavendish-road, 
Spencer-road, and Bolton-road. 

Turnham Green-terrace is obvious, though it 
seems likely to have a struggle to keep its desig- 
nation on account of the popular tendency there 
exists to style it Station-road, or even simply the 
Terraoe. Thornton-avenue, part of which was for 
a time called Eunice-road, is so named in compli- 
ment to Dr. Thornton, the prebendary of Chis wick. 



CHISWICK PLACE NAMES 157 

Prebend- gardens ,of course, has r* ference to its being 
on the prebendal estate. Taking the roads 
further west, on the north side of the High-road 
we find Elliott-road, evidently referring to Lord 
Heathfield s family name. Windmill-place and the 
Windmill tavern remind us of the windmill which 
150 years ago stood hereabouts, as shown on 
Ogilvy's map of the High road, page 116 ante. 

Linden- gar dens, on the south side of the High-road , 
preserve the memory of Linden House, while Heath- 
field-gardens occupy the site of Lord Heathfield's 
mansion and grounds, not far from which once 
stood Arlington House, which has given its name 
to Arlington Park-gardens, North and South. 
Lord Heathfield is also commemorated by Heath- 
field-terrace as well as by Elliott-road. 

Belmont-road is so named from Belmont 
House in the High-road, the site of which 
is now occupied by shops. Till a few years 
ago it was generally known as Crown and 
Anchor-road, from an adjoining tavern, but the 
Local Board bestowed upon it its present name at 
the request of some of the inhabitants. 

Annandale-road serves to remind us of old 
Annandale House, which w«« pulled down not 
many years ago, and Sutherland-road is doubtless 
a compliment to the Duchess of Sutherland, who 
lived at Chiswick House in 1863. Church-street 
hardly requires anv explanation, and Chiswick- 
square, Chiswick Mall, and Chiswick-lane are 
equally clear. Bolton gardens marks the site of 
Bolton House, where once dwelt Sir JohnChardin, 
the great traveller, whose name is now commemor- 
ated by Char din-road. Homefieldgardens, just 
laid out, takes its name from the Homefield, and 
British-grove on the eastern confine of the parish, 
evidently derives its name from the British 
School there. 



158 CHISW1CK. 



Hogarth-lane commemorates the famous painter 
who for part of his life resided in the house here 
now called after his name. The house, which had 
fallen into neglect, ha* been renovated, and is 
now the property of Mr. Alfred DawsoD, son of 
another artist, HeDry Dawson, the landscape 
painter. 

Mawson-row and Mawson-lane remind ns of 
Mawson, the brewer,who in the last century carried 
on the brewery now belonging to Messrs. Fuller, 
Smith, and Turner. His son became successively 
Bishop of Llandaff, Chichester, and Ely. 

Chiswick New Town, in which are a number of 
small streets, was laid out more than half a century 
ago, and already belies its name, being now one of 
the older parts of the district. 

In this part of Chiswick we have Devonshire-road, 
formerly Devonshire-lane, besides Devonshire-place, 
which name recurs in the parish. These with Bur- 
lington-lane, Duke's- a venue, Duke -road, and 
Paxton-road serve again to remind us of the 
Cavendish family. Of the names of the new roads 
on the land recently laid out west of Devonshire- 
road, it is needless to speak in detail. The 
Glebe Estate derives its name from the fact that it 
is built on the ancient glebe lands belonging to the 
vicarage. Dale-street therein perpetuates the 
memory of our present vicar. 

Binns-road is a compliment to Mr. Binns Smith, 
Mr. Justice Chitty's chief clerk, who was a trustee 
of the property, and Fraser-street recalls another 
gentleman likewise interested in it. 

Barrowgate-road appears to be an ancient appel- 
lation. It was formerly Barrowgate-lane, and is 
said to derive from certain barrows or funeral 
mounds the traces of which have long ago dis- 
appeared. The further end opens into a narrow 
passage called Dead Donkey-lane, a name not 



CBISWICK PLACE NAMES. 159 

likely to long survive the advent of the villa 
builders. On the south side of it a field is marked 
in old maps as Dead Donkey Field ; perhaps that 
reputedly rare object, a dead donkey,may have once 
been found there. 

Wellesky-road, one of the oldest ways in the 
parish, was once known as Turnham Green-lane. 
There are north and south of it a number of roads, 
most of which bb*r probably merely fanciful names. 



SLhc (Ehurchtoarbens 9 Accounts. 



The parish books of Chiswiek date back as early 
as 1621, and are in fair preservation and usually 
well written. The first volume is of paper, foolB- 
cap size, in parchment covers. On the first page 
is a memorandum of the appointment of church- 
wardens and sidesmen for 1621, and a note about 
a charity left by Ghidiock Wardour, and con- 
tinued by his son, Edward Wardour. On the 
second leaf commences the accounts <>f the Church- 
wardens for the year ending April, 1622, and this 
we have transcribed in full and now print. 



Churchwardens Books, fo. 2 

The accompts of William Adshade and Thomas 
Earlye, Churchwardens of Chiswicbe for this yeare 
last past, Ending in Aprill, 1622, from Aprill the 
eight, 1621, with all lleceiptes, Expenses. 
Imp'mis the Remayne of the last 

account ... ... ... ...xiiij^. ija. iiijc/t. 

Item Cleared at W T hitsuntyde ... vli. 

Item of the Church Roule ... iii]7i. vijs. vjd. 

Item for 1° buriall in the 

Church ... ... xiijs. iiijd. 

Item of Arrearages of olde ... xiiijs. 

Item of Church Rentes ... ... ]li. xiiijs. vnd. 

Total som' of all Receipt°s...xxvj/i. xijs. i\]d. 
Expenses Layd out by the Churchwardens 
1621. 
Imp'mis for articles charges at 

visitacio' .. ... ... ... xiiijs. viijrf. 

For our bothier that day ... ... iiij.s. iiijd. 

For quit Rent for the Church land ... js. ob. 

To London for mending the Church 

house wall ... ... ... ... vjeJ. 



THE CHURCHWARDENS' ACCOUNTS. 161 

For Joyntes for seate doores in the 
Church... ... ... ... ... iiijs. viijrf. 

Spent one the prossicion day ... ... iiijs. nijd. 

Fornayelles for the church rayle ... js. 

For boordes and timber about the 

Ch -h raylea and for a new beere viijs. 

For mending and setting up the 

Church rayl ijs. 

For making the beare ... ... ... vjd. 

For bringing up by water the timber 

and the boordes that mended the 

churchyard railes and made the 

beare js. i\]d. 

To the Ringers on the fifte of 

November iijs. v]d. 

For wier for the cloke... ... ... ixri. 

For oyle for the cloke and bells ... js. iijcf. 

To the Clarke for his wages at our 

Ladie Day ... .. ... ... xxs. 

For a raile for the church yard ... v)<l. 

For washing the church Linen and for 

scouring the church puter this year ijs. v]d. 

For lx. and vij. pound of lead for the 

Steaple and for nayles ... ... viijs \]d. 

For a Cashe for a bell ... ... ... v'yl. 

To the Ringers, March xxvth ... js. v]d. 

To old Barrett for casting up the 

earth aboute the Churchyard pales j« 

For a new wheele fjr the third bell... x' j*. i )>L 
For bread and wine the 19th of 

Aprill ... ... ... ... ... js vja. 

For a sheet to burje a creeple in the 

fife of Aprill ... ... ... ... j*. \jd. 

To those that brought the ceeple to 

be buried ... ... ... ... js 

For trussing of 3 bells . ... ... ijs «jcf, 

For mending old bills stares ... ... i \d. 

For bromos for the church ... ... x\K 



162 C HIS WICK. 



For the buriall of a creeple ... ... js. 

For the burial of Thomas Morris ... js. 

To the Clarke for the buriall of a 

Creeple ... ... ... ... js. 

For writing the Transcript* out of 

uhe Church booke ... ... ... js. yl. 

For writting and ingrosdng this 

accounte as formerly hath byn 

alloweth ... ... ... ... vj.s. v\\\d. 

To John Perrye for mending the 

churchyard gate ... ... ... js. 

Som' totall of all ex- 
penses ... ... xiiij/i. xvijs. v\\\d. 

Soe the R,emayne is v]li. xiiijs. vijrf. 
To Fisher the Carpenter for Stuffe for 

seats in the church ... ._ ... xviijs. 

To him more for his worke aboutt the 

church and church house ... ... xs. vyi 

For bread and wine ... ... ... iijrf. 

For a locke and a Keye for the church 

house doore ... ... ... ... xc/. 

For mending the howre glasse in the 

church... ... ... iijrf. 

For one bell Rope ... ... ... iiijs. \]d. 

To the Smyth for iorn worke about 

the b ... ... ... ... ij.s. jo?. 

To the Clarke for his wages at m't- 

somer ... ... .. ... ... xxs. 

For bread and wine ... ... ... js. vjd. 

More to the Smyth for worke about 

the bells ... ... .. ... iijs viijr/. 

For fell a tree ia the churchyard ... x-jd 

* The ll Transcript " is doubtless the transcript of the 
parish register, which the incumbents were compelled by 
law to yearly transmit to the Bishop's Registry. When the 
Record Commission made inquiries on the subject it was 
found that none for the diocese of London were supplied. 
The want was explained by the officials that it never was 
customary to transmit these transcripts in this diocese 
The Chiswick books seem to contradict this assertion. 



F- 


vjcZ. 


x.s. 




]*• 


vjtf. 


IjS. 




xxs. 

xs. 


xe£. 


>j« 


X(/. 


i.s. 


\]d. 


iiijs. 


vd. 


xs. 




ij*. 





THE CHURCHWARDENS' ACCoVNTS. 163 

For bread and wine 

For 3 bell ropes more ... 

For bread and wiDe 

For a line for the Clocke 

To the Clarke for his wages at Michal- 

mas 
Payd to the maimed souldiers 
For bread and wine 
More for bread and wine 
To the Smyth for worke about the 

bells ... 
For a thousand of brickes 
For 2 loads of sande ... 
For bread and wine one Easter Day 

and for Low Sunday viijs. xd. 

To London for Lime and his worke 

aboute paviDg the bellferey and the 

church porch ... ... ... ... vs. vjd. 

To Widdow Browne for a quarter to 

mend the churchyard stile ... ... iiijc/. 

For a small bell rope ... ... ... js. ixd. 

For mending a bell whelle and for a 

ca8he for a bell ... ... ... ]s. iujd. 

For timber to mende the frames of 

the bells ... ... iijs. viijd. 

For worke aboute the frames of the 

bells ... ... ... ... ... i j-s xd. 

For Clarke's vr ages at Christmas ... xxs. 
For wiitting trie church roule and for 

parchment ... ... ... ... iiijs. v]d 

This accompt hath byn perused and cast up i.< 
our presence this fifte of May, 1622. 

Ed. War dour. Thos. Barker. 

Will. Walker. R. Gamtll. 

Arerages for such as have not payde 
Church duties for sundrie years as by the 
booke apereth, 1619, 1620, 1621. 
Sr Lewis Lewkoner Knyght 3 yeres... xv.s. 



164 CHISWICE. 



Sr Thomas Panton Knight 1° yere ... vs. 

Mr Richard Gamell gent 1° yere ... iiijs. 

Mr. Thomas Jones, gent, 3 yeres ... xijs. 

Mr. John Knight gent 1° yere ... iijs. 

Mr. Bullard for half a yere ... ... xviijtf. 

Mr. Whithers, 2 yeres ... vjs. 

Mr. Clarke, 1 yere ... iiijs. 

Mr. John Leicester, 1 yere ... ... vjd. 

Mr. Francis Gorden, 1 yere ... ... xvjrf. 

Anthony e Greene, 3 yeres ... ... xviijd. 

Widow Lewis, 1 yere ... ... ... iu]d. 

Edward Messenger 1° yere ... ... vjc?. 

William Ancell, the elder, 1° yere ... iii j <rZ. 
Widdow Browne at the Field gate, 

2 yeres ... ... \\\]d. 

Widdow Holland, 2 yeres viijcZ. 

Thomas Rounde, 1° yere ... ... vjd. 

John Warren, 2 yeres ... ... ... ijs. viijrf. 

William Edlyne, 1° yere ... ... xjd. 

William Bnrde, 1° yere ... ... vjd. 

William Foote, 2 yeres ... ... viijr/. 

Marmeduke Parker, 2 yeres ... ... viijV/. 

Robert Walter, 1° yere ... viij<i. 

Richard Griffine, 1° yere ... ... iiijd!. 

Lewis Price, of Crosse Lanes... ... iiijrf. 

George Tye, 1° yere iiijrf. 

Edward Fisher, 1° yere ... ... iiijc^. 

John Feme, 3 yeres ... ... ... xjd. 

John Simpson, 1 yere ... ... .. i i i j c Z . 

Christopher Colleson, 1° yere vjd. 

Widdow Colleson, 2 yeres ... ... viijd. 

Robert Fello we, 1 yere ... ... vjd. 

Robert Powell, 2 yeres viijr/. 

Richard Smeeth Thelder, 1° yere .. xvjcZ. 

Thomas VVrightson, 2 yeres ... ... viijc?. 

Widdo Bennett, 2 yeres , viijcZ. 

John Arnolde, 1 yere viijcZ. 

Henrye Adshade, 1° yere vjd. 



THE CHURCHWARDENS' ACCCUNTS. 165 

Robert Frethe, l°yere v]d. 

Edward Barrett, 1 yere ... ... iiijeZ. 

Widdow Jaye, 1 yere ... ... ... iiijc?. 

Francis Adams, 1 yere ... ... iiijd. 

Arnole Adams, 1 yere ... ... ... vjef. 

Thomas Urlyne, 1 yere ... ... vjd. 

William Barrett, 1 yere ... ... iiijd. 

Thomas Belgrove, 1 yere ... ... ii\]d. 

Thomas Wells, 2 yeres ... ... iiljd. 

John Hooker, 1 yere ... ... ... iujd. 

John Harris, 1 yere ... ... .. vjd. 

Thomas Cockee, 1 yere ... . . iiijc?. 

Widdow Smyth, 2 yeres ... ... viijd. 

Widdow Barrett, 2 yeres ... ... viijd. 

Widdow Kinge, 1 yere ... ... nijd. 

Widdow Longe, 1 yere ... ... iiljd. 

William Steven, 1 yere iiijfZ. 

LAND IN ARREAGES. 

Amye Hare, for her house 2 yeres ... vjs. viijfZ. 

William Barrett, for his house 1 yere iij-9. iujd. 
Widdow Simpson, for her half-acre of 

land 1 yere ... ... ... ... iijs. 

Som' of all arrepges ... ...iiijV?. x°. xc£. 

[To be continued.] 







VjHALFEfl* 






WILLIAM BOM*. 





JOSEPH RASQttoTNB. 





JOHN HOBBS. 




GYLES PIERCE, 



\Lrabcrs' tokens of QThistoick anb 
^Tuntham dreen. 



To the numismatist any explanation of Traders' 
Tokens would be unnecessary, but for the benefit 
of those who do not understand the raison d'etre of 
these privately issued coins we may state shortly 
that at different periods of English history the 
want of coins representing a small value was much 
felt, and to supply this want from time to time 
those engaged in trade issued to their customers as 
change, some sort of token, which tokens were, 
however, only current with their issuers, and of 
little use, therefore, as a circulating medium. These 
tokens were made of lead, pewter, tin, latten, and 
even of leather. We can, perhaps, better under- 
stand the urgent need of small coin when we 
remember that in earlier times pence were broken 
in halves and quarters to make halfpence and 
farthings. 

In the reign of James I. a licence to coin a some- 
what dishonest Royal farthing token, weighing 
only six grains, was granted to Lord Harrington 
upon condition of the King receiving half the profit 
every quarter of a year. It may be of interest to 
note that one of these tokens, known as " Harring- 
ton tokens," was found under the buildings recently 
pulled down at the corner of Acron-lane, opposite 
the Old Pack Horse. 

In the seventeenth century the unauthorised 
private coinage had increased to so great an extent 
that it is estimated that nearly 20,000 varieties 
were issued, nearly every town and village in the 
kingdom being represented. In 1672 they were 
suppressed by proclamation. Of all these tokena 
those of the seventeenth century are the most 
interesting, as being impressed with the names, 
trades, trade signs, and towns of their issuers, and 
of these records of a byegone age Chiswiek is known 



168 CHISWICK. 



to have issued seven, and Turnham Green three, 
We subjoin a complete list taken from Boynes 
Tokens, the great authority on the subject, and of 
some of them we are enabled to give representa- 
tions. 

CHISWICK. 

O. WILLIAM . BOND— HIS HALFE PENY. 
R. IN . CHISWICK . 1666— W.S.B. 

O. GEORGE . BROWN . IN. — HIS HALF PENY. 
R. CHISWICK . 1668 — G.V.B. 

(A variety reads on reverse — 

CHISWICK . GROCER— G.V.B.) 

O. IOHN . COKE, IN. — THE BUTCHER'S ARMS. 
R. CHISWICK . BVCHER, 1670 — HALF PENY, I.C. 

0. IOSEPH . GASQVOYNE— I.S.G.* 
R. OF . CHISWICK, 1658— I. S.G. 

0. IOHN . HOBBS, 1658. 
R. OF . CHISSWICK — I.H. 

0. GYLES . PIERCE— G. P. 
R. OF . CHISWICK — G.P. 

O. WILLIAM . SMEETH—W. E.g. 
R. OF . CHISWICK — W.E.S. 

TURNHAM GREEN. 
O. IOHN . HOLLAND . AT . YE . PACK — a pack 

horse. 

R. HORS . IN . TVRNAM . GREENE— HIS HALF 
PENY, 1669. 

o. Francis . smith— F.m.s. and a pair of shears* 

R. ON . TURNHAM . GREEN— HIS HALF PENY. 

o. iames . yorke . of— i cock on a bull. 

R. TVRNAM . GREENE — 1669, HIS HALF PENY. 

* Faulkner figures this token, bnt erroneously calls the 
name Casoldyne. 



^hc JtoiabtlttteB of (Ehiatoijck. 



Chiswick has in the past numbered among its 
inhabitants many whose names have become of 
note in the history of the country. Bowaok truly 
says " that it has for many years past boasted of 
more illustrious and noble persons than any of its 
neighbours." The student of English history will 
find many references to the once "pretty village " 
of Chiswick. We subjoin short biographical 
notices of a few of those who have helped to make 
the place famous. 

The Barker Family , whose name is perpetuated in 
Barker's rails, and by monuments in the 
church, resided at Grove House for several 
generations, where their arms still appear on 
the pediment of the portico. The last Barker 
who lived there died in 1745. 
Thomas Bentley, partner to Josiah Wedgewood in 
the manufacture of the celebrated Stafford- 
shire ware, lived at Turnham Green. Some 
writers have stated at Linden House, but this, 
as we shall show later, must be an error. He 
died in 1780. 
Dr. Richard Busby, a schoolmaster famous for his 
severity, was, in 1640, appointed head master 
of Westminster School, which appointment he 
held for fifty-five years, during which time he 
frequently resided at the College House, and 
it is known that during the time of the Great 
Plague he carried on the school there. At the 
Restoration he was made prebendary of West- 
minster. He died in 1695, aged 89. 
William Bordall was vicar from 1416 to 1435. He 
built the tower of the church which is now his 
only monument. 
Richard Boyle, third Earl of Burlington, born in 
1695, was very popular for his generosity and 



170 CHISWICK. 



munificence. He was captain of the Bind of 
Gentlemen Pensioners, but in 1731 he with- 
drew from Court, and employed his time in 
beautifying his gardens at Chiswick, and in 
erecting various buildings. His enthusiasm 
for architecture was so great that he became 
known as "The Architect Earl." He died in 
1753, when the title became extinct. 

Marc Antonio la Bastide secretary to the French 
Ambassador during Oliver Cromwell's Protec- 
torate, lived near Sutton Court. In the Court 
Rolls, 1698, there is mention of a surrender to 
him of "a messuage on the way leading to 
Sutton Court." The stone which covered his 
grave in the chancel of the old church now 
forms part of the pavement outside the east 
window of the church. He died March, 1704. 

The Misses Berry, Agnes and Mary, well known 
literary ladies, lived next door to the College 
House, on part of the prebendal estate. 
They were the daughters of Mr. Robert Berry, 
a Yorkshire gentleman of fortune, and are per- 
haps best known as the literary executors of 
Horace Walpole. They were born respec- 
tively in 1763-1764, and both lived until 
1852. The latter part of their lives was passed 
in the neighbourhood of Richmond, and they 
are buried at Petersham. 

De Bray. — This name occurs as owning premises 
in Chiswick as early as Edward II. In 1349 
a John de Bray enlarged the churchyaid, and 
in 1470 Baldwin de Bray appears as holding 
the Manor of Sutton. 

Milts Corbet the regicide is generally said to have 
been buried here, but this appears very doubt- 
ful, as in 1662 he was executed at Tyburn 
for his share in the king's death, and his 
limbs placed over the city gates, and his head 



THE NOTABILITIES OF CBISWICK. 171 

upon London Bridge. In the parish register 
there is an entry in the year 1680 of the 
marriage of one Miles Corbett, of London, who 
was probably the Miles Corbett who was buried 
in the Churchyard, in March, 1827-8, at the 
age of 83. These two facts may have led to 
the error. 

Sir Thomas Chaloner, to whose memory was 
erected the fine monument on the south wall 
of the church, was born in 1564, and died in 
1615. He was the discoverer of the first alum 
mines in England. A fuller account of him 
will be found on page 33. 

Robert Garr, Earl of Somerset, and his beautiful 
bat wicked countess, are also numbered among 
those who have resided at Chiswick, though in 
this case their residence seems to have been 
practically a banishment, for after leaving the 
Tower, upon being pardoned, they retired here 
in 1624, promising " not to go near the Court." 
With the assistance of the " White Witch," 
Mrs. Ann Turner, they had planned and 
and executed the murder of Sir Thomas Over- 
bury in the Tower, by poison. The Earl and 
Countess, although the principal actors in the 
crime, escaped punishment (after having been 
tried and found guilty) by the clemency of the 
King (James I.), though his reason for 
pardoning them has never been ascertained ; 
probably it was to avoid implication in some 
of the dark stories connected with the 
Countess. Lady Somerset ended her days 
here in 1632 in misery and disgrace ; the Earl 
survived her until 1645. It is rumoured that 
both are buried at Chiswick, but there is 
neither record nor monument. 

Cary, the Rev. H. F , M.A., the friend of Charles 
Lamb and translator of Dante, for some 



172 CHISWICK. 



time held a curacy at Chiswick. He owned 
Hogarth House from 1814 to 1833. He was 
buried in Poet's Corner, Westminster Abbey, 
in 1844. It will be well here to correct a 
mistake which is to be fouod in " Old and 
New London," page 555, Vol. VI., wherein it is 
stated that Cary is buried in Chiswick Church- 
yard. The writer mistook for his tomb that 
of " Thomas Cary, gentleman, who departed 
this life July 7, 1694, in the 47th year of his 
age." 

George Canning, the distinguished statesman, was 
born in 1770, and died at Chiswick House (in 
the s.»me room in which Fox had died) in 
August, 1827. 

Chaloner Chute, who had been Speaker of the House 
of Commons in the earlier part of the reign of 
Charles I. , was a kind of lay rector of Chiswick, 
and occupied the parsonage during the Pro- 
tectorate. He died in 1659. 

Barbara Villiers, Duchess of Cleveland, the wife of 
Roger Palmer, afterwards E*rl Castlemaine, 
the celebrated and beautiful mis res-* ot Charles 
II., is stated to have lived during the latter 
part of her life at Walpole House, and to have 
died there in 1709. She is said to have been 
buried in the churchyard, though there is no 
monument to mark the spot. The name of her 
son, the Duke of Cleveland, appears in Chis- 
wick as late as 1723. 

Sir John Chardin, an eminent Oriental traveller, 
was born in Paris in 1643. He published an 
account of his travels in India, Persia, &c, in 
1686. He lived at Bolton House, Turnham 
Green, and died there in 1712. He was buried 
at Chiswick without any memorial. He has a 
monument in Westminster Abbey. 

William, Lord Crofts, was in possession of Chis- 
wick House in 1669. 



THE NOTABILITIES OF CBISWICK. 173 

John Dryden, the poet, was a scholar at the College 
House, under Dr. Busby. 

Dr. Arthur Duck, Chancellor of the Diocese of 
London, lived at the College House. He died 
in 1649, aged sixty-eight. 

Sir John Denham, the English poet, author of 
"Cooper's Hill," which he published in 1643. 
Bowack says he " formerly dwelt here." He 
died in 1688. 

Henry Dawson, a celebrated landscape painter, 
born 1811, came to the Cedars, Burlington- 
lane, in 1862, and lived there until his death 
in 1868. 

Ugo Foscolo, the Italian writer and patriot, born 
about 1776, came to England in 1815, died in 
1827, was buried in Chiswick Churchyard, and, 
bfter lying there for forty-four years, his body 
was disinterred and taken to Florence. A 
handsome altar-tomb marks the spot where he 
was laid. 

Sir Stephen Fox, perhaps one of the best known 
names in the history of Chiswick, was boi n 
1627. He settled here in 1685, at a house near 
Burlington House (which was destroyed in 
1812), and became Lord of the Manor in 1691. 
He died at Chiswick in 1716, and was buried 
at Farley, in Wilts. Further notice of him 
*ill be found on page 39. 

Charles James Fox, the great statesman, grandson 
of Sir Stephen Fox, died at Chiswick House in 
1806. 

James Fittler, R.A., marine engraver to George 
III , was buried at Chiswick in 1835. 

Sir Thomas Fairfax, one of the leaders of the 

Parliamentarian Party, is said to have lived in 

Fairfax House, Burlington-lane. 

Mary Countess of Fauconberg was the third 

daughter of Olivrr Cromwell She was 



174 CH1SWICK. 



married at Hampton Court in 1657, and lived 
at Sutton Court until her death in 1713. 
Falph Griffiths, LL.U., was the founder and 
editor of the " Monthly Review," which he 
successfully conducted for fifty-four years, 
assisted during the latter part of the time by 
his son. He resided at Linden House ; died 
in 1803, and was buried in the churchyard. 
Dr. Gabriel Goodman was made prebendary of 
Chiswick, in 1561, in the reign of Queen Eliza- 
beth, and in the same year he was appointed 
Dean of Westminster. In 1570 he caused 
the College House at Chiswick to be built, and 
from time to time lived there. 
William Hogarth, the celebrated painter, was born 
in 1697. He bought the house now known by 
his name about 1749, and during the remainder 
of his life spent most of the summer months 
there. He died in 1764, and was buried in the 
churchyard. His monament, with its inscrip- 
tion by Garrick, is known to everyone. 
Jane Hogarth, his wife, daughter of Sir James 
Thornhill, died in 1789, aged eighty years, and 
was buried in the same tomb, as was also her 
mother, Dame Judith Thornhill. 
Charles Holland, actor, 5 born 1733, whose father 
was a baker in the town, lies near the church 
tower, .and a tablet with an inscription by 
Garrick was erected in the church. He died 
in 1769 
I j avid Hume, the historian, acted as guardian to 
Lord Annandale, and is stated to have lived at 
Turnham Green for some time. 
Lord Heathfield, who as General Elliott defended 
Gibraltar ff r three years against the Spaniards, 
was born in 1718. In 1789 he purchased a 
house near Turnham Green, in which he lived 
until his death in 1790. 



THE NOTABILITIES OF CHISW1CK. 175 

William Kent, the inventor of modern landscape 
gardening, and a painter of small repute, lived 
with Lord Burlington. He was born in 1685, 
and wa9 first; a coach painter, but by the 
patronage of Queen Anne he obtained the 
places of master carpenter, architect, principal 
painter, and keeper of pictures to the crown. 
He laid out the gardens of Chiswick, then 
Burlington House, and died there in 1748. He 
was buried at Chiswick, in the family vault of 
the Burlingtons. 

Killigreiv.—Pepys writes May 19th, 1669 :— " Here 
the news was first talked of Harry Killigrew'a 
being wounded in nine places last night by 
footmen, in the highway, going from the Park 
in a hackney coach towards Hammersmith, to 
his house at Turnham Greene." 

James de Loutherbourgh, B,A. t was born at 
Strasbourg in Alsace in 1740. On coming to 
England he was engaged by Garrick as his 
principal painter. To De Loutherbourgh the 
first improvement in theatrical scenery can 
doubtless be traced ; he was also a landscape 
painter of considerable ability. It is to be 
regretted that towards the end of his life he 
was the victim of religious delusions, which 
led him to believe that he could perform 
miraculous cures. He was a believer in 
Mesmer and Cagliostro, and a disciple of the 
Prophet Brothers. He lived at Hammersmith- 
terrace, died in 1812, and is buried at Chiswick. 

Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, the notorious Jacobite 
intriguer, is said to have resided here at some 
time of his life, though where the authority 
for such a statement is to be found we are 
unable to say. He was botn iu 1667, and 
executed on Tower Hill in 1747, for his share 
in the rebellion of 1745. 

Sir Lewis Leivkner, Master of the Ceremonies to 
James I., resided in Chiswick in 1621. 



176 CPISWICK. 



Lord Macartney, born 1737, and became in 1792 
Ambassador Extraordinary to China. He died 
at Corney House in 1806, and is buried in the 
churchyard. 

Joseph, or Josias Miller, commonly called Joe 
Miller, the comedian, who is well-known 
in connection with a jest book bearing 
his name, and compiled by Mottley, was born 
in 1684, and is stated by Lysons to have lived 
at Strand-on-the-Green, and by some other 
writers to have been buried at Chiswick, but 
the last statement must be an error. He died 
in 1738, and was buried at St. Clement Dane's 
Burial Ground, Portugal-street, where a tomb- 
stone bearing an inscription to his memory by 
Stephen Duck, the thresher poet, was in 
existence at the time of the demolition of 
the burial ground, and was removed to the 
basement of King's College Hospital, where it 
may possibly still remain. 

The Rev. Thomas Morell, D.D., secretary of the 
Society of Antiquaries, an eminent Greek 
scholar, and editor of the well-known Ains- 
worth's Latin Dictionary. He was a friend of 
Hogarth, and lived at Turnham Green. He 
died and was buried at Chiswick in 1784, at 
the age of eighty. See page 47, ante. 
William Markham, D.D., Archbishop of York, 
was born in 1719, educated at Westminster 
and Christ Church, Oxford, where he gained 
the reputation of being one of the first scholars 
of his timp, and in 1753 was appointed head 
master of Westminster, during which time he 
rented the prebendary's lodging of the Dean 
and Chapter. The first classical scenes used in 
the represent uion of the Westminster Play 
were presented by him. He was, for a time, 
preceptor to the Prince of Wales, and wa& 



THE NOTABILITIES OF CHISWICK. 177 

made Archbishop of York in 1777. He is 
buried in Westminster Abbey. 

Edward Moore was born in 1712, and was brought 
up to the business of a linendraper. In 1744 
he published " Fables for the Female Sex." 
He became editor of the " World," a periodical 
of some note, the last number of which was 
published on the day of his death, February 
17th, 1757. 

Arthur Murphy, a dramatic and miscellaneous 
writer, was born 1727, and resided at one time 
in Chiswick, according to Faulkner. He died 
in 1805, and is buried at Hammersmith. 

Dr. Matthias Mawson, the son of the founder of 
Mawson's Brewery, wa3 a native of Chiswick. 
He held successively the bishoprics of Llandaff, 
Chichester, and Ely. He died at his house in 
Kensington-square in 1770, aged eighty-seven 
years. 

James Fitzroy, Duke of Monmou f h, natural son 
of Charles II., in 1664 received the grant of a 
house at Chiswick (which was the predecessor 
of the pre3eut Chiswick House), which he held 
until 1668. 

Leonard Maiv, Bishop of Bath and Wells, who 
had been chaplain to Prince Charles, died and 
was buried at Chiswick in 1629. 

Henry Neele, an ingenious poet and novel writer, 
was buried in the churchyard 1828. He died 
by his own hand in a fit of insanity. 

The Count and Gountess oj Nassau lived at High 
House, from 1703. After residing here for 
three years, the Count decamped to Holland, 
leaving the Countess to pay his debts, which is 
apparently the most notable fact of their 
residence here. 

Alexander Pope, the poet, born 1688, and died at 
Twickenham in 1744 at the age of fifty-six. 



178 CBTSW1CK. 



His connection with Chiswick began in 1716, 
when his father removed here from Binfield ; 
he left Chiswick about the year 1719. The 
house inhabited by him was in Mawson- 
buildings, now called Mawson-row. His 
father is said to be buried at Chiswick. 

Philip, Earl of Pembroke, a courtier in the reign of 
Charles I., was also a possessor of Chiswick 
House, and 

Lord Pawlet, a Royalist, was the next possessor. 

Mrs. Mary Quaife, a gentlewoman of the Countess 
of Burlington, bequeathed four hundred pounds 
to the poor of Chiswick. 

Dr. William Hose, LL.D., an eminent scholar, 
translator of " Sallust," and friend of Dr. 
Johnson, kept an "academy at Chiswick for 
nearly thirty years, and lived," says Faulkner, 
" in the house in Chiswick-lane adjoining the 
chapel," which probably refers to the house 
now called " Bradmore College," the chapel 
mentioned being the old Independent Chape), 
now destroyed, which stood in Chiswick-lane 
at the corner of the road which passes between 
the back of the Mall and the Homefieldp. Dr. 
Rose died in 1786, and is buried in the church- 
yard. 

James Ralph, by birth an American, and a friend 
of Benjamin Franklin, in whose company he 
came to England in 1725. He rented the 
prebendal portion of the College House, died 
in 1762, and lies in the churchyard. 

Sir Thomas Robinson, afterwards Lord Grantham, 
ambassador and Secretary of State, lived at 
Grove House, and was buried in the chancel, 
1770. 

The Right Hon. Thomas Robinson, Lord Grantham, 
son of the above, was also buried there. 



THE NOTABILITIES OF CHISWICK. 179 



The Russell Family, E*rls of Bedford, resided in 
the pariah, at Corney House, for several 
generations. One member, Francis, fourth 
Earl, built the wall round the churchyard, as 
is commemorated by the well-known inscrip- 
tion, with regard to which we may call 
attention to the mistake into which Lysona 
fell through incorrectly copying the title (see 
page 35, and Note 83). He says there was 
no Duke of Bedford before 1694, which is true, 
but the stone says Earle ; so there was no 
mistake after all. 

Edward Somerset, Marquis of Worcester (1597- 
1667), celebrated for his scientific studies, and 
who was tne iaventor of an early form of 
steam engine, lived here. 

William Sharpe, one of the most celebrated 
engravers of his time, was born in 1749. The 
house in which he lived, on the Mall (Orford 
Bouse), is now rebuilt. Like De Louther- 
bourg, Sharpe became the victim of religious 
delusions, and like him was also a believer in 
the Prophet Brothers — the so-called Prince of 
the Hebrews. 

Charlotte, Duchess of Somerset, daughter of the 
second Earl of Nottingham, lived at Sutton 
Court, died in 1773, and was buried at Chis- 
wick. 

Ohidioke Wardour was for forty-two years Lord 
Treasurer's clerk, in the reigns of Qneen 
Elizabeth and James I. He died and is 
buried here. 

The Walpole Family are stated to have lived at 
Chiswick, iu the house on the Mall which 
still bears their name. In the church there 
are monuments to several members of the 
family. 

Charles Whittingham, whose name is a household 
word to all lovers of books, conducted, in con- 



180 CHISWICK. 



junction with William Pickerirg, at Chiswick, 
first in 1810, at Bigh Bcuse, which long since 
was destroyed, and afterwards, from 1818 to 
1852, at the College House, the famous Chis- 
wick Press, from whence weie issued some of 
the most unrivalled specimens of book print- 
ing, to be a delight to the collector for all 
time. Whittingham was born in 1767, and 
died and was buried at Chiswick in 1840. 
There is a tablet in the church to his memory. 
Jchann Zcjany, an eminent painter, born 1723, re- 
sided for meny years at Strand-on-the-Green 
in a house now bearing his name. Be was 
admitted member of the Royal Academy in 
1783; he painted a picture as an altar 
jiece fcr Chiswick Church, which is new re- 
moved to the vestry. Be died in 1810, and is 
buried at Kew. 
Amcrg other nemes connected with the 
pa!ish we may mention Sir Henry Sidney, Lord 
President of Ireland in the reign of Queen Eliza- 
beth ; Sir William Jones, Chief Justice of Ccmmon 
Pleas, 1632; tbe Luke of Leinster, 1695; Lady 
Lort, mentioned by Eowack ; Loid Visccunt 
Dunleiron, 1747 ; the Eat I of Kerry, 1752; the Earl 
of Egmont, 1765; Lord Annandale ; Lady D acre ; 
Lady Caroline Darner ; Lord Geraid oj Brandon ; 
Richard, Viscount Banelagh ; Lord Ashournham ; 
Sir Brcunhic C ust ; the Eat I of Portland ; Laniel 
O'Conntl/, the Libeiator; atd last, but itt least, 
Georgiana, the beautiful Duchess of Devonshire. 



(Elnstouk parish Registers. 



Probably no records are of greater general 
interest than our old parish registers, which were 
instituted in 1538 by an ordinance of Henry the 
Eighth's great minister, Thomas Cromwell, the 
Malleus Monachorum, who came from the neigh- 
bouring parish of Putney. Comparatively few 
registers are extant of this early date, and unfor- 
tunately these of Chiswick are amongst those 
which are deficient, for they do not commence 
until the year 1678. In the more recent period 
the registers of course become extremely volumin- 
ous, and it is quite out of the question to think of 
printing them. That does not apply to the earlier 
portion, and we thetefore, with the assent of the 
vicar, print below all the marriages recorded from 
1678 until the year 1754. This course will be 
more useful than the not unfrequent one of extract- 
ing such entries as may seem to an editor import- 
ant or interesting. It is only necessary to observe 
that in this transcript b., s., and w. stand respec- 
tively for bachelor, spinster, and widower or 
widow. Lie. indicates that a marriage was cele- 
brated by a licence from the bishop instead of by 
banns in the usual way. 

MARRIAGES. 

1678. 
BeLjamin Haie, of rhe Parish of St. Dennis 
Back Church, in London, and Elizabeth Smeeth, 
of this Parish, were married by licence Octobris 24to. 

1679. 

Thomas Davis and Joan Clark, both of the P'ish 
of Chiswick, were married the first Day of June, 
by banns. 

The Honoble. Richard Savage, Esq., and Madam 
Penelope Downs, married by Licence Aug. 21. 



182 CBISW1CK. 



Philip Morgan, of Hackney Parish, and Mercy 
Kesar, of Acton, were married by Lycence, 
Decemb. 21. 

1679-80. 

William Walm9ley and Anne Brown, marry'd by 
Banes, both of this Parish and single, Feb. 24. 

Thomas Bolton, of London, Gent., and Sarah 
Hammerton, of Isleworth, both single, marry'd by 
Licence, Feb. 24. 

1680. 

Miles Corbett, of Lond., b., and Mary Body, of 
Chiswick, s. Lie. April 21. 

Thomas Rawlinson, of London, Merchant, b., 
and Mary Taylor, of Chiswick, s. Lie. May 4. 

William Martin, of Lond., b., and Ruth Salter, 
of Chiswick, s. Lie. 14 July. 

John Mortimer, of London, b., and Dorothy 
Cromwell, of Batersey, s. Lie. Aug. 12. 

Richard Rose and Sarah Snow, of Chiswick. 
Oct. 14. 

Michael Webstar and Clement Linn, both of 
Chiswick. Dec. 25. 

Michael Hurst, of Chiswick, b., and Sarah 
Smither, of do., s. Lie, May 9. 

16S1. 

Henry Kent, of Chiswick, b., and Mary Round, 
of do., s. Lie. Oct 5, m. Oct. 

Thomas Bryder, of St. Botolph, Aldgate, b., and 
Sarah Lincolne, of do. Lic. t dated Oct. 11, 1681, 
m. Oct. 

John Searin, of the Parish of St. Martins in ye 
fields, b., and Hannah Whale of same Par., w. 
Lie, Nov. 23. 

John Cooper, of St Margaret, VVestminster, b., 
and Eilztbeth Peyton, of Chiswick, a. Lie, Dec. 22. 

1682. 

Thomas Eaglis, of S'-. Anne, Blackfryers, Lond., 
b., and Mary Ilsley, of Chiswick, a. Lie, dated 
Nov., m. Dec, 3. 



CB IS WICK PABISH REGISTERS. 183 

1683. 

William Hall, of St. Saviour's, Southwark, b., 
and Jane Wells, of Chiawick, a. Lie , dated Ap. 
17., m. Apr. 22. 

John Reed, of Chiawick, b., and Mary Smeeth, 
of do., w. Sept. — 

Thomaa Baker and Anne Paul. May 8. 

William Wheatly, of Sc. Giles in fields, Loudon, 
aad Elizabeth Booth, a. Lie, dated Oct. 1. 

William Reed and Mary Smeeth, w. Oct. 8. 

John Gaines, of this town, w. and Catherine May, 
s., of do. Jan. 10. 

Edward Evans, b., and Bridget Fiier, w., both 
of this Pariah. 1 Nov. 

1684. 

Walter Watts, b., and Elizabeth Kempater, 8., 
late of thia Pariah. Lie, dated April 26, m. Ap. 27. 

Thomas Fidoe and Aune Lamparne, both aingle, 
of St. Dunatan'a in the Weat. Lie,, March 27. 

John Heron, w., and Francea Hutchina, s., both 
of thia Pariah. 1 May. 

Francis Long, of Covent Garden, and Sarah 
Malin, of St. Martin'a in the Fields, both single. 
Lie, dated May 20, m. May. 

Mr. Richard Pendarvea, of Pendarves, in the 
County of Cornwall, b., and Elizabeth Corbett, of 
the Parish of Chiawick, a. Lie, dated May 21. 
m. May 22. 

Isaac Iver and Elizabeth Johnson, both aingle, 
and of thia Parish, m. 5 June. 

Mathew Bull, w., and Martha Warren, a, both 
of thia Pariah. Lie, July 5, m. July 7. 

Thomaa Morrill, of St. Martina in ye Fielda, 
London, and Anne Walker, of this Pariah. Aug. 7. 

Robert Phipps, of thia Pariah, and Elizabeth 
Tunbridge, of Norwood, in the Pariah of Heaton. 
2 Jan. 

Richard Howard, of Fulham. b.,and Mary Hart, 
of this Pariah, w. Lie, Ft b. 16, 1684-5, m. Feb. 24. 



184 CH IS WICK. 



1685. 

William Lowen, of St. Swithin's, Lind, mer- 
chant, b. , and Susanna Taylor, of this Par , s. Lie., 
July 27, m. July 30. 

Benjamin Beacham, of >V. M*rg., Westminster, 
b., and Elizabeth Watts, of this Par., s. Lie. 
Aug. 29, m. Aug 30. 

John Daffren and Anne Mean, both single and 
of this Parish. Sept 1. 

Isaac Wilsher and Sarah Kettell, both single and 
of this Parish. Sept 21 

Richard Gurnet, w., and Jane Hobbs, vr., both 
of this Parish. Nov. 1 

Michael Shepheard, w., and Mary Charlton, s. , 
both of this Par. Nov. 22 

1686. 

William Rose and Mary Harrison, both of this 
Parish. April 28 

1687. 

John Rundy, w., and Mary Merideth, w., both 
of this Par. March 31. 

William Perkin, of Richmond, in Surry, b., and 
Alice Young, of same Par., s. Lie, June 5. 

Stephen West, of Acton, and Mary Ayres, of 
Chiswick. Nov. 26 

1688. 

Richard Hu^chins, of St. Clements, London, and 
Elizibeth Evans, of this Parish. June 3. 

Henry Brown and Elizabeth Hurle. Lie, both 
of this Parish. Sep. 2. 

Samuel Ady, of St. Gile's, and Ann Tomson. 

Sep. 9. 

1689. 
William Bundy, and Gibbs Mavary, both of this 
Parish. March 3. 

1690. 
Robert Rouse, of Eling, and Elizabeth Welling, 
of this Parish. May 13. 



CH1S WICK PARISH REGISTERS. 185 

1691. 
Times Powell and El'zabeth Thomas, both of 
this Parish. June 8. [Nearly illegible: repeated 
below.] 

1692. 

John Hampton and Mary Dubury, both of this 
Parish. 2 April. 

Hecdrich Zimmerman and Cornelia Van Duin. 
Nov. 13. 

Philip Frimeyrill and Elizabeth Van Orellhaysen 
Nov. 20. 

James Powell and Elizibeth Thomas, both of 
this Parish. June 8, 1691. [Eutry repeated : see 
above.] 

Philip White and Elizabeth Randal. Sep. 18. 

[There are no entries from this date to] 

1695. 
Thomas Pigsfock, of Barnes, b. , and Elizabeth 
Ford, of this Parish, s. Deer. 26. 

1696. 
Thomas Heme and Elizabeth Heath, both of this 
Parish. Nov. 2. 

Fiancis Nash and Elisabeth Ncrcott. Nov. 8. 

1697. 

James Phipps and Elisabeth Hodges, both of 
this Parish. May 6. 

Humphry Bell, of St. Paul's, Shadwell, in the 
Co. of Mx., w., and Sarah Berridge, of Mortlock, 
w. Lie, Aug. 29. 

William Standart, of St. Catherine's, near the 
Tower, London, b., aud Catherine Gronen, of the 
Parish of St. Mary Hill, London. Lie, Sep. 9. 

William Overshot, of the Par. of St. Anne's, 
Westminster, b,, and Ellinor Syret, of this Par., s. 
Lie, October 7. 

John Randall, b., and Mary Brewer, s., 27 Jan. 



186 C HIS WICK. 



1698. 

Thomas Ewer, of Acton, b., and Elizabeth Batter, 
s. t this p. 25 Apr. 

Richard Gray, p. Pancras, Middx., b., and Susan 
Goodwin, s., this p. Lie, 27 Apr. 

Abraham Mendus Belisario, p. St. Catherine 
Cree church, b., and Margaret Duxfield, of St. 
Mary Savoy, Midx., s. Lie. 11 Aug. 

A. M. Belisario, of this p. above said Chocolett 
maker, paid the King's duty. 

John Nicholl, p. St. Andrew's, Holbourn, b., 
and Winefred Keck, p. St. Dunstans in the East, 
London, s. Zic, 16 Aug. 

King's tax paid by Edward Cressett, p. St. 
AuEtins, London, for said J. Nicholl, gent. 

John Randall, husbandman, of p. Eling, b., and 
Eliz. Grove, s., this p. 22 Sep. 

King's duties paid by John Randall. 

Rich. Rudd, blacksmith, w., and Eliz. Anderson, 
servant maid, s. 29 Sep. 

King's duties paid by Rich. Rudd. 

Matthew Barnett, b., gardner, and Eliz. Hicks, 
s. Lie, 3 Oct. 

King's duties paid by Mat. Barnett. 

Edward Fuller, b., and Mary Curtis, s. Lie, 
25 Dec. King's duties paid by E. Fuller. 

1698-9. 
Richard Borfet, fisherman, of Eling, b., and 
Susanna Parker, of this p. 15 Feb. 
King's Duties paid by Rich. Borfet. 

1699. 

Will. Wiggins, b., husbandman, and Mary 
Natt, s. 12 Apr. 

King's duties paid by W. Wiggins. 

Benjamin Pistow, of Ironmonger-lane, London, 
baker, and Dorothy Cooper, of p. of Chiswick. 
13 Apr. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 187 

King's Duties paid by B. Pitstow. 

John Smith, husbandman, b., and Martha 
Haberjohn, s. 13 Apr. 

KiDg's duties paid by John Smith. 

Robt. WeatoD, gent., of ye Inner Temple, 
London, b. , and Martha Coy, of Little S*. Anns, 
Westminster, s. Lie, 5 Aug. 

King's duties paid by Mr. Weston. 

Will. VVeedon, husbandman, p. of Acton, and 
Mary Snoden, this p. 29 Sep. 

King's duties, W. Weedon. 

Thomas Chaundler, p. Waltam, b., and Frances 
Corbett, of this p., s. Lic. t 19 Oct. 

King's duties paid by the husband. 

John Wetman, p. Acton, b., and Jane Batta, w., 
of this p. 6 Nov. 

King's duties paid by John Wetman, being a 
husbandman. 

Rich. Thornton, shoemaker, and Eliz. Mendum, 
12 Nov. 

King's duties paid by the husband. 

Tho. Sleigh, b., a distiller, of Mortlake, Surrey, 
and Ann Dodd, s., of the same. Lie. 

King's duties paid by Tho. Sleigh. 

Tho. Harley, of St. Paul, Shadwell, b., and 
Ann Moon, of the p., w. Lie, 14 Dec. 

King's duty paid by Tho. Harley. 

John Silso, this p., and Mary Derwick, of St. 
Martin Outwich. 26 Jan. 

Duties to be paid by John Silso, by profession a 
husbandman. 

1699-1700. 

Thomas Prophet, gardner, b., and Mary Sandlan, 
a. 3 Feb. 

King duties paid by Th. Prophet. 

1700. 
Nicho. Doncas, w., of this p., by trade a car- 



188 CHISWICK. 



penter, and Alice Goad, of Haughton, co. Bucks, 
w. Lie, 29 Mar. 

Right Hon. William Earl of Portland, w., and 
Jane Lady Dowager Berkley, Baroness of Stratton. 
Special Lie. from the Archbishop, 12 May. 

John Bundy, labouring man, and Rebecka Evans. 
28 July. 

Joseph Jennings, St. Mary le Bow, London, b. 
(and worth 600 li.), and Margaret Michel, of the 
same p., s. Lie. from the Archbishop, 1 Aug. 

Thomas Powell (a Proctor), of St. Diouis Back- 
church, w., and Urith Baskett, of Little Lombard- 
street, s. Lie. from the Archbishop, 19 Aug. 

Stephen Sever, p. St. Stephen, Coleman-street, 
London, and Sarah Harris, this p., s. 21 Aug. 

George Briggs and Mary Perkin, both of this 
Palish. 22 Sep. 

Thomas Vildy and Catherine Evans, both of this 
Parish. 7 Nov. 

Isaac Cooper, b., of Andover, Hants, and Mar- 
garet Courtley, of Mitcham, Surry, s. Lie., 10 
Dec. 

Will. Allderman, fisherman, b., and Mary Smith 
s. 21 Dec. 

Thomas Mason, p. Uxbridge, tailor, s., and Anna 
Powel, of this p. 

1701. 

Thomas Powney, p. St. Nicholas Olaves, London, 
and Mary Lidgold. 22 Apr. 

T. P. is a ropemaker. 

Nathaniel Paine, p. St. Alphage, London, s., a 
silver wyer-drawer, and Eliza Butler, of this p , . 
Lie. of the Archb., 25 Apr. 

Allen Warner, of Kingston-upon-Thames, Surrey 
b., and Mary Gascoyne, of Chiswick, s. Lic. t 27 
May. 

John Canderer, servt. to Sr. John Charden, s., 
and Eliz. Slade, of this p., e. 22 June. 



CH1SW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 189 

Rich. Flint, b., servt. to Capt. James, and 
Bridget Pietceson, s. Lie, 5 Oct. 
1701-2. 

Somerset Draper, of Wandsworth, Surrey, b. , and 
Ann Thompson, of this p., s. Lie, 16 Feb 

Will. Haee, p. Harvel, labourer, and Hannah 
Ranalls. 12 April. 

Richard Waterman, b., p. Ealing, and Margaret 
Upton, p. Richmond, Surry, s. Lie. , 23 Apr. 

William Neale, p. Chiswick, b., and Elizabeth 
Addams, of Colbrooke, co. Bucks, a. Lie , 14 
June. 

Daniell Holmes, p. St. Giles in ye Fields, b., 
and Susannah Downs, of Chiswick, s. 15 Dec. 

1703. 

Alexander Keell and E izabeth Skelton. Lie, 
7 Apr. 

James Feme, of St. Olaves Jury, London, b., 
and Mary Martin, of Twickenham, Middx., s. 
i'c, 15 Apr. 

Thomas Cope, of St. James, Westminster, card- 
maker, b., and Eliztbeth Turner, s., of Chiswick. 
Lie., 24 June. 

Sir Stephen Fox, Knight, and Christian Hopes, 
both of this p. Lie, 11 July. 

Henry Tammen, w. , and Elizabeth Rubre, p., 
both of Kensington, Middx. Lie, 5 Oct. 

Thomas Skelton, leather dresser, of the p. of 
St. Martin's-in-the-Fielde, b., and Eiizibeth 
Weeden, ?., of p. Chiswick, 12 Oct. 

John Vaugham, of Micham, Surrey, b., and 
p]lizabeth Jenkins, s., of Chiswick. 5 Dec. 

1704. 

Thomas Hoister, w., ai.d Mary Hampton, w. 
both of Chiswick. 10 May. 

William Pierson, shopkeeper, of Brentford, b., 
and Mary Walcot, of Strand-in-the -Green, s. Lie, 
18 May. 



190 cms WICK. 



John Gibb3, of St. James' Parish, Westminster, 
tradesman, w., and Anne Simmons, s. Lie., 30 
May. 

John Pearse, fisherman, b., and Sara Wetman, s. 

4 June. 

The Hon. "William Henry Benting, p. St. Martin's- 
in-ye-Field in the liberty of Westminster, b., and 
ye Hon. ye Lady Elizabeth Ncell, p. of Twitten- 
ham, s. Lie. , 9 June. 

John Hughes, labourer, w., and Susan Bolton, e. 
26 June. 

John Morphew, of the Savoy, Westminster, s., 
and Elizabeth Waltham, p. Chiswick. Lie , 
10 Aug. 

Ye Right Hon. Lucius Henry Ld. Faulkland of 
St. James', Westminster, b. , and Madam Dorothea 
Molyneux, of St. Grrgories, London, s. Lie., 

5 Oct. 

Henry Benbow and Aune Xorket, both of Chis- 
wick. 17 Dec. 

Charles Biker and Susan Duffee. Lie., 25 Dec. 
William Gors and Joanna Nanfan. 20 Feb. 

1705. 

John Low and Elizibeth Hughes, b., both of p. 
of Richmond. Lie., 17 Aug. 

John Price and Mary Ganes. Lie., 19 Oct. 
1706. 

John Messenger and Elizibeth Johnson, both of 
Chelsea. 

John Evans and Anne Powell, both of this p. 
29 Oct. 

Richard Strutt and Jane Pinckley, both of this 
p. 25 Dec. 

1707. 

Thomas Woodhouse and Jane West, of this p. 
17 Apr. 

Samuel Fletcher and Hester Terry, of St. 
Andrew's, Holborn. Lie., 2 June. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 191 

Sr. James Gray, p. St. James, Westminster, and 
Mrs. Hesther Dodd, of p. of Kensington. Lie., 
12 June. 

William Allen and Mary Throssey, both of this 
p. 15 June. 

Robert Fowles and Elizabeth Hancok. 24 Aug, 

John Hickson, of the p. of Eling, and Oliva 
West, of this p. Lie , 14 Oct. 

Robert Mansey and Elizabeth Read, both of this 
p. 9 Jan. 

1708 

James Downs and Mary Harris, both of this p. 
Lie, 27 Jan. 

1709. 

Daniel West and Mary Brown. Lie. , 28 Apr. 

Thomas James, of p. of St. Martin's, and Frances 
Oreenhall, of this p. 7 Nov. 

1710. 

William Collins, of St. Paul'* 3 , Convent Gar len, 
and Rebecca Torrent, of Hamersmith. Lie., 
7 Jan. 

John and Ann Gascoyne, both of this p. Lie, 
4 July. 

John Lanchaster and Frances Pierce, both of 
this p. 3 Oct, 

John Bodin, p. St". Anne, Westminster, and Sarah 
Evans, of St. James', Westminster. Lie, 16 Nov. 

1711. 

William Hillam and Elizabeth Nash, both of this 
p. 14 Jan. 

John Evans and Hannah Rygate, of the p. of 
■St. James', Westminster. Lie, 10 Apr. 

1712. 
Francis Dorington and Mary Courtney, both of 
this p. 21 Apr. 

Will. Prat and Mary Rudd. 2 Nov. 



192 CHI S WICK. 



[Jno. (?) ] Wheeler and Mary Round. 9 Apr. 

1713. 
Jno. Pope and Sarah Solomon. Lie., 4 June. 
Will. Brann, of Kensington, and Mary Badcock, 
this p. Lie, 7 June. 



" In 1712, after Francis Dorington and Mary 
Courtney are to be placed " — 

1712. 

Thomas Godwin and Sarah Hix, both of this p. 
15 July. 

Henry Collings and Elisabeth Deans, both of this 
p. 30 July. 

Isaack Lowns, p. St. James', Westminster, and 
Alice Bayle, this p. Lie, m. by Mr. El&by 
minister. 



1713 {continued). 
Richard Mayor and M*ry Wagstafe. Lie., 
6 Sep. 

Robert Godrey, p. St. Dunstan's-in-the-West, w., 
and Elizabeth Mawson, this p. Lie , 5 Nov. 

John May and Elizabeth Colley, both this p. 
Lie, 17 Dec. 

1713-14 {sic). 

OohnBurrage and Rose Rowell, both this p. Lie , 
31 Dec. 

1713-14. 

John Daffney and Elizabeth Hoskens, both this 
p. 4 Feb. 

Jacob Cutler and Elizabeth Redmuno 1 , both this 
p. 29 Apr. 

James Benhame, p. Chersey, Surrey, and Sarah 
Stone, this p. 6 May. 

Thoma8 Robinson, w., of St. Sepulcher's, Lond., 
and Rebecca Dent, w., of Coleman street, Lond. 
Lie., 28 Sept. 



/ 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 193 

Nathanael Harris, of St. Martin's-in-the-Fieids, 
Lond., and Katarine Blundel, p. Acton. Lie, 
30 Oct. 

Francis Norket, p. Barnes, and Jemima Car- 
penter, this p. Lie, 9 Nov. 

John Gillford and Eliz. Peck. 20 Dec. 

John Hollet, p. Fullome, and Rachael Fuller, 
this p. Lie, 23 Dec. 

James Seamore and Eliz. Thomas. 25 Dec. 

John Kenfeild, p. St. (Juthberd's, Welle, Somer- 
set, and Ann Osrick, this p. 25 Dec. 

Thomas Brook and Eliz. Jame?, both this p. 
26 Dec. 

1714-15. 

John Stanford and Mary Carpenter, both this p. 
24 Jan. 

Nicholas Baint:m and Katarine Cole, both this 
p. 24 Jan. 

George Sleet, of Brentford, and Amy Gough, 
13 Feb. 

Gabriell Bridges and Margaret Brandon. 20 
Feb. 

Joseph Chance and Jane Saunders, both this p. 
28 Feb. 

Mr. Benjamin Mawson and Mrs. Margaret 
McCulley. Lie, 19 May. 

Miles Yeatman, of the Temple, London, and 
Jean Dollingwood, p. St. Dunstans, Lie, 7 June. 

Robert Woodman and Barbara Greenhill, this p. 
Aug. 14. 

John [Hobbs (?) and Mary Woodhurst, both this 
p. 2 Oct. 

1716. 

Luke Davis, p. St. Andrew Hubbard, London, 
and Mary Whele, p. St. Peter, Cornhill. Lie, 3 
Apr. 

John White and Elizabeth Friday, both this p. 
22 Apr. 



194 CHISW1CK. 



John Shepherd and Elizabeth Luton, both this p. 
23 Apr. 

John Dent, p. St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, and 
Rachel Finch, p. St. Clement Danes. Lie, 8 July. 

Henry Shepherd and Elizabeth Hill, both this 
p. 6 Oct. 

Thomas Humphries and Alice Osborn, both this 
p. 18 Oct. 

Thomas Harris, p. St. Olaves, Southwarke, and 
Mary Ward, p. St. Mary at Hill. Lie, 25 Nov. 

1717. 

John Whitton and Catherine Floyd, both this 
p. 8 June. 

John Smith and Sarah Parker, both this p. 8 
July. 

Henry Deare and Elizabeth Smith, both this p. 
11 Nov. 

Robert Beton, p. St. Mary, Aldermary, LondoD, 
and Elizabeth Gwyn, p. Harrow on the Hill, Midd. 
Lie, 21 Nov. 

1718. 

John Pattison and Elizabeth Steers, both p. 
Greenwich, Kent. Lie. 14 Apr. 

John Branch and Elizabeth Steward, both this p. 
15 Apr. 

Richard Winterton and Martha Moss, both this 
p. Lie, 28 Apr. 

Atkins Wilkinson, p. Fulham, and Mary Smith, 
this p. 13 May. 

Grevil Greenhill and Jane Harradine, both p 
St. Andrew's, Holborn. Lie, 27 May. 

Robert Bunday and Jemima Bishop, both this p. 
17 Aug. 

Dorington Turner and Isabella Emerson, both 
this p. 18 Aug. 

1719. 

William May, St. Peter's, Cornhill, and Catherine 
Clift, of St. Dunstan's in the West, London. Lie, 
11 June. 



CHISW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 195 

William Vaughan and Ann Johnson, both of this 
p. 29 Oct. 

Thomas Emms and Elizabeth Taffeney, both of 
this p. 6 Nov. 

Henry Allum, of Richmond, and Mary Reynolds, 
of Mortlake, co. Surrey. Lie, 19 Nov. 
1720. 

Thomas Brooks and Elizabeth Gyles, both of this 
p. Lie, 23 Apr. 

William Hinton and Joyce Davenport, both of 
Roehampton, p. Putney. Lie, 24 Apr. 

William Sharman and Jane Beman, both of this 
p. 28 Aug. 

William Pering and Mary Haron, both of this p. 
20 Feb. 

[end of VOL. I.] 

1721. 

Simon Lawrence and Dorothy Collins, both of 
this p. Lie, 8 June. 

Ephraim Shepherd and Elizabeth Davis, both of 
this p. Lie, 2 July. 

John S'otesbury and Eleanor Atley, both of 
Brentford, Middx. Lie, 9 July. 

Thomas Bayley, p. St. Margaret's, Westminster, 
and Sarah Lane, p. Fulham, Middx. Lie, 16 
July. 

Henry Smith and Ann Crosbey, both this p. 
29th July. 

Robert Goodenough and Martha Martin, both 
this p. 24 Aug. 

John Carter, p. Wandsworth, Surrey, and 
Rebecca Parker, this p. 17 Sept. 

Robert Scampton, p Christ Church, London, 
and Jane Redman, p. Ealing, Middx. Lie, 24 
Sept. 

Charles Rouse, p. Battersea, Surrey, and Eliza- 
beth Hearne, this p. 26 Sept. 



196 CH1SWICK. 



John Wild and Penelope Perkins, both this p. 
Lie, 1 Oct. 

Russell Holt and Sarah Bates, both of New 
Brentford, Middx. Lie, 22 Dec. 

Richard Cliffin and Ann Rickets, both this p. 
11 Feb. 

1722. 

Thomas Broderton, p. Ealing, Middx., and 
Sarah Haley, this p. 22 July. 

John Williamson and Elizabeth Bernard, both 
of St. Gabriel, Fenchurch, London, Lie, 10 
Nov. 

James East and Mary Jones, this p. 2 Dec. 

Bernard Naminck and Elizabeth Atkinson, both 
of p. St. Mary, Abchurch, London. Lie, 23 Dec. 

Joseph Harris and Ann Davis, both this p. 8 
Jan. 

1723. 

Andrew Stanton, p. Wandsworth, Surrey, and 
Elizabeth Teer, this p. 23 April. 

William Jenkins, p. Fulham, Middx., and Mary 
Dafphon, this p. 10 Aug. 

William Burnet, p. Hanwell, co Middx., and 
Sarah Nichols, this p. 29 Sept. 

William Cockerill, p. Wappingham, co. North- 
ampton, and Martha Child, this p. Lie 9 Oct. 

William Tanner and Judith Beard, both of this 
p. Lie, 8 Nov. 

Robert Rose and Joan Hillet, both this p. 
9 Feb. 

1724. 

John Jewell, p. St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, 
Middx. and Mary Martin, of Putney, Surrey. 
Lie , 9 Apr. 

William Pering and Catherine Goodyer, both 
this p. 11 June. 

William Golebay, p. Eling, Middx., and Eleanor 
Bunday, this p. 19 July. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 197 

Walter Stoke and Jane Fuller, both this p. 
22 July. 

John Downs, this p., and Sarah Ansell, p. 
Eling, Middx. Lie, 8 Oct. 

John Brown, p. Wling, Middx., and Elizabeth 
Curtis, this p. 26 Jan. 

1725. 

George Payne, p. EliDg, and Elizabeth Ormerod, 
p. Fulham, Middx. Lie, 17 May. 

Thomas Hopkins, p. Kensington, and Ann 
Hubbins, p. Fulham, Middx. Lie, 12 Dec. 
1726. 

George Hornblow and Elizabeth Weston, both 
this p. 17 Apr. 

Thomas Mericks and Frances Whipp, both this 
p. 10 May. 

Richard Case, p. St. Leonard, Shoreditch, and 
Hannah Mason, p. St Mary-le-Strand, Middx. 
Lie, 10 Aug. 

Jeremiah Frickleton and Mary Alderman. 19 
Nov. 

John Monk and Mary Coward, both p. Ealing. 
Lie, 14 Dec. 

Thomas Goodenough and Elizabeth Cartwright, 
both this p. 5 Feb. 

1727. 

Gabriel Barns and Mary Feild, both this p. 
7 Apr. 

John Dawson, p. St. James', Westminster, and 
Elizabeth Gibson, this p. Lie, 30 Apr. 

William Bryant and Mary Child, both this p. 
Lie, 25 May. 

John Nicolo Morel, p. St. James', Westminster, 
and Philippa Chancey, this p. Lie, 22 June. 

Charles Davis, p. Norwood, Middlesex, and 
Martha Ware, p. Isleworth, Middlesex. Lie, 22 
June. 



198 CHISWICK. 



Edward Wilson and Ann Bird, both this p. 17 
Dec. 

Henry Langdon, of [erasure] Webridge, Middle- 
sex, and Mary Lock, of Acton, said Co. Lie. , 30 
Jan. 

1728. 

Henry lies, of Putney, co. Surrey, and Alice 
Warner, of Reading, Berks. Lie, 4 Aug. 

Richard Cook, this p., and Elizabeth Parker, of 
Richmond, p. Kingston, Surrey. Lie, 23 Sept. 

Michael Heck and Anne Gibson, both this p. 
24 Nov. 

1729. 

John Howell and Elizabeth Hemming, both p. 
Isleworth, co. Middx. Lie, 10 Apr. 

Thomas Clark, p. Ealing, co. Middx., aud Eliza- 
beth Warner, p. Ewelane, co. Oxford Lie , 26 
May. 

William Wivell. p. St. Martin's-in-the Fields, 
Middx., gent., and Mary Cressener, p. St. Bride's, 
London. Zz'c.,9July. 

1730. 

John Wilks, p. Mortlake, Surrey, and Martha, 
Clarke, this p. 21 May. 

George Salter, p. Sc. Giles'-in-the-Fields, co. 
Middx., and Ann Besrer, p. Putney, Surrey. 
Lie. 

Stephen Meredith and Elizabeth Lloyd, both 
this p. Aug. 17, 

Walter Jones, p. St Bridget, London, and 
Elizabeth Ayres, of MortUke, co. Surry. Lie., 26 
Nov. 

1731. 

Thomas Wellbeloved, p. EUing, Middx , and 
Elizabeth Middleton. Lie., 18 Apr. 

Edward Frisby and Elizabeth Stow, both this p. 
Lie., 25 July. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 199 

Thomas Dayrell, p. St. George, Hanover Square, 
Middx., and Sarah Lockett, of said p., by Lie, on 
or soon after 23 April. 

Richard Godfrey, p. Bix, co. Oxford, and Jane 
Sawyer, this p. Lie, 27 Sept. 

William Yeates and Elizabeth Redding. Lie., 
6 Oct. 

Edward Gload and Maitha Potter, p. Fulham, 
Middx. Lie. , 23 hov. 

John Wise and Elizabeth Strutt, both of this p. 
28 Nov. 

1732 

Edward Anderson, p. Hendon, Middx., and 
Sarah Simpson, p. St. George, Bloomsbury. Lie, 
5 May. 

11 The end of ye Register of Marriages as kept by 
me, Thomas Wood, vicar." 

1733 

Samuel Wyatt, p. St. Gyles in the Fields, 
Middx., b., and Elizabeth Phillips, said p., 8. 
Lie , 7 Aug. 

John Horton, of Whitchurch, co. Salop, b. , and 
Hebter Powell, p. St. Margaret, Westminister 
Middx. b. Lie, 7 Aug. 

Heniy Anstead and Mary Newell, both this p. 
9 Dec. 

Charles Rogers, Mortlake, Surrey, and Margaret 
Whiting, p. Mousey . Lie, 17 Dec. 

1734. 

Richard Blackman and Mary Baker, both from 
London. Lie. 11 Aug, 

Francis Woodley and Jane Wilson, both this p. 
5 Nov. 

1735. 

Thos. Seton and Elizabeth Dent, both p. St. 
James', Clerkenwell, Lon. Lie. 11 May. 

Riohard Burford, of Ealing, and Eliz. Deane, 
this p. 25 Aug. 



200 CH1SWICK. 



Janus Bourne, p. Christ Church, London, and 
Elizth. Hoi worthy, p. Han well, Midd. Lie, 24 
Dec. 

David Drakeford, p, St. Bridget's, Lond., and 
Ann Ford, this p. 25 Dec. 

William Collier and Mary Norris, both this p. 
5 Mar. 

1736. 

William Harris, p. Hayes, Middx., and Sarah 
SimpsoD. 22 Nov. 

William Collinridg and Sophia Bunt, both p. 
Isleworth. Lie 

1737. 

Thomaa Boucher, p. St. Mary Wooluoth, Lond., 
Ooker [or? Coker], p. St. Austin, Lond. Lie, 
2 July. 

Thos. Pownall, p. St. Martin-in-the-Fields, 
Middx., and Dorothy Smith, p. Fulham. Lie, 
29 Oct. 

1738. 

John Nash and Sarah Crawley, both this p. 
20 June. 

William Aldersoa, p. St. Paul's, Covent Garden, 
Middx., b , and Mary Lepage, of Hammersmith, 
Middx., s. Lie. , 6 Aug. 

Henry Deer and Frances Fuller, both this p. 
15 Sept. 

George Wadland and Eliz. Godwin, both this p. 
9 Nov. 

1739. 

Richard Sympson and S iqanna Risley, both this 
p. 11 May. 

Peter Crosby, p. St. Jame a , Westminster, and 
Ann Hawkins, same p. Lie.. 4 July. 

John Perry, p. St. George, Banover-square, 
Middx , b., and Mary Sladdon, w., p. St. Gyles, 
Cripplegat j , Lon lou. Lie, 29 July. 



CR1S WICK PARISH REGISTERS. 201 

Sampson Westmore, w., p. Ealing, Middx., and 
Aun Sirett, p. Hanwell, Middx. Lie., 12 Sept. 

George Downea and Mary Perring. 27 Sept. 

H<mry Hodges and Mary Moore, both this p. 

19 Nov. 

1740. 

Adam Connell, w., and Mary Eastern, a., both St. 
John, Southwork. Lie, 23 June. 

John Coleman, p. St. Clement DaDes, Middx., 
b., and Elizabeth Nichols, of St. Alban's, Herta., 
s , by the Rev. Mr. Hewel. 17 June. 

John Appleton, of Middle Temple, London, b.. 
and Eleanor B*ll, of the p. St. Brid, Lond., 
widow. Lie, 14 Aug. 

Elward Tiller and Jane Dean, both thia p. 

e Oct. 

William Wood, p Iale worth, Middx., and Jane 
Simpson, thia p. 1 Jan. 

1741. 

Benjamin Anatead and Elizabeth Simpson, both 
thia p. 9 Apr. 

William Aahley and Jane Pope, both of thia p. 

17 Apr. 

Henry Pullin, p. St. Clement Danes, Lond., b., 
and Hannah Pierson, p. St. Gilea'-in-the-Field8, 
Lond., a. Lie, June 30. 

John Stephenaon, p. St. Clement East Cheap, 
London, b., and Mary H >lf«>rd, of New Brentford, 
Middlx., w. Lie, p. Rev. Mr. Chilcot, 19 Dec. 

George Froud, p. St. Mary O very 'a, Surrey, b., 
and Martha Wniteton, a, Lie, 6 Jan. 
1742. 

Henry Smith and Pncebe Bond, both thia p. 

2 May. 

Anthony Gyford. p. St. Martin-in-the-Fielda, b., 
and Ann Ashurat, of the same. Lie, 2 Sep. 

William Loffmann and Mary Hawe8, both this p. 

18 Oct. 



202 CH1SW1CK. 



1743. 
William Paul, p. St. Gyle's-in-the-Fields, b., and 
Jane Buck, of Mortlake, Surrey, s. Lie, 21 Sept. 

1744. 

Robert Vennable and Anne Ody, both this p. 
30 Apr. 

William Collins, p. St. Andrew, Holborn, w., 
and Abigail Baxter, this p., 8. Lie, 19 July. 

William Dent, p. St. Mary-la-Bonne, Middx., 
w., and Elizabeth Gibbons, of Lincoln's-inn, Lond., 
s. Lie, 23 Aug. 

Edward Bird, of Deptford, b., and Elizabeth 
Laggett, of Hammersmith, s. Lie., 7 Sept. 

Elijha Head, of New Brentford, Middx, b., and 
Sarah Ormorod, of Hammersmith, s. Lie, 19 
Nov. 

Henry Hawes, of Chiswick, Middx., w., and Mary 
Cottrell, this p., s. Lie, 20 Nov. 

William Gillspie, w., and Mary Hall, this p., s. 
Lie, 26 Feb. 

1745. 

Elijah Dellaney, p. St. Sepulchre, Lond., w.', 
snd Mary Haesell, same p., s. Lie, 26 May. 

BeDJamin Light, of St. Martin-in-the- Fields, 
Middx., b., and Anne Stoe, of Chiswick, s. Lie, 
2 June. 

Thomas Smith, p. St. Margaret, Westminster, 
Middx., b.,and Jane Higginson, of Fulham, in same 
co., s. Lie, 23 June. 

1746. 

Leigh Loryman, of St. Olave, Southwark, Surrey, 
w., and Elizabeth Hay ward, of the same, w. Lie, 
21 Apr. 

Samuel Roberts, of St. Benedict, Gracechurch, 
London, and Eleanor Spenceley, of St Andrew, 
Holborn, co Middx., s. Lie, 8 May 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 203 

Francis Walkingame, of St. Martin-in-the-fielde, 
Middx., b., and Mary Hider, of Kensington, said 
co., s. Lie , 18 May. 

Thomas Hodges, p. St. James, Westminster, 
Middx., b., and Frances Burton, same p. s. Lie., 
1 Mar. 

1747. 

Joseph Starkey and Hester Cole, both this p. 
19 Apr. 

John Tomkins, p. St. George, Hanover-square, 
Middx. , b., and Mary Edmonds, p. St. James, 
Westminster, s. Lie, 6 Oct. 

Robert Prentice and Jane Hubbard, both this p. 
26 Dec. 

1747-8. 

James Hallofield, p. St. James, Westminster, 
Middx., b., and Catherine Helling, same p., s. 
Lie, 9 Feb. 

William Page, p. Teddington, Middx., w., and 
Elizabeth Brown, p. Barnes, Surry, w. Lie. 

William Crick and Mary Newman, both this p. 
26 June. 

William Newman and Elizabeth Anderson, both 
of this p. 11 Sept. 

John Bristor and Mary Brown, both this p. 
12 Sept. 

George Ottway, p. St. Martin-in-the-Fields, 
Middx., b., and Dorothy Mound, p. St. James, 
Westminster, said co., s. Lie, 1 Oct. 

Robert Bishop and Anne Corbet, both this p. 
6 Oct. 

1749. 

Thomas Griffis and Temperance Bell, both this 
p. 16 Apr. 

Daniel Blackwell, St. Andrew, Holborn, London, 
b., and Mary Brogden, p. St Faith, London, s. 
Lie, 25 Apr. 



204 CHISWICK. 



Nathaniel Weston, p. St. Andrew, Holborn, 
Lond., b., and Ann Brogden, p. St. Faith, London, 
s. Lie, 25 Apr. 

William Lee, of Barnes, Surrey, b., and Mar- 
garet Brown of the same, s. Lie, 4 June. 

[An entry following this erased.] 

1750. 

Henrich Jorgensen, p. St. Paul, Covent 
Garden, Middx., b., and Esther Boucher, p. Chis- 
wick, s. Lie, 5 Feb. 

John, Harrison, p. St. Martin in ye Fields, 
Middx., b., and Susanna Baynes, p. St. Anne, 
Westminster, same co., s. Lie, 14 July. 
1751. 

George Mercer, jun., of St. Mary le bone, 
Middx, b., and Elizabeth Prate, of the p. St. 
John the Evangelist, in the same co., s. Lie, 26. 
1752. 

John Turner Harris, p. St. Michael, Queen 
Hithe, London, b., and Sarah Willekus, p. St. 
John the Evangelist, Westminster, Middx., s. 
Lie, 9 Apr. 

Thomas Barsham, of the Inner Temple, London, 
eeq., b., and Elizabeth Spateman, p. St. Dunstan's 
in the West, Middx., a. Lie, 3 Aug. 

Jasper Atkinson, p. St. Bartholomew, by the 
Royal Exchange, London, b., and Ann Vanderesch, 
of Chelsea, Middx., a. Lie , 20 Aug. 

Timothy Champain, p. Isleworth, Middx., b., 
and Sarah Gore, same place, s. Lie, 24 Sept. 
1753. 

William Pack, p. St. Dunstan's in the West, 
London, b., and Elizabeth Baxter, "of the 
parish," [sie,] s. Lie, 30 July. 
1754. 

William Wallis, p. St. Leonard Shoreditch, 
Middx., b., and Elizabeth York, of the same, e. 
Lie, 17 Feb. 



CHISW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 205 

John Bardin, of Hammersmith, Middx., b , and 
Dorothy Smith, of the same place, 8. Lie, 

28 Feb. 

[The new system of registration of marriages 
begins here.] 

1754. 

John Mears and Elizabeth Grant, both this p. 
Lie, consent of parents, 19 May. 

Richard Cooknell and Mary Clark, both this p. 
26 June. 

Thomas Billing, of Hammersmith, and Mary 
Wallis, of C, 8 July. 

Henry Shepherd and Mary Chester. 20 Aug. 

Frederick Stow and Elizabeth Daphon, both this 
p. 9 Sept. 

Timothy Lewis, p. Isleworth, Middx., and 
Margaret Holiday, this p. Lie, 17 Sept. 

William Young and Susanna Edwards, both this 
p. 19 Sept. 

Henry Smith and Henrietta Maria Alberton, 
both this p. 19 Sept. (Bride signs Henrietta 
Allerton). 

1755. 

Samuel Chapman and Mary Cook, both this p. 
12 Jan. 

John Beorton and Mary Turner, both this p. 
9 Apr. 

William Bugbord and Elizabeth Hoppey, both 
tnis p. 11 May. 

John Francis and Anne Street, both this p. 15 
May. 

John Vickress and Anne Hervey, both this p 
2 June. 

Francis EvaDS and Jane Weare, of this p. Lie, 
"2 June. 

Anthony Hill and Ann Crips, both this p. 17 
June. 

William Webb and Mary Wilson, both this p. 

29 July. 



206 CH1SWICK. 



John Phillpott and Mary Heyden, both this p. 
Lie , 6 Sept. 

Robert Goodrick and Anne Mason, both this p. 
10 Sept. 

Philip Bearcroft, D.D., Master of the Charter- 
house, Middlx. w., and Mary Barker, p. Chiswick, 
w., Lie, 18 Oct. Witnesses, G. Coventry, 
Charlotta Palmer. 

George Phelps, of Isleworth, and Elizabeth At- 
wood, of C. Lie., 11 Nov. 

1756. 

Thomas Parry, p. St. Giles-in-the-Fields, and 
Susanna King, this p. 31 Mar. 

Spencer Madan, A.M., clerk, p. St. George, 
Hanover-square, and the Right Hon. Lady 
Charlotte Cornwallis of this p. Lie, 8 Apr. 
Witnesses, Geo. Townshend, Ferrers, R. Fowler. 

Benjamin Browne and Elizabeth Taylcr, both 
this p. 10 May. 

Alexander Horseburgh and Rebekah Ragg. — 
May. 

John Baarnford, of St. Martin in the Fields, w., 
and Ann Raymond, this p., s. Lie, 21 June. 

Daniel Nash, St. Andrew, Holborn, Middx. b., 
and Eliz. Holmes, w. Lie, 29 June. 

John Maybery and Mary Medley. 

Cuthbert Allanson, this p., b., and Ann Preston, 
of St. Andrew, Holborn, Middx., s. Lie, 17 July. 

Humphrey Woolrych, of Uxbridge, b., and Mary 
Andrews, this p., s. Lie , 25 July. 

William Tredway, b., and Mary Tyrrel, s., both 
this p. Lie, 7 Aug. 

John Goodman and Margaret Davis, both this 
p. 30 Aug. 

Edward Carpenter and Mary Pedder. both this 
p. 4 Sept. 

John Aldridge and Elizabeth Couchman, both 
this p. 29 Sept. 



CH IS WICK PARISH REGISTERS. 207 

BeDry Piice and Mary Blag, both this p. 18 
Oct. 

Richard Hunt and Mary Mundy, Lie, 12 Sep. 
John Bifield and Anne Wallace, both this p. 

1757. 

Ambrose Aldridge, this p., and Martha Denham, 
p. Isleworth. /,ic.,5Apr. 

James White, of St. Paul's, Covent Garden, 
Westminster, b., and Ann Pritchett, this p. Lie., 
8 May. 

William Townley and Elizabeth Lowe, both this 
p. 25 July. 

Rev. Edward Ventris, clerk, and Martha Elmy, 
s. Lie.) 28 July. 

William Catterns atd Mary Carter, both this p. 
30 Aug. 

Jeremiah Macartney and Sarah Wilkin, both 
this p. 20 Sept. 

Charles Bridges and Mary Pope, both this p. 
29 Oct. 

Thomas Bunston and Elizabeth Palmer. 
1758. 

Daniel James, mariner, and Elizabeth Lewis, 
this p. 23 Jan. 

Joseph Willson, b., and Mary Harding, s., both 
this p. Lie, 31 March. 

John Stoddard and Ann Dennis, s. Lie, 14 
May. 

Tho. Strange and Eliz. Wilson, both this p. 
Lie, 13 June. 

George Denham, this p., and Ann Brasset, p. 
Fulham. Lie, 29 June. 

Henry Workman and Elizabeth Catttrns, both 
this p. 9 July. 

Tho. Banfield and Sueanca Godfrey, both this p. 
15 July. 

Edward Banks and Mary Norway, both this p. 
lb July. 



208 CH1SWICK. 



Thomas Lawrence, b., and Sarah Stonard, s., 
both this p. 19 Aug. 

Thomas Sedgwick and Ann Wells, both this p. 
21 Sept. 

Robert Legion and Elizabeth Higg, both this p. 
8 Oct. 

John Hobbs and Sarah Birchel, both this p. 
10 Oct. 

James Grant, w., and Mary Wilson, w., both 
this p. Lie , 7 Nov. 

Ambrose Powell and Elizabeth Smith, both this 
p. 27 Nov. 

John Dells and Elizabeth Silver, both this p. 

17 Dec. 

David Morgan and Mary Gillett, both this p. 

18 Dec. 

Thomas Wareham and Annie Derrick, both this 
p. 18 Dec. 

1759. 

William H)lli4*y, p. So. Marylebone, Middx., b. 
and Hester Noddings, p. Chiswick. Lie, 1 Jan. 

Ciarles Gascoyne and Anne Tayler, both this p. 
1. Jan. [Signed, Charles Gaskin and Ann Taylor.] 

Thomas Dearlove and Sarah Show, both this p. 
1 Jan. 

[end of vol. II.] 

George Barry, b., and Elizabeth Terry, s., both 
this p. Lie., 25 Jan. 

William Watkins and Hannah Jackson, both this 
p. 3 June. 

John Adshed, b., and Hannah Procter, both this 
p. Lie., 12 June. 

James Deakin and Rebecca Coser, both this p. 
17 June. 

Jonathan Hills, b Wytheyham, Sussex, and 
Elizabeth Doney. 25 Juno. 

Richard Loveday, b., and Mary Bainbrioige, a., 
both this p. 10 July. 



CH1SW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 209 

William Whittle and Catherine Bramley. 19 
July. 

William Grant and Elizabeth Mason, both this 
p. 14 Aug. 

John Saunders, p. Richmond, Surrey, and Mary 
Webb, this p. 3 Sept. 

Charles Allger, w., and Edith Eastwood, both 
this p. Lie, 12 Sep. 

1760. 

John Bull and Ann Stephens, both this p. 
3 Feb. 

Michael Dobinson, b., and Elizabeth Motes, s. 
Lie, 17 Feb. 

Thomas Aslett, p. Ealing, and Sarah Oompton, p. 
Chiswick, s. Lie, 19 Feb. 

Henry Jones, p. Ealing, and Jane Cowling, p. 
Chiswick. 19 Feb. 

John Chapman, b., and Cathrine Sansam, s., 
both of this p. 25 Feb. 

Richard Side and Esther Harvey, both this p. 
5 March. 

Tnomas Barnett and Sarah Hartley, both this p. 
1 May. 

John Hale, w., and Mary Bourne, w. Lie, 18 
May. 

John Stephens and Elizabeth Sharp, both this p. 
21 Apr. 

William Perrin, b., an-i Caroline Phelps, s. 25 
May. 

William Miles, and Elizth. Redfin, both this p. 
3 June. 

John Clarke, b., and Jane Jones, s. Lie, 26 
June. 

William Gardener and Prudence Coningham, 
both this p. 7 July. 

Thomas Howse, p. St. Botolph, Aldgate, London, 
w., and Cathrine Attwood, p. Chiswiok. Lie, 1C 
July. 



210 CHISWICK. 



William Bainbrigge, Ear]., w., and Elizabeth 
Graves, s., both this p. Lie, 31 July. 

William Kent, b., and Mary Bradley, a., both 
this p. 21 Aug. 

John Joyner, b., and Grace Burden, s., both this 
p. 27 Oct. 

Samuel Day, b., and Dorothy Smith, s., both 
this p. 13 Nov. 

1761. 

Joseph Perrin, b., and Elizth. Saunders, s. 12 
Jan. 

Thomas Mansell, p. Chiswick, b. , and Elizth. 
Blackwell, p. St. Martin's-in-tht-Fields, London. 
18 Jan. 

[The preceding is cancelled, the entry evidently 
being made before the time of the intended cere- 
mony.] 

Robert Taylor, b , and Letitia Hayward, s. 23 
Feb. 

Henry Lassiter, w., and Elizabeth Baldock, s. 
Lie, 23 March. 

Jabez Bloxham, p. St. Ounstan in the East 
London, b. , and Ann Holland, p. Chiswick. Lie, 
10 May. 

David Pickett, b., and Mary Glover, p., both this 
p. 18 May. 

John Powell, p. St. James, Clerkenwell, w., and 
Margarett Williams, p. Chiswick, w. Lie, 30 
May. 

Thomas Clarke, b., and Sarah Brown, s , both 
this p. 6 July. 

George Clarke, b. , and Ann Suapes, s., both 
this p. 16 Aug. 

John Cooksley and Sirah Gewff, both this p. 
28 Aug. [Signed Sarah Geff] 

James Aston and Mary Champs, both this p. 
7 Sept. 



CHISW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 211 

William Wood, b., and Constant Walbank, s., 
both this p. 18 Sept. 

Thomas Randal and Elizabeth Potter, both this 
p. 12 Oct. 

Thomas Baker and Jane Doughty, both this p. 
19 Oct. 

Thomas Aldridge, b., and Elizabeth Phillips, 
both this p. Lie, 26 Oct. 

John Barr, p. St. Botolph, Aldersgate, London, 
b., and Ann Owen, parish Chiswick, s. Lie, 8 
Nov. 

John Morris, p. Fulham, and Mary Green, p. 
Chiswick. 1 Dec. 

1762. 

Thomas Smith, b., and Ann Wilcocks, s., 
both of this p. 5 Jan. 

Thomas Price, b., and Sarah Prickett, s., both 
this p. 12 Apr. 

William Anthony, b., and Jane Clark, w., both 
this p. 1 May. 

William Goter, chapelry of Kew, Surrey, b., and 
Eleanor Woodman, s., this p. Lie, 4 May. 

John Crimps, b., and Elizabeth Heme, s., both 
this p. 11 May. 

John Wade, w., and Mary Brown, s., both this 
p. Lie , 16 June. 

George Pedder and Mary Ramblitt, both this p. 
23 June. 

Robert Singer and Mary Pitt, both this p. 28 
June. 

Ambrose Aldridge, w., and Mary Johnson, s., 
both this p. Lie, 6 July. 

St. George Molesworth, this p., clerke, b. , and 
Lydia Henrietta Clarke, s. Lie, 10 July. 

Samuel Cross, p., St. Dunstan'e, Stepney, 
Middx., b., and Mary Casaall, this p., s. Lie, 
11 July. 



212 CHISWJCK. 



Thomas Saint, b., and Ann Crawley, 8., both 
this p. 6 Aug. 

John Bell, b., and Ann Perry, s. Lie, 15 Aug. 

John Snow, b., and Sarah Keen, s., both this p. 
6 Sept. 

Thomas Roseblade and Mary Coster, both this p. 

11 Sept. 

Edward Oain and Sarah Mainor [signs Maynor], 
both this p. 5 Nov. 

Theophilus Cole, w., p. Christ Church, Middx. , 
and Elizabeth Martin, s., this p. Lie, 14 Nov. 

1763. 

Pain Humphrey and Mary Workman, both this 
p. 25 Apr. 

Thomas Watson and Mary White, both this p. 
1 May. 

Robert Hitch, b., this p., and Mary Stocker, p. 
Ealing, Middx., w. Lie, 16 May. 

Thomas Floyde and Elizabeth Griffin, both this 
p. 13 June. 

John Rice, b., and Mary Anthoney [signs 
Anthony], s., both this p. Lie, 18 June. 

William Hanks and Elizabeth Mitchall, both this 
p. 30 June. 

James Powell, b., p. St. Benedict, Paul's Wharf, 
London, and Elizabeth Longcroft, s., this p. Lie, 

12 July. 

Joseph Dodd and Elizabeth Taylor, both this p. 
24 Aug. 

William Robinson and Ann Morrell, both this 
p. 28 Aug. 

John Swain, b., p. Mitchum, Surrey, and Mary 
Terry, s., this p. 22 Sept. 

Thomas Benfield, w.. and Ann Wood, s., both 
this p. 19 Oct. 

John Neber and Sarah Bleay, both this p. 
23 Oct. 



CBISWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 213 

John Harris and Elizabeth Garth, both this p. 
12 Dec. 

John Marie and Sarah Lewie, both this p. 18 
Dec. 

1764. 

William Martain [sifcjn* Martin], this p., and 
Mary Relton, this p. 15 Jan. 

William Langly and Hannah George, both this 
p. 19 Jan. 

Thomas Lever, Aon Putoam, both this p. 30 
Jan. 

Fenton Griffiths, Esq., b., Turnham Green, p. 
ChiswicU, and Sarah Wilde, s., of Ludlow, Salop. 
Zic.,14Feb. [Solemnized by J. Griffith, curate, 
and attested by Ralph Griffiths]. 

John Nichols, b., and Barbara Eleanor Preston, 
s., both this p. 24 April. 

Andrew Oliver, b., p. St. Martin's-io-the-Fields, 
Middx., and Elizabeth Cossier, s., this p. Lie, 
8 May. 

Thomas Masters and Sarah Flood, this p. 23 
May. 

John Holmes, b., and Rachel Perry, s., both this 
p, 14 June. 

William Morriss [signs Mori is], and Jane Rice, 
both this p. 3 July. 

Joseph Dodd and Susanna Eglin, both this p. 
17 July. 

John Wells, b., and Mary Loft, s., both this p. 
Lie, 7 Aug. 

Samuel Stoke, b., and Mary Loft, s., both this p. 
8 Sept. 

Jude Lloyde, b , and Mary Smarfit, s., both this 
p. 10 Sept. 

Jonathan Butler, w., and Catherine Holmes, w., 
both this p. 11 Sept. 

William Mills, b., and Jane Morell, s. , both this 
parish. 15 Sept. 



214 CEISWWK. 



Thomas Rogers, b., and Sarah Marriner, 8., both 
this p. 30 Sept. 

Francis Clayton, b., and Susannah Allin, s. 9 
Oct. 

Thomas Newell, b., and Pheba Dudley [signs 
Dudly], s., both this p. 4 Nov. 

William Tansam, b., and Elizabeth Cooksly, s., 
both this p. 10 Nov. 

William Filby, w., Heston, Middx., and Esther 
Harding, s., this p. 16 Dec. 

1765. 

George Bayly, b., and Joyce Taylor, s., both 
this p. 7 Apr. 

William Keeves, b.,p. St. Botolph, London, and 
Katie Edwards, s., this p. Lie, 23 Apr. 

Robert Banks and Elizabeth Lloyde, both this p. 
2S May. 

James Ansell, of hamlet of Hammersmith, b., p. 
Fulham, and Martha Woods, s. Lie, 2 June. 

Rev. Mr. Arthur Coham and Miss Grace Anne 
Woodroffe, s., both this p. Lie , 29 July. Married 
by me John Oxford [i.e., the Bishop] in presence of 
Plukenette Woodroffe, Nathl. Hume. 

Robert Brown and Frances Green, both this p 
12 Aug. 

John Stringfellow, w., and Elizabeth Taylor, w 
17 Sept. 

Jacob Hencock and Hannah Cain, both this p 
23 Sept. 

William Laws, b., and Sarah Grantham, s 
Lie, 24 Sept. 

Thomas Tindal and Ann Green, both this p 
30 Sept. 

David Cosure, b., and Elizabeth Guillard, s. , both 
this p. 10 Oct. 

George Newbury, b., and Amelia Arnold, s., 
both this p. 20 Oct. 



CBISWICK PARISH REOISTEBS. 215 

John Davis, b., and Elizabeth Rudd, s., both 
this p. 20 Oct. 

John Richardson, b , and Betty Mariner. 28 
.Nov. 

Johu Clark, b., and Ann Miles, s., both this p. 

17 Dec. 

1766. 

Dickenson Nevill, w., and Dorothy Brown, both 
this p. Lie, 24 Feb. 

Matthew Wright, b. , and Elizabeth Thorn, s., 
this p. Lie, 30 March. 

John Andrews, b. , and Amy Kent, s., both this 
p. 3 Apr. 

Edward Cane, w., and Hannah White, s., both 
this p. 4 May. 

Robert Hedge and Sarah Maria Terry, s., both 
p. Lie, 15 May. 

Samuel Welman, b., and Mary Tett, s. , both 
this p. 20 June. 

William Hunt, b., and Hannah Wells, 8., both 
this p. 19 June. 

John Pearce, b., and Mary Mason, 8., both this 
p. 8 July. 

Thomas White, b., and Margaret Hardstaff, s., 
b >th this p. 10 July. 

Francis Farndon, w., and Hannah Goodwin, s., 
both this p. Lie, 31 July. 

John Clark, and Rose Ironmonger, both this p. 

3 Aug. 

John Cave, this p., b., and Betty Read, p. St. 
Martin's-in-the- Field, liberty of Westminster, s. 

4 Sep. 

Thomas Paine, this p., b., and Susannah Smoth- 
wit (signs Susannah Smorthwait), p. Greenwich, 
Kent, 8. Lie, 7 Sept. 

Richard Dennison and Elizabeth Titsell, both 
this p. 9 Sept. 

William Hillier and Sarah Densley, both this p. 
29 Sept. 



216 CI1ISWICK. 



Richard Home, b , and Catherine Wicker, both 
th ; a p. 11 Nov. 

Robert Nichols, b. , and Elizabeth Wilkinson, a., 
both this p. 25 Dec. 

1767. 

Robert Stedall, p. Chiawick, b., and Susannah 
Day, p. Godstone, Surrey, s. Lie , 6 Jan. 

Richard Sheppard, b., and Elizabeth Home, w., 
both of this p. Lie, 23 Feb. 

Thomas Thorn, b., and Mary Ashmore, 8., both 
this p. 14 June. 

James Wells, b.,and Elizabeth Rawlins, a., both 
thia p. 5 July. 

Thomas Cox, b., and Frances Pattin, a., both 
this p. Lie , 30 July. 

John Nockress, w., and Elizabeth Wells, 8., both 
this p. 22 Aug. 

Joseph Bedding, b., and Elizabeth Novill, w., 
both this p. 15 Oct. 

Ralph Griffiths, w., and Elizabeth Clark, a., both 
thia p. Lie, 20 Oct. 

Rev. Mr. William Collins, b , and Charlotte 
Fothergill, a., p. Fulham. Lie, 3 Nov. [Mr. 
Collins was curate of Chiswick, 1764-68]. 

William Pearce, w., and Mary Cox, s., both thia 
p. 16 Nov. 

Robert Gray, w., and Mary Dear, s. , a minor, 
both of Chiswick. Lie, 30 Dec. 

1768. 

John Colley, p. Watford, Hertford, b., and 
Hannah Smith, p. Chiswick, s. Lie, 1 Jan. 

Weedon Rolls, b., and Emm Hearne, both thia 
p Lie, 16 Feb. 

Daniel Styles, b., and Mary Turner, 8., both thia 
p. 3 April. 

Jonas Sparkes, b , and Mary Sherreff, w., both 
thia p. Lie, 11 May. 



CHISWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 217 

Charles Swifleet, b., and Ann Latour, 8. 29 
May. 

John Hook, b., Ann Williams, s., both this p. 
2 June. 

John Godlyman, p. St. Peter, Chalfont, Bucks, 
b. , and Mary Bratherton, this p., s. Lic. y 24 
July. 

William White, b., and Mary Prinks, s., both 
this p. 25 Aug. 

Henry Turvey, p. St. Dunstan, Stepney, 
Middx., and Mary Haymer, this p., s., a minor. 
Lie, 6 Sept. 

Thomas Fruin, b., and Sarah Cox, s., this p. 22 
Sept. 

Thomas Smith, w., and Mary Devonport [signs 
Davenport], both this p, s. Lie, 1 Oct. 

Richard Mason, b. , and Sarah Webb, both this 
p., s. Lie, 9 Oct. 

Richard Stokes, b., and Ann Price, s , both this 
p. 15 Oct. 

William Walker, b., and Mary Medcalfe, s., 
boch this p. 22 Oct. 

David Davis, b., and Elizabeth Williams, s. , 
both this p. 23 Oct. 

John Bishop, b., and Mary Pottral, 8. 23 Oct. 

William Hunt, p. Kingston-on-Thames, Surrey, 
w., and Jane Morris, this p. Lie, 23 Dec. 

William Lake, b., and Ann Workman, a., both 
this p. 27 Dec. 

1769. 

John Shayler, b., and Catherine Goulding, 8., 
both this p. 

Samuel Blizard, b., and Jane Farley, s., both 
this p. 31 Jan. 

Oliver Gouli, b., and Elizabeth Daviss, s., both 
this p. 13 Apr. 

Robert Hammerton, b., and Ann Gunter, s., 
both this p. 22 Apr. 



218 CHISW1CK. 



John AUenson, w., and Jane James, both this p., 
s. Lie, 23 Apr. 

Henry Overall, p. Daventree, co. Northampton, 
b., and Ann Spateman, this p., s. Lie, 18 June. 

Samuel Hutchins, p. Kensington, Middlesex, b., 
and Ann Phelps, this p. Lie, 24 June. 

John Hagues, w., and Mary Brotherton, w., both 
this p. 30 July. 

James Copeland, b., and Elizabeth Wellings, s., 
both this p. 20 Aug. 

James Atkins, hamlet of Hammersmith, b., and 
Ann Sleade, this p., s. 7 Sept. 

Richard Edwards, b., and Elizabeth Moss, s., 
both this p. Lie, 12 Sept. 

John Wheeler, b., and Ann Till, both this p., s. 
Lie, 20 Sept. 

John Geaps, b., and Mary Coleman, s., both this 
p. 8 Oct. 

Robert Hancock, b., and Elizabeth Evans, s., 
both this p. 15 Oct. 

James Moor, b., and Esther Page, s., both this p. 
16 Oct. 

James Langstone, b., and Rachel Swiry, both 
this p. 29 Oct. 

Thomas Stevens, this p., b., and Mary Legerr, 
alias Leddiard, p. Brentford, s. Lie, 31 Oct. 

Nouel Wilkson, b., and Elizabeth Ann Catterns, 
s., both this p. 9 Nov. 

James Good, w., this p., and Elizabeth Tooth, 
p. Fulham. 30 Nov. 

1770. 

Thomas Masters, w., and Mary Whitting, s. 
7 Jan. 

Timothy Ketelbey, b., and Susannah Waller, 8., 
both this p. 17 Feb. 

James Baker, b., and Jane Green, s., both this 
p. 20 Feb. 

Joseph Stoakes, b., and Christian Felton, s., both 
this p. Lie, 21 Apr. 



CHISWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 219 

Thomas Smith, p. Chiswick, and Elizabeth 
Sutton, p. Bedfont., s. 26 Apr. 

John Alderman Bell, this p., w., and Mary 
Kerchevall, p. Ealing, s., a minor. 28 Apr. 

William Seymour, b., and Elizabeth Buckle, a. 
Lie, 10 May. 

William Benson, b., and Jane Wood, s., both 
this p. 4 June. 

Richard Starling, b., and Mary Jones, s. 17 
June. 

Samuel Plant, p. St. Botolph, Aldersgate, "Lon- 
don, w., and Martha Dean, this p., s. Lie, 
3 July. 

Thomas Denney, b. , and Sarah Simpson, a., 
both this p. 15 July. 

Thomas Witts, b., and Sarah Brown, s., both 
this p. 9 Sept. 

James Jeffery, p. Abbott's Sand, Hants, b., and 
Elizabeth Blackbird, this p., s. Lie, 25 Sept. 

Edward Loveman, b., and Mary Street, both of 
this p., s. Lie., 29 Sept. 

John Jeffery s, b., and Elizabeth Blake, s., both 
this p. 8 Oot. 

William Jewell, b., and Susannah Allom, b., 
both this p. 2 Dec 

Thomas Dean, w., and Anne Parry, both this p. 
Lic.y 18 Dec. 

1771. 

Henry Pennal, p. Queenborough, Kent, b., and 
Mary Webb, this p., s. Lie, 10 Feb. 

Nathaniel Young, b., and Jane Harris, 8., both 
this p. 7 Apr. 

John Bu8Coll, p. St. Margaret, Westminster, 
Middx., w., and Elizabeth Snell, this p., a. Lie, 
27 Apr. 

James Lee, b., and Betty Jordon, a., both this 
p. Lie, 28 May. 



220 CtTISWICK. 



George Twitehiugs, p. St. Margar3t, Pattens 
London, w., and Sarah Burton, this p. Lie, 12, 
June. 

Allan Pollok, p. Woolwich, Esq., w. and Anne 
flick es, this p., w. Lie, 24 June. 

Thomas Appleton, p. East Hendrich, Berks, b., 
and Elizabeth Robey, this p., s. Lie, 8 Aug. 

William Pether, b., and Ruth Smart, s. 14 
Aug. 

John Allenson, w., and Ann West, both this p., 
b. Lie, 17 Aug. 

George Westall, b., and Abigail Honey, s., both 
this p. 18 Aug. 

James Mead, b., and Sarah Perrin, s., both this 
p. 15 Oct. 

Richard Cook, b., and Sarah Wild, s, both this 
p. Lie. , 3 Nov. 

Matthew Phillips, of Mortlake, Surrey, b., and 
Mary Bond, this p., s. Lie, 5 Nov. 

John Maybank, w., and Grace Chappell, w. , 
both this p. 24 Nov. 

Robert Bates, b., and Elizabeth Moore, w., both 
this p. 13 Dec. 

1772. 

Robert Thuell, b., and Mary Selby, s., both this 
p. 26 Jan. 

Abraham Robinson, b., and Elizabeth Willett, s. 
2 March. 

Dickenson Nevill, w., and Susannah Lucas, both 
this p., s. Lie, 27 March. 

William Denney, b., and Lucy Sarah Gipsey, s., 
a minor, both this p. 20 Apr. 

Nathanil Robinson, b., and Sarah Folley, s., 
both this p. 3 May. 

Right Hon. George Carpenter, Earl of Tyrconnel, 
Ireland, b., and Right Hon. Frances Manners 
(natural and lawful daughter of the late most Hon. 
John Manners, deceased, commonly called Marquis 



CBISWJCK PARISH REGISTERS. 221 

of Granby), s., a minor of this p., m. by sp. lie, at 
Sutton Court House, 9 July, by Thos. Bristol. 
Witnesses, E. Somerset, Geo. Sutton, Granby. 

John Sansom, b., and Ann Stokes, s., both this p. 
21 Aug. 

William Young, p. St. George, Hanover-square, 
Middx, b., and Martha Martin, this p., s. Lie % , 

5 Sept. 

William Walker, w., and Sarah Beless, a., both 
this p. 29 Sept. 

1773. 

William Banvis, this p., b., and Sarah Lawson, 
p. Lewisham, Kent. 4 Jan. 

Mark Stacey, b , and Ann Steens, s., both this p. 

6 May. 

William Waldren, b., aud Barbara Murrell, 
s., both thil p. 10 May. 

Thomas Wise and Esther Qwley, both this p. 
19 June. 

William Raven, p. St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, b., 
and Susannah Salmon, this p. Lie, 26 June. 

Samuel Beever, b., and Sarah Overton, s,, both 
this p. 2 July. 

John Ashley, b., and Mary Loveman, e. 27 
July. 

Thomas Ockford, b., and Mary Howell, s., both 
this p. 1 Nov. 

Francib Spratley, b. , and Ann Atkins, 8., both 
this p. 19 Nov. 

Richard White, b., and Eleanor Herd, 8., both 
this p. 6 Dec. 

Henry Hammerston, b., and Margaret Bristoe, 
s. , both this p. 31 Dec. 

1774. 

Robert Hall, b, and Ann Cannon, s., both this 
p. 6 Jan. 

Matthew Wright, w., and Susannah Nevill, 
w., both this p. Lie., 12 Jan, 



222 CHISWICK. 



George Cater, b., and Sarah Peacock, a., 
both this p. Lie, 27 Jan. 

Crispin Jackson, p. St. Clement Danes, Middx., 
b., and Jane Gibson, this p., s. Lie, 27 Jan. 

Francis Wright, b., and Jane Baker, w. 13 
Feb. 

John Williams, b., and Elizabeth Perrin, b., both 
this p. 20 March. 

Robert Wells, b. f and Ann Hobbs, s., both this 
p. 18 Apr. 

Charles Parr, b., and Jane Shaw, s., both this p. 
30 May. 

John Rowland, b., and Elizabeth Wood, s. , both 
this p. 16 Aug. 

Joseph Wells, b., and Mary Lloyd, s., both this 
p. 17 Aug. 

Thomas Bates, p. Kensington, b., and Eleanor 
Wilkinson, this p., s. Lie 6 Sep. 

Benjamin Hilliard, p. Ealing, Middx., b., and 
Deborah Hearne, this p., s. Lie, 2 Dec. 

Richard Moore b., and Hannah Runnington, s., 
both this p. 16 Dec. 

1775. 

William Laws, w., and Mary Lambert, both this 
p., b. Lie, 17 Feb. 

James Norris and Martha Burgess, both this p. 
6 June. 

Sir William Stanley, Bart., of Hooton, co. 
Chester, b., and Barbara Towneley, of this p., s. 
Lie, 2 Aug. 

Joseph Beech, w. , and Maria Brown, s., both 
this p. 12 Sept. 

Jonathan Stubbins, b., and Rachel Corn, w, 
both this p. Lie, 7 Nov. 

Thomas Newman, this p., b., and Mary New- 
man, p. Froxfield, Wilts, s. Lie, 29 Dec. 

John Southern, b., and Sarah Hobbs, a., both 
this p. 17 May. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 223 

George Darling, b., and Ann May, 8., this p. 
20 May. 

Thomas Webb, b., and Sarah Deacon, s. 28 
May. 

John Strover, b., and Mary Rogers, s., both this 
p. 14 June. 

Henry Kent, b., and Margaret Wantling, both 
this p.; s. 2 July. 

George Essex, w. , and Elizabeth Wake, w., both 
this p. 26 Aug. 

William Brown, b., and Jane Pickering, s., both 
this p. 18 Sept. 

Thomas King, w., Hannah Reed, s. 8 Oct. 

George Warren, p. Brentford, Middx., b. f and 
Panth Palsom, s., this p. Lie, 7 Dec. 

William Hooking, b., and Sarah Tuttle, s., both 
this p. 26 Dec. 

1776. 

Philip Green, b., and Susannah Fisher, 8., both 
this p. Lie, 7 Jan. 

Henry Stephenson, p. Acton, Mid., b., and Saiah 
Ruberry, p. Chiswick, e., a minor. Lie, 16 
March. 

Samuel Bishop, b., and Mary Hearne, both this 
p., a. Lie, 29 March. 

James Hooper, w., and Bright Frazier, w., both 
this p. 27 May. 

Joseph Adams, b., and Phillice Matthews, e., 
both this p. 2 June. 

Robert Rodbourn, b., and Ann Childs, a., both 
this p. 9 June. 

Joseph Greenwood, p. St. John, Hackney, 
Mddx., b., and Elizabeth Green, this p., s. Lie, 
11 June. 

Christopher Sunnon, b., and Elizabeth Timminga, 
a., both this p. 17 June. 



224 CH IS WICK. 



John Johnson, b., and Esther Bunday, s., both 
this p. 18 Aug. 

Joseph Gislingham, p. St. Mary Le Bow, Lon- 
don, b., and Mary Jones, this p., s. Lie, 18 Aug. 

William Hunt, b., and Mary Parker, e., both 
residing in Chiswick. 2 Sept. 

William Woodward, b. , and Frances Larkham, 
s. both this p. Lie, 9 Nov. 

John Bifield, b. , Sarah Turner, s., both this p. 
1 Dec. 

Samuel Robarts, of Beverley, York, Esq., b. t 
and Ann Blackmore, this p., s. Lie, 22 Dec. 

1777. 

Daniel Gould, this p., b., and Jane Myler, p. 
Bushey, co. Hertford, s. Lie, 6 Jan. 

Alexander Watson, p. St. Paul, Covent Garden, 
Middx., b., and Elizabeth Blackmore, this p., s. 
Lie, 12 Jan. 

Richard Marks, b., and Mary Jepp, s., both this 
p. 2 Feb. 

James Wall, b., and Aon Matthews, s , both 
this p. 10 Feb. 

William Jennings, b., and Mary Markham, a., 
both this p. 11 Feb. 

John Stretton, b., and Sarah Thorington, s. , 
both this p. 8 Apr. 

James Marriner, b., and Mary Chip, s., both 
this p. 9 Judc 

James Goodwin, b., and Ruth Price, s., both 
this p. 7 July. 

Thomas Jeff, b., and Hannah Russen, 8., both 
this p. 20 July. 

Hon. William Henry Bouverie, b., and Right 
Hon. Lady Bridget Douglas, s, of this p. Lie, 16 
Aug. 

William Fraser, p. St. Margaret's, Westminster, 
Middx., b , and Margaret Fraser, this p., 8. Lie 
18 Sept. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 225 

James Tradaway, b., and Dinah Saunders, s., 
both this p. 29th Sept. 

Simon Goulding, b., and Sarah King, b., both 
this p. 7 Oct. 

Moses Hadley, p. S. Giles-in-the-Field, b., and 
Ann Young, this p., s. Ztc, 9 Oct. 

James Thompson, b. , and Mary Edwards, s., 
both this p. 26 Oct. 

Joseph Clinch, p. St. Bridget, otherwise St. 
Bride, London, b , and Anne Clarke, this p., s. 
Lic.y 19 Dec. 

1778. 

John Clarke, w., and Catherine Exley, w. , both 
of Turnham Green. Ztc, 7 Jan. 

Edward Spencer, b., and Elizabeth Moore, s. , 
both this p. 1 March. 

George Boon, b., and Sarah Curtice, w., both 
this p. 19 Apr. 

William Hawkins, b., and Frances Morris, s. 
10 May. 

William Baldwin, b., and Mary Pedder, w., both 
this p. 14 May. 

Edmund Elkins, p. St. Mary, Gilford, Surrey, 
w., and Elizabeth Barnes, this p., w. Lie, 28 
June. 

Richard Little, b., and Ann Close, s., both this 
p. 19 July. 

William Walker, b. , and Susannah Young, s., 
both this p. [entered thus, but not married]. 

James Williams, b., and Jane Jones, a., both 
this p. 20 July. 

Charles Dwyer, b. , and Elizabeth Spreadberey, 
s., both this p. 12 Oct. 

John Sich, b., and Ann Ruberry, s., both this 
p. Lic.y 28 Oct. 

Thomas Parr, p. St. Mary, Aldermanbury, Lon- 
don, b., and Wilhelmina Burbank, this p., s. 
Lic.y 9 Nov. 



226 CIUS WICK. 



James Bond, b., and Mary Coxson, s., both this 
p. 16 Nov. 

William Fish, w., and Elizabeth Lotman, s., 
both this p. Lie, 9 Dec. 

Thomas Hobbs, w., and Elizabeth Giles, both 
this p., s. 20 Dec. 

Joseph Moreton, b., and Mary VVynn, s., both 
this p. 24 Dec. 

1779. 

William Close, b., and Susannah Green, s., both 
this p. 24 Jan. 

Cornelius Moore, b., and Mary Melson, s , both 
this p. 13 Feb. 

Samuel Stansby, b., and Elizabeth Holt, both 
this p. 25 March. 

John Sheldon, p. St. Gile's-in-the-Fields, Middx., 
b., and Rebecca Palmer, this p., s. Lie. , 8 Apr. 

William Hones, w., and Mary Boviagton, w., 
both this p. 14 Apr. 

Samuel Russell, p. Ealing, Middx., b., and 
Sophia Hoskins, this p., s. Zic, 4 May. 

James Attmore, w., and Ann Wooster, w , both 
this p. 6 July. 

Edward Bruce, b., and Elizabeth Bunday, s., 
both this p. 24 Oct. 

John Richason, b., and Ann Brown, w., both this 
p. 2 Nov. 

Edward Blackmore, this p., b., and Dorothy 
Firmin, p. St. Mary-le-Strand, s. Lie., 18 Nov. 

1780. 

John Huggins, b., and Sarah Susannah Fortune, 
s., both this p. 22 Jan. 

Thomas Moore, b., and Elizabeth Turnbull, s. , 
both this p. 22 Jan. 

Edward Carter, b. , and Ann Brooks, s., both 
this p. 2 Feb. 

Henry Simmons, w, and Elizabeth Salter, s., 
both this p. 8 Feb. 



CHISWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 227 

Edward Smith F088, p. St. Martin, Ironmonger- 
lane, b., and Ann Rose, this p., s. Lie, 17 Aug. 

George Towneley, w., and Margaret La Forest 
[signs Marguerite de la Forest], s., both this p. 
Lie, 2 Sept. 

Samuel Mason, b., and Mary Powell, s., both 
this p. 5 Nov. 

1781. 

William Ashton, b., and Mary Harding, s., both 
this p. 14 Feb. [so entered but not solemnized]. 

John Christian Lubck (sic.), p. St. Martin-in- 
the- Fields, b., and AnnEichhorn, this p., s. Lie, 
18 Feb. 

George Heme, of Basingstoke, Hants, b., and 
Ann Fisher, this p., s. Lie, 29 Apr. 

Thomas Denham, p. St. Sepulchre, co. Middx., 
b., and Sarah Brown, this p. Lie, 28 June. 

Joseph Ogle, b., and Sarah Price, s. 5 Aug. 

William Taylor, St. Mary Lebone, Middx., w., 
and Maria Cantwell, this p., w. Lie, 15 Sept. 

Robert Hammitt and Mary Jane Woodhouse, 
both this p. 2 Oct. 

Russel Brown, b. , ami Mary Dukes, 8., both 
this p. 14 Oct. 

Francis Barnet, b., and Mary Richardson, s., 
both this p. Lie, 1 Dec. 

1782. 

James Matthews, b., and Ann Flood, both this 
p. 4 March. 

George Hoskins, b. , and Catherine Rushing, a., 
both this p. 11 May. 

Daniel Rowles, b., and Ann Ridgards, s., both 
this p. 19 May. 

Roger Thomas, p. Fulham, w., and Amelia Rou- 
biliac, this p., s. Lie, 11 June. 

Thomas Tonkin, b., and Elizabeth Milnei, s., 
both this p. 15 Aug. 



228 CHISWICK. 



Henry Walther, p. St. Martin's-in-the Fields, b., 
and Mary Morice, this p., s. Lie, 29 Aug. 

Eagle Sands, b., and Elizabeth Ben ward, w. , 
both this p. 1 Dec. 

John Sermon, p. St» George, Midd., b., and 
Sarah Loveman, this p., s. /Ac, 5 Dec. 

James Grant, w., and Susannah Fee, s., 25 
Dec. 

Thomas Stone, b.,and Maria Hackshaw, s., both 
this p. 30 Dec. 

1783. 

John Bones, b., and Ann Humphrey, s. 10 Feb. 

John Teede, p. St. George, Hanover-square, 
Middx., b., and Elizabeth Woods, this p., a. Lie, 
12 Feb. 

Richard Pearce, b., and Elizabeth Bruce, w. 
25 Apr. 

John Manders, b., and Margaret Huddlestone, 
s., both this p. 13 May. 

Charles Burney, b., and Sarah Rose, s., both 
this p. Lie. , 24 June. 

William Gould, b., and Mary Bryant, s. 26 
June. 

George Shepperd, b., and Elizabeth Shepperd, 
w. Lie., 9 July. 

Edward Bailey, w., and Mary Westmore, w., 
both this p. 10 July. 

John Dean, b., and Elizabeth Fielder, s. 20 
July. 

Benjamin Hubble, b., and Catherine Sharpray, 
s. 9 Aug. 

Thomas Tompson, w., and Elizabeth Granday, 
w., both this p. 29 Sept. 

William Hewett, b., and Ruth Goodwin, w. 26 
Oot. 

Robert Roffe, p. Yealing, Middx., w., and Ann 
Fisher, this p., w. Lie, 30 Nov. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 229 

1784. 

Henry Webb, w. , and Elizabeth Fisher, s., both 
this p. Lie, 3 Feb. 

John Fleming, p. 3t. Mary-le-Bow, London, b., 
and Elizabeth Preston, this p., s. Lie, 8 April. 

Anthony James, b,, and Sarah Jackson, s., both 
this p. 12 Apr. 

Rev. Samuel Peshall, clerk, b., and Charlotte 
Crawford, s , both this p. 3 May. 

Stephen Snalgrove and Sarah Morgan, both this 
p. 9 Aug. 

William Cook, w., and Jane Levings [signs 
Levving8], w., both this p. 23 Aug. 

William Piatt, b., and Sarah Grainger, s. 29 
Aug. 

Stephen Thatcher and Elizabeth Hurd, both this 
p. 30 Aug. 

John Gordon and Sirah Wheatley, both this p. 
30 Sep. 

Thomas Jeff, w., and Ann Lukes, w. , both this 
p. 4 Oct. [Not solemnized]. 

Charles Peirce and Elizabeth Bramley, both this 
p. 17 Oct. [Not solemnized]. 

William Walter, b., and Frances Cole, s., both 
this p. 21 Oct. 

William Blackmore, p. Chiswick, Middx., and 
Jane Lucas, p. Coulsdon, Surrey, s. Lie, 27 
Nov. 

1785. 

John Allen and Phebe Hutchens, both this p. 
9 January. 

James Saker and Mary Stocker, both this p. 9 
Jan. 

Edward Wheatley and Phebe Blackmore, both 
this p. 28 March. 

William Ayers and Sarah Norton, both this p. 
29 May. 



230 CHISWICK. 



James Norria and Martha Burges, both this p. 
6 June. 

Sir William Stanley, Bart., of Hooton, Chester, 
b., and Barbara Towneley, p. Chiswick, s. Lie, 
2 Aug. 

Joseph Beech, w., and Maria Brown, s., both 
this p. 12 Sept. 

Jonathan Stubbins, b., and Rachel Corn, of this 
p., w. Lie, 7 Nov. 

Thomas Newman, p. Chiswick, b., and Mary 
Newman, p. Froxfield, Wilts., s. Lie, 29 Dec. 

1786. 

Thomas Dyer, b. , and Mary Catterns, s. 
1 Jan. 

Nicholas Jossph Soilleux, this p., b., and Mary 
Woodcock, p. Kensiigton, Middx. a. Lie, 5 
Jan. 

Isaac Griffin and Martha Dukes, both this p. 
15 Jan. 

William Turner and Sarah Shuesmith, both this 
p. Feb. [Not solemnised]. 

John Burford, this p., b., and Mary Servant, p 
Ealing, s. Lie, 18 Feb. 

Benjamin Allen, b., and Sarah Clark, s., both 
this p. 16 Apr. 

Edward Chipp, b. , and Frances Hughes, s. 17 
Apr. 

John Rich, b., and Elizabeth Compton, s., both 
this p. 27 Apr. 

Samuel Wood, b., and Harriott Suter, a minor, 
s., both this p. Lie, 22 Oct. 

James Carter, b., and Hannah Dean, s., both 
this p. 11 Dec. 

1787. 

Rev. John Hadley Swain, clerk, p. Paddington, 
Middx., w., and Ann Debaufre, this p. Lie, 1 
Jan. 

Richard Cook, b., and Ann Coffea, s., both this 
p. 11 Feb. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 231 

Stephen Howell, w., and Martha King, a., both 
this p. Lie, 12 Feb. 

Thomas Brayne, p. St. Mary-le-Bone, b., and 
Elizabeth Colley, this p., a. Lie, 22 Feb. 

James Wells, b., and Elizabeth Harrison, s. 9 
May. 

Jeremiah Joseph Thompson, b., and Rebecca 
Willshire, s. Lie, 28 June. 

David Croll, b., and Mary Watteon, s., both this 
p. 30 June. 

John Searle, b., and Hannah Grapes, s., both 
this p. 8 July. 

Richard Burford, p. St. Mary Magdalen, 
Oxford, Esq., b., and Sarah Costar, this p., s., a 
minor. Lie, 7 Aug. 

Thomas Hunt, b. , and Ann Durham, s., both this 
p. 12 Aug. 

George Dawsou, p. St. Ann, Westminster, 
Middx., b. , and Rachel Kevers, p. Chiswick, s. 
Lie, 26 Aug. 

John Shard, w., and Mary Turner, s. , both this 
p. 14 Oct. 

Thomas Green, b., and Mary Wtlls, s., both this 
p. 5 Nov. 

1788. 

George Brown, b., and Mary Wright, s., both 
this p. 6 Jan. 

Benjamin Bingey, b. , and Hannah Macpharson, 
8., both this p 16 Jan. 

William Dodd, b., and Mary Weaver, s., both 
p. 17 June. 

William Oakley, b., and Mary Colley, s., both 
this p. 24 June. 

Eiwar i Lewis, p. Queen Hithe, London, b., and 
Augusta Beauvais, this p., s., a minor. 3 July. 

John Sandeford, this p., w., and Elizabeth 
Bowler, p St. George-the-Martyr, a. Lie, 10 
July. 



232 CH1SWICK. 



George Yeaw, b., and Mary Fleetwood, 8., both 
this p. 7 Sept. 

William Bunday, w.» and Catherine Chapman, 
w., both this p. 22 Sept. 

Henry Rickett, p. Harmondsworth, co. Middx., 
b., and Sarah Taylor, p. Chiswick, s. Lie, 28 Sept. 

Robert Newberry, b., and Eleanor Hodgshon. 
s., both this p. 28 Sept. 

Frederick Francis, b., and Sarah Ford, a., both 
this p. 1 Nov. 

John Perkins, b., and Mary Bunday, s., both 
this p. 8 Nov. 

James Gordon, Esq. , b, and Sarah Mackay, s., 
both this p. Lie, 18 Dec. 

1789. 

Thomas Burrin, b., and Sarah B'ord, s., both this 
p. Lie, 26 Jan. 

Samuel Wing and Grace Lewis, both this p. 26 
Jan. 

William Wakeman, b., and Letitia Pike, s., both 
this p. 2 Feb. 

William Cripps, b. , and Mercy Wheeler, s. 19 
Feb. 

James Duglass, b., and Elizabeth Clarke, s. 12 
Apr. 

Charl** Trueman, b., and Ann Sumpton, s., both 
this p. 20 Apr. 

William Pearse, b., and Lucy Lucas, s., both 
this p. 20 May. 

William Sanders, b., and Ann Hall, s., both this 
p. 8 June. 

Thomas Clifford, b.,and Ann Boviagton, s., both 
this p. 6 July. 

George Bursill, b., and Ann Marriner, s., both 
this p. 6 Sep. 

William Davison, b., and Rebecca Southwell, a. , 
both this p. 27 Sep. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 233 

William Bryon, of Hammersmith, Middx., b., 
and Mary Wood, this p., s. Lie, 27 Oct. 

Thomas Catterns, b., and Flower Tindall, s., 
both this p. 9 Nov. 

1790. 

James Newman, b., and Olive Wise, s., both 
this p. 4 Jan. 

Richard Austin, b., and Ann Waterer, s., both 
this p. Lie, 14 May. 

Thomas Houghton, p., and Ann Dudley, w. 24 
May. 

John Robert, b., and Eleanor Haynes, s., both 
this p. 27 May. 

William Barnard, p. Richmond, Surry, b., and 
Sarah Elizabeth Dancer, of Little Sutton, in this 
p. Lie. of Bp. of London, 17 July. 

Thomas Baaven, and Mary Phillips, both this 
p. 28 July. 

John Ford, Esq. of Bath, b., and Elizabeth 
Sheppard, this p., s. Lie, 29 July. 

James Hobbs, w., and Lucy Hughesley, s. , both 
this p. 15 Aug. 

Willim [sic.\ Thorne, b., and Mary Moore, s., 
both this p. 5 Sep. 

Edward Bisshopp, this p., Esq., b., and Jane 
Atkinson, p. St. James, Westminscer, Middx. 
Lie , 9 Sep. 

Thomas Richardson, b., and Alice Hook, this p., 
w. Lie, 7 Oct. 

Peter New, b. , and Sussanna Hearne, 8., both 
this p. 7. Oct. 

John Harrington, b., and Charlotte Heston, s. , 
both tMs p. 15 Nov. 

John Brown, b., and Fanoy Arthur, w., both this 
p. 29 Dec. 

Laurance Hedges, p., Isleworth, Middx., b., 
and Silly Hillary, this p., w. Lie, 30 Dec. 



234 CH1SWICK. 



1791. 

Abraham Shepard, b., and Dorothy Broughton 
Swier, s. 31 Jan. 

Riohard Hion, b., and Catherine Shepherd, s., 
both this p. 15 Feb. 

Daniel New, this p., w., and Elizabeth Lock, p. 
Waltham, co. Essex, s. Lie, 20 Feb. 

William Hutchings, b., and Mary Thome, w., 
both this p. 7 Maroh. 

John Thomas, b., and Lydia Acton, s., both 
this p. 7 March. 

Thomas Leach, b., and Jane Webb, w. , both this 
p. 19 March. 

John Landford, b., and Mary Wild, s., both this 
p. 20 March. 

Joseph Bottomley, b., and Susanna Hall, this p., 
s. Lic.y 5 May. 

Thomas Snow, b, and Ann Bailey, s., both this 

P- 

John Jones, b., and Maria Canes, s., both this p. 

11 Aug. 

Joseph Smith, b., and Ann John, s., both this p. 

22 Aug. 

John Parrott, b., and Susanna Stocker, s., both 
this p. 4 Sept. 

Thomas Pearse, b., and Martha Sapswcrth, s., 
both this p. 25 Sept. 

Thomas Martin, b., and Mary Ann Bailey, s., 
both this p. 

Stephen Brown, p. Ealing, Middx., b., a minor, 
Jane Lavell, of this p., s., with consent of 
Susannah Jones, formerly Brown, the natural and 
lawful mother of the said minor. Lie, 7 Dec. 

John Goodrick, b., and Mary Palmer, s. 19 Dec. 
1792. 

Francis Williams Sanders, p. St. Dunstan-in- 
the-West, London, Esq., b., and Ann Griffith, this 
parish, s. Lie, 31 Mar. 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 235 

Edward Ward, p. St. Michael, Derby, b., and 
Sarah Griffith, this p., a., Lic> 31 Mar. 

John INewell, b., and Susanna Moullinex, s. t 
both this p. 17 Jun9. 

Henry Smith, b., and Ann Small, s., both this 

p. 18 June. 

John McKinnon, of Glasgow in North Britain, 
Esq., b., and Dame Margaret Affleck, this p., w. 
Lie, 15 Aug. 

Abraham Hay ward, b., and Sarah Kent, s., both 
this p. 19 Aug. 

Edward Smith, b., and Jane Wheeler, s., both 
this p. 26 Aug. 

John Cearyear Skelhorn, b., and Mary Bellamy, 
s., both this p. 2 Sept. 

Thomas Palmer, this p., b., and Anna Smith, 
p. Allhallo^s, Barking, London, s. Lie, 6 Sept. 

George Wells, b., a minor (with consent of James 
Wells, his father), and Elizabeth Hatch, s., both 
this p. Lie, 9 Oct. 

John Deer, b., and Ann Walters, s., both this p. 
11 Oct. 

Thomas Dancer, b., and Mary Clinch, w. both 
this p. Lie, 3 Nov. 

William Cooper, b., and Jane Griffith, s., both 
this p. 19 Nov. 

Frederick Bischoff, p. St. James', Westminster, 
w., and Penelope Priscilla Augusta von Mayersbach 
this p., a., a minor, with the consent of Alexander 
Ferdinand von Mayersbach, her father. Lie, 9 
Dec. 

Thomas Wainewright, Esq., p. St. Luke, 
Chelsea, b., and Ann Griffith, this p., s., a minor, 
with consent of Ralph Griffith, Esq., her father. 
Lie., 13 Dec. 

1793. 
Samuel Adams, b., and Mary Hurdis, 8., both 
this p. 13 March. 



236 CHISWICK. 



Thos. Wells, b., and Sarah King, s., both this p. 
1 April. 

Alexander Roxburgh, b., and Elizabeth William- 
son, s., a minor, with consent of Thomas William- 
son, her father. Lie, 27 May. 

John Sansbury, b., and Elizabeth Brown, s. , 
both this p. 16 June. 

William James, b, and Latetia Williams, a., 
both this p. 8 July. 

William Collier, b., and Sarah Babbs, s., both 
this p. 19 Aug. 

Thomas Dyer, b., and Sarah Seekings, s. 8 
Sept. 

William Grimsdall, b., and Elizabeth Adams, s., 
both this p. Lie. , 26 Sept. 

Thomas Gevers, w., and Betty Stephens, s., both 
this p. 26 Sept. 

Edward Pearce, b., and Mary Harrison, s. 20 
Oct. 

Robert Thompson, b. , and Mary Cuff, s., both 
this p. 9 Nov. 

George Mackenzie, p. St. Dunstan's-in-the-East, 
b., and Margaret Mackenzie, this p., s. Lie* 7 
Dec. 

Charles Neller, b., and Ann Turrell, s., both 
this p. 22 Dec. 

1794. 
James Chapman, b., and Elizabeth Reed, s., both 
this p. 12 Jan. 

William Sanders, b., and Elizabeth Kestel, s., 
both this p. 24 Feb. 

Christopher Posten, w., and Susannah Ibbett, w., 
both this p. 21 April. 

John Messenger, b., and Mary Merrett, s., both 
this p. 4 May. 

Joseph Gunn, b., and Sarah Booth, w., both this 
p. 15 June . 



CHISW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 237 

John Kensley, b. , a minor, and Catherine Wells, 
e., a minor, both this p., with consent of John 
Kensley, his father, and Elizabeth Wells, w., her 
mother. Lie, 16 July. 

Joshua Kirby Trimmer, Esq., p. Ealing, b., and 
Eliza Willett Thompson, this p , a., a minor, with 
consent of John Thompson, Esq., her father. Lie, 
19 July. 

James Wood, b,, and Elizabeth Davis, s. Lie, 

25 Aug. 

Colin Witherspoon, b., and Ann Maling, a., both 
this p. 25 Aug. 

William Humphris, b., and Jane Atkinson, s. 6 
Oct. 

Alexander Beauvais, this p., b., and Mary 
Dudgeon, p. St. Martin-in-the-Field, s., a minor, 
with consent of Alexander Dudgeon, her father. 
Lie, 25 Oct. 

David North, b., and Ann Clay, 8., both this p. 

26 Oct. 

William George, b., and Sarah Kendall, s., both 
this p. 15 Nov. 

Joseph JohnsoD, b., and Mary Vincent, s., this 
p. 14 Dec. 

1795. 

Moses Coster, b., and Ann Elizabeth Harbird, 
a., both this p. 11 Jan. 

Henry Penny, w., and Bathsheba Smith, s., both 
this p. Lie, 17 Jan. 

William Harrison, b., and Charlotte Taylor, s., 
both this p. 23 March. 

James Trimming, b., and Mary Franklin, s. , 
both this p. 6 April. 

James Peters, b., and Elizabeth Grimshaw, s., 
both this p. 6 April. 

Henry Parker, b., and Sym Floyd, s,, both this 
p. 24 May. 



238 CHISWICK. 



James Pollard, b., and Elizabeth Saint, w. 25 
May. 

John Morrison, Esq., w., this p., and Ann Bate- 
man, of Hammersmith, s. Lie. , 1 June. 

James Scott, p. Wellwyn, Herts, b., and Mary 
Harden, this p., s. Lie., 6 Sept. 

James Phillips, b., and Catherine Sweet, s., both 
this p. 15 Sept. 

James Haime, w. , and Sarah Colyer, w., both 
this p. 17 Sept. 

George Ruflsr, b., and Elizabeth Ottaway, a., 
both this p. 2 Nov. 

William Benton, w., and Lucy Perry, s., both 
this p. 2 Nov. 

Daniel Shepherd, b., and Jane Brounet, s., both 
this p. 5 Nov. 

George Charlotte William Ernst, p. St. Martins- 
in-the-Fields, Middx., b., and Elizabeth Rouge- 
mont, this p., w. Lie , 5 Nov. 

Henry Ryall, b., and Ann Lewis, s., both this p. 
29 Nov. 

Joseph John Jacob, b., and Alice Clearfield, w. , 
both this p. 30 Nov. 

James Jenkins, p. St. Luke, Chelsea, Middx. , 
w., and Elizabeth Mary Gunn, this p., w. Lie, 
10 Dec. 

James Turner, w., and Elizabeth Simpson, s., 
both this p. 26 Dec. 

1796 
William Chapman, b, and Jane Douthwaite, a., 
both this p. 21 Feb. 

Moses Fisher, this p., b., a minor, with consent 
of William Fisher, his father, and Mary Scar- 
borough, a., of Fulham. Lie, 3 Maroh. 

Richard Spreadborough, b., and Esther Poole, 
8., both this p. 6 March. 

Rev. John Collins, p. East Lockinge, Berks, b., 
and Martha Smith, this p., a., a minor, with con- 



CH1SWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 239 

sent of James Smith, Esq., her father. Lie, 31 
March. 

John Dean, b., and Bettaey Hillier, e., both this 
p. 2 May. 

Richard Ponman, b. , and Esther Dean, e. 11 
July. 

Richard Thursfield, p. Claverley, co. Salop, 
clerk, b., and Letitia Periam, of this p. Lie, 12 
July. 

William Beachy, b., and Anne Edwards, 8. 25 
July. 

James Byard, b., and Jane Forsyth, s., both this 
p. Lie, 16 Oct. 

George Green, b., and Mary Lake, s., both this 
p. 5 Nov. 

Stephen Warwick, b., and Mary Wotton, s., 
both this p. 13 Nov. 

William Hazel, b., and Margaret Willowby, 8. 
5 Deo. 

William Honnor, b., and Elizabeth Holman, 8., 
both this p. Lie., 26 Deo. 

1797. 

Henry Borgust, b., and Sarah Welman, w., both 
this p. 19 Jan. 

Thomas Paris, b., and Jane Jackson, s., both 
this p. 17 April. 

Barnett Wells, b., and Mary Packer, 8., both 
this p. 22 April. 

William Peters, w., and Ann Newman, s., both 
this p. 7 May. 

Richard Biggs, b., and Elizabeth Bellworth, e. 
28 May. 

Iron Mason, b., and Mary Hawkins, s., both 
this p. 29 May. 

Enoch Wingate, b., and Ann Lefever, a., both 
this p. 31 July. 



240 CHISWICK. 



John Young, b., and Esther Crew, s., both this 
p. 13 Aug. 

George Maskell, b., and Elizabeth Wood, 8. 
9 Sept. 

John Keen, b. , and Catherine Boyce, w., both 
this p. 12 Sept. 

Samuel Earlam, b., and Susanna West, s., both 
this p. 24 Sept. 

Thomas Wise, b., and Ann Rogers, s , both this 
p. 25 Sept. 

John Saunders, b., and Frances Patten, s., both 
this p. 9 Oct. 

Robert Jennings, b., and Sarah Hubbard, s., 
both this p. 29 Oct. 

Thomas Ruberry, b., and Elizabeth Green, both 
this p., s. Lie, 1 Nov. 

John Frederick Smith, Wakefield, co. York, b.^ 
and Emma Thompson Aubrey Howorth, this p., 
s. Lie, 2 Nov. 

James Gulliford, b., and Hannah Mansfield, s., 
both this p. 19 Nov. 

Richard Hastings, b., and Hannah Stanbrook, 8., 
both this p. 21 Nov. 

John Heather, b., and Mary Smart, s., both this 
p. 25th Dec. 

John Newman, b., and Jane Hillier, s., both this 
p. 25 Dec. 

1798. 

. Thomas Sawyer, b., and Martha Sims, s., both 
this p. 20 Jan. 

Thomas Nicholas, w. , and Ann Phillips, s., both 
thisp. 28 Jan. 

Richard Price, b., and Elizabeth Chapman, e. 
30 Jan. 

William Hewitt, w., and Mary Robertson, w. 
Lie., 27 Mar. 



CHISW1CK PARISH REGISTERS. 241 

George Keeley, b., and Rachel Pattison, a., both 
this p. 9 Apr. 

William Towers, b., and Sarah Sidrick, s. 21 Apr. 

John Linton, b., Ealing p., and Ann Domett, 
ChiBwick, w. 25 Apr. 

Henry Wallis, b., and Jane Heather, s., both 
this p. 11 June. 

John Sandeford, w., and Susannah Owen, s., 
both this p. 12 June. 

John Bundock, Esq., p. Chiswick, w., and Mary 
Bundock, p. St. George, Bloomsbury, s. Lie, 21 
June. 

Wm. Vineing, b., and Elizth. Handcock, s., both 
this p. 19 July. [Entered but not solemnized.] 

William Buttery, p. Hampton, Midx., b., and 
Hannah Meaking, p. Chiswick, s. Zic, 19 July. 

William Vineing, b., and Elizabeth Handcock, 
a., both this p. 19 Aug. [see entry of 19 July] 

Jacob Mollineux, b., and Margaret Westall, s., 
both this p. 26 Aug. 

Thomas Tims, b., and Sophia Wood, s., both 
this p. 7 Oct. ; [signs Timms.] 

Robert Cook, w., and Elizabeth Newman, s., 
both this p. 8 Oct. 

William Collins, w., and Elizabeth Earle, w., 
both this p. 28 Oct. " 

Daniel Brooker, b., and Abiatha Grover, a., both 

this p. 31 Oct. 

1799. 

Joseph Constantino Carpue, p. St. Martin's-in- 
the- Fields, Middx., b., and Elizabeth Holland, 
this p., s. Lie, 8 Jan. 

Daniel Nichols, b., and Sarah Ward, s., both 
this p. 20 Jan. 

Joseph Langton, b., and Sarah Field, s., both 
this p. 7 Apr. 

James Talbot, b., and Elizabeth Rogers, 8., both 
this p. 12 May. 



242 cnrswicK. 



William Pritchet, b., and Ann Fidler, 8., both 
this p. 14 May. 

George Bedford, p. St. Botolph, Aldersgate, 
London, b., and Judith Elizabeth Thompson, p. 
Chiswick, 8. Lie, 6 June. 

Rev. Thomas Home, this p., b., and Cecilia 
Clementina Eliza Zoffany, a minor, consent of 
John Zoffany, Esq., her father. Lie, 27 June. 
[Witnessed by Johann Zoffany, and Thomas Home. 
The Zoffany's sign with double dots over the y] 

Charles Morris, w., and Mary Betty Taylor, s,, 
both this p. 21 July. 

William Home, Esq., Lincoln's-inn, b., and Ann 
Hesse, p. Chiawiok, a., a minor, with consent of 
George Brooks, Esq., guardian appointed by the 
Master of the Polls. Lie, 12 Aug. [married by 
Thos. Home, D. D., the witness in the Horne- 
Zoffany marriage of 27 June]. 

John Brown, b., and Hannah Edwards, s., both 
this p. 13 Aug. 

James Williams, b., and Else Taylor, s., both 
this p. 17 Nov. 

John Hatt, b., and Ann Church, s., both 

this p. 23 Dec. 

1800. 

John Bassett, b., and Ann Prior, s., both this 
p. 8 Jan. 

William Bird, b., and Mary Orchard, w., both 
this p. 27 Jan. 

John Henry Windeler, p. St. Marylebone, Mdx., 
b., and Elizabeth Bruce, this p., s. Lie. of Archbishop 
of Canterbury. 1 Maroh. 

Joseph Faris, b, and Hannah Longhurst, s, 
both this p. 3 March. 

Arthur Bold, Middle Temple, London, b. , and 
Martha Hesse, p. Chiswiok, s., a minor, by con- 
sent of George Brooks, Esq., her guardian, 
appointed by the High Court of Chancery. Lie. of 
the Archb. of Cant. 16 Apr. Witnesses : Ann 



CHISWICK PARISH REGISTERS. 243 

Home, Anne Sophia Brooks, Mary Ann Cuthbert, 
Jonas Bold, Geo. Brooks, William Home. 

Lavender Lay ton, b., and Charlotte Aria, s.. 
both this p. 29 April. 

Edward Home, of Serle-street, Lincoln's-inn, b., 
and Barbara Julia Paine, s., a minor, consent of 
James Paine, Esq., her father. Lie. of Archbishop 
of Canterbury. 21 Apr. Married by Thos. 
Home, D.D. Note. — These two last marriages 
entered out of order in original. 

Charles Loraine, p. Kirkharl, Northumberland, 
b., and Elizabeth Campart, this p., s. Lie. of 
of Archb. of Cant. 20 June. 

Thomas Frederick Waterman, b., and Ann Ellis, 
s., both this p. — Sept. [not solemnised] 

[End of volume ; on the fly leaf is a list of some 
banns of marriage from 1763 to 1767.] 



1800 — continued. 

Charles Weekly, b.,and Susan Gulley,s., both this 
p. 29 Oct. 

George Thompson, b., and Elizabeth Anson, s., 
both this p. 8 Nov. 

William Nutt, p. St Andrew, Canterbury, w., 
and Dorothy Jane Armstrong, s , this p. Lie. of 
the Archb. of Cant. 15 Nov. 

William Dover, w., and Elizabeth Floyd, s., both 
this p. 23 Nov. 

Henry Stokoe, b., and Martha Durham, s., both 
this p. 27 Nov. 

James Tomlin, b., and Fanny Brown, s., both 
this p. 1 Dec. 

George Bailey, b., and Phoebe Morrison, s., both 
this p. 7 Dec. 

Henry Row, p. St. George, Middlesex, b., and 
Barbara Garbutt, this p., s. Lie of Archb. of Cant- 
14 Dec. 

[This volume continues the marriages down 
to the 16th November, 1812] 



(Ehistokk Douses. 



HOGARTH HOUSE. 

Much has been written about Hogarth HouBe, 
the most interesting relic of Chiswick's best-known 
name, and do new facts remain to be recorded. 
The dates of Hogarth's first residence, and of his 
acquisition of the property, are frequently passed 
over, and as frequently incorrectly stated. Mr. 
Austin Dobson, however, in his " William 
Hogarth," page 180, gives valuable information on 
this subject. 

" According to Cary's ■ Memoir, 1847,' " he says, 
"this house was at one time the residence of Sir 
James Thornhill, who died in 1734. As, at a 
later date, it belonged to Cary himself, the state- 
ment has generally been accepted, and it is not of 
course improbable that Thornhill may have rented 
it. But reference to the Court Roll of the Pre- 
bendal Manor of Chiswick shows that one G. A. 
Ruperty, clerk, was 'admitted ' copyholder as far 
back as the loth July, 1721, and that he held the 
premises until, on the 13th September, 1749, 
u William Hogarth, of Leicester-Fields, in the 
parish of St. Martin-in-the-Fields," was admitted in 
his stead. At Hogarth's death, in 1764, the house 
passed to his widow, and then, in 17S9, to Mary 
Lewis. Nichols says that Hogarth lived there 
every year during the greater part of the summer sea- 




A. BOHEMIA HOUSE. 

B. ANNANDALE HOUSE. 

C. LINDEN HOUSE. 

D. BOLTON HOUSE. 

E. HEATHFIELD HOUSE. 

F. ARLINGTON HOUSE. 

G. THE CHESNUTS. 
H. STILE HALL. 

I. GROVE HOUSE. 

J. SUTTON COURT. 



K. CHISWICK HOUSE. 

L. THE CEDARS. 

M. FAIRFAX HOUSE. 

N. HOGARTH HOUSE. 

0. BEDFORD HOUSE. 

P. COLLEGE HOUSE. 

Q. WALPOLE HOUSE. 

R. CORNEY HOUSE. 

S. MANOR HOUSE. 



(Ehistokk ] 



HOGARTH 
Much has been writtc 
the most interesting relic 
name, and no new facts 
The dates of Hogarth's fi 
acquisition of the properl 
over, and as frequently 
Austin Dobson, howe - 
Hogarth," page 180, gives 
this subject. 

" According to Cary'e * 
"this house was at one t 
James Thornhill, who d 
later date, it belonged t( 
ment has generally been a 
course improbable that T 
it. But reference to tb 
bendal Manor of Chiswi 
Ruperty, clerk, was'adi 
back as the loth July, Hi 
premises until, on the 
"William Hogarth, of jr 
parish of St. Martin-in-th^' 
his stead. At Hogarth's ^' 
passed to his widow, ancL,' 
Lewis. Nichols says tl ' 
every year during the grea n ' 

H. 

[. 

J. 




BOHEMIA HOUSE. 
ANNANDALE HOUSE. 
LINDEN HOUSE. 
BOLTON HOUSE. 
HEATHFIELD BOUSE. 
ARLINGTON HOUSE. 
THE CHESNUTS. 
STILE HALL. 
GROVE HOUSE. 
SUTTON COURT. 




K. CHISWICK HOUSE. 

L. THE CEDARS. 

M. FAIRFAX HOUSE. 

N. HOGARTH HOUSE. 

0. BEDFORD HOUSE. 

P. COLLEGE HOUSE. 

Q. WALPOLE HOUSE. 

R. CORNEY HOUSE. 

S. MANOR HOUSE. 



HOGARTH HOUSE. 245 

son. The Chiawick house reverted at Mary Lewis's 
death, in 1808, to other persons named by Mrs. 
Hogarth in her will. From 1814 to 1826 it was 
inhabited, though not continuously, by Charles 
Lamb's friend, the Rev. fl. F. Cary, translator of 
Dante, who for some time held the curacy and 
afternoon lectureship at Chiswick. According to 
the Court Roll, Cary heli the copyhold from May, 
1814, to December 17th, 1833, but he ceased to live 
at Chiswick when he removed to the British 
Museum in November, 1826. A subsequent resi- 
dent was Mr. N. T. (or " Brayvo ") Hicks, a once 
well-known transpontine actor." 

The house was after for many years let out in tene- 
ments,and being in the occupation of a very poor class 
of tenants, there seemed every likelihood of its going 
to complete ruin. Efforts were made to arouse 
general interest in the preservation of this fine old 
relic, but with the usual public apathy about such 
matters, nothing was done. Fortunately a pur- 
chaser with leverence for the memories of the place 
was found in the person of Mr. Alfred Dawson, the 
son of Henry Dawson, the well-known landscape 
painter, who acquired the property about the end 
of 1890, and we have to thank him for preserving 
such a relic for us. Before entering into occupation 
the building was carefully restored as nearly as 
possible to its original condition, and nothing was 
removed that could be retained ; only certain un- 
couth additions made by sub-tenants during the 
last forty years were taken away. Hogarth's studio, 
figured in Faulkner, was in existence as late as 
1875, up which date the present owner remembers 
it. The little tablets to the memory of the dog 
and bullfinch were, we are informed by the same 
authority, stolen after the death of Hicks, who 
came into occupation about 1865. 



24 d cms WICK. 



LINDEN HOUSE. 

Linden House, Turnhatn Green, round which 
clings the memory of many well known names of 
the last century and the earlier part of this, for- 
merly stood in the midst of its grounds, the site of 
which is now occupied by the streets known as Lin- 
den-gardens. The house itself was pulled down 
in 1878. Various writers have stated that it was 
the residence of Bentley, the partner of Wedge- 
wood, but the accuracy of the statement must be 
questioned. Mr. W. Carew Hazlitt, who is an 
authority on the subject, says that Dr. Griffiths 
Bettled at Turnham Green "in the vicinity of his 
friends, Dr. Rose and Mr. Bentley." It ia cer- 
tain that Linden House was then the residence of 
Dr. Griffiths, and it seems unlikely that they could 
have simultaneously occupied the house. 

Somewhere about the middle of the last century 
Ralph Griffiths, LL.D., formerly a bookseller of St. 
Paul's-churchyard, and later of Pall Mail, editor 
and founder of the " Monthly Review," which 
numbered Goldsmith among its contributors, came 
to reside here. His first wife, who died in 1764, 
lies in the churchyard. In 1767 he again married, 
his second wife being one of the three daughters of 
Dr. Clark, of St. Albin's, another of whom was 
the wife of Dr. Rose, of Chiswick. From this 
second marriage sprang a family of daughters, one 
of whom Ann, born in 1773, as may be seen in 
in the parish register (page 235 ante), married in 1792 
Thomas Wainewright, of Chelsea. She died in 
1794 in giving birth to a son, who was named 
after his grandfather, Thomas Griffiths Waine- 
wright. Dr. Griffiths died in 1803, aged eighty- 
three, and is buried in the churchyard. 
His portrait was published in the European 
Magazine of January, 1804. He left behind him 



LINDFN HOUSE. 247 

only hia second wife and his son (George Edward 
Griffiths) by hia first wife, who succeeded to 
the property. The wife died in 1812, the only 
representative of the family then living being 
George Edward Griffiths, and his nephew, Thomas 
Griffiths Wainewright. It is with this last that 
we have now to deal. Brought up by his grand- 
father, and educated at Charles Rurney's Academy 
at Hammersmith, the youth acquired a facility 
with his pen and pencil which eventually brought 
him, as he himself says, "to the notice and 
friendship of men whose fame is European.' 5 
Among these were Charles Lamb, Hazlitt, Allan 
Cunningham, Proctor (Barry Cornwall), Thomas 
Hood, Cary (translator of Dante and a curate of 
Chiswick), Fuseli, Stothard, Westall, Sir Thomas 
Laurence, and Flaxman. Next we find him, by 
his own statement, an officer of Dragoons. Then 
he appears as a contributor to the " London 
Magazine," and in various other literary produc- 
tions, under the nom de plume of " Janus Weather- 
cock." But chiefly he is to be remembered by the 
series of crimes which he planned with a cruelty 
and indifference truly diabolical — led thereto by 
the impecunioaity which his extravagances had 
caused and by one of the vilest natures that ever 
man possessed. The man of fashion, dilettante, 
and art critic, who was, as we have seen, the 
companion of some of the best men of the day, 
was at the time contemplating the foulest crimes, 
carryirg with him in a ring, crystals of nux 
vomica that he might the more readily effect his 
purpose - that of removing anyone who stood in 
the way of his attaining a better monetary 
position. Talfourd says of him, " Surely no con- 
trast presented in the wildest romance between a 
gay cavalier, fascinating Naples or Palermo, 
and the same hero detected as a bandit or 



248 CHISW1CK. 



demon of the forest, equals that which time 
has unveiled between what Mr. Waine- 
wright seemed and what he was." 

In 1824 he began his career of crime by forging the 
signatures of his trustees to obtain possession of 
£2,250, which forgery remained undiscovered for 
twelve years. In 1828 Wainewright was taken by 
his uncle, George Edward Griffiths, to live with 
him at Linden House. He, in the following year 
became the first victim of Wainewright, who, by 
his death, succeeded to the possession of the 
house, but did not benefit pecuniarily to any 
extent by the possession of the property, since it 
required a considerable income to keep the place 
up. He then persuaded his wife's mother and 
family to come to live at Linden House, and soon 
Mrs. Abercromby died suddenly, truly — to use 
the expression of Walter Thornbury in his " Old 
Stories Re-told "—"Linden House must have been 
a peculiarly unhealthy place." The mother out 
the way, next followed what was, perhaps, the 
worst of his crimes. Mrs. Abercromby left two 
daughters, Helen Frances Phoebe and Madeleine, 
the first of whom came of age in 1830. Waine- 
wright's position was now getting serious, and the 
tradesmen of Turnham Green importunate, so in 
December, 1830, the Wainewrights left Linden 
House to go into lodgings in Conduit-street. 
Before a week had passed Helen Abercromby also 
died. After a supper of lobster and bottled 
beer, she was seized with violent and fatal con- 
vulsions. The scene is now no longer laid at Turn- 
ham Green, 'and its connection with Linden House is 
at an end, so the rest of the dark story may be told 
shortly. It was then discovered that Helen Aber- 
cromby had left a will by which any property she 
might have, came to her siater, Wainewright being 
appointed executor, and it then appeared that her 



LINDEN HOUSE. 249 

life had been insured in various offices for no less 
a sum than £18,000. Unfortunately for the 
Wainewrights, the insurance offices unanimously 
refused to pay, and, unable to remain longer in 
England, Wainewright sought refuge in the house 
of a friend at Boulogne, who was soon induced to 
insure his life for £3,000, and, as soon after, went 
the way of Wainewright's other victims, though 
still without any suspicion attaching to him. 
Returning to England, he was arrested on a charge 
of forgery. This was a capital offence at that 
time, but feeling just then running high against 
capital punishment, and the bank not wishing to 
shed blood, he was tried only on two minor indict- 
ments, and being found guilty was transported for 
life. He died in 1852. His wife, said by some to 
be Bulwer Lytton's Lucretia, survived him many 
years. 

To those who would know more of this 
dark story, we would refer to the " Essays and 
Criticisms of Thomas Griffiths Wainewright," by W. 
Carew Hazlitt, and Thornbury's book referred to 
above, or the " Lives of Twelve Bad Men," by 
Thomas Seccombe. It is much to be regretted, 
that so far as we are aware, no view of Linden 
House has been preserved. 



SUTTON COURT. 
Lysons states that in the 9th year of Edward IV. 
(1470) Baldwin Bray, whose ancestors had been 
settled there for many years, conveyed to Thomas 
Coveton and others the Manor of Sutton, near 
Cheswyke ; that is, assigned the lease of the 
manorial estate, for the manor belonged to the 
Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, and had been irj 
their possession from time immemorial. Informa- 
tion already published in these pages shows that 



250 CHISW1CE. 



they were the owners in 1181. Coveton and the 
others were probably officers of the chapter, as they 
are described in " Feet of Fines " for Middlesex as 
clerks. 

In the Civil Wars, by an ordinance of the Lords 
and Commons, dated 12 March, 1643, the manor, 
together with all the property belonging to the 
Cathedral Church of St. Paul's, was sequestered to 
the Lord Mayor and citizens of London. 

The Lean and Chapter had in March, 1639, 
granted a lease for twenty-one years of Sutton 
Court to Thomas Edgar, who sold this lease to 
Chaloner Chute, who, when the manor was 
sequestered under the ordinance above-mentioned, 
purchased it from the trustees of the Parliament. 
State Papers, Domestic Series, 1660-1]. Chaloner 
Chute came of a Kentish family of some standing 
and antiquity (Thomas Chute, of Boston, was M.P. 
for Canterbury in 1404), and was the son of Charles 
Chute, a barrister of the Middle Temple, and M.P. 
for Thetford, by his marriage with Ursula, 
daughter of John Chaloner, of Fulham, and cousin 
of Sir Thomas Chaloner, who is commemorated by 
a fine monument in Chiswick Parish Church. 

Gwillim, in his " Display of Heraldry " (1660 
edition), thus quaintly describes his arms, M He 
beareth Gules, three swords barrewayes, Argent, 
the hilts and pommels, Or, by the name of Chute, 
and is the bearing of Chaloner Chute, of Sutton 
Court, in the county of Middlesex, a worthy 
successor of his father's virtues, who was a gentle- 
man of much eminence and knowledge in his 
practice of the lawes and praiseworthy reputation." 

Mr. C. V. Chute, in his history of the Vyne, 
from which much of this information is derived, 
states that Chaloner Chute was born in 1595, and 
passed his boyhood at Kensington, where in the 
register of St. Mary Abbotts, appear the records of 



SUTTON COURT. 251 

the births of his younger brother Charles (1600) 
and his sister Dorothy (1603). Chaloner was 
admitted student of the Middle Temple in Novem- 
ber, 1613, and called to the bar 23rd May, 1623. 
He married Ann, daughter of Sir John Skory, at 
St. Mildred's, Poultry, on the 14th June, 1627, and 
had by her a son and two daughters, one of whom, 
Ann, married into the family of Henry Barker, of 
Chiswick, who, occupying Grove House, was the 
immediate neighbour of Chute, their properties 
being separated by the road from Chiswick to 
Strand-on-the-Green. Henry Barker was a 
Royalist, and fought in the Marquis of 
Hertford's troop, at Lansdown, near Bath, 
where his brother Thomas was killed, 
and Chute, as will appear, favoured the Parlia- 
mentarian side, but the difference in politics of the 
parents was no bar to the union of the children. 
Roque's map, a copy of which appears in a 
former article (page 95 ante) shows the contiguity 
of the properties of these families, and a large row 
of trees which before the changes that have taken 
place in the neighbourhood by the advent of the 
railway, extended from the front of Sutton Court 
to this road — some of them still exist in the 
centre of the grounds of the Chiswick Park Cricket 
Club. The road, Sutton-lane, is shown on the 
map as passing as now in front of the house, so 
that this avenue of trees was purely ornamental, 
as with an entrance to the house in Sutton-lane it 
is unlikely there was an entrance lodge and gates 
in the lane to Strand-on-the-Green. 

Roger North (Lives of the Norths, vol. I., p. 13) 
describes Chaloner Chute " as a man of great wit 
and stately carriage of himself." He was a wise 
and far-seeing man of singular moderation and 
excellent judgment who took a fearless and 
independent part in the perplexing politics of the 



252 CH1SWICK. 



day, resisting the King when his conduot became 
arbitrary, but using at the same time all his 
influence and power of conciliation to restrain the 
violence of the opposite faction. He defended 
the Bishops before the House of Lords when they 
were impeached by the Commons in 1641 for 
drawing up a canon without the consert of 
Parliament, by which they were in danger of 
losing their personal property under the Statue of 
Praemunire, and his demurrer was so able that the 
proceedings against them were abandoned (Fuller's 
History oj the Church, book xi.) The Bishop of 
Rochester presented him, in recognition of his 
distinguished services on this historical occasion, 
with a fine silver tankard, which is now preserved 
among the family memorials at the Vyne. In 164:3 
he was engaged in the defence of Archbishop Laud, 
and in 1646 he was nominated by the Parliament 
to have, with two others, the custody of the great 
seal, but the House of Lords insisted on this 
appointment being bestowed on Speaker i^enthal 
and the Earl of Manchester. In July, 1647, he 
defended the eleven members charged by Cromwell 
with treason, as enemies to the army and evil 
counsellors to the Parliament and in the same year 
with Sir Matthew Hale, acted as counsel for the 
Heads of the Colleges at Oxford, on the occasion of 
the "Puritan Visitation" following on the sur- 
render of Oxford to Sir Thos. Fairfax ( Whitelock's 
Memorials). He purchased the Estate of the Vyne 
in Hampshire of Lord Sandys about the time of the 
execution of Charles I., though the final convey- 
ance was dated a few years later, 10th June, 1653. 
In the great seal of the Commonwealth of England, 
engraved by Thomas Simon, the obverse is a large 
map of England and Ireland, and of the six places 
in Hampshire marked on this map, one is The Vyne ; 



SUTTON COURT. 263 

the esteem and respect for his character and position 
held by the Parliament led them to pay him this 
remarkable compliment. 

He married, as his 2nd wife, Dorothy widow of 
Richard Lennard, 13th Baron Dacre of Hurstmon- 
ceaux. He was elected Treasurer of the Middle 
Temple in 1655, aud Kuight of the Shire for Middle- 
sex in 1656 and again in 1658. Whicelock says he 
was an excellent orator, a man of good parts and 
generosity, of whom many doubted he would not 
join with the Protector's party, but he did heartily. 
On the assembling of Parliament under Richard 
Cromwell, 29 Jany., 1659, he was chosen Speaker. 
It fell to his lot to preside over long debates on 
exciting questions — 1st, whether the Protectorate 
should continue, and 2odly, if there should be a 
House of Lords and who should summon it. The 
Speaker, says Whitelocke, being a man of moderate 
views and respected by all parties, so much 
gained toe affection of the House that he swayed 
much with them. 

The incessant fatigue of his office affected his 
health, and he obtained leave of absence and went 
to Sutton Court, his estate at Chiswick, where, as 
a special mark of honour, Lord Fairfax and other 
members visited him by order of the House of 
Commons. He died 14th April, 1659, and was 
buried in the Church of St. Nicholas, Chipwick, in 
accordance with his instructions contained in his 
will. By this will, which was proved in London 
in 1660 [May, 1661], he gave to his "wife, Lady 
Dacre, though far unworthy all I can do, his 
manors and lands, freehold, leasehold, and copy- 
hold, lying in the parish of Chiswick, for life"; 
but in a marginal note he states, " I have given 
this by deed," and this deed is referred to in 
the subsequent proceedings narrated below. At 



254 CH1SWICK. 



her death the Chiswick property was to pass to 
his son, Chaloner, who is appointed executor. He 
desires his son and wife, "unless they find good 
reason to the contrary, whereof I appoint them the 
only judges, that such hospitall may be built and 
endowed there, as in writing I have elsewhere set 
down, and always purposed to myself since I 
was necessitated to take a conveyance of that 
estate," and he directs "that this hospitall shall 
be continued as long as the land shall continue 
out of the church's possession, to whom I could 
heartily wish the inheritance restored, and a lease 
for three lives, warranted by law, accepted in 
lieu thereof. I would be interred in the vault I 
lately made in Chiswick Church, by the body of 
that excellent woman or pattern cf charity, con- 
jugal affection, his deare mother. My sonne 
Barker's posterity I reckon as my owne, and 
therefore assign them the liberty of that bury- 
inge place I made for myself. Written with my 
own hand, and signed at Sutton Court, the 3rd 
day of June, 1653. Revised and allowed May, 
1654. Revised and thus allowed 1st January, 
1656, and again 11th July, 1657, when I went 
to take the waters." 

The State Papers [Domestic Series, 1660-61] 
record some incidents following on his death. It 
would appear that the Dean and Chapter of St. 
Paul's had, on the Restoration, been reinstated 
in their property, and the lease of Sutton Court to 
Thomas Edgar (of whom Chaloner Chute purchased) 
having expired in 1660, the then Dean, Dr. 
Matthew Nicholas, granted a lease to his brother, 
Mr. Secretary Nicholas. The widow of Chaloner 
Chute, Lady Dacre, to whom he, on the 14th July, 
1653, assigned the lease as her jointure, petitioned 
the Commissioners appointed to deal with the pur- 
chasers of Crown and Church lands to mediate with 



SUTTON COURT. 255 

the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's for the renewal of 
theleaseto her, asshehasnothing else left in jointure. 
Chaloner Chute, son of the late Chaloner Chute, 
also petitioned the Commissioners for relief, that 
he might be granted a lease from the Dean and 
Chapter on the ground that his father having 
purchased the lease, and to preserve its possession 
bought the manor from the Trustees of the Parlia- 
ment, and spent on it some £5,500. The Dean and 
Chapter showed that in equity Lady Dacre had 
no right to jointure, as she brought little property 
to her husband, and Chute had always wished the 
land to be restored to the Church, or a hospital 
built by way of restitution, and that the lease 
that Chute had purchased had expired, but they 
would give Chaloner Chute reasonable satisfaction 
if such could be claimed by one who was the son 
of an active member of the Parliament of 1656, 
which chose Cromwell protector, and on the 30th 
May, 1661, the Commissioners made an order con- 
firming the lease of Sutton Court made by the 
Dean to Mr. Secretary Nicholas as being good in 
law, but as some compensation was promised by 
the King at Breda to purchasers of Church lands, 
the compensation to be granted to Lady Dacre and 
Mr. Chute is to be referred to Sir Allen Brodrick 
and two others, unless they contest the lands by 
law, in which case they are not entitled to com- 
pensation. 

This litigation appears to have been settled 
in 1664, as in a petition in that year from 
the widow, of the late Dean of St. Paul's, 
praying for quiet enjoyment of the fine on Sutton 
Court, left her by her husband, the difference 
between him and Lady Dacre had been determined 
by a lease being granted to Mr. Chaloner Chute in 
trust for Lady Dacre. 

Chaloner Chute, junior, and James Gresham were 



256 CniSWICK. 



returned in May, 1661, burgesses in Parliament 
for Haslemere by indenture, but were rejected in 
favour of George Evelyn and Thomas Morrice 
[Manning and Bray Hist, of Surrey], Chaloner 
Chuts died 1666, and was buried in Chiswick 
Church by hi? father's side. 

In 1676, ten years later, from the information 
given by Faulkner, whose account of the house is 
here mainly transcribed, it appears that the lease 
from the Dean and Chapter came into the hands of 
Thomas Viscount Fauconberg, who had married in 
1657 Maria, third daughter of Oliver Cromwell. The 
marriage took place at Hampton Court, and 
although the ceremony was performed in public 
according to the rites then in use they were 
immediately afterwards married in private by 
minister? ordained by bishops, and this with the 
privity of Cromwell. Bishop Burnet says of this 
lady that she was a wise and worthy woman more 
likely to have maintained the post of protector 
than either of her brothers ; according to a saying 
that went of hers, "Those who wore the breeches 
deserved the petticoats better, but if those in petti- 
coats had been in breeches they would have held 
the faster." Lord Fauconberg in 1657 was made 
one of the Council of State, and sent the next year 
by Cromwell with a complimentary message to the 
Court of Versailles. This was the only employ- 
ment Lord Fauconberg had under the Protector, 
for as Lord Clarendon states, " He (Cromwell) 
plainly perceived that his son Fauconberg's heart 
was set upon an interest destructive to his, and 
grew to hate him perfectly " {Burke's Extinct 
Peerage). He helped forward the restoration 
and was appointed by General Monk to 
the regiment which was Sir Arthur Hasle- 
rigg's on the 25th April, the same day 



SUTTON COURT. 257 

that Parliament met that restored Charles II. 
[Banks Extinct Peerage]. He was also appointed 
by the restored monarch, in 1660, Lord Lieutenant 
of the Bishopric of Durham, and was soon after 
accredited ambassador to Venice, and nominated 
captain of the Band of Gentlemen Pensioners. The 
State Papers [Vol. Addenda] contain many 
references to his embassy of no great interest, and 
include the report of the officer at Dover, charged 
with the transport to Calais of his horses and 
effects, which, owing to adverse weather, was 
attended with eome difficulty. The officer had 
no great appreciation of his lordship's liberality. 
In 1679 he was again sworn in of the Privy 
Council. Upon the accession of William and Mary 
he was created by letters patent, dated 1689, Earl 
of Fauconberg. 

There appears to be a curious succession of 
events in the life of this nobleman, viz., his 
marriage with the daughter of Cromwell, who had 
dethroned and put to death the prince to whom his 
family were indebted for its honours. Secondly, 
his contributing to the deposal of his brother-in- 
law, Richard Cromwell the Protector, and the 
restoration of the eldest son of that king whom 
his father-in-law had caused to be executed ; and, 
lastly, an acquieeence in the expulsion from his 
kingdom of the brother and heir of that monarch 
who Had just before been restored to his Crown 
and inheritance. [Binks Extinct Peerage]. The 
Thurloe papers, published 1742 contain many 
letters from him, and details of his embassy, 
marriage, and career. 

He died December, 1700, and having no issue 
the Earldom expired, and his other honours 
reverted to his nephew, Thomas Belasyse. 

By his will, dated 14th Novr.,1699, and proved in 
May, 1701, he gives a legacy of £20 for mourning 



258 CBISWICK. 



gowns to the women of the Hospitall of Little 
Sutton, Chiswick, and fourscore pounds to the 
Poor of the parish. He devised "in recompense for 
joining with me in a settlement of an estate in 
Lancashire which was her jointure, the messuage 
called Sutt' n Court, in the parish of Chiswick, and 
all the buildings orchards and gardens held undtr 
a lease from the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, 
and a parcel of land I bought of Jeremy Keene, 
and with which I enlarged my pond, and built a 
wall for fruit on the north side of it," to his wife 
for life or widowhood — with remainder to his 
nephew, Thomas Frankland. He also gave his 
wife his coaehes, coach horses, and cattle in Mid- 
dlesex, a house on the north side of King's-square, 
parish of St. Anne [now Soho Square] and a rent 
charge of £100 on an estate at Over Silton, York- 
shire. 

In Mackay's journey {Journey through England, 
vol. 1., p. 86), which must have been written, or 
at least made, before 1713, although the dedication 
bsars date 1724, the Countess of Fauconberg is 
described as exhibiting a different appearance in 
her old age from that which has been generally 
ascribed to her.* 

Speaking of Sutton Court, the seat of the Earl of 
Fauconberg, he says : I saw here a great and 
curious piece of antiquity, the eldest (this is a 
mistake, she was the third) daughter of Oliver 
Cromwell, who was then fresh and gay though of 
great age. In person she is said to have been 
handsome, yet at the same time to have resembled 
her father. After seeing all hopes of sovereignty 
continuing in her family cut off by the death of 
her father, she is said to have exerted all her 
endeavours for the restoration of monarchy. Lady 
Fauconberg bore the character of a piou9, worthy 
woman, and constantly attended divine service at 



See Page 42 ante. 



SUTTON COURT. 259 

the Parish Church. There is a portrait of this 
lady at the Chequers belonging to the present 
bironet family of Russell; it shows her ladyship 
to have been of delicate constitution. Grainger 
[Biographical History —Noble's Mem : of the Crom 
wells] says it is hardly to be credited that though 
she was handsome she greatly resembled her 
father in person— this is corroborated by Dean 
Swift, who knew her ladyship, by saying she was 
extremely like the pictures he had seen of her 
father. 

She died in 1713, and appears, from the number 
and amount of the legacies she bequeathed by her 
will, to have been wealthy. By her will, dated 20th 
November, 1711, and proved in 1713, she gave £50 
to the poor of Chiswick, £50 to be divided among 
the poor tenants of her jointure lands, £50 to the 
Protestant Refugees, £50 for mourning gowns for 
the poor women in the Hospitall of Little Sutton, 
£100 to her brother Richard Cromwell (who with- 
drew from the Protectorate at the Restoration), 
£3,000 to the six children of her nephew Henry 
Cromwell, the household goods, chattels, and live 
and dead stock at Sutton Court to Sir Thomas 
Frankland, her husband's nephew, and other gifts 
of no general interest. 

In the year 1691 the gardens are thus described. 
(Gibson's account of the gardens round London. 
Archselogia Vol. xiii.) "My Lord Faucouberg's 
garden at Sutton Court has several pleasant walks 
in it, but the upper gardens next the house are 
too irregular. The greenhouse is very well made, 
but ill set It is divided into three rooms, and 
very well furnished with good greens, but is so 
placed that the sun shines not on the plants in 
winter, the dwelling house standing between the 
sun and it. The maize ov wilderness is very 
pretty, with a Cyprus harbour in the middle, 



260 CH1SWICK. 



supported by a well-wrought timber frame. The 
enclosure is wired in for white pheasants and 
partridges, and is a fine apartment, and the 
timber walk with vines on the sides is very fine 
when the blue pots are on the pedestals on the top 
of it, and so is the fishpond." 

The house and garden are thus described by a con- 
temporary tourist {Mackey's Journey, Vol. I., Page 
86). '* From Brentford I pissed to the pleasant vil- 
lage of Chiswick and in an hour got to Sutton Court 
— that celebrated seat of the late Earl of Faucon- 
berg — and I must own that the house, pictures, 
furniture, and gardening are well worth the 
curiosity of a stranger. Sutton is indeed un bijou ; 
it has three parterres from the three fronts of the 
house, each finely adorned with statues. The 
gardens are irregular, but every walk affords 
variety ; the hedges, grottos, statues, mounts, 
canals, are so many surprising beauties. In the 
house are several good Italian pictures and a very 
neat library." 

The next owner of Sutton Court was Sir Thomas 
Frankland, the nephew of the Earl of Fauconberg, 
and Postmaster-General, and he appears to have 
resided there. After Lady Fauconberg's death he was 
admitted to a house and premises, late her pro- 
perty. Sir Thomas died October, 1725, and by hid 
will, proved 1726, he gave to his son Thomas all 
his title and interest in the mansion house of 
Sutton Court, co. Middlesex, held of the Dean 
and Chapter of St. Paul's, and that parcel 
of land which the late Lord Fauconberg pur- 
chased of Jeremiah Keene, and all furniture 
and quick and dead stock about Sutton Court. 
He gave the poor of Chiswick £50. 

In 1727, previous to Lord Burlington's purchase, 
Thomas Fowler, Lord Fauconberg, nephew to the 
Visoount. then lately deceased, and great nephew 



SUTTON COURT. 261 

to Thomas, Earl of Fauconberg, Rowland Belasys 
and Oliver Cromwell, joungest son of Henry, only 
son of Henry Cromwell, who was the youDger 
brother of the late Countess, and her heir accord- 
ing to the custom of the manor, were all admitted 
to premises at Chiswick, and all surrendered to the 
Earl of Burlington. 

On the death of the Earl of Burlington, in 1753, 
William, fourth Duke of Devonshire, succeeded to 
his property, including Sutton Court, he having 
married the Earl's only daughter, Lady Charlotte 
Boyle, Baroness Clifford, of Lanesborough — a por- 
trait of this lady, taken as a child, with her dog, 
was among the collection of pictures at Chiswick 
House. It is stated that the grand old cedars of 
Libanus that now adorn the gardens of Chiswick 
House were ttansplanted there from Sutton Court 
in the reign of James II. One writer states that 
in 1706 Sutton Court House was so dilapidated 
that it was almost unfit tor use, and that part of 
it was let out in tenements, but at that date Lady 
Fauconberg was living, and her name appears in 
the rate books of 1708, and from the extracts from 
the writers given abnve it would appear that she 
was residing there, so there is some doubt as to the 
correctness of the description of the dilapidated 
condition of the house. The house is credited, as 
are most old houses of any size, with possessing 
secret hiding places and passages leading to she 
river, but these, if they existed, vanished when the 
house was rebuilt in about 1790. 

Lysons, writing at the beginning of this century, 
states that house is now in the occupation of Rad- 
cliffe Sidebotham, Esqre. 

Later the house was in the occupation of a cadet 
of the Devonshire family, General Henry F. C. 
Cavendish (the third son of the Earl of Burlington, 
of the creation of 1831). His first wife was Sarah, 



262 CH1SWICK. 



granddaughter of William Augustus Faukener, 
clerk to the Privy Council, and the following of 
their children were born at Sutton Court, viz: — 
Elizabeth G. Harriett, born August 1812, after- 
wards Marquise d'Harcourt ; and Sarah Mary, 
born August 1813, afterwards Countess of Caw Jor. 
General Cavendish's wife died in 1817, and he 
married a second time in 1819, Frances, widow of 
F. Howard, and sister of the Earl of Durham, and 
had several children born at Sutton Court, the 
youngest in 1826. 

To resume Faulkner's description : The principal 
mansion, called Sutton Court or the Manor House, is 
now (1845) occupied by Mr. Frederick Tappen- 
den as a boarding school for young gentlemen, 
and is situate about half-a-mile from Turnham 
Green Church. It is a handsome, spacious, and in 
some respects an ancient structure, seated on a 
gently elevated ground, but the alterations it has 
undergone since its first erection have left but a 
small portion of the original building except the 
ground floor and the cellars, whose massive walls 
in some parts exceed seven feet in thickness, extend- 
ing to 100 feet in length. These immense walls are 
carried up into various parts of the house, and 
formed the divisions of the original edifice. The 
S.E. front extends in length 110 feet, built with 
stone, and consists of a centre surmounted by a 
pediment and wings. In the lower room is an 
antique fireplace and marble chimney-piece, orna- 
mented with fruit and flowers and birds boldly 
carved, the entablature surmounted by jambs of 
the Ionic order charged with caryatides in the form 
of men half-length. The late Thomas King, Esq., 
in a great measure rebuilt the mansion as it now 
appears. In the courtyard stands a noble yew tree, 
whose trunk (July 1845) measures at the base 10 
feet 8 inches in circumference. 



SUTTON COURT. 263 

The property was acquired in 1887 by W. J. 
Compton, Esq., who resided there some years ; his 
occupation dating from 1882, and whose active and 
spirited interest in local affairs was held in high 
esteem by the parishioners. In 1880 a road was 
opened from Turnham Green to Sutton-lane, 
passing through the grounds on the east side of 
the mansion, an improvement that afforded more 
direct access to the railway to inhabitants of the 
northern portion of the parish. 

It is now (1896) offered for sale, and with the 
advantages it possesses it cannot be expected that 
it will long remain in its present condition. But 
when the day comes when it falls into the hands of 
the builder let us hope that some memorial of a 
house not without historical interest, though 
dwarfed by the richer memories that attach to its 
greater neighbour, Chiswick House, will be spared, 
and during their natural life none better could be 
found thao the cluster of the three graceful plane 
trees that stand in the south-eastern angle of the 
front courtyard. 



CHISWICK HOUSE. 

There is little to add to what has already been 
written about this famous house. The earliest 
mention we have of a house on this site is in 
Bowack,* who says that the house then standing 
was built by Sir Edward Warden, Who this 
Edward Warden was we do not know, but as 
Lysons points out, there is a monument in the 
church erected by Edward Wardour in 1612, of 
whom Faulkner makes the trite remark that he 
"might have been afterwards knighted and might 
have built the house." Towards the end of the 
reign of James I. it was in the possession of Robert 
Carr, Earl of Somerset, who with his countess was 

*See Page 12. 



264 CHISWICK. 



concerned in the poisoning of Sir Thos. Overbury, 
and who, to raise a sum of money as portion for 
his daughter, mortgaged the property to Phillip, 
Earl of Pembroke. It next passed to Lord Paulet, 
who, in 1647, was allowed to compound in respect 
of his property by the Parliamentarians for his 
support of the Royalist cause by payment of a 
heavy fine. 

Its next possessor was Lord Ashburnham, for we 
find in the State Papers, Domeitic Series, a " grant 
made to the Duke of Monmouth, in 1664, of Lord 
Ashburnham's house at Chiswick, and all that is in 
it, which cost the king £7,000." The duke ap- 
pears to have held the house under the trusteeship 
of Lord Crofts until 1668, for in that year in the 
month of August, we find among the same papers 
a " warrant requiring Lord Crofts, as trustee for 
the Duke of Monmouth, to convey a house at Chis 
wick and certain other lands in the manors 
Chiswick, Fulham, and Sutton, to Charles, 
Lord Gerard of Brandon, who has pur- 
chased them for £4,000, and he gave in 
further consideration the command of the Life 
Guards." Lord Gerard alienated it to Viscount 
Ranelagh. In 1682 it was sold by one Edward 
Seymour, the then possessor, to the Earl of Bur- 
lington, and after the death of the last Earl of 
Burlington, the Duke of Devonshire, having married 
his daughter and sole heiress, Lady Charlotte Boyle, 
succeeded. Fortunately a view of the house and 
grounds is preserved, and we are enabled to give 
a reproduction of it. The original measures 19io. by 
13in., and is included in Kip's ** Seats of Royalty, 
Nobility, &c." which was published about 1708. 
Of course in reducing the engraving to a size suit- 
able for our pages it suffers much, but, with the 
reproduction we give of the house itself, a good 













CO 
O 



P 
O 

a 

M 
o 



B 
O 




O 

w 



CH1SW1CK HOUSE. 265 

idea of the original may be gained. Chamberlain, t 
writing in 1769, says that " part of the old edifice 
was some years ago destroyed by fire," while 
Lysonet states that the house was pulled down in 
1788, and we know that the present house was 
built about the year 1729. We can reconcile these 
apparently conflicting statements by the study of 
contemporary views. The eastern wing of the 
old house appears by the side of the new Palla- 
dian Villa, in Rocque's plan of the house and 
grounds, dated 1736 §, and in many subsequent 
prints, as late as 1787, there are signs of its exist- 
ence. It would appear therefore that the present 
house was built partly on the site of the portion 
destroyed by fire, and that Lysons' remark refers 
to the remoral of the remaining part, which was 
pulled down to make room for the wings added by 
Wyatt in 1788. 

There is, however, in Kip's View, by the side 
of the old house, a long building with dormer 
windows, which remains to this day, and the 
circular grass plot surrounded by stone posts in 
front still exists unaltered. The road — now Bur- 
lington lane — which then passed close to the house, 
now makes a detour towards the river. It was 
diverted by the Duke of Devonshire, early in the 
present century. The ornamental lake was dug by 
the Earl of Burlington, and of course does not 
appear in this view. The earth removed was 
used to make the existing raised terrace in the 
southern part of the grounds, near Burlington-lane. 

In the present house died Charles James Fox 
and George Canning. A long list of the pictures and 

t " Hist, and Survey of London, &c." 1769. 

j See Page 25 

§ We regret that we cannot reproduce this very interest- 
ing plan on account of its great size, for the necessary 
reduction would render it useless. It gives minute detail, 
and is surrounded by thirteen views of the house and 
grounds. 



266 CHISWICK. 



objets d'art, which were once at Chiswick House, 
is given in Faulkner, page 394, but now that they 
are removed it would be useless to re-enumerate 
them. In the same place may be found a descrip- 
tion of the gardens, the plan of which, by the 
way, is no^v much the same as Kent left it, and as 
it is represented by Rocque. 

Aocording to Faulkner, in the year 1814 the 
Emperor Alexander of Russia, the King of Prussia, 
Marshall Blucher, Count Platoff, and many 
illustrious persons in attendance were entertained 
by the Duke of Devonshire at Chiswick House. 

In 1842, her present Majesty and the Prince Con- 
sort were entertained here, and on June 8th, 1844, 
11 this villa was the scene of the most splendid fete 
ever given in this country ; it was honoui ed by the 
presence of the Emperor of Russia, the King of 
Saxony, his RovaI Highness Prince Albert, the 
Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, the Duchess of 
Gloucester, and about seven hundred members of 
the principal noble families of the Kingdom." 

Since the Duke of Devonshire ceased to reside 
here the house has been tenanted by the Duchess 
of Sutherland, and occupied by the Prince of 
Wales, whose children resided here for some time, 
and for some years by the Marquis of Bute. It is 
now occupied by Dr. Tuke, who removed here 
from the Manor House, in Chiswiek-lane. 

At the end of a broad gravel walk which passes 
along the northern side of the house is still to be seen 
Inigo Jones' Gateway, so called from its having been 
designed by him. It was originally erected at 
Chelsea as the northern entrance to the grounds of 
Beaufort House, which had been the residence of 
Sir Thos. More. Beaufort House was purchased 
by Sir Hans Sloane in the year 1737, and was 
pulled down in 1740. The gate was given by Sir 
Hans Sloane to the Earl of Burlington in 1737, 









o 
o 

c 
► 

w 
► 

Hi 











a 
go 
P 
O 

W 
M 

s 
oT 

< 

o 

o 

< 



C HIS WICK HOUSE. 267 

which fact is recorded upon two stone tablets, one 
on each aide of the gate, as follows : — " Builded 
by Ixigo Jones, at Chelsea, MDCXXL," and 
" Given by Sir Hans Sloane, Baronet, to the 
Earl of Burlington, MDCCXXXVII." In 
Kip's view of Beaufort House the gateway is shown 
on its original site at the end of a long walk, now 
Beaufort-street, Chelsea, and abutting on the pre- 
sent King's-road. 

The handsome iron gates which stand at the end 
of the Duke's-avenue and form one of the entrances 
to the grounds of Chiswick House were formerly 
the property of Lord Heathfield, and stood at the 
entrance of his grounds, at the south-west corner 
of Turnbam Green. Upon the demolition of 
Heathfield House in 1837, they were bought by the 
Duke of Devonshire, and removed to their present 
position. Two brick piers, which still remain as 
part of the garden wall of Turnham Green 
Vicarage, mark their original site. 



THE MANOR HOUSE. 
This house, which was pulled down so recently 
as April of this year (1896), was built according 
to Faulkner by Sir Stephen Fox in 1697, but the 
date is doubtful, as we shall show below. It is 
referred to in Lysons' account*, and was called by 
him the Manor Farm House. After the death 
nf Sir Stephen, the property descended to his son 
Stephen, and was by him assigned, about 1727, to 
Dr. Michael Hutchinson, and its descent through 
various sub-lessees has been fully traced by Lysons 
to the Weleted family, in whose possession it 
appears to have remained for some considerable 
time. Faulkner mentions Charles Welsted as 
lessee, but the passage in which the name occurs is 
merely copied from Lyson?, the name of Charles 

* See Page 25, and note 38, Page 23. 



168 CHTSW1CK. 



being substituted for Humphrey. The manor was, 
however, in the possession of one Harry Welsted, 
who died in 1819. 

Lysons mentions that Lady Nevill was a tenant in 
1725, and at the time that he wrote (1810) it was 
in the occupation of the Rev. Dr. Home, who, says 
Faulkner, succeeded a Mr. Crawford. Dr. Home 
died in 1824 and was buried at Chiswick. Ihe 
house then became a private lunatic asylum 
under Dr. Tuke and Mr. Bell, and remained as 
such in the proprietorship of the family of the 
doctor until about three years ago, when the present 
Dr. Tuke removed to Chiswick House. 

It is clear that Faulkner confused this 
house with the mansion built by Sir Stephen 
Fox as his residence, for he mixes up the ac- 
counts of the two houses, and most of what he says 
about the Manor House refers to the house spoken 
of by Lysons in his notice of Sir Stephen, t and 
which was purchased by Lady Mary Coke from 
Mr. Robert Stephenson. After her death the 
property was acquired by the Duke of Devonshire. 
The house was pulled down in 1812, and the grounds 
added to those of Chiswick House. In an extra- 
illustrated copy of Lysons in the Guildhall Museum 
may be seen a drawing of Mr. Stephenson's House, 
and as it corresponds with the portion of a house 
which appears on the extreme right hand side of 
Kip's print of Lord Burlington's house, there is but 
little doubt that that is part of Sir Stephen's 
residence. Evelyn in his memoirs describes the 
place as " near another great house of my Lord 
Burlington." 

HEATHFIELD HOUSE. 
Lysons traces the descent of this house through 
its various owners very completely, + beginning 
with Viscount Dunkerron in 1747. It is stated 

t See Page 40 ante. % See Page SO ante. 



HEATHFIELD HOUSE. 269 

that Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, the Scottish rebel, 
who was executed for his share in the troubles of 
1745, lived in a house on this spot, and the Rev. 
S. Arnott, in a contribution to " Notes and 
Querrts," June, 1880, remarks this, and calls atten- 
tion to the fact of 1747 being the date 
of his execution, which would appear to 
confirm the statement. The house stood 
at the south-west corner of Turnham Green, 
near the site of the present vicarage, and Heath- 
field gardens occupies the site of the grounds ; a 
portion of the old wall which surrounded it still 
stands at the northern end of Sutton-lane, as do 
the brick piers surmounted by stone balls of the 
old gateway, the space after the removal of the 
gate to the Duke of Devonshire's being walled up. 
The house is chiefly remarkable as being the resi- 
dence, till his death, of General Elliott, Lord 
Heathfield, the celebrated defender of Gibraltar. 
It was pulled down in 1837, and the site for many 
years laid waste. A view of the house is to be 
found in Faulkner. 



HIGH HOUSE, THE MALL. 
This house was pulled down many years ago ; it 
stood next to where Orford House now stands. " This 
capital mansion," says Faulkner, "is said to have 
been built by Sir Stephen Fox, which seems very 
probable, as the style of architecture is similar to 
that of the Manor Farm House, as well as that of 
Chelsea Hospital. It was occupied in 1703 by the 
Count of Nassau," and he goes on to quote from 
some original papers of the Earl of Ilchester that 
in that year, "the Count of Nassau took a house 
of Sir Stephen Fox, in which he lived with 
his countess for three years, and then decamped 
into Holland, leaving her behind to pay his debts 
which amounted to upwards of three hundred 



270 CHISWICK. 



pouuds." In this house also, from 1810 to 1818, 
Whittingham lived and carried on the " Chiswick 
Press." 



• BOHEMIA HOUSE. 
This house originally built, without doubt, as a 
gentleman's residence, afterwards became a tavern 
well known as the "King of Bohemia." Under 
the name of the "Sign of Bohemia," there is 
reference to the house as early as 1633, when we 
have an entry in the Middlesex Session Rolls of a 
fatal accident occurring there ; a full account of the 
entry will be found on page 121-22. The next 
reference to it occurs in relation to the conspiracy 
to assassinate William III. in 1695, when the 
house became the head-quarters of one of the 
three parties into which the conspirators were 
divided, Sir John Barclay lying there with his 
troop, which, tradition says, was hidden in the 
huge cellars which are beneath the house. 
Bohemia House is undoubtedly of great age, 
probably it is the oldest of the few larger houses 
which remain to us. Its outbuildings have long 
since disappeared, as have the handsome 
iron gates which once gave access to the 
grounds from the Common at the back. 
The fine garden was formerly noted for 
its walnut trees. Common report said the house 
had been the resort of highwaymen ; possibly it 
was, in common with many others along the great 
highway. Many years ago, in digging round the 
roots of one of the walnut trees, several skulls in 
fair preservation were found, though of course 
how they came there must remain a mystery. 
Upon ceasing to be a house of public entertain- 
ment it appears to have been divided into three, 
so Faulkner speaks of it, and so it remains to this 




02 
P 

o 



w 
W 

o 
pa 



► 

r 1 

© 

r 

w 

o 

x 




BOHEMIA BOUSE. 271 

day. Ugo Foscolo lived and died in the part 
nearest to Turnham Green. The editors of " Old 
and New London " fall into the error of supposing 
the house to be no longer in existence, no doubt 
because it was no longer a tavern. 



COLLEGE HOUSE. 
We have already published all that is known 
and is of interest with regard to this house 
on page 63. It only remains to add that the 
house behind the tree in the illustration was the 
residence of the father of the Miss Berrys. 



WALPOLE HOUSE. 

Walpole House, Chiswick Mall (to quote 
Faulkner), "takts its name from having been the 
residence of the noble family of that name,* several 
members of whom are buried in the church. 
About sixty years ago it was occupied by a Mrs. 
Rigby as a boarding house, and here Mr. Daniel 
O'Connell resided for several years whilst he was 
studying for the bar. This family mansion has 
lately been put into a siate of repair, and is now 
occupied by Mr. Allen as a classical and com- 
mercial academy." 

Ic has been stated by many writers on Chiswick 
that it was the residence during the last years of 
her life of the famous Barbara Villiers, Duchess of 
Cleveland, though on what authority we cannot 
discover. 



CORNEY HOUSE. 

The site of this house, which was demolished in 

1832, is now included in the premises of Messrs. 

Thorneycroft. It must not be confounded with 

the present house of the name, which is probably 

*We have ascertained that this statement is correct.— [Eds.] 



272 CHISW1CK. 

merely named after it. The Russell family, who 
became afterwards Earls of Bedford, resided here in 
the reign of Queen Elizabeth, who was entertained 
here in 1602. Lysons records the names of the 
owners down to 1806* The famous Earl Macart- 
ney lived in this mansion till his death in 1806 ; 
it was afterwards occupied by his widow. 



GROVE HOUSE. 
It would appear that a house existed on this site 
in very early times. According to Lysons (see 
page 30 ante), " it belonged in the reign of 
Henry IV. to Robert Warner, who sold it to 
Thomas Holgill." Afterwards it came into the 
possession of the Barker family, who held it for 
several generations, t by one whom there is little 
doubt the present house must have been built. 
The tympanum over the great portico still shows 
the rampant lion borne by the Barker family. 
The family appear to have represented the county 
in Parliament for many years. Bowack speaks of 
Scorey Barker being chosen knight of the shire ; 
this was in 1701, and in 1708 he was again elected. 
In 1722 Henry Barker was fleeted, and again in 
1740. Henry Barker died in 1745, and we next 
find the house in the possession of Sir Thomas 
Robinson, afterwards Lord Grantham, who died 
in 1770, and was buried at Chiswick, The property 
then descended to his son, and after his death to 
his daughter, Lady Francis Elliot. It next ap- 
pears to have been owned by Earl Cowper, 
who sold it to the Right Hon. Humphrey 
Morice, who added a riding house and large 
stables. He left the property in 1790 to Mrs. 
Luther, widow of John Luther, who had beeu a 
member of Parliament. The singular restrictions of 

• See p. 29. t See p. 147. 



GROVE HOUSE. 27S 



the will we quote from Faulkner : — " All the 
horses and dogs on the premises were to be care- 
fully fed and attended till they died a natural 
death, and his own servant was to have two rooms 
in the house as lorg as he lived. In default of 
such attentions to the animals, Mrs. Luther was 
to have only a life interest in the premises ; but if 
she fulfilled the intentions of the will the estate 
would be absolutely at her own disposal. All the 
animals and the servant being dead, the estate was 
put up for sale in 1819." The next owner was the 
Rev. Robert Lowth, a son of the Bishop of London. 
The house then came into the possession of the 
Duke of Devonshire, who removed the upper storey, 
he not wishing, it is said, to have so large a house in 
such close proximity to Chiswick House. The house 
is now the property of Lieut-Col. R. W. Shipway 
and we are glad to be able to note that one at least 
of the old houses of Chiswick is in no danger of 
destruction, for the present owner has evidently 
regard for the memories of the place. He has 
greatly improved the house by various additions 
and alterations, during the progress of which 
several interesting facts came to light. The 
main walls were found to be built of thin red 
bricks, an evidence of the antiquity of the 
building, and which had at some subsequent 
time been covered with a coating of cement. 
Much of the interior decoration, including 
mantelpieces, was found to be of the date, if 
not the actual work, of Inigo Jones, and the ceilinga 
and walls of several of the principal rooms were 
pronounced by the architect to have been the work 
of a band of Italian workmen, who, about 1711, 
vieited this cnuDtry and did similar work in the 
houses of various noblemen. The date 1711 of one 
addition to the house is fixed by a stone, which is 
let into the floor and bears those figures. 



274 CH1SWICK. 



ANNANDALE HOUSE. 
This house stood in the High-road, opposite Turn- 
ham Green-terrace. Moneure Conway says that 
here dwelt Hume, the historian, though on what 
authority we do not know. That he resided with 
the young Marquis of Annandale, to whom he 
acted as a sort of guardian, an office rendered 
necessary by the young nobleman's state of mind 
is certain. 

ARLINGTON HOUSE. 
Arlington House stood on the western side of 
Turnham Green, between the buildiDg which is 
now the Constitutional Club and Wellesley-road. 
The house was not an ancient one Among the 
residents were Sir Thomas Troubridge, and for some 
years Signor Mario and Madame Grisi. The 
house was pulled down in the year 1877. Arlington 
Park Gardens, north and south,' occupies the site 
of the gardene. 



BOLTON HOUSE. 

The site of this house, which was demolished 
about 1880, is marked by the present Bolton- 
gardens. Here resided Sir John Chardin, the 
celebrated Oriental traveller. Lytons refers to the 
house in ohe following terms : — " A house at Turn- 
ham Green, which belonged to James Howard, 
Esq., nephew of James Earl of Suffolkt," and who 
had died there, and is buried at Chiswick. 
Sir John Chardin's name appears in the register 
of burials at Chiswick in 1712. In Faulkner's time 
it was a school in the occupation of a Mr. Dyne. 



BEDFORD HOUSE, CHISWICK MALL. 

This mansion vias, says Faulkner, the residence 
of the various members of the Bedford family. It 
is, however, doubtful whether this statement ought 

t See p 41. 



BEDFORD HOUSE, CHISW1CK MALL. 275 

to be perpetuated. The residence of the Russell 
family was Corney House, as we have already 
seen. 



THE CEDARS. 

This old house, standing in Burlington-lane, close 
to the centre of Old Chiswick, is still surrounded 
by large grounds. Here for some years resided 
Henry Dawson, the landscape painter. The story 
of his life, a praiseworthy struggle against adverse 
circumstances, is well worth study. A view of 
his house before its enlargement is given in the 
Life of Henry Dawson. It is now the residence of 
Mr. I. E. Rouch. 



FAIRFAX HOUSE. 

This house, situate in Burlington Lane, alleged 
to have been once the residence of Sir Thomas 
Fairfax, retains but little of interest, having been 
enlarged and altered till it appears to be a modern 
building. 

STILE HALL. 

Stile Hall fronted the High-road, and the 
grounds were bounded by the railway, Blenheim - 
road, and Wellesley-road. It was last occupied by 
Robert Bignell, who died in 1888, when the 
property came into the market, and was sold and 
laid out in streets and covered with small villa 
residences. In some maps it is styled Sydney 
House. If the name be ancient it may indicate 
that a former building on this site ♦vas the residence 
of Sir Henry Sidney, Queen Elizabeth's Viceroy in 
Ireland, who we know at one time lhed in 
Chiswick. 



276 CHISW1CK. 



OLD LONDON STILE HOUSE. 
In Notes and Queries, 4th Series, vol. 5, page 
104, will be found the following : — 

This house has a stone in front bearing 
date 1660, and I have been informed that it 
was used as a pesthouse at the time of the 
Plague of London ; and that it was after- 
wards used as an inn for travellers ; and 
also that the house with a parcel of land 
was given by Queen Anne to a man named 
Hammett for services rendered at the time 
of the plague. This information is doubtful 
and prompts me to trouble you for more 
reliable inform ation, for which I shall feel 
truly grateful. Within the last seventy 
years the house bore the arms of the City 
of London on the front.— Edward "Vernum. 



um>>mt\Uu>uMi 




(Ehistokk Jmts. 



THE BURLINGTON ARMS. 
Standing almost opposite Chiswick Church is 
the old inn whose picturesque frontage contributes 
much to the quaintness of the old town. Its half- 
timbered front, with the first storey overhanging 
the pavement, indicates that at least three hundred 
years must have passed since its erection. This is 




The Burlington Arms. 



confirmed by the fact that during some structural 
alterations which were made some time ago a coin 
of the reign of Elizabeth was found beneath the 
foundations. Hence we may conclude that this is 
one of the oldest buildings in Chiswick. 



THE ROEBUCK. 
This inn, which was pulled down in 1893, stood 
a short distance westward of the present house. It 



278 CHISW1CK. 



was noted for possessing a fine bowling green. The 
view is from a photograph taken during the demo- 
lition. 

THE OLD PACK HORSE. 

The house, which must date back to the 
earlier part of the seventeenth century, is men- 
tioned in an advertisement in the "London 
Gazette" of 1698.* Here, according to Cunning- 
ham's preface to his letters, Horace Walpole used 
to bait his horses when journeying between Straw- 
berry Hill and London. 

We may note that in the Newgate Calender it is 
recorded that Jonathan Wild, when upon his trial, 
called, as one of his witnesses, one " Hays, of the 
Pack Horse, on Turnham Green." Local tradition 
says that Charles Dickens used to frequent the 
house while studying character, which he so ably 
pourtrayed in his pictures of country inns. The 
house, as it was before the alterations, is figured 
in Old and New London. 



THE RED LION, CHISWICK MALL. 
This inn is remarkable chiefly for the Whetstone 
which has for many years been chained to its door- 
post, and is now one of the familiar objects of 
Chiswick. The stone has not, however, always 
hung in its present position, having been removed 
from a still older inn, the White Bear and Whet- 
stone, which formerly stood at the corner of Chis- 
wick-lane. Referring to the inscription upon the 
stone, it is evident that the final figure is the 
addition of some would-be joker, for it is too 
cramped and not uniform with the rest. 

*London Gazette, No. 33S7. April 25th to 28th, 1698. 

" At Turnham Green, near the Pack Horse, is to be sold or 
lett a large brick house, with out houses, coach houses, 
stables, and garden well planted, with water in all the 
offices." 



X 
w 

to 

O 

W 

ft) 
d 



o 

a 
x 

t-H 

CO 
>-( 

o 

> 




<<Ehe (Shttrjchtoatbetts' Recounts. 



On page 160 ante we printed a summary cf the 
receipts with detailed items of disbursement for 
the year 1621-22, and a list of those inhabitants in 
arrear with their church dues for three years. 

The first volume extends from 1621 to 1635, and 
the second covers nearly thirty years from the last- 
named date to 1663. Both were well kept in a 
beautifully clear handwriting, and there are many 
interesting entries of the parochial notabilities of 
the time, not a few of whom had a wider fame 
than Chiswick. 

There are many lists of the inhabitants valuable 
for showing us the names tf those living in Chis- 
wick at a time before we have the parish registers. 
About 1632 it became customary to divide the list 
according to the respective hamlets in the parish. 
In this year we find the assessment in the church 
roll thus divided : — 

Chiswick 78 



Little Sutton 
The Strand... 
Turtam Green 



Total .. 



13 
30 
60 

181 



THE CHURCHWARDENS 1 ACCOUNTS. 281 

Thirty years later, 1662, the populations seems 
to have diminished. The list of those assessed 
then stood as below : — 

Towne [i.e., Old Chiswick] ... 62 



Turnam Green 


... 38 


Sutton Court ... 


... 1 


Little Sutton 


... 6 


The Grove House ... 


... 1 


Strand-on-the-Green 


... 21 


London Stille 


... 3 


Total 


... 132 



In 1629 the number named on the roll was 135 ; 
so that between that time and 1632 there must 
have been a considerable incrcaae in the popula 
tion or the churchwardens must have in- 
cluded a larger number of the inhabitants, 
It will be seen that Chiswick must have 
been a place with a considerable population 
even early in the seventeenth century. It is not 
likely that the very poor were assessed, and if we 
allow that each entry represents a family of five 
persons we find a population in 1632 of 900 to 1,000 
souls. Probably it would be correct to estimate a 
larger number ; perhaps something like 1,200 would 
be nearer the mark. Roughly speaking, at the 
present day there are twenty times as many people 
in Chiswick as the parish contained two hundred 
and fifty years ago. We now print the church roll 
with the assessment of the inhabitants for 1629, as 
well as the accounts, f rorr* which it will be seen that, 
as often happens even now, that the churchwarden 
found his office a responsible one, since he ends 
with the statement that as the result of two years' 
expenditure there was due to him what then was 
the substantial sum of £3 6s. 7d. 



282 



CHISWICK. 



The Accomptes of Thomas Ivers for this 
yeare 1629 ending the xij.th aprill. 

Imprimis Receiptes begininge with the Ghurche 
Rowle. 



The Right Honorable the Earle of 

Bedford 

Sr. Stephen leysure 

Mr. Henry Pollard, Esquier 

Mr. Valentine Saunders, e8q. 

Mr. Thomas Barker, esq. 

Mr. Larance Whittacers, esq. 

Mr. Doctur Juckes, esq.... 

Mr. Robert Cogan 

Mr. Henry Fryer, esq. ... 

Mr. Thomas Bullar 

Mr. Richard Smeth 

Thomas Stradder 

Edward Messenger 

Thomas Bird 

Gabriell Barnett 

Widdow Browne 

Henry Smith 

John Tyballs 

Thomas London 

John Morgan 

Widdow Holland 

Paul Lyford 

Richard Pawllin 

George Tye 

Edward Prosser 

Nicholas Furnes 

Edward Lacy 

Thomas Greme 

John Alwood 

George Owen 

John Early.. 

John Christian 



x.s. 

V.8. 
V.8. 
V.S. 

iiij a. 

iij.s. 

iiij. b. 

iij.s. 

iiij. s. 

iij.s. 

ij.s. 



v.d. 
iiij.d. 



iiij.d. 
iiij.d. 
iiij.d. 

vj.d. 
iiij.d. 

vj.d. 

vj.d. 

vj.d. 

vj.d. 
iiij.d. 

vj.d. 

vj.d. 

iiiij.d. 

iiiij.d. 

iiij.d. 

vj.d. 
iiij.d. 
iiij.d. 
iiij.d. 
xvj.d. 
iiij.d. 



THE CHURCHWARDENS' ACCOUNTS. 



283 



ThomaB Warren ... 


xvj.d. 


Francis Larkin 


vj.d. 


William Graves ... 


iiij.d. 


George Linden 


iiij.d. 


William Holland 


iiij.d. 


John Tero ... 


iiij.d. 


Widow Michell 


viij.d. 


William Early 


vj.d. 


i 


511. 2s. lOd. 


Richard Giller 


iiij.d. 


Richard Hammond 


iiij.d. 


John Martin 


iiij.d. 


[ . . . Duck Parker?] 


iiij.d. 


Edmund Gylman ... 


iiij.d. 


Widdow Ivers 


iiij.d. 


Widdow Longe 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Urlin 


iiij.d. 


John Nichols 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Meard 


iiij.d. 


John Glover 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Cox 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Abraham... 


iiij.d, 


Widdow Peartty ... 


iiij.d. 


William Stephens 


iiij.d. 


Christopher Clarke 


iiij.d. 


John Woodes 


iiij.d. 


Henry Archer 


iiij.d. 


John Gurnell 


xvj.d. 


Stephen Round 


xvj.d. 


Widdow Smith 


iiij.d. 


Anthony Mabanke 


iiij.d. 


John Sheppard 


iiij.d. 


Henry Randall 


iiij.d. 


John Atkins 


iiij.d. 


John Browne 


iiij.d. 



284 CH1SW1CK. 


Henry Gardway ... 


vij.d. 


John Gurnell 


viij.d. 


George Randoll 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Curtes 


vj.d. 


Thomas Abnett 


xvj.d. 


Matthew Elmer ... 


iiij.d. 


Samuell Robartes ... 


iiij.d. 


Georg Read 


iiij d, 


John Thomas 


xvj.d. 


Thomas Sorosman.. 


iiij.d. 


William Adshed 


xvj.d. 


Anthony Thomas . . 


xvj.d. 


Robert Meard 


vj.d. 


Georg Lewis 


iiij.d. 


William Jackson ... 


xvj.d. 


Robart Walter 


iiij.d. 


John Hill 


iiij.d. 




Hi. 2s. 


Thomas Seaward ... 


xij.d. 


John Clarke 


iiij.d. 


Widdow Brian 


iiij.d. 


Edward Fisher 


xij.d. 


Edward Jerden ... 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Tayller ... 


vj.d. 


Henry Jackson 


iiij.d. 


William Stephen 


iiij.d. 


Frauncis Jorden 


xvj.d. 


Robart Simson 


iiij.d. 


Robart Holbean ... 


iiij.d. 


John Gybbes 


iiij.d. 


Walter Wall 


iiij.d. 


Richard Ashby 


vi.d. 


Robart Powell 


iiij.d. 


Elias Stephens 


viij.d. 


John Webb 


viij.d. 



THE CHURCHWARDENS' ACCOUNTS. 285 



John Simson 


iiij.d. 


Goodman Beynam... 


iiij.d. 


William Phillipes 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Shouler ... 


iiij.d. 


Robart Gybbes 


viij.d. 


John Ives ... 


iiij.d. 


William Smeth 


xij.d. 


Mr. Thomas Grinfild 


ij.s. 


Richard Rud 


vj.d. 


John Furnes 


iiij.d. 


Richard Jeffrey ... 


vj.d. 


Thomas Tucker ... 


iiij.d. 


Anthony Elliatt 


iiij.d. 


William Arnold ... 


xvj.d. 


Henry Jones 


iiij.d. 


Thomas Round 


iiij.d. 


Georg Thomas 


iij.d. 


Meredith Evans ... 


vj.d. 


John Baldwine 


iiij.d. 


William Wilcockes 


iiij.d. 


John Wolsey 


iiij.d. 


William Higgins ... 


iiij.d. 


John Hooper 


iiij.d. 


Nicholas Quittington 


vj.d. 


Robart Feliowe 


vj.d. 


Robart Free 


iiij.d. 


Widow Finch 


xvj.d. 


Hi. 3s. 8d. 


Georg Dury 


iiij.d. 


Randoll Button 


xij.d. 


Larence Baldwin ... 


iiij.d. 


Mich. Ivers 


iiij.d. 


Robart Lyford 


vj.d. 





2s. 6d. 



286 CHISWICK. 






Church Rentes. 






John Atkins 


vj.s. 


viij.d. 


John Browne 


iij s. 


iiij.d. 


Widdow Barrett ... 


j.s. 


viij.d. 


Widdow Brokes ... 


j.s. 


viij.d. 





13s. 


4d. 


Church Land. 






George Tye, a acer 


VJ.8. 




William Stephens, p. acer 


iij. s. 




John Atkins, p. acer 


iij.s. 




William Finch, buried on the 






church ... 


vj.s. 


viij.d. 


A nursechild of Tho. Snosmans ... 


xiij.e. 


iiij.d. 


Hi. 


12s. 




Some vij.li. xiiij.s. 


vj.d. 





Layinges Out. 
Imp'mis, our oathes and 

enterance 
Ite. for our diners and boat hier 

the first day 

Item for our diners and boat hier 

the 2 day 

Item for two days more for myself 

before I could be sworne 
Item for our articles 
Item for paving two graves 
Item to the brickelayer and his 

man for mendinge the grave 

that was sunce... 

Item for brickes and lyme for the 

grave 
Item for bread and wine one whet 

Sonday for the communion ... 



j.s. 


iiij.d. 


xij.s. 


vj.d, 


x.s. 


iiij.d, 


ij.s. 
iij. 8. 


iiij.d 
iij.d 


ij.s. 


vj.d 


j.s. 


vj.d 


iij.s. 


iiij.d 



THE CHURCHWARDENS' ACCOUNTS. 287 

Item for bread and wine on the 

23rd of August... ... ... j.s. viij.d. 

Item for email nay lies ... ... ijd. 

Item for a key pin mendinge ... vj.d. 

Item . . of sixpenny nayles... iij. d. 

Item for mending a bolte ... vj.d. 
Item for new pointing the brick 

wall, lime and sinder for it ... xvij.s. viij.d. 



31i. Is. 3d. 



Item for a key and mendine the 

locke of the belfree dore .., viij.d. 

Item for a locke for the church 

gatte j.s. vj.d. 

Item for mending the hinges of 

church gat ... ... ... viij.d. 

Item for brad and wine the 4th of 

October ... ... ... ... ij.s. 

Item for a new whele for the 

third bell xiij.a. iiij.d. 

Item for a new bauldricke ... ij.s. vj.d. 

Item for bordes for the whelea 

mending and timber about the 

frames, and a weekes work for 

my self and my boy ... j.li. iiij.s. 
Item for bread and wine one 

Chribtmas ... ... ... iij. a. v.d. 

Item for mendinge a seat in the 

church ... ... ... ... x.d. 

Item for bread the first Sunday of 

the New Yeare . . ... ... v. a. iij. d. 

Item paid to the high conatable 

for half a yere for maimed 

aoldiera [marahalls ?] ... ... xiij.s. 

Item for washing the Lynen and 

acowring the plate and pewter, 

1629 ij.s. vj.d. 



288 CHISWICE. 



Item for Drosses and oil for clocke 

and belles ... ij s. 

Item for writinge the transcript j.s. vj.d. 

Item for buriall of Janne Delf thy 

a cripple the xj.th of March, 

1629 j.s. 

Item to the clarke for burioge a 

creple and a crissom child ... j.s. 

Item for a rope for the Sannce bell j.s. 

Item to the high constable for 

maimed soldiers marshalseys 

and hoepitall our Lady day last xiij.s. 
Item a prayer booke for the 

Queens Maiestie ... ... vj.d. 

Item for glassinge and mending 

the glasse windo by the pulpitt j.s. vj.d. 

Item to the clarke for his 

wages this year ... iiij.li. 

Item to a grekian upon a passe... j.s. 

Item for writtinge these two 

yeres accomptes... ... ... vj.s. viij.d. 

Item for bread and wine for all 

the communions at Easter 

last... ... ... ... j.li. x.s. vj. 

Some xj li. xiij.s. 
Dewe to me for both yeres 
as apperet uppon accumptes 

iij.li. vj.s. vij.d. 



<3Ehe IJaittma:* lEaabs. 



We referred on page 96 to the extinction of the 
rights over the Lammas Lands. We now quote 
the preamble of the Act, Chapter 3 of 46, George 
III., passed 3 July, 1806, for extinguishing all right 
of Common over certain parcels of land in the 
parish of Chiswick. 

This Act in the preamble recites that William 
Duke of Devonshire was owner of certain pieces of 
land called Half-year or Lammas Lands, amounting 
to 68a. 2r. These lands were : — 



Dicky Mead 
Two Slips... 



A. 


R. 


p. 


... 9 


1 





... 8 


3 





... 7 


3 





... 11 


1 





... 4 


3 





... 3 


1 





... 9 









Three Thames Meadows 



Corney Meadow ... 

And the Duke also claimed land 

in Chiswick Field 14 2 

The vicar, the Rev. James Trebeck, also claimed to 
be entitled to part of the land in Chiswick Field, 
and it was claimed that some of it belonged to the 
poor of Chiswick. 

The owners and occupiers of lands and tenements 
in Chiswick were entitled to rights of common 
from Lammas, 12 August, to Candlemas, 13 Feb- 
ruary, old style. 

The Duke was also owner of arable land, viz. : — 

a. r. p. 

Warren Wall Field 12 

Sbpopleys 20 



290 CHISW1CK. 



to which the inhabitants had rights of common 
from harvest to sowing time. In consideration of 
extinguishing these rights of common the Duke 
undertook to compensate the commoners, and it 
was provided that an annuity should be paid to 
the churchwardens and overseers of £107 14s. out of 
the said lands, except those in Chiswick Field, by 
equal quarterly payments " at or on the porch of the 
parish church," between the hours of ten and twelve 
a.m. This rent charge was payable in or towards 
the relief of the poor, in the same way as the poor 
rate. 

This act did not affect any waste lands in the 
parish or the rights of the lords of the manors. 



(E<trl2 Mention of (EhtBtoick. 



The following notes of persons evidently deriv- 
ing their name from Chiswick are taken from the 
calendar of Ancient Deeds, recently issued by the 
Deputy Keeper of the Public Records : — 

A. 1997. — Henry de Chesewic witnesses a deed 
relative to land in St. Michael, Cornhill. [John]. 

A. 2434. — Walter de Chesewyk, son of Walter 
de Chesewyk, late citizen of London, grants a 
tenement adjoining the road from Cornhill to 
Alegate. 

C. 1930. — Kembald de Chesewic attests an 
exchange of Frithwade and Helmedun. [13th 
century.] 

A. 1909. — A grant of certain shops in Bridge- 
street, London, formerly held by John de Ramones- 
den, is witnessed by Walter de Cheswyke. 
Edward I. 

C. 2178. — Alice de Chesewyk, daughter of late 
Gilbert Chesewyk, grants a quit rent of 20s. out 
of houses in St. Magnus to John Le Benere. Friday 
after St. Andrew Apostle. 23, Edward I. 

C. 2400— Robt. son of Gilbert de Chesewyk 
releases to Walter Bevere all actions relating to 
houses which belonged to Alice Roberts, sister, 
which she sold to John Le Bevere, Monday after 
Michaelmas. 34, Edward I. 



athcstoidt, a.s.^. 



Tne following article from an American corres- 
pondent may interest our readers: — 

Cheswick, in the United States of America, is 
situated in a vary beautiful valley on the north 
bank of the Allegheny river, in the western part of 
the state of Pennsylvania, and is fourteen miles 
distant from the t;reat manufacturing city of 
Pittsburgh, where are located the largest and finest 
iron and steel mills in the United States. 

The valley of the Allegheny is famed for its 
picturesque scenery and healthfulness, the river is 
a mountain stream rising in the Allegheny moun- 
tains in the northern part of the state and travers- 
ing the state in a south-westerly direction, until it 
joins the Monongahela river at Pittsburg, and 
uniting makes the broad Ohio which carries 
annually millions of bushels of coal from Pennsyl- 
vania's mines to the southern and western states, 
and to the Gulf of Mexico by way of New 
Orleans. 

On all sides Cheswick is surrounded by the 
natural gas, petroleum oil, and bituminous coal- 
fields, and the varied industries arising from their 
production and use form the life-work of thousands 
of men in the valley, the town of Cheswick, was 
named and founded in the year 1883, and is as yet 
a comparatively small suburban town, but from i s 
pleasant location and desirability on account of 
its close proximity to the city of Pitts- 
burgh is destined to become a large town 
before many years. The river flowing by Ches- 
wick, with its clear, cold waters, is navigable 



CHESWICK, U.S.A. 293 

northward for over one hundred miles into the 
lumber, oil, and coal regions of Pennsylvania, and 
southward for almost a thousand miles to the Gulf 
of Mexico, through its tributaries. Down its 
broad bosom in the spring and fall on the freshets 
come great rafcs of logs from the pine forests of 
Pennsylvania to be sawn into boards and timbers 
for the builders. This is a great iadustry, and 
commands a large capital. There is a pieturesque- 
ness that is purely American io the sight of a 
beautiful river, hemmed on one side by high, 
rocky cliff, on the other by a long undulating 
valley, where villages lie close beside the river, 
while upon the river there are hundreds of rafts of 
fresh pine lumber floating down the stream with 
the force of the current and kept in the channel by 
the dextrous manipulations of the raftsmen, a 
hardy class of mountaineers who ply the trade of 
safely conducting their huge crafts from a pine 
forest to the city market. At times there can be 
seen miles of them tied up along the banks of the 
stream, awaiting city purchasers. 

This part of the state, although settled from 
about the middle of the eighteenth century, still 
retains large tracts of the virgin forest, and this 
adds to the beauty of the scenery. 

In the middle of the river at Cheswick lies an 
island, over one mile in length, whose shores are 
fringed with a growth of beautiful forest trees. 

The town itself lies in an an almost level valley, 
which extends for about four miles in length by a- 
half to one mile in width. To the north is the 
farm country, which rises in a succession of 
gentle slopes back from the river. To the east and 
the river, rises an almost precipitous bluff, clad 
with forest trees from base to summit. From the 
summit of this bluff, which rises several hundred 
feet above the river, one can obtain a grand view 



294 CBISWICK. 



of the valley for miles in every direction. To the 
west extends the succession of meadow-like slopes 
that make up the valley, until where they seem in 
the distance to end abruptly at the base of a great 
high hill, which shows the bend in the river. 

In this beautifully environed valley lies Cheswick 
of the New World. 

It was named by a suggestion contained in an 
item in a New York paper in 1888, at the time the 
land company which laid it out was organised, this 
was on May 17, 1888, and the town is at the date 
of this article approaching its eighth birthday. It 
has now a handsome collection of homes occupied 
by city people fond of the quiet of a country home 
and by those who were the pioneers in the settle- 
ment of the valley. 

A few manufacturing establishments have located 
on the outskirts of the town, and are thriving ; a 
branch of the great Pennsylvania railroad runs 
through the town, and on the opposite side of the 
river runs another parallel railway line. We are 
eleven hours' ride by rail from Philadelphia, thir- 
teen from New York, and twelve in a westerly 
direction from Chicago, and taken all in all we bid 
fair some day to do honour to our ancient and 
honoured prototype, fair Chiswick-on-the-Thames. 
We have excellent public schools, churches a9 
numerous almost as nun's religious views -Pres- 
byterian, United Presbyterian, Methodist Pro- 
testant, Methodist Episcopalian, English Lutheran, 
and 'Jatholic all within a few minutes of each 
other. 

Although a youth in comparison with old Chis- 
wick, yet we greet our venerable and worthy 
ancestor with an honest ambition that we may at 
some day in our history, sooner or later, have the 
wealth of historic honour and credit bestowed 
upon and so well deserved by our mother town 
old Chiswick in England. 



INDEX. 

A. Page. 

Almshouses, Strand-on-the-Green 55 

Almshouses, Little Sutton 258, 259 

Altar Rails, burning of 145 

Ancient Surveys 18, 36 

Ancient Inventories 51, 98 

Annandale House 157, 273 

Aunandale, Marquis of 274 

Arlington Park 95, 157, 274 

Arlington House 95, 157, 274 

Arnott, Rev. S 63, 269 

Ashburnham, Lord 30,264 

Assassination Plot 270 

B. 

Barker, Anne, inscription 5 

„ Thomas 6, 163 

Family 13, 30, 34, 48, 147, 169, 272 

,, Scory 13,272 

Henry 251, 272 

Barclay, Sir John 270 

Barrowgate Road 158 

Barwick Dean 38 

Bastide, M. A. la 8, 35, 170 

Battle of Turnham Green 17, 72 

Becker, Mary 7 

Bedford Park 149 

,, House 274 



296 INDEX. 

Bedford, see Russell Family. 

Bedingfield, Sir H 43 

Belasyses, Thomas 257 

Belmeis, John 53, 99 

Belmont House 157 

Bentley, Thomas 34, 169, 246 

Berry, Misses 70, 170 

,, Robert 24, 70, 170, 271 

Bitcott, Mary 7 

Bloody News from Turnham Green 58 

"Bohemia, King of" 115, 117, 122, 270 

Bolton House 157, 274 

Bordall, William 3, 8, 32, 79, 169 

, , brass 8 

,, tablet 3,32 

Bordall's Tower 3, 32 

Boundaries 16, 95 

Bowack's Account 1 

Bowerbank, Rev. T. F 91 

Boyle, see Burlington. 

,, Lady Charlotte 261,264 

Bray, John de 36, 146, 147, 170, 249 

,, Baldwin 21, 170, 249 

Brandon, Lord Gerard of 26 

Burlington, Earl of 12, 22, 25, 27, 169, 261, 

264, 265, 266 

,, LaLe 265 

"Burlington Arms " 277 

Burning of Altar Rails 145 

Busby, Dr. R 11, 24, 169 

Bute, Marquis of . .266 

C. 

Canning, George 172, 265 

Capel, Lady 54 

Carr. Robert, Earl of Somerset 26, 171, 263 



INDEX. 297 

Cary, Rev. H. F 171, 245 

Cedars, the 275 

Chaloner, Sir T 9, 32, 171 

Cham berlain's History 265 

Charity School 54 

Chardin, Sir John 14, 35, 41, 157, 172, 274 

Cheswick, U.S.A 292 

Chiswick Church 2, 31, 98, 101, 106, 112, 116 

,, Inventories 51, 98 

Roll 280, 282 

,, Early Mention of 291 

Eyot 132 

,, Houses 244 

House 25, 96, 117, 263 

,, Inns '. 277 

,, New Town 158 

„ Parish Registers 181 

,, Place Names 149 

,, Pound 149 

,, Press QQ 

., Tokens 167 

,, Town 11 

Watch 57 

,, Workhouse 55 

Churchwardens' Accounts 160, 280 

Chute Chaloner 37, 123, 172, 250 

Cleveland, Duchess of 41, 172 

Coham, Rev. A 89 

Coins Found 16, 166, 277 

College House 11, 14, 23, 45, 64, 96, 

170, 180, 271 

Common Rights 96, 289 

Compton, W. J 263 

Conspiracy to assassinate William III 270 



298 INDEX. 

Conservative Club 274 

Coke, Lady Mary 40, 268 

Corbet, Miles 170 

Corney House 29, 49, 271, 275 

Coveton, or Covton 22, 147, 250 

Cowper, Earl 272 

Crofts, Lord 26, 117, 172, 264 

Cromwell, Oliver 258 

Richard 257, 259 

D. 

Dacre, Lady 180, 254 

Dale, Rev. L. W. T 92 

Darner, Lady C 29, 180 

Dawson, H 157, 173, 245, 275 

Dead Donkey Land and Field 158 

Dean's Manor 11, 17 

Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's... 3, 10, 22, 25, 36, 

65, 250 

Denbigh, Countess of 13 

Denham, Sir John 13, 173 

Derivation of Name 150 

Devonshire, William, Duke of ...22, 261, 264, 265, 289 

,, Duke of 273 

Dickens, Charles 278 

Doomsday of St. Paul's 18, 124 

Dryden, John 24, 173 

Duck, Dr. A 23, 51, 145, 173 

Duke's Avenue 267 

Dunkerron, Lord 30, 180,268 

E. 

Early mention of Chiswick 291 

Egmont, Earl of 30, 180 



INDEX. 299 

Elborow, Rev. T 8, 38. 87 

Elizabeth, Queen 29, 272 

Ellesby, Rev. J 11, 88 

Elliott, General 269 

„ LadyF '. 30,272 

Epitaphs 36, 44, 46, 49 

Extracts from Registers 39 

Evelyn Memoirs 268 

F. 

Fairfax, Sir T 26, 173 

Fairfax House 275 

Falconberg, Earl of 3, 10, 22, 42, 118, 256, 258 

Mary, Countess of 13, 42, 173, 256, 258 

Faulkner's History cited 266, 268 

Feet of Fines 146 

Fittler, James 173 

Foscolo, Ugo 173,271 

Fowler, Thomas, Lord Fauconberg 22, 256, 260 

Fox, Sir Stephen 4, 11, 12, 23, 39, 173, 267, 269 

House of 12,40,268 

„ Charles James 28, 40, 173, 265 

Frankland, Sir Thomas 258, 259, 26C 

Fraser, Simon, Lord Lovat 175, 269 

G. 

Gardens of Chiswick House 27 

Gates ,, 267 

Gerard, Lord, of Brandon 26, 264 

Goldhauck 135, 155 

Goldhawk 142 

Goodman, Dean 11, 22, 23, 24, 64, 65, 69, 71, 174 

Grantham, Lord 30, 46, 272 

Grove House 13, 30, 251, 272 

,, Park 156 

Griffiths, Ralph 49, 174, 246 

Grisi, Mde 274 



300 INDEX. 

Gunnilda 135, 141, 156 

Gunnersbury 155 

H. 

Halfpenny, Mr., Murder of 58 

Heathfield House 31, 267, 268 

„ Lord 31,174,267,269 

High House 180, 269 

., Road in 1675 115 

Hogarth, William 36, 46, 158, 174 

,, Mrs 174 

,, House 96,158,244 

Holland, Lord 40 

,, Charles 35,43,174 

Home, Dr 25 

Hospital of Little Sutton 258,259 

Houses, Chis wick 244 

Howard, James 9, 35, 42 

Hughes, Rev. Thomas 90 

Hume, David 174, 273 

Hutchinson, Dr. M 23, 267 

I. 

Inscriptions in Church 4, 34, 35, 36, 50 

,, in Churchyard Wall 35,179 

Inis:o Jones' Gateway 27, 266 

Inquisition of Manor of Sutton 36, 124 

inl222 18,129 

in 1245 20,36 

Inventories, Church 51 

J. 

James, Duke of Monmouth .12, 26, 177, 264 

James, Rev. John 80 

Jones, Sir W 31, 180 



INDEX. 301 

K. 

Kent, Wm 45, 175,266 

Kerry, Earl of 30, 180 

Killigrew, H 175 

Kip's Print 25, 264. 265, 268 

L. 

Lammas Lands 289 

Leinster, Duke of 180 

Lesieur, Sir Stephen 35 

Lewkner, Sir L 31, 163, 175 

Linden House ... 157, 246 

Little Sutton 258, 259 

Longevity 51 

Lnrt, Lady 14, 180 

Loutherbourg, James de 175 

Louth, Rev. Robert 273 

Lovat, Lord 175. 269 

Luther, Mrs 30, 272 

Lysons' Account of Chiswick 15 

M. 

Macartney, Lord 29, 49, 50, 176,272 

Mall, The 269 

Manor House 25, 267 

Manors 11, 17 

Manor of Sutton in 1222 124,130 

Manor or Mansion House (see Prebendal Manor). 

Map, Rocque's 95 

Markham, Archbp 25, 71, 176 

Marriage registers 181 

Mario, Signor 274 

Mary, Countess of Fauconberg 42, 173 

Maw, Leonard, Bishop 31, 177 

Mawson, Dr. M 177 

Row 158 



302 INDEX. 

Middlesex Sessions Roll 119 

Miles Corbet 170 

Miller, Joe 31. 176 

Monuments 32, 36, 46 

Monmouth, Duke of 12, 26, 177, 261 

Moore, Ed 177 

Morell T 47, 176 

Murphy, A 36, 177 

N. 

Name, Origin of 150 

Nassau, Count of 177, 269 

Neele, H 177 

Nevill, Lady 268 

Nicholls, Dr 24 

Notabilities of Chiswick 169 

0. 

O'Connell, Daniel 180, 271 

Ogilby's Survey 115 

Old London Stile 276 

,, Packhorse 96, 278 

Oliver Cromwell 258 

Orf ord House 269 

Origin of name 150 

Overbury, Sir Thomas 264 

P. 

"Packhorse, Old" 96, 278 

Packington, Rev. B 38, 84 

Palladian Villa 27, 265 

Parish Registers 38, 181 

Parliamentarians at Chiswick 145 

Pawlet, Lord 26, 178, 264 

Pembroke, Philip, Earl of 26, 57, 178, 264 

Earl of, and Watch 57 

Pictures, Chi? wick House 28 



INDEX. 303 

Pope, Alexander 177 

Population 38, 280, 281 

Portland, Earl of 145 

Prebendaries of Chiswick 25, 64 

Prebendal Manor and Mansion House 14, 63 

„ 11,22 

Prettyman, Rev. J 38, 91 

Q 

Quaife, Mrs. M 178 

R. 

Ralph, James 45, 178 

Ralph de Diceto 18 

Ranelagh, Viscount 27, 180, 264 

" Red Lion" 278 

Registers, extracts from 39 

,, Marriage 181 

Richard Cromwell 259 

Robinson, Sir T 46, 178, 272 

Rocque's Map 95 

„ Plan 265 

"Roebuck Inn" 277 

Roman Way 17, 95, 149 

Rose, Dr. William 36, 48, 178, 246 

Rouch, I. E 275 

Rupert, Prince 72 

,, House 149 

Russell, Lord F 3, 29, 32, 35 

„ family 13, 26, 28, 30, 149, 179, 272 

S. 

Salueyne, M 9, 147 

Seamer, P 38, 84 

Sessions Rolls 119 

Seymour, E. 27, 264 

Sharpe, W 179 



304 1XDEX. 

Shipway, Col. R. W 273 

Sidebotham, Radcliffe 22, 261 

Sidney House 275 

Sidney,Sir H 31. 180, 275 

Signatures of Vicars 83 

Sloane, Sir Hans 266 

Smeeth, Mr., murder of 58 

Somerset, Earl and Countess of 26, 171 

,, Duchess of 35,179 

,, Marqais of Worcester 179 

Spateman, Rev. Thomas 88 

Stephenson, Robert 268 

Stile Hall 275 

Stone in churchyard wall 35. 179 

Strand-on-Green 14 39, 55, 97 ; 153 

Sundial 117 

Survey, Ogilby's llf. 

Sutherland, Duke of 266 

Sutton 39, 152 

,, inquisition of 124 

,. Lane 251 

Court 13, 42, 97, 117, 249 

,. Manor of 17,21,130 

T. 

Tablets in church 32, 34, 35 

,, in wall 35 

Taylor, Richard 9 

Thompson, James 38, 85 

Thornhill, Sir James 244 

Thornycrott's Works 271 

Thurlow Papers 257 

Tokens ....; 167 

Town 11,158 

Townley, John 29, 30, 36 



INDEX. 305 

Trebeck, Rev. J 55, 89, 289 

Troubridge, Sir T 274 

Tuke, Dr 266, 268 

Turbern 141, 154 

Turner, Rev. S. 87 

Turnham Green 14, 16, 17, 39, 55, 57, 115, 153, 267, 269 
,, ,, battle of 17,72 

V. 

Vicars of Chiswick 78 

Vicarage 4 

Villiers, Barbara 41, 172, 271 

Visitation of Chiswick Church in 1252 37, 52, 98 

,, in 1297 101 

„ in 1458 37, 53, 106 

„ in 1552 112 

W. 

Wales, Prince of 266 

Wainewright, T. G 246, 247 

Walker, Rev. Hugh 80 

Rev. William 3,36,83,136 

, , inscription to wife of 4 

Walpole House 179, 271 

,, family 179,271 

,, Honble. Thomas 51 

,, Horace 278 

Warden, Sir Edward 12, 25, 263 

Warder, E 7 

Wardour, Chidioke 6, 35, 179 

Edward 25, 163, 263 

Warner, Robert 30 

Welsted family 23, 268 

Wellesley Road 159 

Westminster School 11 

Wharton, Rev. William 83 



306 



INDEX. 



Whetstone 278 

Whittingham Q6, 179,270 

Whitsun Games 54, 55 

Wild, Jonathan 278 

William the Dean 20, 124, 127 

Windmill 117, 157 

Wood, Rev. Thomas 88 

Worcester, Marquis of 117, 179 

Wulman, Dean 18, 125, 128 

Wyatt 28, 265 

Y. 

Young's Corner 154 

Z. 

Zoffany 55, 180 



W 6 







Hogarth's Tome.